Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team List Tuesday ! Trial vs Panthers

Is it just me that thinks that Nathan Cleary is just an OK player ? A solid but nothing special NRL player ? Maloney has all the tricks and steers the ship. Tell me that Cleary is not overrated merkins.
He’s solid, excellent defender with a cool head, but seriously hardly the player they have all been fapping over so far.

Wouldn’t swap Dylan Brown for him.

Noise

Anyone know what Dylan Brown's long kicking game is like? Haven't really seen it in the trials.

N.Cleary played 17 games in 2018.

Averaged 80mtrs running
9 lbas and 9 TA

Nothing outstanding but did miss 9 games.

Agree with above. I thought that Mennings did not get much as clean ball compared to Taka. Obviously Taka was running off the cutout pass from Moses and Mennings off Brown. It looked very crowded on that left edge.

Notwithstanding his critics, Taka is a keeper in the squad of 30 because of his versatility. I hope there is room for him in 2020. It’s a shame that Will Smith’s contract (end 2020) might squeeze him out.

Taka has some massive flaws in his game, but his versatility, skill, and size are massive bonuses.

I'm a fan, despite his shonky defence, and poor offload selection.

The Rosco

Is it just me that thinks that Nathan Cleary is just an OK player ? A solid but nothing special NRL player ? Maloney has all the tricks and steers the ship. Tell me that Cleary is not overrated merkins.
Yep . . I agree Gronk, but as a WT supporter, it comes across as bad sportsmanship over the whole Cleary thing.
A good solid FG player. But pay heaven and earth for him and his dad ? No.
And while we are there, IC isn't the greatest coach on earth, either. There's a lot of hype. I think it's the chin.
Congrats on the win. Only a trial and all . . . but better to win by 20 than lose by 20.

Good showing ,

Young Brown again showed he's ready for first grade, such a cool head in attack and definitely not intimidated in defence.

Mau' had a good game, his set up draw and pass for Sivo? was awesome, sucked in the defence and passed late for a clear run. And he managed it again for an offload for Lanes' try. Whilst I agree with others he was good through the middle, both of these plays were created on his preferred left edge.
Ma'u was playing in the middle for Lane's try (which is why Lane was outside him). For Sivo's try, Ma'u was playing on the edge.

He's overrated as a playmaker, for sure. The most impressive thing about him is he is still very young (22 this year) and already played nearly 60 NRL games. His kicking and defence are high quality. His playmaking will improve with experience.

Yep . . I agree Gronk, but as a WT supporter, it comes across as bad sportsmanship over the whole Cleary thing.
A good solid FG player. But pay heaven and earth for him and his dad ? No.
And while we are there, IC isn't the greatest coach on earth, either. There's a lot of hype. I think it's the chin.
Congrats on the win. Only a trial and all . . . but better to win by 20 than lose by 20.
I suspect they signed Ivan because his salary is outside the cap, while Nathan's isn't.

Kornstar

From what I read it was 4-0 at halftime when both teams at full strength. Eels with heaps of penalties and missing Jnr. They missed Kikau,Sauce and DWZ.
I hope we beat them round one. But I do not see it. Succesfull teams from the year prior tend to use trials as a fitness run. Bottom teams use them to prove a point.
I reckon an ambush of epic proportions is on the cards. Penrith by 30+

I was there, i didn't need to read anything about the game to make my judgements......

We were top 4 in 2017 and smashed the Knights in the trial last year, what was that about bottom teams making a point in trials?

They are trials so i will take nothing from them, we have all seen good trial form translate to shit seasons and vice-versa.

Purely on last nights game i thought the Panthers defence was very good, as was ours but i saw more from our team in terms of discipline all around and general play when we had the ball. I thought the penalty count was pretty indicative of what the Panthers were doing, they were very ill disciplined and the referee actually followed through with it.

What i also know that is if they play the same in 2 weeks time and the referee does not penalise them for their infringements we will get destroyed because they will be getting away with murder and it is hard to win any game when you aren't allowed to play your game or allowed to progress up field.

Our attack wasn't great but at the same time when there are that many penalties when attacking the line and no action taken (they should have had 2 seperate binnings in the first half) it makes it hard to score when they are in your face as the ball is still being played.

The biggest lesson i learned last night though.......Panthers fans really don't know the rules of the game.........