Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tasmanian Rugby League

langpark

Just want to put it out there, does anyone know roughly what the annual cost would be of fielding a Tassie team in the Victorian League?...

More than the nrl funds the TRL!

Costs us around $400k to run the Pirates sg ball side, non of it funded by NRL!

ram raid

I lived down the from '04 to '07. I never saw any league news in the paper. The grand final was shown on delay at 10:30pm or something. I remember there was like one pub ( The Rosemont I believe it was ) that showed it live. Maybe things have improved since I was there.

elbusto

I lived down the from '04 to '07. I never saw any league news in the paper. The grand final was shown on delay at 10:30pm or something. I remember there was like one pub ( The Rosemont I believe it was ) that showed it live. Maybe things have improved since I was there.

Media here is far better. We get regular stories on the news, we get all Nine games on GEM. Grand Final and SOO are live on 9 and rate over 50000 statewide and, at least in the South, print media provides plenty of coverage.

elbusto

After five years of heart felt effort reports are that the TRL is about to collapse.

The Affiliated States Management made a decision to get rid of the local Board and have been relying on a skeleton effort from a couple of hard working people to keep the game going.

The VRL is meant to be running the game by autopilot from Melbourne.

They have instituted a number of new rules around finances that have basically killed the Clubs.

The VRL will say the comp was dead already and the NRL will accept this.

This is not the case. What has happened is purely the fault of the Affiliated States Management who, despite warnings from those of us who knew what needed to be done, just sat back, did nothing until August when it was too late.

There is the slightest chance the comp will survive but that is all.

This is sad. It is embarrassing. It is unnecessary. But it is very, very likely.

Rugby League down here has a great future with the right guidance and with the right people. Something needs to happen in Rugby League Central to fix a few problems and people.

This pisses me off. It really pisses me off.

Roy80

Let it crash and burn. Maybe then the idiots at NRL will realise they have made a mistake, and go about things differently

elbusto

Interestingly enough the locals tell me they cannot get a direct answer about how the newly appointed local League/Touch official will support the local footy other than touch.

elbusto

Interestingly enough the locals tell me they cannot get a direct answer about how the newly appointed local League/Touch official will support the local footy other than touch.
progress.gif

TheRam

After five years of heart felt effort reports are that the TRL is about to collapse.

The Affiliated States Management made a decision to get rid of the local Board and have been relying on a skeleton effort from a couple of hard working people to keep the game going.

The VRL is meant to be running the game by autopilot from Melbourne.

They have instituted a number of new rules around finances that have basically killed the Clubs.

The VRL will say the comp was dead already and the NRL will accept this.

This is not the case. What has happened is purely the fault of the Affiliated States Management who, despite warnings from those of us who knew what needed to be done, just sat back, did nothing until August when it was too late.

There is the slightest chance the comp will survive but that is all.

This is sad. It is embarrassing. It is unnecessary. But it is very, very likely.

Rugby League down here has a great future with the right guidance and with the right people. Something needs to happen in Rugby League Central to fix a few problems and people.

This pisses me off. It really pisses me off.

Sorry to hear this elbusto, both for you and the other people down there who have a passion for the game and have tried so hard to keep it alive over the years. Is it any surprise to anyone really though? League central(ARLC/NRL) have no freakin idea and only know spin, which is failing them now too.

This also pisses me off mightily, but I have now resigned myself to the fact and made peace with myself that league will never, ever become the awesome sport that it has the potential to be. In fact I am actually preparing for the day, not to far in the future(5-10 years) that it will become the 3rd most popular football code in this country and then after that will be going backwards in TV contract monies not forwards anymore. :(

Card Shark

Sad day!

Can't believe the NRL would allow this to happen in it's own backyard.

I though the N in NRL stood for "National" - seems not!!

It's not just the emerging states though. What has the NRL done for the grassroots anywhere recently? And buying touch isn't an answer.

elbusto

Thanks for the feedback fellas. It isn't dead yet but it s bloody close and it won't take much for it to fall over as the players are sensing the demise.

Remote management was never going to work and a strong local presence is required here to make the game work.

The problem is the short sightedness of key officials.

And of course, there is the 'Its only Tassie, who cares?' attitude I encountered last year.

The comp kicks off next weekend and I give it till xmas before it folds. A good mate has told me that the externals who are supposed to be running the game have pretty much conceded this.

It is almost as if nobody cares.

I am not joking when I say we have a golden opportunity to take the game forward here.

It is absolutely unnecessary what is happening now. But it very likely will.

I had hoped with the amazing turn out for the Storm trial game that would kick on the development of the game in Tassie but it seemed to not make a jot of difference. the lack of leadership and strategic planning for the affiliated states by the nRL is embarrasing to say the least. At least when we had Gallop and News Ltd running the show we had an excuse for muppets doing nothing. Now the game is independent, has more money than ever by a long way, has more staff at NRL HQ than ever and yet here we are.

I went to a breakfast with John Grant two years ago when they had just taken over. He basically came to tell us the bad news that we werent getting a NRL team anytime soon. When the crowd turned hostile he promised us much better funding, three NRL games a year and International RL in Perth. Two year on all it has amounted to is one new development officer in the Pilbara!

The more things change in RL the more they stay the same!

elbusto

I had hoped with the amazing turn out for the Storm trial game that would kick on the development of the game in Tassie but it seemed to not make a jot of difference. the lack of leadership and strategic planning for the affiliated states by the nRL is embarrasing to say the least. At least when we had Gallop and News Ltd running the show we had an excuse for muppets doing nothing. Now the game is independent, has more money than ever by a long way, has more staff at NRL HQ than ever and yet here we are.

I went to a breakfast with John Grant two years ago when they had just taken over. He basically came to tell us the bad news that we werent getting a NRL team anytime soon. When the crowd turned hostile he promised us much better funding, three NRL games a year and International RL in Perth. Two year on all it has amounted to is one new development officer in the Pilbara!

The more things change in RL the more they stay the same!
Mr Grant advised us we were in with a hot chance of getting a DO last June (2013). Oh well. Must have forgotten us by the looks of it.

I suppose we here in Tassie just have to face the fact we are a small State and the NRL has a broad vision that does not care about us.

If that is the case, and I say 'if', then there is no doubt that the current process they have to support us is achieving the goal of not demonstrating any due care about the growth of the game here at all.

DC_fan

I suppose we here in Tassie just have to face the fact we are a small State and the NRL has a broad vision that does not care about us.

I would love to know what their vision for the game is. Do they have one?

DC_fan

This also pisses me off mightily, but I have now resigned myself to the fact and made peace with myself that league will never, ever become the awesome sport that it has the potential to be. In fact I am actually preparing for the day, not to far in the future(5-10 years) that it will become the 3rd most popular football code in this country and then after that will be going backwards in TV contract monies not forwards anymore. :(

Interesting thoughts. I don't think doomsday is that close, even if it is to happen. For mine what is holding the game together at the moment is state of origin, the grand final and the odd premiership round with a highly promoted game or games. Outside of those, league gets caught up with other sports in what is a very crowded sporting calender here in Australia.