Noise
Did Cleary,Dwz play?
Dont think DWZ played
Did Cleary,Dwz play?
Good showing ,
Young Brown again showed he's ready for first grade, such a cool head in attack and definitely not intimidated in defence.
Mau' had a good game, his set up draw and pass for Sivo? was awesome, sucked in the defence and passed late for a clear run. And he managed it again for an offload for Lanes' try. Whilst I agree with others he was good through the middle, both of these plays were created on his preferred left edge.
Fergo showed exactly why we missed Semi last year coming out of our own end, i think that's a huge difference between last year and the year before, and it showed in how little trouble we had coming out of our own end.
Lane seems another good signing, bends the line and is hard to wrap up so got in a coupla offloads that were dangerous, something we really didn't have last year.
I liked Tepai at lock, with more options on the edges this year I think he'll be spending more time in the middle, and will do well there.
Gutho was very solid, his positioning in defence seemed faultless, and his work rate through the middle was high, I liked what I saw there
Gennings did enough for mine to be given first dibs at left wing, despite the awful drop ( which I reckon was more the fault of the timing of the pass ) he ran with purpose, broke a few tackles and made meters.
\
Mahoney is a keeper, his service has improved over the off season, and his scoots out of dummy half were effective and seemed surprisingly quick as opposed to what we saw from him last year. Nice to see he has a kicking game as well,
I thought Mannah and Alvaro were both very solid in defence, but lacking in attack, Alvaro looked a little underdone for mine, but with Jnr to bash and barge, they'll do the job we need from them.
Terepo was great, same hitting the line at speed as you'd expect, but actually managed to bend the line and get some post contact meters, and cap it off with a reasonably quick play the ball.
Nathan Brown looked just underdone, and like others I agree he seemed to just get in the way too much. His limited minutes suggest he's not quite fit enough, so plenty of upside there.
Overall we have got ourselves a pack that won't be dominated anywhere near as much as last year, add Jnr to the mix and we'll control the pace of our games more often than not this year. I reckon our pack is very under rated by most pundits, and it will outperform expectations of most this season.
On the negative side, Moses needs to pull his head in and think about his pass selection, there was some real gash in there, just dumb shit he needs to get out of his game. Also it seems we are going to rely on him too much in kicking duties, particularly coming out of our own end. Teams will read that too easily.
Not overly impressed by our centres either, Taka was ok, solid in defence , but he's just too f**king slow. Jennings just didn't really do anything of any real note. again defensively solid, but we need some attack from such an important position. Hopefully he comes good because we other than Salmon ( who is still unproven ) we just don't have a lot of choice from what I can see.
Oh, and gee I hope we don't have to give Will Smith too much game time this year, cause that'd really suck balls.
Dont think DWZ played
On the Panthers forum guys that were at the ground reckon that when Maloney got binned for 10 he actually got subbed so they still had 13. Katoa came straight on (I thought he came on later but obviously not) It's only a trial but I still reckon we should be awarded the 2 points in round 1 and Gus given an 11 year jail sentence
MWZ played, DWZ didn’t. He (DWZ) was interviewed just before kick off and said he’d be back by round one.
Cleary absolutely played and Maloney played almost the whole game too, except for his sin bin and the last couple of minutes.
Poor hindy111 won’t be happy with that showing.....they were poor. Whether it was intentional or not will be clearer on in 2 weeks time as i wouldn’t be slitting my wrists or getting excited over a trial.
From what I read it was 4-0 at halftime when both teams at full strength. Eels with heaps of penalties and missing Jnr. They missed Kikau,Sauce and DWZ.
I hope we beat them round one. But I do not see it. Succesfull teams from the year prior tend to use trials as a fitness run. Bottom teams use them to prove a point.
I reckon an ambush of epic proportions is on the cards. Penrith by 30+
Yeah people are reading too much into the fact manu limped off ... i reckon its badI don’t know exactly what the injuries were but got a message from my mate that finished saying “ lost a few in the last ten that ruined a great night”
The fact he said ‘ruined’ suggests to me it’s not good
Do you mean D Brown or Nrown? For a young player I thought Dylan never looked overawed and played with composure. Went close several times to scoring and seems to have a combo going with Lane. Lane was another to impress and got some great passes away under pressure. Our D looked good and Ferguson will improve that out on his edge at least. The forwards played an expansive game which is a huge improvement from the previous 5 years of one out bash and barge. Overall a very good team game.Solid hit out by the boys, Mahoney,Lane and Nrown were out best IMO.
Yeah people are reading too much into the fact manu limped off ... i reckon its bad
What you said is exactly the opposite of what happened at Sharks vs Knights yesterday. Both put their best available on. Sharks pulled their pants down.
Our team will take 4 or 5 games to gel. I think we will be better then people expect.Lot of hungry and motivated players.
Is it just me that thinks that Nathan Cleary is just an OK player ? A solid but nothing special NRL player ? Maloney has all the tricks and steers the ship. Tell me that Cleary is not overrated merkins.
Cleary played very well and pretty much won at least one game when maloney was outIs it just me that thinks that Nathan Cleary is just an OK player ? A solid but nothing special NRL player ? Maloney has all the tricks and steers the ship. Tell me that Cleary is not overrated merkins.
Is it just me that thinks that Nathan Cleary is just an OK player ? A solid but nothing special NRL player ? Maloney has all the tricks and steers the ship. Tell me that Cleary is not overrated merkins.
Sorry when you say “our team”, are you referring to to the Panthers or Eels ?
Cleary played very well and pretty much won at least one game when maloney was out
I think he is a steady player who is content to just do a job if thats what is asked for and will help his team. But i think he can step it up a bit too .... not some amazing flashy superstar, but more the controlled Cronk type