Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

St George is dead, RIP

tiger_nick

Please tell me how i have misquoted you. You listed a number of players as ST.GEORGE juniors. Meaning as I would have thought they came through the St. George junior system, maybe played for a Hurstville United ala Lance Thompson or Renown United ala Mark Gasnier.

Dean Young was in that list, a player who I think has a massive future and reminds me a lot of Ben Galea who i think is one of the classiest and most under-rated forwards in the game (yes i am a Wests Tigers fan). So when I saw an article in the paper about him earlier this year i read it and it said he is from the south coast and has lived there most of his life and still does.

This I figured would make him an Illawarra junior.

Due to his Father being a St.George legend, there is probably little doubt if the clubs hadn't merged yes he would have played for St.George anyway. However this is not always the case, look @ Aaron Raper or Scott Sattler.

Anyways your basis on him being a St.George junior was to quote you 'son of Craig Young'

Please tell me where I have misquoted you and I will apologise.

tiger_nick said:
Please tell me how i have misquoted you. You listed a number of players as ST.GEORGE juniors. Meaning as I would have thought they came through the St. George junior system, maybe played for a Hurstville United ala Lance Thompson or Renown United ala Mark Gasnier.

Dean Young was in that list, a player who I think has a massive future and reminds me a lot of Ben Galea who i think is one of the classiest and most under-rated forwards in the game (yes i am a Wests Tigers fan). So when I saw an article in the paper about him earlier this year i read it and it said he is from the south coast and has lived there most of his life and still does.

This I figured would make him an Illawarra junior.

Due to his Father being a St.George legend, there is probably little doubt if the clubs hadn't merged yes he would have played for St.George anyway. However this is not always the case, look @ Aaron Raper or Scott Sattler.

Anyways your basis on him being a St.George junior was to quote you 'son of Craig Young'

Please tell me where I have misquoted you and I will apologise.
For a start, I said that I was talking from memory. That was in my original list as well and lo and behold, the stewards have been called in. I said Dean Young was Craig Young's son and the connection with St George is pretty obvious. I also went to some length to explain how development officers often do what they think is best for the player... you seem to gloss over all that. Now I'm happy to agree that Dean Young is an South Coast junior but as I said, I was talking from memory.
And offcourse Saints have a lot of Illawarra juniors in their ranks. That was one of the reasons for the Joint Venture in the first place.

I also acknowledge that Mark Riddell is a Canterbury junior - my mistake... it happens sometimes. Fact is, the St George and Canterbury junior districts often skim borders. My point being that its not unusual for there to be some discrepency over who is a junior and who is not. Its happens between Souths and Roosters all the time as well... it happens all the time elsewhere too.

Oh and btw, I'll think you find you're still in error as well.
Dean Byrne played RL in St George as a junior and you said this wasn't the case. Would you care if I reminded you of that again? Last time I did, you seemed to fly off the handle.

But all this was in reply to your mate Roosterphin's post that Lance Thompson was the only St George junior in first grade... clearly a stupid statement and one that needed correcting.

tiger_nick

Yes my post was in response to a post from a Rooster fan which was stupid, but cause it was from a Rooster i didnt feel the need to point out how idiotic it was. If I did than I would feel obliged to do the same to 90% of posts from Rooster fans.

Benny

Full Strength Side in My Opinion and Junior Sides from Memory:

1. Ben Hornby - Illawarra Junior
2. Ben Creagh - Illawarra Junior
3. Mark Gasnier - St George Junior
4. Matt Cooper - Illawarra Junior
5. Nathan Blacklock - CRL Junior (First Club Roosters)
6. Trent Barrett - CRL Junior (First Club Illawarra)
7. Brett Firman - CRL Junior (First Club Sharks)
8. Luke Bailey - Illawarra Junior
9. Mark Riddell - Canterbury Junior
10. Jason Ryles - Illawarra Junior
11. Brent Kite - Canberra Junior
12. Lance Thompson - St George Junior
13. Shaun Timmins - Illawarra Junior

14. Ashton Simms - Illawarra Junior
15. Henry Perenara - New Zealand Junior
16. Dean Young - Illawarra Junior
17. Lincoln Withers - Canberra Junior

Mark Riddell is definately a Canterbury Junior as St Christophers is part of Canterbury District and he played junior reps with Canterbury before moving to Roosters and then to Dragons. He did go to school in the Balmain District but he did attend a number of schools

Dean Byrne did play for Peakhurst Hawkes before going into Canterbury Junior Rep teams

Dean Young i am almost 100% positive is an Illawarra Junior and grew up down there as his old man owns a pub down that way

Roosterphin

tiger_nick said:
Yes my post was in response to a post from a Rooster fan which was stupid, but cause it was from a Rooster i didnt feel the need to point out how idiotic it was. If I did than I would feel obliged to do the same to 90% of posts from Rooster fans.

