Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

State of Origin is irrelevant

ozenzud

Left behind where? Nobody cared about the Anzac test. Nobody will give a f**k about the world cup. Instead, Origin is all anyone can talk about today and we're about 6 hours away from kick off and this time tomorrow we'll be talking about massive Origin ratings :lol:

Stay jealous that an interstate Australian match is bigger than the international scene, you'll fit in with the Kiwis.

Mate, Im an Aussie from NSW. I agree with the Kiwis. Internationally international RL rates heaps more than SOO . The Anzac test rates really well in Oz. You sound like some Seppo Wan$er. There's a world out there mate.

NSW win as much as the Kiwis against QLD but the over the top hype is sickening stupid. Embarrassing. Thicko, insular Aussies. Why not call it the World Series like the seppos.

SOO completely wrecks the NRL for 6-7 weeks. Probably wrecks its ratings too. Crowds disappear. Its just so dumb. Play one game each year and move on.

Evil Homer

Left behind where? Nobody cared about the Anzac test. Nobody will give a f**k about the world cup. Instead, Origin is all anyone can talk about today and we're about 6 hours away from kick off and this time tomorrow we'll be talking about massive Origin ratings :lol:
Maybe in your little corner of the world, yeah. Meanwhile the NRL becomes more and more dependent on Kiwis, British players and Pacific Islanders. Maybe you could try roping some of them into playing Origin to keep it relevant, wouldn't be the first time. It's nice that you actually believe your little two-state dog & pony show is the pinnacle of the sport though. Just don't be too upset when Australia are the third ranked RL nation in a couple of years.

Maroon4life

Put me down for not caring about the Anzac test, its purely an exhibition match and a token game for the kiwis, but thats all it is.

As for the world cup, please. Rugby league has 3 nations that can field teams worthy of the contest, thats not a world cup.

Theres nothing wrong with having a strong domestic competition, we should be investing all our money into that.

ozenzud

Is it a strong interstate series? Qld wins the 3rd game again this year? The Kiwis have a much, much better record over Oz than NSW has against Qld over the last 10 years.

When 'Qlders' like Inglis choose Maroons, and NSWers like Tamou choose NSW is it really state against state? Largely irrelevant. You call the Anzac test an exhibition match?

Paullyboy

Is it a strong interstate series? Qld wins the 3rd game again this year? The Kiwis have a much, much better record over Oz than NSW has against Qld over the last 10 years.
?

No Aussie players care about playing the kiwis, the players just like having the jersey - their passion and effort is a quarter of what you see from them in origin.

And many fans are in the same boat, I try to care, but in reality it means nothing to me to beat the kiwis. If we lose, I'm happy thay someone is enjoying it - pretty much pity.

Bengal

No Aussie players care about playing the kiwis, the players just like having the jersey - their passion and effort is a quarter of what you see from them in origin.

And many fans are in the same boat, I try to care, but in reality it means nothing to me to beat the kiwis. If we lose, I'm happy thay someone is enjoying it - pretty much pity.
Indeed. And this is the same way NSW (actually everybody) felt about playing QLD before Origin. Boring, boring, boring because their was NO contest - NSW kick-arse yet again - no one cares as a result. It took foresight by an administrator to envisage this Origin concept, doesn't take a lot of foresight to realize that International footie, especially that between Oz and NZ could go the same way, if not be even bigger, if its ever given a chance. Won't happen though because modern-day administrators aren't that insightful or brave.

byrner

Indeed. And this is the same way NSW (actually everybody) felt about playing QLD before Origin. Boring, boring, boring because their was NO contest - NSW kick-arse yet again - no one cares as a result. It took foresight by an administrator to envisage this Origin concept, doesn't take a lot of foresight to realize that International footie, especially that between Oz and NZ could go the same way, if not be even bigger, if its ever given a chance. Won't happen though because modern-day administrators aren't that insightful or brave.

I agree with this.

Why do people feel the need to be for origin OR internationals? At the moment origin is king, but internationalsare getting better.

I dont like the scheduling of origin. But the concept is the best thing we have in rugby league.

Origin is the best 34 players in the WORLD going at it for 80mins.

Ashley Harrison is better than Sam Burgess
James Maloney is better than Kieran Foran
Aaron Woods is better than James Graham
Chris McQueen is better than SBW

Cheers.

ozenzud

Origin is the best 34 players in the WORLD going at it for 80mins.

Ashley Harrison is better than Sam Burgess
James Maloney is better than Kieran Foran
Aaron Woods is better than James Graham
Chris McQueen is better than SBW

Cheers.

I was just about to explode....then I realised you are taking the pi$$. OK, very good.

Fact is, Kiwis get beaten by 10 by the full Oz team which is 3/4 QLD, NSW gets beaten by more by QLD which ain't as good as Oz.

^And we don't get anywhere near the prep time that NSW does. Plus we have selfish clubs pulling players out of test matches. That would never happen at Origin time.

Joker's Wild

I was just about to explode....then I realised you are taking the pi$$. OK, very good.

Fact is, Kiwis get beaten by 10 by the full Oz team which is 3/4 QLD, NSW gets beaten by more by QLD which ain't as good as Oz.

