Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Spagnolo embroiled in ASIC investigation

Sorry, next time I'll wait the extra two or three posts for one of the usual suspects to make a sarcastic reference about the board or Ossie or whoever. How rude of me.

Paranoid much Mickdo ? I think the role of Self Appointed Board Sheriff is getting to you mate.

paranoia-792.jpg

parra pete

So why follow the Raiders then? ;-)

Because I have some really good mates involved with the Club, and I enjoy watching them play.
I consider myself a Rugby League follower these days. I love the Eels, and love seeing them win..but, unfortunately, as I am getting older the passion seems to be waning to the extent that I no longer get shitty or sulky for days when they lose. However, all my GRANDKIDS are being raised in the "Eels tradition", same as my son and daughters, my missus and my friends here in town. "Old habits die hard"...

Haynzy

Why does everyone keep asking Pete the same questions. He has the same answer saved on his desktop and copies and pastes it everytime.

Maroubra Eel

I think it's because we can't believe it's happened.
I reckon Pete might be the biggest turncoat in Eels history! 50 years of being an eels tragic and then bam! Anyone know of a bigger one?

Actually come to think of it, Pete might even be the biggest turncoat in rugby league history. I don't know. Is there a category in the record books.

He may even be the biggest turncoat in the history of world sport! I just can't imagine there would be anyone anywhere who would have supported a team for over 50 years and then just changed allegiances.

I'm truly intrigued.

Your post is really quite negative. Maybe you should set an example if you don't like my posts?

I'm not going to set an example because I don't have a problem with people expressing a negative opinion if that's their honest opinion. Same way I don't have a problem with people posting an overwhelmingly positive opinion even if I disagree with it. You on the other hand seem to have a problem with people expressing an opinion if it doesn't suit your required tone.

Haynzy

I think it's because we can't believe it's happened.
I reckon Pete might be the biggest turncoat in Eels history! 50 years of being an eels tragic and then bam! Anyone know of a bigger one?

Actually come to think of it, Pete might even be the biggest turncoat in rugby league history. I don't know. Is there a category in the record books.

He may even be the biggest turncoat in the history of world sport! I just can't imagine there would be anyone anywhere who would have supported a team for over 50 years and then just changed allegiances.

I'm truly intrigued.

All of that may be true but the fact that everytime it is exactly the same answer in exactly the same order should have sunk in by now.

Because I have some really good mates involved with the Club, and I enjoy watching them play.
I consider myself a Rugby League follower these days. I love the Eels, and love seeing them win..but, unfortunately, as I am getting older the passion seems to be waning to the extent that I no longer get shitty or sulky for days when they lose. However, all my GRANDKIDS are being raised in the "Eels tradition", same as my son and daughters, my missus and my friends here in town. "Old habits die hard"...

I have a good mate who was involved with the sharks and now St george and i would rather stab my eye with an ice pick than support them..but hey thats just me.

hasman

Roy, the link is dead.

I am not roy.
Police, Tax Office move in

Jacquelin Magnay and Kate McClymont | July 7, 2009

THE chairman of the Parramatta Eels, Roy Spagnolo, is being investigated by NSW police over alleged threats he made to former Eels chief executive Denis Fitzgerald. Mr Spagnolo has also come under the scrutiny of the Australian Taxation Office over his involvement in failed companies, leaving the Tax Office out of pocket by about $1 million.
Mr Fitzgerald filed a formal complaint at Gladesville police station on Sunday about a threat he said Mr Spagnolo had made in the Chairman's Club Lounge at CUA Stadium Penrith on Sunday evening.
The Herald revealed yesterday that Mr Fitzgerald said Mr Spagnolo told him: "I will bury you."
Yesterday Mr Spagnolo issued a statement saying he denied the allegation. "A conversation took place between Mr Fitzgerald and myself, however no threats were made, we shook hands at the end and moved on."
Gladesville police said they were investigating an alleged threat made against a Gladesville man and their inquiries were continuing.
Tax insiders say the pattern of Spagnolo-related companies using the same liquidator, in this case Peter Ngan, having a Spagnolo employee, Xavier Lo, control proxies at creditor meetings and having related entities as small creditors is similar to a "phoenix operation", and is a top priority for the Tax Office.
Unrelated to the Spagnolo companies, the Tax Office has specialist investigators specifically looking at phoenix operations as part of a $70 million four-year program.
"Phoenix arrangements - that is, attempts to evade tax through the deliberate, systematic and sometimes cyclical liquidation of related corporate trading entities - continue to be a focus," the Tax Office said.
"Where we have evidence of offences that may warrant prosecution, we will continue to work with the Australian Federal Police and the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions."
The tax commissioner said between July 2008 and March 2009 $38.6 million in tax and penalties was raised from phoenix cases.
Meanwhile the NRL has started its own salary cap investigation into property transactions of Parramatta players after Mr Spagnolo revealed that he and his friend, the property developer Vince Lombardo, had guaranteed land deals with two players.
Mr Spagnolo said in a statement: "The Parramatta NRL Club is committed to working with the NRL in relation to any alleged salary cap breaches recently reported.
"The club is adamant no breach took place, however it will assist in ensuring this matter is investigated thoroughly."