Yeah good on ya Tiger Nick.

as for Willow I apologise there are two St George juniors - Thompson and Gasnier. Sorry. :lol:

Johnsy

I see having sex with your cousins has not helped your IQ RC. I cant believe someone has so much blind hate.

Looking at your argument, the Eastern Suburbs Roosters are also dead.

Johnsy

Roosterphin

Johnsy said:
I see having sex with your cousins has not helped your IQ RC. I cant believe someone has so much blind hate.

Looking at your argument, the Eastern Suburbs Roosters are also dead.

Johnsy

Obvioulsy masturbating over pictures of a Newcastle number 7 hasnt helped yours much either "Johnsy"

we changed our name. You changed your entity. Totally different

tiger_nick said:
Well done Tiger_lad... there's hope for you yet. ;-)

As for you Roosterphin... theres' no hope for you. You're still wrong... in 2003 there was Thompson, Stapleton, Byrne and Gasnier. In 2004, there'll be others as well.

Then there's the classic comment from you that 'no one plays League in St George anymore. They all play soccer...' :lol:
Tiger_nick is right, it's easier to find a rational post from your type considering all the idiocy that we have to sift through.

TRANSLATION

dimitri said:
if st george is dead

then apparently rugby league is dead in australia beacause it entered a joint venture with news ltd???????????????????????????????????????

Looks like I found my Equal.. RC You hate us as Much as I hate the Roosters.

LOL.. Its funny reading your crap though. It's more Bait from you than anything. But I admire the respect your showing us.

Now answer me this. Why is it ever since the news come out that Barrett will sign By XMas, the Roosters supporters are up in arms crying foul.
You would think that he was contracted by the roosters

LOL
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Roosterphin

Willow said:
tiger_nick said:
Well done Tiger_lad... there's hope for you yet. ;-)

As for you Roosterphin... theres' no hope for you. You're still wrong... in 2003 there was Thompson, Stapleton, Byrne and Gasnier. In 2004, there'll be others as well.

Then there's the classic comment from you that 'no one plays League in St George anymore. They all play soccer...' :lol:
Tiger_nick is right, it's easier to find a rational post from your type considering all the idiocy that we have to sift through.

So how many first grade games did Byrne and Stapleton play. they are Premier League players FFS!

:roll: Tell me Roosterphin... I think the sky is blue. Do you think it's green?

A summary of your statements:
Lance Thompson is the only St George junior.
No one plays League in St George.
They only play soccer in St George...

Your comments are clearly the ravings of someone with no idea. Do you think you're wrong or do you prefer to forever remain the head galah of this thread?
Its your call.

Collateral

I have a question for RC and RoosterPhin:

How come you guys havent changed your names to Panther Cogburn and PantherPhin? I mean comeon guy. You are letting the rest of your bandwago club down. Most of the Roosters fans have long ex-changed their Roosters jersey for Penrith ones.
Its not like they cant afford to do it.
I think I know where all the Roosters fans were that Grandfinal night when the Roosters leagues club was almost empty when their team returned.

The were either:
1) Out at Peter Wynns hoping that they had Panthers jerseys in stock and hoping the store was still open.
2) Out at Penrith Leagues club welcoming their brand new favourite team back.
3) In their Penthouses not aware that the Roosters were participating in a Grand Final.

Roosterphin

Willow said:

Your comments are clearly the ravings of someone with no idea. Do you think you're wrong or do you prefer to forever remain the head galah of this thread?
Its your call.

And not one of your comments were incorrect Willow.

Let me summarise

Mark Riddell is a St George Junior
Dean Young is a St George junior.

