Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Supposed "Season Review' without changes

Smirrors

After having suffered for the last 2 seasons borderline top 8 for next season should be totally unacceptable. We have had 2 seasons to rebuild and have competent staff and players in place. If that is where we end up that would be another failure season.

I think some people need to lower their expectations a little otherwise it will be severe disappointment next year. Do you honestly believe a team that came second last this season will be in the top 8 this year? Unlike the Roosters who reversed their form so rapidly you didn't buy a new coach and 3 super star players.

The only thing to change next year is a couple of solid additions who are coming into a team that is cold on form and attitude.

Have a look at the top 8 this season and you can see why those teams are there. The only questionable team is the knights but they have solid players and a solid coach. Assuming nothing changes next year with form slumps, these teams should be contesting the top eight again.

The Dragons will be competing with Titans, Panthers, Warriors and Raiders who are all hungry to improve in 2014 and have similar teams.

The Dragons will be at best an 8-10 ranked team and I wouldn't be surprised with 11-12.

getsmarty

I think some people need to lower their expectations a little otherwise it will be severe disappointment next year. Do you honestly believe a team that came second last this season will be in the top 8 this year? Unlike the Roosters who reversed their form so rapidly you didn't buy a new coach and 3 super star players.

The only thing to change next year is a couple of solid additions who are coming into a team that is cold on form and attitude.

Have a look at the top 8 this season and you can see why those teams are there. The only questionable team is the knights but they have solid players and a solid coach. Assuming nothing changes next year with form slumps, these teams should be contesting the top eight again.

The Dragons will be competing with Titans, Panthers, Warriors and Raiders who are all hungry to improve in 2014 and have similar teams.

The Dragons will be at best an 8-10 ranked team and I wouldn't be surprised with 11-12.

Agreed. We need some big boppers in our pack to be able to compete.

64 Dragon

One thing that stands out for me was the way we defended. We never moved up, always went backward. Price is the coach. Why didn't he fix this. It's not rocket science.

I think some people need to lower their expectations a little otherwise it will be severe disappointment next year. Do you honestly believe a team that came second last this season will be in the top 8 this year? The Dragons will be competing with Titans, Panthers, Warriors and Raiders who are all hungry to improve in 2014 and have similar teams.

Oh my expectations are aligned. We'll finish 12th on 22 pts. That will mean missing the finals 3 years in a row, strangely all under the same Coach - and then the rebuilding can begin.

Still am not sure why we had to "re-build", instead of just maybe add a pool in the backyard and maybe a new hot water service.

Dragons - the knock down re-build specialists for poverty stricken home-owners.

Outlaw Pete

Compare the manner in which Trent Robinson speaks. And us ? We have dragons footie and pants pulled down. I don't exactly know what McGregors former role at the club was ... Strength and conditioning ? What qualification did he have ? What qualifications does he have for his new role ? Manly have best halves and also Johns as the halves coach. Which helps make them the best halves. We now have Price Young and McGregor on the coaching staff. A joke.

TonyTrugett

Compare the manner in which Trent Robinson speaks. And us ? We have dragons footie and pants pulled down. I don't exactly know what McGregors former role at the club was ... Strength and conditioning ? What qualification did he have ? What qualifications does he have for his new role ? Manly have best halves and also Johns as the halves coach. Which helps make them the best halves. We now have Price Young and McGregor on the coaching staff. A joke.
To answer your questions: Yes, None, None

_snafu_

Bump.

Just enjoying reading the comments on the expectations for the 2014 season after the 2013 "review".

Jubileeboy

Well I'm embarrassed...
- I said McGregor would not be our coach in 2015 and I called me old mate Possm an idiot.

Apologies for both

inside_pass

Since that time we have replaced a nuffie coach with a nuffie coach,have lost or are losing our better players and we are supposedly broke in need of handouts!
Dragons footy!!!!

love my saints

Since that time we have replaced a nuffie coach with a nuffie coach,have lost or are losing our better players and we are supposedly broke in need of handouts!
Dragons footy!!!!

Feel free to support another team buddy... i heard the bulldogs dont lose too many players and sign who they want and have a brilliant coach and millions and millions of $$$ at there disposal... feel free to go support them if u cant support ur team through tough times.
Oh... and please take grouch and dino with you please...

