Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scomo saving me

Generalzod

Yes but surely you can see the difference between this and the common flu?
Looking at the spike in deaths towards the last weeks of March world wide .
It is clearly worse.
Why isn’t the flu being blamed on smoking too?

also “all of these people had underlying problems “ is complete bullshit.
Absolute bullshit.
Perfectly healthy young people have been severely sick and some have died.
That’s over a few months.
I do see the difference carch, So why would health authorities still keep pointing out underlying issues or aren’t we being told the truth about the virus?

I dunno About any conspiracy
I do know they reported this morning in the UK
A 12 year old boy and a 19 year old man both died from covid - not related to each other in any way.
Neither had any underlying health issues.

Generalzod

I also have a sick kid and spent time in the children’s ward.
My youngest has epilepsy .
I saw all the other sick kids in Randwick.
It was shocking and sad.

I wish they could immunise for epilepsy, I’d have my son
It was shocking and sad.

I wish they could immunise for epilepsy, I’d have my son first in line .

To see him go through a seizure is heart breaking.
Every f**king time.
In public... in front of other family members.
You feel like you failed at becoming a parent.
You feel like others think that.
Not to mention the embarrassment he feels .
He feels like a disappointment
He f**king apologises.

He has something that isn’t even contagious.
You stay strong Carch, are there any drugs that alleviate the problem with epilepsy?[

TOUCH WOOD THIS NEVER HAPPENS TO ANYONE !!!!!!

But one must remember this. If any child or relo gets this horrible bastard of a thing and are hospitalised with it no one will be permitted at their bedside to hold their hand or just be there for them. ( Unless fully covered in the protective gear. - that is if there is a spare set available)

There are families that are not even permitted to sit with their reloes as they pass on. It is a chunnnt of a thing. Poor bloody nurses world wide are turning into mental wrecks trying to deal with this. Watching people just lying there alone and dying.

I have a good mate up here who is a house carer for matured aged autistic blokes. Recently he had the experience of physically locking out one of the 'clients' screaming abusive mother that was demanding that she be allowed into the shared house to visit her son. They were in lockdown.

he is on tegretol
Everyday . He responds great to it.
Without it , it’s a time bomb.
In saying that there is a good chance he’ll grow out of it.
My brother did.

plenty don’t .

TOUCH WOOD THIS NEVER HAPPENS TO ANYONE !!!!!!

But one must remember this. If any child or relo gets this horrible bastard of a thing and are hospitalised with it no one will be permitted at their bedside to hold their hand or just be there for them. ( Unless fully covered in the protective gear. - that is if there is a spare set available)

There are families that are not even permitted to sit with their reloes as they pass on. It is a chunnnt of a thing. Poor bloody nurses world wide are turning into mental wrecks trying to deal with this. Watching people just lying there alone and dying.

I have a good mate up here who is a house carer for matured aged autistic blokes. Recently he had the experience of physically locking out one of the 'clients' screaming abusive mother that was demanding that she be allowed into the shared house to visit her son. They were in lockdown.
That young kid in the uk died alone
Had no wrong with him before he got it.
Parents weren’t allowed in because he was so contagious.
In the news this morning.

I have a good mate who is a doctor.
Known him my whole life.
Travelled for a year around Australia with him.
He was the most conscientious student.
Took his uni books with him.

He didn’t vaccinate his kids.
His missus is a bit of a hippy.
Nice but south coast mentality.
I asked why he didn’t vaccinate and he said those diseases haven’t been around for decades.

FMD
The mind boggles.

I wonder why they haven’t been around.

anyway

Scomo caused the black plague I’m guessing?

Generalzod

I have a good mate who is a doctor.
Known him my whole life.
Travelled for a year around Australia with him.
He was the most conscientious student.
Took his uni books with him.

He didn’t vaccinate his kids.
His missus is a bit of a hippy.
Nice but south coast mentality.
I asked why he didn’t vaccinate and he said those diseases haven’t been around for decades.

FMD
The mind boggles.

I wonder why they haven’t been around.

anyway

Scomo caused the black plague I’m guessing?
Especially who is as Educated as a doctor should have known better..

snout

It was shocking and sad.

I wish they could immunise for epilepsy, I’d have my son first in line .

To see him go through a seizure is heart breaking.
Every f**king time.
In public... in front of other family members.
You feel like you failed at becoming a parent.
You feel like others think that.
Not to mention the embarrassment he feels .
He feels like a disappointment
He f**king apologises.

He has something that isn’t even contagious.
Yep - as a parent it breaks you.
You would happily take it and let them live a normal life.
My girl was born with cystic fibrosis.
I didnt even know what it was.
Dads little girl. So sick.

