Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

The merkins wouldn't know what a salary cap is

They haven't used one for 20 years
While I think they very obviously have access to benefits they can offer outside the cap, it’s clearly not unlimited, as they do still lose players they want to keep. Lately there’s been quite a lot of them. Has Uncle Nick grown tired of burning cash or favours?

lingard

I'm so sorry to hear that, mate.

I can't imagine how awful that would be.

My son is only 4, but he has already come up to me and asked, "Daddy, why don't the kids want to play with me?"

It broke me. I burst into tears, and cuddled him.

It's really tough for neuro divergent people - the world literally is not designed for them.

Just have to do our best to support them

I hope your son is ok, mate.
My son has what used to be called Aspergers. He has struggled with socialisation, emotion regulation, suicidal thinking. Got into the wrong crowd because he 'thought they were caring and supportive friends. Got into drugs big-time (never does anything by halves, my son), had an extended psychotic episode, got into trouble with the police, etc, etc. Long story short, by a series of remarkable 'coincidences' got busted for drugs; was ordered to the MERIT program; he connected with his counsellor like he never had with anyone else; went thru withdrawals (medically assisted) ceased all drugs. He then, out of the blue, decided he wanted to be an actor. Enrolled himself in a two year acting course at the Academy of Film Theatre and Television; moved to Sydney and rented a little 'studio' in Surrey Hills. Taught himself to cook, wash his clothes, shop, all those things. He completed the course with high marks. His mum and I went and saw him perform in a play at the Belvoir Street Theatre. He killed it. I've never been so proud in all my life.
I believe acting lessons taught him how to interact with people, and it also helped him conquer the incredible anxiety he used to have. Better than two years of intense psychological therapy I reckon. Would recommend acting for any one with reasonably high functioning autism.
My son still has his struggles (he's way too intense; takes everything too seriously; drives himself too hard etc) but it's a miracle he is where he is.
My message? There is always hope for our kids; and sometimes it comes in ways we definitely don't expect.

Zoso

My son has what used to be called Aspergers. He has struggled with socialisation, emotion regulation, suicidal thinking. Got into the wrong crowd because he 'thought they were caring and supportive friends. Got into drugs big-time (never does anything by halves, my son), had an extended psychotic episode, got into trouble with the police, etc, etc. Long story short, by a series of remarkable 'coincidences' got busted for drugs; was ordered to the MERIT program; he connected with his counsellor like he never had with anyone else; went thru withdrawals (medically assisted) ceased all drugs. He then, out of the blue, decided he wanted to be an actor. Enrolled himself in a two year acting course at the Academy of Film Theatre and Television; moved to Sydney and rented a little 'studio' in Surrey Hills. Taught himself to cook, wash his clothes, shop, all those things. He completed the course with high marks. His mum and I went and saw him perform in a play at the Belvoir Street Theatre. He killed it. I've never been so proud in all my life.
I believe acting lessons taught him how to interact with people, and it also helped him conquer the incredible anxiety he used to have. Better than two years of intense psychological therapy I reckon. Would recommend acting for any one with reasonably high functioning autism.
My son still has his struggles (he's way too intense; takes everything too seriously; drives himself too hard etc) but it's a miracle he is where he is.
My message? There is always hope for our kids; and sometimes it comes in ways we definitely don't expect.
Great story, thanks for sharing. Hope he keeps it up!

Ryles plus N Brown, Sam Moa, Wisemantel, Mills, Cayless, and now Gasnier.
Funny, I was thinking the other day we’ve got plenty of forwards in our coaching lineup (and that was a good thing) and then up pops Gas.
I’m liking this.
Does this mean we’re a club with resources?
We might’ve finally realised the investment part of ‘investing in pathways’ means spending money. I hope it’s sustainable, and if not, I hope it wins us a comp or two before the money runs out. Like at Manly a decade ago.

Lingard, my wife and I are one of the many patrons of Belvoir. They have supported a few productions and actors over the years for people who are neurodiverse. It’s a good community. That must have been a proud moment for both your son and your family.

Recently they closed a season of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. It’s a well traveled production (Broadway, West End), a who-done-it about the death of a neighbour’s dog and it’s up the the lad, who sees things that we might not, to unravel the mystery. A family mystery.

ecd30f_0f43395f811145a992f34a804f3e54d1~mv2.webp

Soren Lorenson

That’s a f**ken amazing post @lingard More than makes up for some of the shit I’ve read in the last few days. Thankyou

I’ve been where you are, my friend. Pou is a persistent troll on every topic—a twisted individual who seems to thrive on annoying people in a footy forum.
Actually it’s you merkins who annoy me.
His behavior suggests a mix of high-functioning autism and a deliberate desire to provoke. Those who defend him either haven’t reached your level of frustration yet or are just sycophants enabling his antics.
This is the internet mate. This is a place where we have the time and resources to perform detailed analysis and support our arguments with data. There is no excuse for the kind of lazy, simplistic discussion we need to conduct in real life to coddle each other’s feelings.

Most posters on here have told me they enjoy Avenger and the way his no nonsense straight to the point posts come across.

On the other hand the majority on here think your an absolute punish.

I am sure you don't really care at the end of the day but being up front and honest with people is always best policy i find.

Anyway enjoy your Sunday morning looks like another beautiful day in what i call the best city on planet earth.
What posters on this forum have in common is that they love rugby league, not that they’re smart or even good blokes. Keep that in mind before you start spruiking the popularity contest as some sort of worthy endorsement.

Squire

I think our roster for 2025 is pretty good.

Notable losses will be Sivo, and Gutherson.

But we have Lomax, and Iongi/Papalii ready to step up.

Moses will be ready to go after an injury-disrupted 2024.

Williams is an astute signing - the prototypical modern game middle forward.

Addo-Carr brings baggage with him, but he's a genuine superstar - Moses will be relishing the chance to kick to the Fox.

I expect Gasnier to have an impact on developing Penisini's game.

I'm excited for next year.
I think Gutho is going to be a huge loss. What he brought to our team is beyond onfield performances. Sivo, I’m not as concerned about. His defence has been average for a while now and his decision making has always been questionable. Yes he can find a try line and I will miss his barnstorming Semiesque runs, but I don’t think he’s a huge loss. I hope.

Actually it’s you merkins who annoy me.

This is the internet mate. This is a place where we have the time and resources to perform detailed analysis and support our arguments with data. There is no excuse for the kind of lazy, simplistic discussion we need to conduct in real life to coddle each other’s feelings.
I don't require a detailed analysis to form an opinion about you. From a sample of over 91,000 posts, I believe you're complicated, possibly troubled, and seek validation. That said, when the mood strikes, you can be somewhat entertaining.