Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Skandalis

And if Skando was a Balmain Junior, you'd be arguing the other way. Anyone that's read more than 3 of your postings knows it and you know it.

Seriously, Skandalis deserves a spot in the State Of Origin side. He tackles relentlessly, plays a lot of the game for a prop, possibly more than nearly all other props in the game right now. He makes a lot of tackles, a lot of hit ups, all of this takes pressure off the other forwards.

But as mentioned before, because he isn't a member of one of the successful teams he will be overlooked for a big name player who has played 3 games and only having one of them actually being good.

Form means nothing nowadays.

Once Dead

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
Ask Yappy?

Yappy doesn't even follow the Wests Tigers. How would he know?

And please, I defy anyone to go to the Wests Tigers forum here and tell me it isn't basically a Wests Magpies/Balmain Tigers Premier League Forum. You, Yappy and that idiot Tigger should be all be banished to the NSWRL forum.

Every thread you start is about Premier League or congratulating a Balmain junior for making the "big step".

You're as blinkered as anyone in LU and your opinion on Skando is as welcome as dung on a donut.

Seriously, you have some sort of weird complex, give it up and argue on the merits of what is actually posted rather than dredging up background info.

Skandalis lacks a bit of the fire and mongrel of other forwards who have played S.O.O.....doesn't mean he isn't a super player and that i wouldn't re-sign him for the rest of his playing days and love to see him in the Blues side but you need that something extra for S.O.O, plain and simple

Impellitteri said:
Seriously, you have some sort of weird complex, give it up and argue on the merits of what is actually posted rather than dredging up background info.

Skandalis lacks a bit of the fire and mongrel of other forwards who have played S.O.O.....doesn't mean he isn't a super player and that i wouldn't re-sign him for the rest of his playing days and love to see him in the Blues side but you need that something extra for S.O.O, plain and simple

And how about you bite me?

brook posts negative stuff about Wests juniors all the time. She posts negative stuff about Wests all the time. Shit, she was doing it at LWOS 18 odd months ago. The Leopard hasn't changed its spots.

Firstly, what was posted was biased crap, it got the argument it deserved.

Secondly, as someone who posts in the Wests Tigers forum, you already know that it was biased.

Thirdly, Luke Bailey was picked for Origin at a time when I thought he was a pretty good prop, but probably not up to Origin. He stepped up that night because he as given the chance. Skando deserves the same opportunity.

Fourthly, the Balmain people who aren't blinkered and have posted in here seem to disagree with you and brook.

If you pick a guy and he doesn't step up, you don't pick him again. From memory, Skando played one match for City two years ago and had a blinder.

Club loyalty aside, Skando, if he does it again this Friday should at least be on the bench for Origin. And so should Lance Thompson for exactly the same reasons. They've been playing well for so long it's hard to pinpoint their last bad match.

And, if they haven't played Origin, no-one, not even "experts" like you and brook know how they'll go playing Origin.

Thank God you aren't selectors.

Kid

Impellitteri said:

And how about you bite me?

brook posts negative stuff about Wests juniors all the time. She posts negative stuff about Wests all the time. sh*t, she was doing it at LWOS 18 odd months ago. The Leopard hasn't changed its spots.

Firstly, what was posted was biased crap, it got the argument it deserved.

Secondly, as someone who posts in the Wests Tigers forum, you already know that it was biased.

Thirdly, Luke Bailey was picked for Origin at a time when I thought he was a pretty good prop, but probably not up to Origin. He stepped up that night because he as given the chance. Skando deserves the same opportunity.

Fourthly, the Balmain people who aren't blinkered and have posted in here seem to disagree with you and brook.

If you pick a guy and he doesn't step up, you don't pick him again. From memory, Skando played one match for City two years ago and had a blinder.

Club loyalty aside, Skando, if he does it again this Friday should at least be on the bench for Origin. And so should Lance Thompson for exactly the same reasons. They've been playing well for so long it's hard to pinpoint their last bad match.

And, if they haven't played Origin, no-one, not even "experts" like you and brook know how they'll go playing Origin.