Constant coughing thru nites. You dont know how they sleep.
You certainly dont.
Changes you forever and l crashed and burnt but enough of that.....but l was a guy from a big family who planned on having a brood.
Just the one now. Couldn't do it again.

When she was 12 she got diabetes type 1. It's CF related so shes also insulin dependent. Went through high school as a young girl giving herself needles.
As if the cf wasnt enough.

But smart as a tack.
An A grade student and pushed herself to do amazing things.
Kids amaze you.
Im the proudest guy.
Shes 21 now and has been put on amazing new medication - which costs a fortune - on compassionate grounds because her lung function was so low.
Now shes the best shes been.
Hasnt coughed since shes been on it as it corrects the problem...not the symptoms.

Anyways..thats my lot.

Many of us in here suffer with our loved ones sicknesses.
Or even our own so enjoy the time we have.
These things give us perspective.
They change us.
It certaimly did me.
You see people fighting in the aisles for loo paper and you know its not important. You marvel at how stupid someone could be.
Maybe they havent had something happen yet which gives them that perspective on whats important and whats not.
But it will come.
We all get our turn.

wibble

The anti vaccination brigade are probably the most dopiest people I have ever come across.

Stupidity of the highest order.

Well, there you go. We agree on something.

And they are made to look more stupid as this crisis drags on.

A bit early really to be counting any good from this disaster, but if it puts a nail in the coffin of anti vaxxer philosophy that would be something. I guess anti vaxxers don't rely on evidence anyway, so it is not likely.

wibble

Absolutely. I do accept there would be a very, very small percentage that have devastating complications from immunisation. My dad had a very rare seizure giving blood you never hear about...but I don’t advocate not giving blood.

Take polio. A terrible virus affecting kids that has been eradicated by immunisation...eradicated until people stop vaxing that is.

And people with a genuine medical need to not immunise (rare though it is) can and should make that choice. The anti vaxxers help make a world where it is harder on those people too.

I agree about polio. That and smallpox are the gold standard in why immunisation is so useful.

wibble

This thread is an exercise in confirmation bias. Ideological opponents of Morrison think everything he does is shit. Ideological allys think he is doing well in a tough situation.

The reality is that this is a situation no one had trained for with irreconcilable tension between restrictions to contain the spread of the virus and screwing the economy.

Those shouting loudest for total lockdown miss the social costs of rampant job loss. A community of desperate people isn't going to end well.

Those talking a she'll be right, this virus is overblown will cause the thing to drag on further.

No matter what actions are taken there will be massive cost in terms of health, medical resources, economic resources, mental health, the list goes on.

I'm "shouting for" total lockdown. And the social costs and rampant job loss are important reasons why I think a total lock down is better, plus I hope it will save a lot more lives (which is also good for social costs and job losses). I don't like the idea that we could be in this half lock down state we are in until November.

wibble

This bloke is a pretty well established leftie but can take a balanced view. Give it a go, you might learn something

https://www.news.com.au/finance/wor...s/news-story/bd217bdc36bcddf24aace15bb20f0894

Hildebrand's articles on coronavirus are just rubbish.

In his previous one, he reckoned his genius mate worked out coronavirus would kill maybe 1800 people (so no worse than a flu season, when it is obviously worse than a flu season). He said he was OK with sacrificing his elderly mother in law to keep our jobs, as she had lived a full life.

But he reckons he and his wife and kids will be OK, because they are young, so that is all right.

wibble

Mate I know, and I am as upset as anyone on that fact.I'd give my life for my kids and grandkids.The thought of them struggling for years ,due to ignorance by China leaves me gutted.
But under current circumstances, people have to live and have a roof over their heads.

That's why I am well and truly p*ssed with the Chinese Govt for keeping mum on the early infections ,and if they had done the right thing and shut down early, the pandemic would not have existed.That's why I despise authoritarian Govts left or right,

They are the ones who will benefit long term out of this.Their president should be thrown into the clink .

The Chinese government has repeatedly shown all they care about is themselves, and they have let down their own people, and the world, in this crisis.

It is one thing to despise authoritarian governments though, but it takes work to keep other governments from becoming authoritarian. That is why in this thread I keep urging people to keep governments accountable, and not let partisan loyalties keep them from criticising "their" party when they lie, rort, introduce undemocratic laws, or hide from accountability.

This crisis has allowed the Hungarian Prime Minister to effectively have authoritarian control of what is ostensibly a democracy. But they didn't get there overnight, from coronavirus. This is a democracy that has eroded democratic freedoms over the last decade.