BennyV

Feel free to support another team buddy... i heard the bulldogs dont lose too many players and sign who they want and have a brilliant coach and millions and millions of $$$ at there disposal... feel free to go support them if u cant support ur team through tough times.

Good lord, you are a moron!

Please point out where he stated he would not support the team. Or where he said he doesn't want us to do well. Or where he said he
wouldn't be cheering the boys on every minute of every game.

Inside Pass is simply stating facts. We are a poorly run club, fact. We continue sisigning rookie coaches with poor credentials just because they are part of the boys club, fact. And we have not improved on a roster that took us to 11th last year, we may have weakened it, fact.

Some supporters choose to see reality of the shitty situation we are in. Others opt to stay 'positive' and ignore the big issues that are right in front of their face. Just because you are in the latter group doesnt give you the right to blatantly dismiss others support of the team. Pull your f**king head in and stop acting like such a self-righteous twat just because you biew the team through rose coloured glasses.

tumbidragon

trew fan! :sarcasm:

Capital_Dragon

I can see the solution to all our problems then. Why bother even trying to turn out a halfway competitive team. We could save millions by signing a bunch of park footy players and getting rid of everyone except a head coach and a few trainers. So long as they run out in a Dragon's jersey it will all be fine won't it?

Or just maybe it's okay for supporters like me who are frustrated at seeing the club repeat the same mistakes over and over to want to see some genuine change for the better.

I can handle hard times, what I can't handle is the constant stream of management speak, reviews and jobs for the boys that gloss over the real problem which is a dinosaur CEO who sets the tone amid what appears to be an increasingly toxic culture.

TonyT6

If you want censored, gushing positive posts you could always piss off to the dragons Facebook page

Godz Illa

Disenchanting
Worse.

Anyone venturing down Park Street, on the western side of Jubilee Oval, should take a look at the The Walk of Fame pillar devoted to Ian Walsh. When he died in 2013, the thick glass casing was removed in order to update the inscription with the date of his passing. However, the glass was never replaced. Now, after a year and a half unprotected from the elements, the text and image on his pillar have faded significantly, and seem perilously close to completely disappearing.

On it's own this may be a minor issue, albeit a sad one. But I see it is a metaphor for the entire club. The custodians of St George have, in their neglect, allowed a once special thing fade away to virtual nothingness. Deserting our bespoke, beloved and beautiful home grounds, diluting our identity with absurd novelty jerseys (and a patchwork quilt of sponsors), letting go local legends, acquiring convicted criminals, and of course the rolling parade of el cheapo dud coaches. The pillars of the club, as I perceive them, have withered away into dust. Nothing to believe in, nothing to be passionate about. I?ve lost my religion.

Anyway, I hope the Ian Walsh pillar is restored and protected. I like the idea of a tangible, physical representation of St George?s great and proud history, so I can walk my kid past it and bore him with true tales beginning with ?once upon a time??

Happy new year, and seeya

Father Ted

Worse.

Anyone venturing down Park Street, on the western side of Jubilee Oval, should take a look at the The Walk of Fame pillar devoted to Ian Walsh. When he died in 2013, the thick glass casing was removed in order to update the inscription with the date of his passing. However, the glass was never replaced. Now, after a year and a half unprotected from the elements, the text and image on his pillar have faded significantly, and seem perilously close to completely disappearing.

On it's own this may be a minor issue, albeit a sad one. But I see it is a metaphor for the entire club. The custodians of St George have, in their neglect, allowed a once special thing fade away to virtual nothingness. Deserting our bespoke, beloved and beautiful home grounds, diluting our identity with absurd novelty jerseys (and a patchwork quilt of sponsors), letting go local legends, acquiring convicted criminals, and of course the rolling parade of el cheapo dud coaches. The pillars of the club, as I perceive them, have withered away into dust. Nothing to believe in, nothing to be passionate about. I?ve lost my religion.

Anyway, I hope the Ian Walsh pillar is restored and protected. I like the idea of a tangible, physical representation of St George?s great and proud history, so I can walk my kid past it and bore him with true tales beginning with ?once upon a time??

Happy new year, and seeya

I wish I had written this Godz. I've lost my religion Too, Thousands have and the club hasn't the brains or courage to reach out to the supporters. It's all just business bullshit and the clueless NRL.

love my saints

Good lord, you are a moron!

