Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tasmanian Rugby League

elbusto

Out of curiousity Elbusto, is / was there anyone assisting in the games development ( survival ???) that has been round since the mid / late 90's ?

Enquired into the TRL when holidaying there in 1997. Met a bloke in the street where a Tassie jersey who put me onto some contacts. Exchanged letters with the TRL late '97 (and probabaly still have them) but that was it.

As seem from a previous thread of mine the game was played there in the 50's for a short time as well.

None mate. The game also had a burst of life in the early 2000s but fell over again. This will be the 4th time but this is the worst as there is no excuse at all this time. The Affiliated States management can take full responsibility.

IowaRL

How much would it cost to have a Rugby League DO in Tasmania? Do you have to report to the AffStates, or can you tell them to get bent?

elbusto

We are fed through a small straw by small minded people and we exist from day to day if we are lucky. A DO (as such) has been appointed but it is a Touch Footy job. This achieves the NRL's job of appeasing Touch, counting kids playing that game as League participants, and saying 'oh dear what a shame' when contact footy dies here.

How much would it cost to have a Rugby League DO in Tasmania? Do you have to report to the AffStates, or can you tell them to get bent?

There is no obligation to and the TRL could effectively break away from its association with the NRL. I know this was discussed by the WARL board when the NRL refused to support the WARL governance model and insisted on the CEO and GM being reportable to them not the WARL. As it was the WARL get around $900k a year from the NRL so decided they could not afford to, the NRL threatend to withdraw this funding if they didnt get their way. over half the board walked away in disgust.

If the TRL could find funding sources away from the NRL they could go it alone but I guess if they could do that we wouldnt be having this discussion.

elbusto

There is no obligation to and the TRL could effectively break away from its association with the NRL. I know this was discussed by the WARL board when the NRL refused to support the WARL governance model and insisted on the CEO and GM being reportable to them not the WARL. As it was the WARL get around $900k a year from the NRL so decided they could not afford to, the NRL threatend to withdraw this funding if they didnt get their way. over half the board walked away in disgust.

If the TRL could find funding sources away from the NRL they could go it alone but I guess if they could do that we wouldnt be having this discussion.

Where on earth would we find other funding sources mate?

IowaRL

I guess it depends on how much you get (sounds like v little) and how much you need to run a comp. I'd become a "TRL" member for a small annual fee to help the league grow and flourish.

elbusto

We start with the people responsible for the game coming to Hobart, listening to us and hearing what we have to say about how we believe the game can move forward and then helping us implement a forward plan that suits our needs here.

There is absolutely no leadership here at all. There is no President, and the website and facebook pages are now dead.

The comp is still holding together by the skin of its teeth but the Clubs are flat broke.

The NRL person has just been appointed but we all know this is a Touch appointment here.

In any case, some newby wet behind the ears will not last 5 seconds around angry TRL fanatics down here. We have heard enough bullshit already from those running the affilated states program.

I just cannot believe how badly this has all been managed.

IowaRL

Sounds like what I came across with the AMNRL. Out in the boonies where they have no interest since they have so much to do in the "heartland". Curious about your plan you mentioned writing up. Too bad Tassie and SA can't team up to run thing better (since I hear they are also a basketcase from an AS standpoint).

elbusto

Not sure what is going on in SA anymore. I know the game struggles there - 2 DOs to cover a massive area and a very good but tiny admin doing its best. Not as dire as here but pretty bloody bad.

elbusto

Just a little up date on the situation here.

Two games played today. Devonport team travelled 5 hours with 10 players - 2 were new and tried to register on the day. A decree from the Victorian Rugby League disallowed this (must be registered Thursday night or else no play) so first game was a forfeit.

The rule is logical in a stable competition but in our situation it is stupid. The game proceeded but it was farcical.

Second game was between the Cowboys and the Tigers. The Cowboys had one player (we called him The Lone Ranger).

As such the Storm and Titans who had just played, made up the numbers.

The ref and touch judges did both games and looked pretty rooted by the end.

You have to admire the players and local officials who are keeping it together but the pessimism about the NRL particularly the Affiliated States Management and the VRL is palpable.

I know those who should care read it and absolutely hate the fact I keep reminding them what a wonderful job they have done down here!

A lot of very, very negative things are being said about one chap in particular.

Greenascanbe

Interesting reading elbusto. I have been keeping an interest in the Tassie league since my ex coach from years ago became involved, Mick Hunt. Why didn't they offer him a full time development role? He coached me from under 9's - 14's and there wouldn't be a better coach for this role. The ability he has to bring out the best in players is evidenced by the amount of comps he has won as coach in both juniors and seniors. He is the one believe me. Around 2 years ago there seemed to be a lot of momentum with the game in Tassie. The storm game, I think a State game against someone? And some good media. This last season has just nose dived. How does this happen? Well all the best mate and go the Mighty Raiders.

elbusto

Hunt applied for the DOs job three years ago but was not offered it. The DO stayed about 18 months and then left and has never been replaced.

Hunt was ideal for the job.

We thought he was a good chance of getting it last year as well but that was a fanciful promise by an NRL official that led to nothing.

The comp was flourishing till last season. Yes there were problems by they were fixable. Hunt has left the State and some body, who knows who, is now paid to run touch down here, with some League role but nobody has bothered to tell any body what it is.

Well that does not matter as I have just been advised the comp has folded.

There is no excuse for this but I am sure the spin doctors in NRL house are writing fanciful post mortems now to explain how Rugby League died in Tasmania.

Greenascanbe

That's a shame about the mate. from what I have read, it was inevitable. Players need to be playing some type of rep footy. gives them goals and some pride. I think over the 5 years, only one rep game? That's a disgrace. Even a game against a Mainland club side would have been something. From an outsider who has followed the. comp down there over the years, it seems the TRL was started just so the NRL could truly call itself the "National" RL with no interest in any development. Just put enough $ in the keep it going. That's what happens when the games run by people with degrees and no experience in the game. This needs to be investigated and heads should roll. But watch them talk their way out of this.

elbusto

That's a shame about the mate. from what I have read, it was inevitable. Players need to be playing some type of rep footy. gives them goals and some pride. I think over the 5 years, only one rep game? That's a disgrace. Even a game against a Mainland club side would have been something. From an outsider who has followed the. comp down there over the years, it seems the TRL was started just so the NRL could truly call itself the "National" RL with no interest in any development. Just put enough $ in the keep it going. That's what happens when the games run by people with degrees and no experience in the game. This needs to be investigated and heads should roll. But watch them talk their way out of this.
Big organisations sadly are safe places for people to spin their way out of trouble.

I cannot imagine the passing of the game down here would warrant a paragraph to Smith.

Heads should roll I agree but they won't. No Rugby League in Tassie though. What a bad look.

insert.pause

Hunt applied for the DOs job three years ago but was not offered it. The DO stayed about 18 months and then left and has never been replaced.

Hunt was ideal for the job.

We thought he was a good chance of getting it last year as well but that was a fanciful promise by an NRL official that led to nothing.

The comp was flourishing till last season. Yes there were problems by they were fixable. Hunt has left the State and some body, who knows who, is now paid to run touch down here, with some League role but nobody has bothered to tell any body what it is.

Well that does not matter as I have just been advised the comp has folded.

There is no excuse for this but I am sure the spin doctors in NRL house are writing fanciful post mortems now to explain how Rugby League died in Tasmania.

An operations manager was appointed a few months ago, a local from cricket Tasmania I think, but it's very much a touch football job first, NRL second.