Thank God you aren't selectors.
Mate i go for WT and NSW and i couldn't give a toss where WT players come from, as long as they perform. Skando has been by far the best player for WT this year but he is just not fast and mobile, and doesn't seem to get the leg speed, and doesn't seem to be able to CRUNCH players in defence. It takes more to play origin than it ever will test football in this day and age. I hope Skando gets an opportunity, but i won't be feeling he was robbed if he doesn't, as i believe there are better props running around.

westie

Skando has the mongrel and impact to come off the bench in origin. He would probably have been in the most punch-ons of any player in the NRL and has shown his ability to impact a game when playing with decent props in the 2002 city country game.

Not to mention he's probably been the stand-out prop of the comp so far.

BJ

i thought skando was a good prop playing for the tigers..
but like any good player he really did step up in the city country game when he last played..
and that's the key.. he shows he can turn up when needed and match it with the best they had to offer..
congrats to skando on making the city team..

brook said:
Skando is a workhorse who fully deserves a city-country spot

He won't, and shouldn't be, selected for origin.

Origin footy demands more than just hard workers - to win you need props that can make every single run count and Skando is way behind the top props in that regard - an average of 6 and a half metres per hit-up just doesn't cover it no matter how many of them you make...not when you are facing guys like webke that are capable of so much more.

Biased?...yeah I think EA is correct, the Balmain Jnrs stuff wears a bit thin.

Your saying that Skandos runs dont count????
Thats why his name is the first one read out each Tues nite.
He's WAY behind the top props???
:lol: :lol: Sorry.
So what does that make the other first grade props that didnt even make city/country??? P-leaguers???

You can read your clipboard and quote stats all you like....Skando would handle origin no problems.

Congrats to Skando & Hodgson.

You are joking. Skandalis is the most in form prop in the game. He hasn't played any less than brilliant in all of the tigers games this year. No prop has been as consistently outstanding as he has this year.

It's an injustice that he's been named on the bench for City. He deserves to start there and he should be at least on the bench for NSW as well.

Forwards don't need to smash players in defense, they just need to effectively tackle them and get them to the grund, something that Skandalis can and does do regularly. He isn't afraid to hit the ball up and he can play for over an hour per game if thats whats needed. How many props running around are capable of all that? Very few.

I am with EA all the way here, Skandalis is deserving of a blues jumper and serious questions must be asked if he is to miss out this year. After all, you never know how well he'd go at State level if he never gets picked, he could step up yet another level and prove to be the next big name in football. And before you all scoff at that last comment, just think about some players in the past who were in the same situation as Skandalis is now.

Its very believable, If Skandalis gets a run in a blues jumper we will learn whether or not he is capable of that level. Until then no-one knows what he's capable of at representative level like that, so no one should be saying how he couldn't handle it.

IMO he is more than capable and is more than deserving of a spot in the NSW team.

One of the biggest selection injustices of the past few years is Skando not being picked in Origin in 2002. He was roundly picked as the best prop and in some cases the best player on the park in C v C. If you are the best on the ground in C v C, you should be given a chance at the next level.

Otherwise, drop C v C or at the very least, cut out calling it an Origin selection trial.

gr8_1

innsaneink said:
brook said:

Origin footy demands more than just hard workers - to win you need props that can make every single run count and Skando is way behind the top props in that regard - an average of 6 and a half metres per hit-up just doesn't cover it no matter how many of them you make...not when you are facing guys like webke that are capable of so much more.

Biased?...yeah I think EA is correct, the Balmain Jnrs stuff wears a bit thin.

Your saying that Skandos runs dont count????
Thats why his name is the first one read out each Tues nite.
He's WAY behind the top props???
:lol: :lol: Sorry.
So what does that make the other first grade props that didnt even make city/country??? P-leaguers???

You can read your clipboard and quote stats all you like....Skando would handle origin no problems.

Congrats to Skando & Hodgson.

Ditto. You said everything I wanted to say.