Please point out where he stated he would not support the team. Or where he said he doesn't want us to do well. Or where he said he
wouldn't be cheering the boys on every minute of every game.

Inside Pass is simply stating facts. We are a poorly run club, fact. We continue sisigning rookie coaches with poor credentials just because they are part of the boys club, fact. And we have not improved on a roster that took us to 11th last year, we may have weakened it, fact.

Some supporters choose to see reality of the shitty situation we are in. Others opt to stay 'positive' and ignore the big issues that are right in front of their face. Just because you are in the latter group doesnt give you the right to blatantly dismiss others support of the team. Pull your f**king head in and stop acting like such a self-righteous twat just because you biew the team through rose coloured glasses.

Woah someones got ther period!
Listen moron... if u want to sit here and do nothing but sook whine and f@#king whinge on every post on every thread... then the same way u can critisize my club i can critisize ur opinion.
If this great club does nothing but stress u out, and causes u a need to continuosly sook whine and whing then either get off ur keyboard and start a movement to improve things or F#@K OFF AND SUPPORT A CLUB THAT IS BETTER RUN!!!
im sick and f#@king tired of f@#kwits like u dino objective moron and grouch doing nothing but salking.
they had a rally, i bet not one of u morons attended!
That my friend is wat u call twats!! There hasnt been a single thread topic that some morons dont twist it into a "attack doust" sook.
you morons had ur chance... AND NONE OF YOU TWATS ATTENDED...
So either support our great club without the sooking and whinning or find another club that is run more to ur liking.

BennyV

Woah someones got ther period!
Listen moron... if u want to sit here and do nothing but sook whine and f@#king whinge on every post on every thread... then the same way u can critisize my club i can critisize ur opinion.
If this great club does nothing but stress u out, and causes u a need to continuosly sook whine and whing then either get off ur keyboard and start a movement to improve things or F#@K OFF AND SUPPORT A CLUB THAT IS BETTER RUN!!!
im sick and f#@king tired of f@#kwits like u dino objective moron and grouch doing nothing but salking.
they had a rally, i bet not one of u morons attended!
That my friend is wat u call twats!! There hasnt been a single thread topic that some morons dont twist it into a "attack doust" sook.
you morons had ur chance... AND NONE OF YOU TWATS ATTENDED...
So either support our great club without the sooking and whinning or find another club that is run more to ur liking.

First of all, I'd like to congratulate myself for decipherng that atrocious attempt at the English language, despite the fact that there was nothing of substance.

FYI, I didnt attend the rally, because I didnt believe in it. I dont want a simple 'Oust Doust' campaign. I would like to see a full wipe of the Board, which leads to a change in management, and writing stuff of a bedsheet wont achieve that. I've joined the leagues club with full voting rights so that I can contribute to making a change. Until then, I will continue to express my opinion on a public forum, despite what some illiterate 6 year old tosspot on his high horse thinks.

As for you? Well, ironically I've seen you do more sooking on here than those you accuse of sooking. If you cant handle the reality of what is happening to our club, I'd like to direct you to the Clubs Facebook page, where realist commenst are censored and you can all sit around worshipping Doust and singing Koombaya.

I can handle some apologists, actually occasionally enjoy having discussions with some of the rose-coloured brigade. But i guess thats just those who enjoy having adult conversations.

rainman44

First of all, I'd like to congratulate myself for decipherng that atrocious attempt at the English language, despite the fact that there was nothing of substance.

FYI, I didnt attend the rally, because I didnt believe in it. I dont want a simple 'Oust Doust' campaign. I would like to see a full wipe of the Board, which leads to a change in management, and writing stuff of a bedsheet wont achieve that. I've joined the leagues club with full voting rights so that I can contribute to making a change. Until then, I will continue to express my opinion on a public forum, despite what some illiterate 6 year old tosspot on his high horse thinks.

As for you? Well, ironically I've seen you do more sooking on here than those you accuse of sooking. If you cant handle the reality of what is happening to our club, I'd like to direct you to the Clubs Facebook page, where realist commenst are censored and you can all sit around worshipping Doust and singing Koombaya.

I can handle some apologists, actually occasionally enjoy having discussions with some of the rose-coloured brigade. But i guess thats just those who enjoy having adult conversations.
Well said mate, its school holidays;-)