Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

That play- Running on the last.

gitano

Look the point of this thread was to point out the play was on. Was it right or wrong to go for it, and Mann's part in it, that's up for debate.
There's a lot of Mann love on this forum.

He cost us our season though ultimately. A lot won't accept or want to hear that.

Dragons 09

He cost us our season though ultimately. A lot won't accept or want to hear that.

Lol, that's gold. Kurt Mann cost us our season?
For someone who professes to know a little bit about park footy, you sure seem light on in an overall understanding of the game. Yep, i'm a fan of Mann and while i wish he had of done something different on THAT play, blaming him and him alone for losing the season for us is delusional even by your questionable standards.

If i was as delusional as you, i might suggest that your pinup boy, the same kid "who WILL play Origin this year" (but didn't and rightly so) cost us our season through his defensive deficiencies. If we win the 2 or 3 games that Euan cost us throughout the season, we finish minor premiers and probably were not even playing this weekend.

I get your dislike of Kurt, no problem, you obviously like jerking alone to wall pinup posters and not group circle jerking, i get that, but blaming him for our season is either a complete loss of emotional control or a fundamental lack of knowledge of the game.

Let it all out on Mad Monday mate and have a good rest in the off season, you seem like you need it. Chat again in March;)

hazzbeen

Lol, that's gold. Kurt Mann cost us our season?
For someone who professes to know a little bit about park footy, you sure seem light on in an overall understanding of the game. Yep, i'm a fan of Mann and while i wish he had of done something different on THAT play, blaming him and him alone for losing the season for us is delusional even by your questionable standards.

If i was as delusional as you, i might suggest that your pinup boy, the same kid "who WILL play Origin this year" (but didn't and rightly so) cost us our season through his defensive deficiencies. If we win the 2 or 3 games that Euan cost us throughout the season, we finish minor premiers and probably were not even playing this weekend.

I get your dislike of Kurt, no problem, you obviously like jerking alone to wall pinup posters and not group circle jerking, i get that, but blaming him for our season is either a complete loss of emotional control or a fundamental lack of knowledge of the game.

Let it all out on Mad Monday mate and have a good rest in the off season, you seem like you need it. Chat again in March;)
SPOT ON .....

Sorry can't agree. That was a TERRIBLE play. Mind boggling.

We just played busted and we're in a position to go to golden point. Season on the line, and they do that? Yeah nah horrible horrible play.

gitano

Sorry can't agree. That was a TERRIBLE play. Mind boggling.

We just played busted and we're in a position to go to golden point. Season on the line, and they do that? Yeah nah horrible horrible play.
Finals plays are about moments. Kurty plays like a puppy chasing its tail.

It's an inconvenient truth for some. Easier to do the ol' sweep sweep

Mr Red

I don't think Field was an option for Mann. He probably could have got the ball to Lafai though.

So much wrong with that play. If De Belin isn't first receiver, Hunt just kicks the ball on that tackle or the one before, or passes the ball out the back to Field....

I instantly thought why the hell isnt our half back 1st receiver on not only the last tackle, but given the situation of the game you want your half with the ball in his hands as much as possible....
Alas Ben Hunt proves once again that the 900k or whatever it is a season we paid for a game manager to close out the close ones is wasted....

Mr Red

I’m not a fan of Mann however to say he cost us the season is very unfair...
He shouldn’t have even got the ball in his hands in the first place, it should have already been kicked upfield by the origin player who earns four times as much as him....

giboz71

Finals plays are about moments. Kurty plays like a puppy chasing its tail.

It's an inconvenient truth for some. Easier to do the ol' sweep sweep

We can argue till the cows come home who got the play wrong. Did Mann just not pass or was he not expecting it coz Hunt passed to the wrong guy (still think he should have played out the back to Field). In any case, Hunt should have kicked long. It was a balls up pure and simple. The missed FG was trash as well.

The club quite rightly identified Hunt as the guy to nail those plays with the game on the line. And we paid big time for the privilege. The 7 on the other side delivered again, and again....and then 1 more time to sink us. Each time his team asked him to deliver and he delivered....every....single....time.

I thought that's what we paid for?

Mr Red

We can argue till the cows come home who got the play wrong. Did Mann just not pass or was he not expecting it coz Hunt passed to the wrong guy (still think he should have played out the back to Field). In any case, Hunt should have kicked long. It was a balls up pure and simple. The missed FG was trash as well.

The club quite rightly identified Hunt as the guy to nail those plays with the game on the line. And we paid big time for the privilege. The 7 on the other side delivered again, and again....and then 1 more time to sink us. Each time his team asked him to deliver and he delivered....every....single....time.

I thought that's what we paid for?

Well said , my thoughts exactly....

to_ddeath

Forget the last play.
You can't turn it over mid-field on the last tackle & then concede a try.
From that moment we were done for & barely held on.

nontime111

Mann knew we were burnt out totally.....he played a risky play which IF pulled off would have been f(&^ superb and ended in a super try.....I like the kid we need more of that attitude, remember a guy called Mcrone?? and the boring shit he dished up, sheesh give me Hunt and Mann anyday for that game wouldnt change a thing
Bottom line is, without Widdy we were always on shaky ground though I was still confident, but as soon as our best player ( equal best with Frizz), Tariq the Destroyer hobbled off.....well I couldnt see us winning sadly, then the penalty against Mcinnes, then sure as steel safe hands Ah Mau dropping it, footy gods just didnt smile at us last night simple as that.....you can bang on about Field being a specialist half being in there ahead of Manny but hes still learning defensively they would have scored a few up the middle through him so we had our best team on the field
Im very sad today it was painful to watch Tariq limp off....I knew we were gone then, but Im warming to Mc Froghead again slowly....I mean he did have us firing against Brisbane and we come So close in this game aswell even without our best prop and our five eight and captain aswell as a last half without Simms so chins up for next year even if ol Froghead stays and we miss out on St Wayne..... my main observation.....how GOOD was LAWRIE!!?? man what a crackerjack, next season he will BLITZ!

nontime111

one more thing.......if youre gonna blame Mann for the loss well you could blame Jack aswell for that bullshit hog and dying with the ball so close to the line after Lomax was screaming for it in support.....thats league, we just werent good enough and hopefully next year with the kids more primed and with some experience we WILL be!

All my Dragons fans......trust me next year we WILL be better!!!

Bazzi

ClearcutKindlyKissingbug-max-1mb.gif

Pilot house

Coach Mary’s gestures at the time, provides the best insight as to the merits of the play.

If the coach was stumped and shaken, then it’s hard to swallow any later defence of it.

Disappointing that an otherwise promising season ended in a moment of acute and embarrassing awkwardness.

Otherwise, criticism of Hunt this season has been a touch harsh.

Good season for McGregor except he couldn’t coach out dumbness.

But every side has its serial boofs.

Souths lucky to win, maybe had 2 extra iq points in play -on account of Brisbane-bound Seibold.

However even seibs is not clever enough to keep his players away from social media. Doh!!

Bazzi

gah....just pass the ball. That was a good play call by hunt and he just botched it

Hunt should have went out back to Field where the overlap was, was 3 Saints players on nobody, with the fullback and/or winger left to beat. I'm not going to blame Mann who really didn't have much else he could do but get tackled

The Assman

Hunt should have went out back to Field where the overlap was, was 3 Saints players on nobody, with the fullback and/or winger left to beat. I'm not going to blame Mann who really didn't have much else he could do but get tackled

Yeah he probably should have in hindsight, but im sure he expected mann to lay it off to field