Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tahu out, Monaghan in and Andrew Johns quits over racism row before S.O.O. II

Timana: like him or hate him?

• Love him. Took a stand against racism.

Votes: 5 18.5%
  • Publicity whore. Sook. Harden the f**k up.

Votes: 15 55.6%
  • Timana who? Meh

Votes: 7 25.9%

Dazzat

Well done phil gould this morning on the footy show. It became all about Johns and how he is hurting

Didn't see that but oh how so predictable!

Yet, on the Roast Gould's just blasted on about the Falou situation, saying the NRL should tell him to walk away NOW!

Seems racism deserves sympathy, but code-hopping is the unforgivable sin.

Dazzat

At the end of the day all Tahu has done is :

Show kids to walk away from any racism facing you.
Drag the NSWRL through the mud through a public forum/media.

Tahu should of gone through the correct avenues and Johns should of been the only one who left the camp prematurely and punished, not Tahu. Tahu has set a bad example for kids and cost himself a place he deserves.

Your solution is just more of the same. John's issues would have been swept under the carpet AGAIN (see news reports today that this has been on-going, not just once off). Johns has been a protected species for years ... and it was inevitable something like this would happen eventually.

Making a stand will always cost you something.

skeepe

Typical Newcastle scum. The man is an absolutely disgusting human.

I don't have much time for Tahu, but good on him for standing up for what he believes in. That takes real courage.

someone called me a French merkin the other day
but noone cared :(

I said hey guys stop saying that
then I got
f**k off you French f**ker
:crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

BLKOUT!

someone called me a French merkin the other day
but noone cared :(

I said hey guys stop saying that
then I got
f**k off you French f**ker
:crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

:lol: well now you know the correct way to handle racism is to run away and say nothing to no one.

God-King Dean

Whether Tahu is a dog or hero is opinion, as is whether Johns is a racist.

But it's just pure stupidity that a coach said this.

" We have to stop Inglis, who - in my opinion - is a merkin, & just happens to be of Aboriginal decent. "

That's how a coach should have said it.....

Kiki

Tahu isn't exactly all that well liked in general is he? (i'm not a huge fan) do you think people's reactions would be different if it was someone universally loved like Preston Campbell?

i missed the sunday footy shows today, anyone see what the reactions were?

MightyBronco

i missed the sunday footy shows today, anyone see what the reactions were?

Very little really. They tread very carefully. Gould carried on about Johns being 'shattered'. Not suprisingly really as Johns is part of the crew.

Offsiders had the biggest dig, led by the two testical haters, bourbon beccy and carro wilson...

butchmcdick

Very little really. They tread very carefully. Gould carried on about Johns being 'shattered'. Not suprisingly really as Johns is part of the crew.

Offsiders had the biggest dig, led by the two testical haters, bourbon beccy and carro wilson...

I agree Offsiders where over the top but to be fair they were pretty spot on about the lengths the NSWRL went to to try to downplay this initially

In what way El ?

that he carried on about Johns

he only once said that Joohns was shattered then proceeded to go on about his comments being indefensible etc etc

he didn't try and let Johns get off the hook and most of his comments were about how unacceptable such things are

butchmcdick

he only once said that Joohns was shattered then proceeded to go on about his comments being indefensible etc etc

he didn't try and let Johns get off the hook and most of his comments were about how unacceptable such things are

I disagree with you but then thats nothing new is it mate ?

stormbati

The problem is it's accepted if you're mates, and black people calling other black people 'black merkins'
should stop altogather.

Dazzat

He made it quite obvious he thought Johns was the one suffering here ... "he wasn't in a good place" ... etc etc.

No mention of Tahu or Inglis's thoughts on the whole pathetic affair and how they were going.

kmav23

What Tahu did was courageous... giving up a blues jumper and going against a Legend untouchable Andrew johns who got away with drug taking all his nrl days. !!

Would you call Nelson mandela soft.

Standing up against racism takes guts..

1) taking drugs is soft

Dazzat

Fair enough. Not living in Sydney I usually don't read the Sydney Morning Herald. It's a good piece of writing ...

I really hope they patch things up between each other ... 10 years of friendship is too much to let go.

However, on the Footy Show I still maintain that Gould spoke as if Johns is the biggest victim in this thing. And of course that is backed up by their insistence that he will be retained by Channel Nine. We'll see on Wednesday night if Andy Pandy gets the commentary gig ...