Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Dolphins brand, jersey, merch etc

Redcliffe or Moreton Bay are the best choices. If they want to use a generic term then East Coast. I would love to see Easts Tigers and Redcliffe Dolphins team up to become the East Coast Dolphins. They would have a catchment ranging from Moreton Bay Region through eastern Brisbane, Redlands and eastern suburbs of Logan. Will help them draw a crowd to games at Lang Park on a Thursday or Friday night if they have fans from Bulimba down to Springwood and Yarrabilba.

parrawentyfan

I'm not a fan of East Coast. That could equally mean most of the Australian population including NSW.

Interesting to see Moreton Bay Regional Council rename itself to a city today in order to improve their identity. Sure they would love a footy team named after them.

I'm not a fan of East Coast. That could equally mean most of the Australian population including NSW.

Interesting to see Moreton Bay Regional Council rename itself to a city today in order to improve their identity. Sure they would love a footy team named after them.

its weird how regions call themselves cities here! They aren't cities at all, they are LGA regions.

big hit!

My rationale isnt poor, you just dont agree with it

"Sunshine State", while not being officially anything geographical is also far to broad a term. Thats my issue with it. We already have GC, Brisbane and Nth Qld who are all within the "Sunshine State". Its like letting the Bears into the comp and calling them the "Premier State Bears".

I dont agee that the Dolphins name has to have to wide reaching appeal far as territory goes. Its not a limiting factor in any other team in any comp across the globe. Its simply marketing BS that is wide of the mark

Actually, prior to this post you didn't provide much of a rationale to the main point, or an alternative argument at all. Just a flat disagreement. You've also missed my original post in this thread which pointed to maintaining Redcliffe as the #1 option.

And you're still missing the other side of the argument for Sunshine State. It's not merely using a name on a rego plate, it's the play on the word 'Sunshine' as reference to both the state and also a region Redcliffe are targeting.

And yes, there is Gold Coast, there is Brisbane, and there is North Queensland, as well as Queensland Maroons. Another reason to choose a unique name.

As I said, nothing wrong with Redcliffe. There are many clubs in Australia and world sport who's reach extends far beyond the suburb/locale they're named after. Doesn't need to be too cute.

big hit!

Still think they should be the North Brisbane Dolphins. Their branding as 'THE' just sucks. Wonder how long till they realise how much it sucks and change to add something?

'Northern' Brisbane is the region. Like Western Sydney.

And you've gone out of your way to change the historic name of the club to purposely ostracise the other areas of the metropolitan with a new one. I don't see the point of that.

'Northern' Brisbane is the region. Like Western Sydney.

And you've gone out of your way to change the historic name of the club to purposely ostracise the other areas of the metropolitan with a new one. I don't see the point of that.
It’s about naming your target audience area. Not being geographically accurate! Otherwise just be called the brisbane dolphins And hope people from across the city are going to support them.

Actually, prior to this post you didn't provide much of a rationale to the main point, or an alternative argument at all. Just a flat disagreement. You've also missed my original post in this thread which pointed to maintaining Redcliffe as the #1 option.

And you're still missing the other side of the argument for Sunshine State. It's not merely using a name on a rego plate, it's the play on the word 'Sunshine' as reference to both the state and also a region Redcliffe are targeting.

And yes, there is Gold Coast, there is Brisbane, and there is North Queensland, as well as Queensland Maroons. Another reason to choose a unique name.

As I said, nothing wrong with Redcliffe. There are many clubs in Australia and world sport who's reach extends far beyond the suburb/locale they're named after. Doesn't need to be too cute.
"Sunshine" is also a suburb of Melbourne and a brand of powdered milk. It's a long bow saying "Sunshine State" will appeal to the average punter in Beerwah, Caloundra or Noosa bud

FTR, I'm on board for them just staying Redcliffe but if it needs to be a bigger "area name" then Moreton Bay fits better. It covers from Nth Stradbroke all the way to Caloundra.

