Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sam Tomkins: coming to an NRL club near you

ggmu

Meh. Outplayed by Barba last night who is struggling himself. Haters gonna hate is the way things go but has he lived up to the hype? So far no.

He is no where near Slater, Hayne, Inglis, Stewart and Dugan.

Maybe he is trying too hard but he gets dominated every tackle seemingly.

It's silly to put the Dugan in the post. Of course no one is better than THE Dugan :p

Are we talking team at round 26 form or off season WCC form ? Cause if you sent an NRL semi finals type form team to play a ESL mixed team then the NRL team would wipe the floor with the superleague team I reckon .

Lol.of course they would.:sarcasm:

Ronnie Dobbs

He's very talented - but therein lies the difference between SL & NRL. Talent sees you fly over there because the talent pool sees very good players playing against very average ones.

Sure, we have average players here, but they go on to be good SL players if they go that way.

He's got the smarts to improve.

He'll be much better in 2 years time.

mxlegend99

He's a Matt Moylan quality fullback being paid Greg Inglis money.

Not a bad player. But not worth near what he is earning.

Aragorn

He's a Matt Moylan quality fullback being paid Greg Inglis money.

Not a bad player. But not worth near what he is earning.

He's not a Matt Moylan. Matt Moylan is a rookie FFS.

Tomkins value doesn't come solely on what he does with the ball. Its his work ethic, his leadership and the energy and enthusiasm that he brings to the team. You can tell his impact has been positive when you looks at the likes of SJ, Hurrell, in fact, the whole backline, who are all playing at a higher level to compared to this time last year.

I wont deny that some of his touches have been off, but some have been beautiful to watch. I particularly love his timing when he's running onto the ball deep from SJ's pass on set plays, and connecting with Hurricane Hurrell. Mean.

His shirt grabbing tackles are cringe worthy to watch, but so was SJ last season, this year, SJ's a beast with his tackling - looks like he's even enjoying it.... Tomkins will be that by the time we get to the business end of the season.

Leaguelegend20

He's not a Matt Moylan. Matt Moylan is a rookie FFS.

Tomkins value doesn't come solely on what he does with the ball. Its his work ethic, his leadership and the energy and enthusiasm that he brings to the team. You can tell his impact has been positive when you looks at the likes of SJ, Hurrell, in fact, the whole backline, who are all playing at a higher level to compared to this time last year.

I wont deny that some of his touches have been off, but some have been beautiful to watch. I particularly love his timing when he's running onto the ball deep from SJ's pass on set plays, and connecting with Hurricane Hurrell. Mean.

His shirt grabbing tackles are cringe worthy to watch, but so was SJ last season, this year, SJ's a beast with his tackling - looks like he's even enjoying it.... Tomkins will be that by the time we get to the business end of the season.

LOL.

You know a player is f**king shit when your only able to compliment them on the intangibles. A player being good because of their 'work ethic' and 'leadership' augments his inability to play consistent footy. The guy is a f**king farce. Should run back to the SL with his tail in between his frail chicken legs.

Aragorn

LOL.

You know a player is f**king shit when your only able to compliment them on the intangibles. A player being good because of their 'work ethic' and 'leadership' augments his inability to play consistent footy. The guy is a f**king farce. Should run back to the SL with his tail in between his frail chicken legs.

what part where I started with "Tomkins value doesn't come solely on what he does with the ball." did you not understand?

Leaguelegend20

what part where I started with "Tomkins value doesn't come solely on what he does with the ball." did you not understand?

I understood that mate, what I'm saying is if you are paying a bloke that much money for what he does WITHOUT the ball it's not f**king worth it. Paying a bloke 750k to be a good "leader" and have a strong "work ethic" is an absolute farce of the highest order.

Tomkins is a flop.

Aragorn

I understood that mate, what I'm saying is if you are paying a bloke that much money for what he does WITHOUT the ball it's not f**king worth it. Paying a bloke 750k to be a good "leader" and have a strong "work ethic" is an absolute farce of the highest order.

Tomkins is a flop.

well, so we're clear, I'm not saying we're paying him that much coin for simply what he does without the ball. I was replying to mxlegend99 who said Tomkins is a Matt Moylan, to which I replied, is a rookie unlike ST who brings more to the table.

Leaguelegend20

well, so we're clear, I'm not saying we're paying him that much coin for simply what he does without the ball. I was replying to mxlegend99 who said Tomkins is a Matt Moylan, to which I replied, is a rookie unlike ST who brings more to the table.

ST is a Moylan in ability & a Zillman in experience.

Worth 750k?

You tell me.

Aragorn

ST is a Moylan in ability & a Zillman in experience.

Worth 750k?

You tell me.

If this is what it costs to lure o/s players across the Tasman, then I say, pay the man.

Eric Watson is a rich bastard of a billionaire anyway, 1 less sports car for him to park in the garage.

Leaguelegend20

If this is what it costs to lure o/s players across the Tasman, then I say, pay the man.

Eric Watson is a rich bastard of a billionaire anyway, 1 less sports car for him to park in the garage.

That is very true. I would say he has lived up to his value in the media in generating lots of hype for the Warriors. Just from a playing point of view the money could have been better spent. But as we have said, he has potential and could come very good. We will have to see.

Scubby

It seems some players are just targets for stick and others are beyond criticism. Tomkins has been hot and cold so far but has been far from poor. He is down on confidence a bit but the Warriors are improving with him in the team.

Ask Parramatta fans if they were happy with superstar Jarryd Hayne's pathetic attempt to tackle Hinchcliffe for Brian Norrie's try on 70 minutes today or him fumbling the ball dead from a nothing kick with no-one within 30m. That's okay, cos this guy walks on water and never makes mistakes.

It seems some players are just targets for stick and others are beyond criticism. Tomkins has been hot and cold so far but has been far from poor. He is down on confidence a bit but the Warriors are improving with him in the team.

Ask Parramatta fans if they were happy with superstar Jarryd Hayne's pathetic attempt to tackle Hinchcliffe for Brian Norrie's try on 70 minutes today or him fumbling the ball dead from a nothing kick with no-one within 30m. That's okay, cos this guy walks on water and never makes mistakes.

To be honest, if Hayne currently walks on water then it's long overdue. He's played out of his skin for the last few years but has been continually shit on and ridiculed for mythical poor performance from fans and supposed expert pundits alike.

It's only when the Eels win a few games, likewise the NSW Blues, that he's getting the credit he deserves for his excellent performances.

Hayne's certainly not above criticism or reactionary bullshit, been bagged relentlessly for most his career

Meth

That is very true. I would say he has lived up to his value in the media in generating lots of hype for the Warriors. Just from a playing point of view the money could have been better spent. But as we have said, he has potential and could come very good. We will have to see.

You don't seem to be getting his point at all.

On who?

POPEYE

To be honest, if Hayne currently walks on water then it's long overdue. He's played out of his skin for the last few years but has been continually shit on and ridiculed for mythical poor performance from fans and supposed expert pundits alike.

It's only when the Eels win a few games, likewise the NSW Blues, that he's getting the credit he deserves for his excellent performances.

Hayne's certainly not above criticism or reactionary bullshit, been bagged relentlessly for most his career

Hayne's 'played out of his skin for the last few years' . . . dearie me

Juju

I am a Tomkins fan. I like what he brings to the Warriors. But its pretty clear the Warriors have overpaid for him. His salary should warrant, Hayne, Inglis, Slater-esq pay back and although showing some signs of brilliance, isn't really close.