http://www.smh.com.au/news/lhqnews/police-tax-office-move-in/2009/07/06/1246732285836.html

eels81236

I am not roy.
Police, Tax Office move in

Jacquelin Magnay and Kate McClymont | July 7, 2009

THE chairman of the Parramatta Eels, Roy Spagnolo, is being investigated by NSW police over alleged threats he made to former Eels chief executive Denis Fitzgerald. Mr Spagnolo has also come under the scrutiny of the Australian Taxation Office over his involvement in failed companies, leaving the Tax Office out of pocket by about $1 million.
Mr Fitzgerald filed a formal complaint at Gladesville police station on Sunday about a threat he said Mr Spagnolo had made in the Chairman's Club Lounge at CUA Stadium Penrith on Sunday evening.
The Herald revealed yesterday that Mr Fitzgerald said Mr Spagnolo told him: "I will bury you."
Yesterday Mr Spagnolo issued a statement saying he denied the allegation. "A conversation took place between Mr Fitzgerald and myself, however no threats were made, we shook hands at the end and moved on."
Gladesville police said they were investigating an alleged threat made against a Gladesville man and their inquiries were continuing.
Tax insiders say the pattern of Spagnolo-related companies using the same liquidator, in this case Peter Ngan, having a Spagnolo employee, Xavier Lo, control proxies at creditor meetings and having related entities as small creditors is similar to a "phoenix operation", and is a top priority for the Tax Office.
Unrelated to the Spagnolo companies, the Tax Office has specialist investigators specifically looking at phoenix operations as part of a $70 million four-year program.
"Phoenix arrangements - that is, attempts to evade tax through the deliberate, systematic and sometimes cyclical liquidation of related corporate trading entities - continue to be a focus," the Tax Office said.
"Where we have evidence of offences that may warrant prosecution, we will continue to work with the Australian Federal Police and the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions."
The tax commissioner said between July 2008 and March 2009 $38.6 million in tax and penalties was raised from phoenix cases.
Meanwhile the NRL has started its own salary cap investigation into property transactions of Parramatta players after Mr Spagnolo revealed that he and his friend, the property developer Vince Lombardo, had guaranteed land deals with two players.
Mr Spagnolo said in a statement: "The Parramatta NRL Club is committed to working with the NRL in relation to any alleged salary cap breaches recently reported.
"The club is adamant no breach took place, however it will assist in ensuring this matter is investigated thoroughly."

http://www.smh.com.au/news/lhqnews/police-tax-office-move-in/2009/07/06/1246732285836.html

I appreciate your effort in reply, Roy. However, you failed to answer the question. What has Kate said in her recent article the would classed as libel that would make you want to sue? I assume that you know that the answer is nothing.

hasman

I appreciate your effort in reply, Roy. However, you failed to answer the question. What has Kate said in her recent article the would classed as libel that would make you want to sue? I assume that you know that the answer is nothing.

As Matter fact I am Not Roy. So eels81236 it seems your Fitzy.
To answer this question you should ask Hasn't Mr Spagnolo been cleared of any wrong doing especially the tax office. Isn't Mr Spagnolo a Tax agent as well and wouldn't he lose his license if he done anything wrong with the tax office or owes the tax office that much money. So her information is old and Wrong. So Why Shouldn't Mr Spagnolo take her to court.

Roy

Pretty sure that Kate simply said (I am paraphrasing) that you had a run of bad luck with 8 of your property development companies going to the wall, that tradies and the taxman were the losers and that you had been under investigation by ASIC and ATO.

Is any of that untrue ?

hasman

Roy

Pretty sure that Kate simply said (I am paraphrasing) that you had a run of bad luck with 8 of your property development companies going to the wall, that tradies and the taxman were the losers and that you had been under investigation by ASIC and ATO.

Is any of that untrue ?

Thank You Mr Overton. But I am Not Roy. I wouldn't want to be sued By him either. I believe that alot of it is untrue.

Roy, I am not Ovo. Ovo's username here is OVO.

Which bits are untrue ?