I
"Sunshine" is also a suburb of Melbourne and a brand of powdered milk. It's a long bow saying "Sunshine State" will appeal to the average punter in Beerwah, Caloundra or Noosa bud

FTR, I'm on board for them just staying Redcliffe but if it needs to be a bigger "area name" then Moreton Bay fits better. It covers from Nth Stradbroke all the way to Caloundra.
guess the concern is that if they are going to play 90% of games at suncorp then alienating everyone outside Moreton bay
probably isnt the best idea. Reality is they are going to need to draw most of their attending support from a 25km radius of suncorp. We know RL fans dont travel.

It’s just another problem promoting an outer suburban second tier club has created.

MugaB

I

guess the concern is that if they are going to play 90% of games at suncorp then alienating everyone outside Moreton bay
probably isnt the best idea. Reality is they are going to need to draw most of their attending support from a 25km radius of suncorp. We know RL fans dont travel.

It’s just another problem promoting an outer suburban second tier club has created.
I think the new club factor will help on this occasion, won't take long before reverting to calling themselves morton bay, redcliffe or sunshine state, it's just a long game, i reckon if you asked wayne what the new club is called he'd be the first to say redcliffe then proceed to tell you to promply get f**kd.
To me as long as they know where are representing im happy, but id prefer the locality name, so that it doesn't have to be explained to the casual fans of the game.
In that case the locality name "Moreton Bay" wins outright... as sunshine state and redcliffe still need explaining to the average punter that has no geographic knowhow

....as does explaining to anyone what the f**k is a firehawk is... that has already shit me thus far

big hit!

North Brisbane is the Red Hill/Victoria Park area so I'd say the club is looking further beyond that. Check out the location of South Brisbane or East Brisbane and equivalents in other cities such as Perth! Moreton Bay is the northern region of the Brisbane metropolitan, hence Northern Brisbane is the target area.

Either way, they'd may as well stick with Redcliffe rather than use brisbane in a regional desciptor. It is immediately limiting its reach within the metropolitan in comparison to the Broncos.

big hit!

So someone in... wait for it .... Caloundra, is going to think a team who has a presence in the region with 'Sunshine' in its name, is reference to the Melbourne suburb or a powdered milk. You're really not great with context at all.

Well you're not great at critical thinking so let's just agree to disagree about your silly opinion on "Sunshine State" as a name

I

The idea that a geographical name alienates potential supporters is way over blown. It's not hurt any team in any sport on the planet, why are the Dolphins so different?

I'm willing to bet there are more Man United fans living outside of the greater Manchester area

big hit!

The idea that a geographical name alienates potential supporters is way over blown. It's not hurt any team in any sport on the planet, why are the Dolphins so different?

I'm willing to bet there are more Man United fans living outside of the greater Manchester area

Context

Irrelevant
Yeh in a century Redcliffe dolphins might be a global brand playing in an internationally followed competition and Redcliffe will be celebrated accordingly lol. Whilst I don’t think it’s make or break it certainly helps if you’ve got some level of geographical identity and therefore attachment At the beginning.

titoelcolombiano

I don't see the problem with Redcliffe or Moreton Bay Dolphins. That is where the club is based. No one is going to care because getting to Suncorp to watch Rugby League is the same distance whether you are travelling there to watch the Broncos or the Dolphins play.

This notion that people won't follow them that live in say Logan because they are based at Redcliffe is a bit weird. That logic works in Sydney because there are 9 clubs so support will gravitate to the local team. We only have two Broncs or Dolphins, if you are a RL fan in this city you have two choices and both play at the same world class stadium.

The Dolphins being based at Redcliffe won't affect their support any more than the Broncos being based at Red Hill. I'm not from Red Hill, nor do I or have I ever lived on Brisbane's northside or CBD but I held a Broncos membership for quite a few years (not even a fan, just wanted to watch RL). The whole 'they are based at Redcliffe so people outside of that immediate area will be put off' is being really overblown on here.

Tutu

I reckon I’d go something like “Redcliffe-Sunshine Coast” or “Redcliffe-Moreton Bay”. Brings in some of the wider district they’re looking for, and still allows Redcliffe to bring their name/history into it, which after winning the bid they deserve? And adds some meaning I think. Sure they’d mainly get called Redcliffe but that’s ok to me. Plenty of other examples of hyphenated names around that are now pretty entrenched names in the league landscape. Cronulla-Sutherland , StGeorge-Illawarra, Canterbury-Bankstown, Manly-Warringah.