Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sam Tomkins: coming to an NRL club near you

tumbidragon

Nah he uses him in the typical set backline plays every team has, and has put him on the outside of his man twice in two games for simple catch and pass try assists. No different to any other half and fullback combination, same plays same frequency.
I saw two occasions where he bombed try's this weekend. 1 was a simple cut out pass to the winger to stroll over, yet he passed it to his centre. The other was not his fault but a slip, Dragons where in all sorts but he came back into the ruck rather than go wide where we were short. Definitely not judging him off 2 games, as he is a gun imo. But some of those poor choices were flat out woeful.

POPEYE

I won't bother but I believe you, while you're at it have a look at both games and concentrate on the shit dished up by Johnson compared to what he and Tomkins did in most of the Nines. If you think anyone is going to take any notice of your blinkered assessment where the Pom is the only culprit you're kidding yourself.

chrisD

I won't bother but I believe you, while you're at it have a look at both games and concentrate on the shit dished up by Johnson compared to what he and Tomkins did in most of the Nines. If you think anyone is going to take any notice of your blinkered assessment where the Pom is the only culprit you're kidding yourself.

You should believe me as I actually watched the games, what am I looking for in the Saints game exactly? A point where Johnson decides Tomkins is cramping his style? I'm pretty sure it went Johnson - Tomkins - Ropati - try, so it must be some point after that one. The like plays were there, just not as successful as the Saints edge defence was much better, and they probably watched what happened to the eels the week before.

I think I'll pass on the comparison to the 9s, because it's 9s, and besides I know you really just want to be left in peace to make more of those Johnson is a poseur posts without actually being called on to go into specifics with what you say.

POPEYE

I'm not trying to convince you of anything you don't want to see, forums aren't about changing opinions. I watch the same games as you and I'm convinced that before the finals in the Nines Johnson was playing wondrous footy and Tomkins was great behind his playmaker as all great fullbacks are.

Since then Johnson has been playing up to shit and all Tomkins can do is try and compensate. He's no more to blame than Johnson who I wouldn't like in a team of mine any more than I would Benji. I would however take Tomkins with open arms, especially at Melbourne with Cronk leading him. So I'm happy to concede Shaun and your opinion of him to you . . . you win ol' mate

Based on some pre-season interviews I was fooled into believing that Johnson has turned the corner and is ready to start trying to help his team win matches. I was badly mistaken, he's still the same old show-pony and he must be a hugely frustrating teammate.

Harrigan

Tomkins hasn't been the best fullback in SL ever. He was the best attacking threat, but as a true number 1 Hardaker has been the top player. The reason Michael McGuire moved him to 1 was because he was a young 5/8 who could make the most from the outside space. He's developed though and should be In The halves now. He is quick, has a good step and reads a game better than Johnson does.

He has never struggled with the bomb in internationals though although from time to time he did in Super League. I just think he's finding his feet because of the speed of the game over here and he's putting pressure on himself. Once he gets used to the speed he'll go fine.

Iafeta

Key to 3 tries with quick hands and scored a ripper. Made up for his muck up well and truly.

LeedsRhinos

You have to expect him to be scratchy to start with considering the whole new country, new comp, new combinations.

I think he needs more ball in the opposition half.

Tomkins is one out of the box.

I love watching him play.

A great addition to the NRL.

Class act.

chrisD

Was the best fullback out there, when the actual best fullback went off injured. Scored a try for his and the opposition team, about on par for his worth this season. Third best fullback in the league? Better than Hayne? Comical nonsense.

Diesel

It's his 4th game of NRL & is improving with each game.

Also Bunniesman wants him to fail so much that you know he's going to succeed in this comp