Yet just 3 weeks ago the NSW side beat QLD by 8

Fact is, RL is a fickle, unpredictable beast. Trying to justify why one form of the game is better than the other of 1 result is short sighted

^And we don't get anywhere near the prep time that NSW does. Plus we have selfish clubs pulling players out of test matches. That would never happen at Origin time.

Stradivarius-violin-007.jpg

Pete Cash

So ill ask again all these foreign nrl players how do you think they feel about the increased salary cap brought in with origin money.

When internationals make near the same kind of cash as origin then maybe you could make an argument until then its nothing personal you bitter kiwi buffoons its just business.

Yeah I'm aware of that. It's very disappointing that 3 exhibition games a year can completely mess up weeks/months of the club competition. Sure it brings in good money, but it affects the standard of the comp very negatively. I wanna see the best players and best teams play to the best of their ability every weekend, not distracted by these games.

In an era when there's more and more players in the NRL who are not eligible for Origin, I think it's run its course.
I have the solution:

Go watch AFL.

Their interstate and international fixtures are so much of a joke that they don't even exist.

Right up your alley.

Joker's Wild

LOL JW.

If QLD win game 3, and we win the world cup again this year....oh boy.

"Oh boy"? lol ok mate, whatever you say. A lot of ifs there though buddy but Im sure you'll have a giggle to yourself in the dark if it comes off they way you say.

Continue to make excuses as to why the Kiwis fail to show up to ANZAC tests though mate. Whatever you need to do to get over the beltings year upon year

LOL I won't be giggling in the dark, i'll be LMAO'ing all over the forum.

Excuses, I think not. Try reasons buddy.
NSW are the ones who get belted year upon year. I'll feel bad for coach Daley if it happens again though.

Springs

International footy has become far more competitive than Origin. Look how the last major tournaments have gone.
05 - Kiwis
06 - Aussies
08 - Kiwis
09 - Aussies
10 - Kiwis
11 - Aussies

Now do we really need to compare that to the dominance that has been the last 7 years of Origin?

The World Cup is already loads bigger than Origin, not in an Australian popularity sense but in a rugby league sense. This year we will have 28 games featuring 300+ players from 14 countries. Games played in Wembley, Millenium Stadium and Old Trafford, including the best 17 from Australia, New Zealand and England. A full tournament over 5 weeks. Look at the players in Origin that won't go near the Australian side. Dugan, Merritt, Maloney, Pearce, Hoffman, Reynolds, Shillington, McQueen, Harrison etc. In the World Cup instead of these players we will see Burgess, Graham, Ellis, Tomkins, Sinfield, Luke, Pritchard, Waerea-Hargreaves, Sonny Bill Williams, Foran etc

For Internationals to be bigger in Australia we need the administration to stop only caring about Origin and to give Internationals the respect they deserve. Like maybe accepting the offer of a three match tour from England instead of opting to have a meaningless one-off game against NZ in Townsville then have the rest of the year off. Pissweak, really.

The treatment from Channel 9 has a lot to do with it as well. Origin is the jewel in their crown. But when it comes to the World Cup it's 'we weren't interested because it won't make money'. Home of Rugby League for sure.

What we need is International tournaments or series to build towards at the end of the year, like the World Cup at the end of this year. The Four Nations has been treated as more of an afterthought really. If we had say:
2013 - World Cup
2014 - Lions Tour/Ashes Series
2015 - Trans-Tasman test series/European Six Nations
2016 - Kangaroo Tour of UK/France/Ashes series
2017 - World Cup

We might see some more interest from players. The Ashes series used to be as big as Origin and it should be again.
For the smaller nations we could have Pacific Cups every year, plus warm-up games against Australia, New Zealand and England before Ashes series and Baskerville Shield series. Same with the Northern Hemisphere. Australia can play tests against Scotland, Wales and Ireland before or after the Ashes, as can New Zealand. This way smaller countries keep regular games against the bigger countries as well as playing more competitive games in Pacific and European Cups. I am not a fan of the current Four Nations. It seems a cop out where one small nation is thrown to the wolves so we can say we are doing more to develop smaller nations while the other small nations don't play at all, then Australia, England and New Zealand only play each other once before a final leading to an unsatisfactory tournament.

This way, the big three play several meaningful games against each other (a total of six times each between World Cups including ANZAC tests) while also playing 3 or 4 tests a year against smaller countries. And the smaller countries gain regular competition with yearly Pacific/European Cups while still managing to play one-off tests against stronger opposition. This would work out as every country involved would play 7 or 8 tests a year, compared to the 3 or 4 played in Four Nations years and 1 or 2 played last year. And compared to one every two or three years for the Pacific Nations.

Having a strong International schedule like that would see both Origin and Internationals hold their own place in the calendar.

Well written Springs.
06 was golden point too. We would have retained the trophy with a draw (a la QLD 99 & 02) in previous years. I still think that Thurston pass to Lockyer in Golden Point was forward too, but that's the way it goes I guess.

09 we drew with Australia but scored more tries. They got away with that one in the last couple of minutes. England were too good for us though.

I long for the pre SL days when we had mid a year test series every year apart from the Roo tour years. That was an awesome time for Rugby League.

Joker's Wild

Still don't see how any of that makes SOO irrelevant. Year upon year SOO out draws just about every sporting event in the region, both on TV and crowds. You jealous sheep rooters just need to accept these facts and move on.

Get your arses to tests and sell them out. Then you can boast about where the relevance is