Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So what happened at presentation?

beekershark

I think the removal of a patron last night was , as usual, heavy handed, extremely defensive, and a sign the boys upstairs are in dire dire straits.

the punter that was removed by security was very close to where I stood. he yelled NOTHING of an abusive nature and most certainly did not use poor language.

When raper stood to speak, the punter yelled " admit you are out of your depth " !

Then when raper mentioned the boys were trying but not getting the results, the same punter yelled " BECAUSE YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR DEPTH" !

He yelled someone a few minutes later, perhaps " so far out of your depth" and then two guards came and escorted him out.

ridiculously over the top from the board who obvioulsy have directed security to, as has been said here ealier, use "gestapoesque" tactics to stamp out any critcism of the hugely inept performance as a football club board.

Sharkie Army Gorilla said:
we support the team and coaching staff no matter what, we have for the past 40 seasons as a group.

Dont say 40 seasons mate you havent lived through half of them I've lived through at least 32 and at least been alive for the rest.

There was no finatics even 20 years ago and when I was a kid(about 25 to 30yrs ago) I was part of the same group of flag wavers myself.

I understand the need for kids to support the Sharks without the politics or need for results as it builds some solid friendships and charachter for the future, but you guys should stay out of the preso's I reckon and go home to your mums after kickin the footy around after the game.

The Popper

All this doesn't surprise at all. Clubland politics can be a dirty affair just like politics......character assassination, but steering clear of murder. One off criticism is a very dangerous game. You may be singled out and persecuted. Either keep a low profile, or protest in a large group to avoid what happened to the bloke Beeker mentioned. If you are not happy with the Board's performance organise, organise, organise. Plan an opposing ticket and lobby well for the next election. No doubt you will need numbers, time and money. And have your support vote in BLOCK. Don't do any of this and you may well be:
:BDH:

coolumsharkie said:
Dont say 40 seasons mate you havent lived through half of them I've lived through at least 32 and at least been alive for the rest.

There was no finatics even 20 years ago and when I was a kid(about 25 to 30yrs ago) I was part of the same group of flag wavers myself.

I understand the need for kids to support the Sharks without the politics or need for results as it builds some solid friendships and charachter for the future, but you guys should stay out of the preso's I reckon and go home to your mums after kickin the footy around after the game.

we still have members who sit with us who were around in the original army, mate the kids are the future, they love seeing their heroes up on stage after the game. There was a group know as the sharkie army, we have a member who sits with us, who bought an old scrap book he had and had pics of himslef there in 1973 waving his flag with the sharkie army, when kids are excluded, the finatics pick them up, they are the ones who get the most joy of holding up a banner or waving a flag to support their heroes.

SirShire

There is a time and a place for kids, and it certainly isn't the Preso, which in theory should be a viable option for members and adults to question management.

Sharkie Army Gorilla said:
we still have members who sit with us who were around in the original army, mate the kids are the future, they love seeing their heroes up on stage after the game. There was a group know as the sharkie army, we have a member who sits with us, who bought an old scrap book he had and had pics of himslef there in 1973 waving his flag with the sharkie army, when kids are excluded, the finatics pick them up, they are the ones who get the most joy of holding up a banner or waving a flag to support their heroes.

Nothing wrong with that mate but there should be a time and a place for kids not in a club at 10 pm or at the preso at all. What happened to the old dressing sheds meet?

FTR I don't recall it being called the Sharkie Army maybe Bastard Squad does as he was one of us in the seventies also.

spider

SirShire said:
There is a time and a place for kids, and it certainly isn't the Preso, which in theory should be a viable option for members and adults to question management.

I agree to a point with you SS. But in cases like last night when BK could not be stuffed to sign autographs for the kids it leaves no other option. These guys are super stars in the kids eyes - well in the eyes of mine anyway (yes dont say it).

They only see them on TV or the field. If you have kids SS im sure you understand the excitement on their faces when they are up close to the players.

But yes i do agree with you somewhat.

Spider, it should be part of a players job to greet the kids and should be part of an NRL contract when putting pen to paper after all it's kids that sustain our game.

Not at the preso.

wazzashark

As usual you guys have to find something to whinge about.....

Blame the Finatics..... Haven't done that for a while, seriously this sh*t is pointless and has been done many times before.

I am not saying this is the Sharks Finatics VS the CSSC, this is a few supporters having a shot at one of the Sharks Supporters groups.

Why don't you try supporting your team instead of trying to run the club from behind your keyboard and trying to find something else to blame for the current lack of form on the field.

Call it blind faith, fluffiness or what ever you want, we will continue to support our team through the good times and the bad.

If you want to be negative don't go to the presentation simple as that.

SirShire

SpiderShark said:
I agree to a point with you SS. But in cases like last night when BK could not be stuffed to sign autographs for the kids it leaves no other option. These guys are super stars in the kids eyes - well in the eyes of mine anyway (yes dont say it).

They only see them on TV or the field. If you have kids SS im sure you understand the excitement on their faces when they are up close to the players.

But yes i do agree with you somewhat.

Yes I came accross rather bluntly. Not wanting to fugg the kids up completely, why not establish a kids club, a sort of child minding service if you like, staffed by qualified child minders to look after kids at the club whilst adults attend the preso. And designate a roster each home game of half the squad which would have to pop down to the kids to sign the autographs for 15 mins, while the adults had a chance to question management? I say this because I've seen punters ejected from preso's under the pretense that "the coach/team cannot be belittled infront of kids" (not in those words of course, like the neanderthal security would say it that way).

Special K

Does anyone think the finatics aren't gay? like does anyone who isnt a member take them seriously?

wazzashark

SirShire said:

Kids are the future supporters of the club and they are entitled to see there heros recognised for their on field performances.

There is a proper way to approach the club on certain issues.

Anytime you want to question the Sharks management you can contact Greg pirece by phone or write them an email.

wazzashark said:
As usual you guys have to find something to whinge about.....

Why the f**k not?? So your happy with this years performances on the field?

Blame the Finatics..... Haven't done that for a while, seriously this sh*t is pointless and has been done many times before.

no-one is blaming the finatics, you guys are a great bunch and do alot for home and away support but surely you can see how it gets under peoples noses when you clap people that make our club an NRL joke?

I am not saying this is the Sharks Finatics VS the CSSC, this is a few supporters having a shot at one of the Sharks Supporters groups.

Neither am I

Why don't you try supporting your team instead of trying to run the club from behind your keyboard and trying to find something else to blame for the current lack of form on the field.

Where Frenzy's spread sheet? I've given plenty of my hard earns and passoinate support in my time fella! (even this year)

Call it blind faith, fluffiness or what ever you want, we will continue to support our team through the good times and the bad.

You obviously miss the point

If you want to be negative don't go to the presentation simple as that

So where do you suggest the best time is?

The Nulla #2

Anyways, back on topic.

The presentations suck.

Not organised.

Too short.

Not enjoyable win lose or draw

And quite frankly, are a waste of time.

Look for a new look presentation in 2007.

Cheers.