Mate I lived in StGeorge and junior League is far from thriving

Red Bear

Willow said:
And your point was ...? A re-introduction of the residential rule?
Roosters would be the first to fall and Norths be playing the dodgems at Luna Park.
...and Souths? Maybe with a stretch of the imagination.

Yes it is interesting... except if you knew much about the residential rule you'd also know that it was rorted regularly. Ended up being totally unworkable.

(edit: actually Melbourne would be te first to fall, Roosters 2nd - we might end up with decades of Warriors v Brisbane Grand Finals. lol)
I dont know, Just basically means that it doesnt mean shise about how many juniors you have, money makes the world go round, which is kinda crappy.

Roosterphin said:
Willow said:

Its your call.

And not one of your comments were incorrect Willow.

Let me summarise

Mark Riddell is a St George Junior
Dean Young is a St George junior.

Mate I lived in StGeorge and junior League is far from thriving
Tsk tsk, Roosterphin... do you think about what you're going to say, or are you hearing it for the first time like everyone else?

I already made mention of my errors brought on through haste. Its seems that you are unable to do the same.

So therefore, we can now safely assume that you choose to be the forum galah. Fine by me... Thanks for clarifying things. :lol:

GoTheBears said:
I dont know, Just basically means that it doesnt mean shise about how many juniors you have, money makes the world go round, which is kinda crappy.
Yeah, I agree with that... and being a traditional type supporter, I prefer the time when we had less money and more loyalty. But I'm told thats a simple opinion nowadays.

Still, on the subject of juniors and residential rules, one of the more famous examples would be John Raper who actually sat out a whole season while he was waiting for his residency status with St George to kick in.

The story goes that before Saints 'snared' him, he had a questionable address with Newtown anyway.

People still argue about his junior status: Canterbury claim Chook as their own (even though he never played for them)... while Saints supporters won't hear of it. Personally, I think Newtown have the greatest claim... but there is debate and it shows how long this type of argument has been going on.

Benny

St George Junior League isn't thriving

Yet from a team made up of local juniors who play in our junior league we managed to make the Grand Final of Harold Matthews in 2003

taxidriver said:
From southsjuniors.org.au

The rebirth of the Junior Sides in the 90's have produced some exciting players just now hitting the Graded ranks and we anticipate many more coming through the future. Present ex players include Ryan Cross (Sydney Roosters), Adam Frier (Rugby), and two of the best junior prospects in years, long term Wombats Craig Wing (Sydney Roosters) and Luke Branighan (Sharks). Recent players I believe will hit the scene next year or so is Chris Enahoro and Reni Maitua (Bulldogs).

Cross and Wing are Easts juniors. They both played their first rugby league with St Charles (Waverley) and the Clovelly Crocodiles respectively! The Souths juniors publication has as much credibility as the St George rag that stated St George Illawarra had won 15 premierships. Once again you have proven to me what a moron you are! :lol:

RedDragon said:
I have a question for RC and RoosterPhin:

How come you guys havent changed your names to Panther Cogburn and PantherPhin? I mean comeon guy. You are letting the rest of your bandwago club down. Most of the Roosters fans have long ex-changed their Roosters jersey for Penrith ones.
Its not like they cant afford to do it.
I think I know where all the Roosters fans were that Grandfinal night when the Roosters leagues club was almost empty when their team returned.

The were either:
1) Out at Peter Wynns hoping that they had Panthers jerseys in stock and hoping the store was still open.
2) Out at Penrith Leagues club welcoming their brand new favourite team back.
3) In their Penthouses not aware that the Roosters were participating in a Grand Final.

I've been on the Roosters bandwagon since 1966 so yes you could call me a fairweather supporter! :lol:

Rooster Cogburn. said:
I've been on the Roosters bandwagon since 1966 so yes you could call me a fairweather supporter! :lol:

We only have your word for that and your word is not overly legitimate at the best of times.

What you sound like is someone who decided to follow Easts after they won the GF in 2002 because it would give you some sort of advantage in these Forums. It didn't.

And let's not forget that you're a corkhead, no matter who you follow.

taxidriver

Getting a little tetchy in your old age RC ?

I didn't make in claims in that last post, just provided some information from a published source.

I gotta give you credit though, hearing you cast aspertions on other peoples credibility was one of the funniest things I've ever heard !

Ever thought of moving into stand up ??