Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Matty Johns Show: Thursdays @ 7.30pm on 7

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...rn-to-television/story-e6frexnr-1225820412620

Matthew Johns to find out soon if he will return to television

* By Phil Rothfield and Rebecca Wilson
* January 16, 2010 11:26PM

MATTY Johns is just a week away from knowing if he'll be hosting an NRL show to rival Channel 9's Footy Show this year.

Johns has been in discussions for weeks with Seven boss David Leckie and director of sport Saul Shtein. We're tipping the show may even go to air at 9.30pm on Wednesdays to get in 24 hours before Channel 9.

Johns is so busy working on the new TV project that he's decided not to take up a coaching role at premiers Melbourne Storm.

"Matty's too busy to do a formal agreement with us," said coach Craig Bellamy. "But he's still another ear for me. I'll be ringing him during the season, don't worry about that."

dontmakemeangry

does not surprise me that the Grill is getting crap ratings. I listen to it each morning for 20 minutes.. but they fail in the comedy department, rarely do i find myself laughing

good luck to Matty

20 minutes EVERY morning!!!........why didnt you flick the dial after your first 20 min stint??????? :crazy::sarcasm::roll: another closet.......

i knew someone might say that :lol:

basically, i take 20 minutes to wake up each morning when the radio is my alarm... so for 15~ minutes i am 95% asleep and 5% listening; yes, i Chook Norris can do that. Don't worry about that, i stopped listening a while ago. Only reason why i persisted so long was because there was a lot of league talk

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/johns-set-to-seal-the-deal-on-comeback-20100123-mrjy.html

Johns set to seal the deal on comeback
ADRIAN PROSZENKO AND JOSH RAKIC
January 23, 2010

MATTHEW JOHNS has revealed he may be only a week away from signing off on a deal to return to prime-time television. ''Probably the only thing I could say is we're getting close to a deal,'' Johns told The Last Word before a meeting with Channel Seven executives. ''We haven't settled on who's going to be on the show and all of those little nuances but we're getting close.'' The new TV project may be a rival to the Nine Network's The Footy Show, the program that launched Johns's media career, and may put Johns head to head against his brother Andrew. Asked if his new gig would go up against The Footy Show, Johns replied: ''It hasn't been discussed like that because we haven't settled on any timeslots, what night it would be on, the content and those sort of things. We haven't even looked at when it will kick off. We're hoping to tie up a deal [in the next week].'' Quizzed about the format, and reports it could be a variety show, Johns gave little away. ''I'm going to go in there and we can discuss a bit of that,'' he said. ''They're open for argument. They want something around that timeslot with a bit of variety. It could be a bit of everything. We've got a bit of work to do, we're far from settled.''

Tiger_Tim

Doesn't sound like he's got a clue what's going on.....:crazy:
"I don't know when it's going to air
I don't know who's going to be on it
I don't know what sort of show it will be"

Angry_eel

Actually I think he knows exactly what he's doing. You'd be an idiot to give away all the details before the deal is signed.

Ryan

If a footy show on channel 7 is even half way decent, but more importantly informative - the guys at 9 may as well just give up imo.

Weels

Great to see Matty coming back on the box. :clap:
There are two things I want for Matt, first is, achieve all his dreams for himself, his family and the new company. The second, bury bloody chanel nine and a few of the so called stars like Ms Tracy Grimshaw & bloodnut Vautin along with his Footy Show. \\\\:D/

was matty sacked having his papers stamped never to come back, i thought they let him go to work out his affairs and i couldnt see them doing anything else, also the grimshaw interview i think was his choice, so i may not understand or know as much as everybody here but i really dont know how 9 dudded him

Matty was counselled to do the interview & was ambushed by Grimshaw in what can only be described as a breathtaking example of winning ratings by virtue of a politically correct character assasination.

sharko

It shows the complete lack of so called league tv talent that Mathew Johns is considered vital to a networks ratings..Johns as a footballer was ordinary at best, he shared the surname of a great palyer in his brother but on the field that is where any comparison can finish.
He was mildly amusing for a couple of months with some skits but that is about it..none of his material is original or even funny..maybe funny to some brain dead bogans on this site but they hardly count.
He showed what a class act he is with that young girl in NZ...and never took resonsibility for his actions was always looking for sympathy for himself rather than the victim.
I hope his show sticks to genuine league matters, a proper post mortem on each previous weekend game would be good and then updates on the games approaching, but no childish attempts at humour, not everybody who watches league shows is entirely brain dead!

he should have Webcke seeing as he already works for 7. Webcke is well spoken and would be great for serious discussion

It shows the complete lack of so called league tv talent that Mathew Johns is considered vital to a networks ratings..Johns as a footballer was ordinary at best, he shared the surname of a great palyer in his brother but on the field that is where any comparison can finish.
He was mildly amusing for a couple of months with some skits but that is about it..none of his material is original or even funny..maybe funny to some brain dead bogans on this site but they hardly count.
He showed what a class act he is with that young girl in NZ...and never took resonsibility for his actions was always looking for sympathy for himself rather than the victim.
I hope his show sticks to genuine league matters, a proper post mortem on each previous weekend game would be good and then updates on the games approaching, but no childish attempts at humour, not everybody who watches league shows is entirely brain dead!

I thinks it's unfortunately going to be a 'Hey, hey it's Saturday' on Thursday nights just like the channel nine version. The show with the most dick jokes will probably win the ratings.

Agreed. It remains to be seen if one or other show will spice it up with a fair mix of vagina (not Nigel) jokes aswell.

whatever it is it cannot be worse than the current version of TFS

i just hope he doesn't being back Harragon :pray:

Matty was counselled to do the interview & was ambushed by Grimshaw in what can only be described as a breathtaking example of winning ratings by virtue of a politically correct character assasination.
Poor Matty! "Ambushed" :lol:.

Are we saying saying this prick is so dumb that he didn't know what an ACA interview was going to be like? That eveil Tracey Grimshaw, she's such a hard ball interviewer! "Politically correct" :lol:

Johns was "counselled" to do the interview - read "chose to"? The guy's an adult, and made his choices and was hardly "ambushed". Actions and consequences... something that should have been in his mind when as a public figure he was lined up behind his mates with his wanger in his hand.

Well said!
I highly doubt it will stick to footy analysis... it will be a cringeworthy mix of what The Footy Show used to be with Johns involved.

At least The Footy Show moved on and away from inserting Johns' attempted humour all the time, increased the footy talk and became watchable. With Hadley on board, I expect Johns' show to be nothing more than awful.