Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

ouryears

EVERY coach talks about tries from kicks. It's a way of praising the goal line defense, they have to resort to kicks to score. Ive heard Bellamy, Flanno, all of them use this.
"He blamed the field for being 3 metres long" Rubbish. You read the forum too much. He was merely saying how close but how far we were to getting across the try line.
Look I don't think McGregor is a great coach. He is way too conservative. The fact that he won't drop underperforming players frustrates me. His use of the bench baffles me. He isn't an inspiring public speaker. I think that there are muvh better coaches than him.
BUT, the hysteria and hatred that gets thrown around on here is a joke.
Its round 13 in 2018 and we are looking to be in a good position.
He is our coach and isn't going anywhere nor should he at this present moment.
I will be holding off on my sack the coach rage for a little while.
But you go ahead and rip in now.
You might look silly though when/if we win the comp this year.

Crush, your argument is accepting mediocre results whether you like it or not.

Mary saying we almost scored a few more tries, that we were pulled down 3 metres short....should not come from any coaches mouth.

So what if we ALMOST scored, ALMOST held them out, ALMOST kicked those goals, ALMOST did not miss those tackles and so on and so on.

It's garbage, it's embarrassing.

And to say tries from kicks is just praising the goal line defence is laughable, yes it is accepting mediocrity whether you like it or not.

Catching the ball, or getting to the rolling ball is also part of goal line defence.

I don't read what the forum says, I WINCED IN EMBARRASSMENT when I personally watched Mary's post match press conferences.

The evidence is this.
50% win rate across 3 years, which is appalling.

Any coach winning 50% across 3 years is sacked, just ask Madge and others.

Paint whatever picture you want.

The fact remains we must make the Top 4 with at least one win in the final series....or he MUST be sacked.

The results will determine it, not words or other bullshit.

Get the result or go.

ouryears

Something specific and relevant to the actual points would be nice.

You’re welcome.

I think mate with just 2 premierships since 1979, thats
2 in almost 40 years is very embarrassing for our club.

That's the results people in the club accept...EVEN THOUGH they are in the position to fix it.

I don't accept it.

We need change, we need a vision and a plan to make that vision come true.

A vision like:
To be a club that plays an attractive and exciting style of football and competes in the final series EVERY YEAR with a team that includes a minimum of 5 local juniors, and a club that makes significant contribution to its local communities.

(All clubs need to support its community, inc hospitals, charities, school kids, etc)

It's a 2 way street.

The Damo

I think mate with just 2 premierships since 1979, thats
2 in almost 40 years, is very mediocre, I think its embarrassing for our club.

That's the results some people in the club accept EVEN THOUGH they are in the position to fix it.
That’s fair enough, but that’s not an actual repsonse to the original points.

Can’t always get what you want, in my mind you now have the beard, plaid shirt and expression of befuddled disappointment like this
View attachment 20466

Beard yes.
Shirt no (I'm even less stylish than that, although the beard makes up for it).
Befuddled demeanour most certainly.
And perhaps surprisingly an equally attractive wife.

Straight Shooter

ouryears

Oh my gods, a balanced opinion that applies standards across the board and pays attention to the game outside what’s said on the forum!
Burn the witch!
Seriously though, this is bang on. There’s plenty of fair criticisms to make of how he coaches, but it’s also clear he’s improved the team markedly over his time as coach. And improved as a coach (from a low base yes).

You’re still wrong about Lafai though.

Damo, the jury is still out whether the team has improved over Mary's years.

We missed the 8 last year.
That means there was no improvement!

2018 is still in progress.
Let's see how he goes.

The Damo

Damo, the jury is still out whether the team has improved over Mary's years.

We missed the 8 last year.
That means there was no improvement!