Congrats Skando and Hodgo ... proud Magpie Juniors and Currently Wests Tigers best performed players. :clap:

Ask Yappy?

Yappy doesn't even follow the Wests Tigers. How would he know?

And please, I defy anyone to go to the Wests Tigers forum here and tell me it isn't basically a Wests Magpies/Balmain Tigers Premier League Forum. You, Yappy and that idiot Tigger should be all be banished to the NSWRL forum.

Every thread you start is about Premier League or congratulating a Balmain junior for making the "big step".

You're as blinkered as anyone in LU and your opinion on Skando is as welcome as dung on a donut.

Need proof???

Brook said:
yappy got it right - robbie will be a champion and noone has even seen anywhere near what he's capable of in first grade yet - which is almost a scary thought
Robbie farah=Balmain Jnr...prediction/opinion=positive.

Brook said:
Origin footy demands more than just hard workers - to win you need props that can make every single run count and Skando is way behind the top props in that regard - an average of 6 and a half metres per hit-up just doesn't cover it no matter how many of them you make...not when you are facing guys like webke that are capable of so much more
John Skandalis=Western Suburbs Jnr...prediction/opinion=negative.

Like the stats on ur clipboard Brook .................its all there in black n white :lol:

simon says

Crikey,anyone who doesnt think that Skandy is cert for Origin is a Balmain Nazi......... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

FFS,all you guys take a pill,have a lay down and work out yer next conspiracy like who shot JFK?????I suppose it was Brook behind the grassy knoll........

This thread is sooooooo funny...... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Eddie.

You guys are kidding.

Firstly on Skando, very good prop, loyal bloke, love him. Origin??, i dont know for mine he doesnt make enough meters in tackles ( his quantity is excellent, quality is not bad) and lacks some leg speed. Watch the game against Saints where he was up against bailey. have a look at big league and meters per hit up, and compare it to a ryles, petro, clinton
Skando has been in very good form this year but he certainly is no certainty for origin, a bench chance, heres hoping.

On Brook, thats just rubbish what you guys are saying, i generally find that when guys like Lima, Farah, halatua, Bronson have come up to first grade brook has been spot on with whether they would be up to it or not.

And i remember her critisising both dene and bronson after the saints game ( yes both balmain juniors)

simon, an opinion is an opinion but a veiled shot at someone because they're a Wests junior....

And that's all it was.

Anyway, Impelliteri is 100% right.

Robbie Farah has done shit when he's been up. Christ, he can't even cement a place on the FG bench. Yet he's going to be a "champion".

Skando already is one.

simon says

simon, an opinion is an opinion but a veiled shot at someone because they're a Wests junior...

Robbie Farah has done sh*t when he's been up. Christ, he can't even cement a place on the FG bench. Yet he's going to be a "champion".

Skando already is one.

Two points,firstly,Farah has been outstanding in the lowers.Ask any Wests fan(who actually goes and watches the lower grades)what Farah did to them in the semis of Flegg last year.He is only a kid,and still isnt fully fit yet and has the potential to go all the way.And last year when he made a few cameos he was awesome,you must have a short memory .

Secondly,Skandalis is not a champion.He is bloody good player who busts his hump,but champion,I dont think so.I wouldnt rate him in the top half dozen props in the comp.In saying this I wouldnt swap him for anyone as he is the heart and sole of the pack,but to call someone biased cos they have a different(and quite reasonable)opinion is really farcical.

You're entitled to your opinion theirry.

Idiotic as it is, you're still entitled to it.

Eddie, which Tigers player had a good game against Saints?

"Lima, Farah, halatua, Bronson"

Not one of those blokes has even established themselves in FG. Sure, it's great to hear how they're going in Premier League and that they're capable of stepping up to FG, but they haven't.

My argument is simple.

Very good players tend to step up to the class they're put into. Skando has been put up there once in City v Country two seasons ago and had a blinder.

He can make the step up again.

Hey, if I had a consistent hard worker like that in my team, I'd probably love him too. And I reckon he would go ok in Origin. But he's hardly an excitement machine.