Hopefully international pressure will help Hungary return more to a democratic state once the coronavirus crisis is over, but they are a warning to all of us that democracies can turn into dictatorships, and it takes a watchful and critical eye from the populace to prevent this.

wibble

The virus according to reports actually popped up back in November in China,and the Commie Govt waited til they had an annual conference and holiday, before they decided to tell the rest of the world.
Two whistleblower doctors mentioned it on twitter early,they were sanctioned and one died and the other disappeared.The Commie way.
You do understand closing things down straight away, was not recommended by any financial advisers, which would have been even more catastrophic with businesses having zero chance to recover.

One minute you say we didn't then you can understand why we didn't .Correct,leaders are meant to lead and ScoMo is leading, which you won't accept due to the hate factor.But guess what nothing is being hidden from the Australian public.
ScoMo ws was castigated by the left for non leading with the bushfires ,and he gets bagged when he leads with COVID-19.

In fact a Professor who specialises in mental health has praised the Govt for its initiative to provide a substantial amount to assist people who have lost their jobs and the mental anguish that can cause.He noted no other country to date has done such thing..

Plenty is being hidden from the Australian public.

TLDR: The Australian governments aren't sharing the research and modelling behind their "expert advice". And they aren't telling us their strategy for dealing with the crisis, especially the long term goals and how we get out of this mess.

While I don't think the governments (federal and state) have done a terrible job, even if I disagree with what appears to be our strategy, the two areas that they can be criticised for are about transparency.

The first is about how they are making their decisions. They say they are following "expert medical advice". But they won't show us what this advice says. The PM was directly asked about the modelling they were following and refused to give a straight answer, falling back on the "expert advice" line. This is in stark contrast to NZ, for example, where they have published their modelling for all to see (with caveats about how there is a wide degree of uncertainty).

It is a little misleading for them to say they are relying on expert medical advice when they won't provide that advice. The AHPPC is not a neutral, medical research and response group. It is part of the government and looks at implementing government policy. The Group of Eight, who the government uses purely for medical advice, advised that we go in to immediate lock down. The AHPPC doesn't believe this is "proportionate", which is to say, cost effective, rather than that it is the best medical advice. Which implies the government has access to some modelling about the costs and benefits of their policy, but they are not sharing it.

The second area where they are not telling the Australian public all they could, is their overall strategy, especially their long term goal. Sure, they tell us they are trying to save lives and jobs, but that is an aspiration, not a strategy. Again, if you contrast with NZ, NZ laid out a complete list of stages of response and what would happen at each stage. Our government said something like "We are at level 2 now because people aren't doing the right thing. Don't make us go to level 3. We'll tell you what that looks like when we get there".

It ties in with them not showing us the research behind their decision making, but the key strategic element they are not sharing is the long term goal. Sure, things are fluid and can change, and predictions will turn out to be widely off. But that hopefully doesn't mean the government doesn't have long term goals. Just they are not sharing them.

That Professor Blakely who Hildebrand was citing as a source for comfort for us all, says that the government has obviously followed a mitigation strategy of flattening the curve, though the government themselves aren't telling us that. It leaves me to speculate if they aren't sharing because the strategy seems to have some grim future predictions. Blakely predicts under that strategy we will have 30 000 (mostly young and middle aged, if a strategy to protect the old and drive down total deaths is used) to 130 000 deaths, peaking around October with hundreds of thousands of cases per day, with extreme social isolation measures like the ones we are in now going on, until the end of the year, possibly into next year.

If that is the strategy we are following, no wonder they aren't sharing. I hope that is incorrect, and there is better news than that. It would be nice if the governments would tell us what this better news is.

Saw one yesterday. I've posted the links in some other joints. There was a poor elderly yank bloke 89 old. Fell over and broke his hip. They obviously put in hospital and he got pneumonia so they did the coroniavirus test on him - one because he was being admitted and two his pneumonia. He was isolated in ICU for a week while the test were being done. Even his old wife couldn't visit. His three daughters all lived in other states and because of the no travel bans they couldn't visit. The old bloke deteriorated and died slowly. Just before he fell off the perch the test came back negative and his wife was eventually allowed to be by his bedside for his last hours.

The three daughters were hooked into the room by a laptop technology and had to watch their dads last breath and their mum sitting there alone (with a priest)

What made it even worse they could not go to the funeral or even visit mum because they were all interstate and if they travelled would have to be isolated for 14 days before they could go out and see and console her.

This is happening all over the world.

Maties, it is a f**ked up place right now, we all need to do the right thing even if you don't agree with it.

I did not hear or read what that f**kwit Joe Hildebrand said or wrote, but I can tell you this. He is a complete f**king idiot.