2018 is still in progress.
Let's see how he goes.
12/12 wins losses is an improvement over 7/17. Not good enough of course but improvement nonetheless.
Plenty left to go this year I agree, but judging so far it’s been extremely successful. We’ve been one of the top 2/3 teams over that period in front of plenty of teams with as good and better rosters. That may change - it also might not. I’m probably 80%+ confident we’ll end the season in the top 4, and would regard it as very poor if we don’t make it there.

ouryears

12/12 wins losses is an improvement over 7/17. Not good enough of course but improvement nonetheless.
Plenty left to go this year I agree, but judging so far it’s been extremely successful. We’ve been one of the top 2/3 teams over that period in front of plenty of teams with as good and better rosters. That may change - it also might not. I’m probably 80%+ confident we’ll end the season in the top 4, and would regard it as very poor if we don’t make it there.
Good analysis Damo.
When you day 12/12 vs 7/17, what period of times are each of those?

hazzbeen

Crush, your argument is accepting mediocre results whether you like it or not.

Mary saying we almost scored a few more tries, that we were pulled down 3 metres short....should not come from any coaches mouth.

So what if we ALMOST scored, ALMOST held them out, ALMOST kicked those goals, ALMOST did not miss those tackles and so on and so on.

It's garbage, it's embarrassing.

And to say tries from kicks is just praising the goal line defence is laughable, yes it is accepting mediocrity whether you like it or not.

Catching the ball, or getting to the rolling ball is also part of goal line defence.

I don't read what the forum says, I WINCED IN EMBARRASSMENT when I personally watched Mary's post match press conferences.

The evidence is this.
50% win rate across 3 years, which is appalling.

Any coach winning 50% across 3 years is sacked, just ask Madge and others.

Paint whatever picture you want.

The fact remains we must make the Top 4 with at least one win in the final series....or he MUST be sacked.

The results will determine it, not words or other bullshit.

Get the result or go.
Well said , he has definatly had time , and its not that anyone wants the team to lose , but when you see the same things unfolding from pevious years I for one get frustrated . The position we are in now if we dont make top 4 and further sack him on the spot no ifs or buts . I have had enough of the excuses , the we played well but lost , the refs beat us , thier line speed was great , we have injuries . NO MORE EXCUSES ......

Slippery Morris

Saints have lost to 3 teams that played extremely well so you can't bag them for that. They have had a tough draw and come better than expected playing top footy.

This is where you can judge Mary. If Saints can't get at least 6 wins against Parra x 2, Dogs x 2, Tigers x 2, Knights and Manly then he really has not improved. That will put him on 30+ points. They should really win all those games and guarantee themselves a top 4. Melb, Chooks and Warriors are the only other 3 which they can also beat on their day. This is where he failed miserably last year so he had better improve.

The teams that are desperate for a win to save some pride like Eels and Dogs will be attacking Nighty's wing all day not be as selective as others as they know that is where their likely success will be for points so Saints better have more points in them than 12 or so or they will lose those so called easier games.

To be honest, those easier games are the ones Lomax, Robson, Leuilia, Host, Field, Mann, Nichols etc should be given more game time and the top squad players rested for the last 3-4 round of the comp.

Claiming credit for improvement at the mid point of the year is not realistic as we have gone OK in that part of the season for the last 3 years.
We have beaten our fair share of good quality sides which we have also done previously.
In all honesty improvement can only be truly measured after we play the weaker teams that we have lost to a pivotal moments in seasons past.
Only at the conclusion of all of that will we see / understand any substantive level of improvement.
If we lose key games to shit sides (no doubt to be talked up at a later date) then any improvement people consider worthy of crowing about to this point of the season will have been pissed up against the wall.
If that is the case then one needs to consider did we truly improve in the 1st part of the season at all or was our trumpeting of early season success just simply because other teams were crappier at the beginning of the season then we were but when they got their shit together they left us behind in their wake.
Still a long way to go for either side of the argument.

TruSaint

Havent read through the last few pages, but from where I stand @Old Timer 's post regarding us v lesser opposition is a real measuring tool. How many years have we sat at the top of table mid stream, then capitulated and fumbled to sides out of the 8, with nothing to play for.

Losing to Penrith, as hard as it was , isnt shameful. Maybe we learn from that game. Losing to the likes of the Dogs, Newcastle etc would be a huge step backwards.

Like I have said on several threads, making the 8 is no gauge this year in regard to Mary's job. Its top 4 or out.

Its not like he has had 1-2 seasons... This is season 5.