Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The T.V Rights Thread Part III

How much will the Total Broadcast Rights Deal be?

gronkathon

I think we may see a kick off shift to be honest for the Sunday afternoon game as the NRL know the fans want it live. There is no real downside to the hour shift in terms of attendence and may see a greater likelihood for three grades on one day.

The positives far outweigh the negatives and looking forward we will be in a much, much stronger position as a code in 5 years time and some of that means sacrifice. The newtworks carrying AFL know they are taking a bath on it. Come next renewal who is likely to get a bigger deal? I think the NRL is in the prime position to do so.

By what I saw of the press conference it seems expansion is not tied into the deal but there is a clause for that extra game even if it is not much.

The delayed game sucks for Friday night but honestly if it involves my club I am there, if i want to see the other game I watch it Saturday afternoon.

Gyngell is a c**k but he is a Network Exec. they are all c**ks and always have been.

The only thing I think the deal is really lacking is a no Vautin or Hadley clause

Dogs Of War

I
Wont happen. NRL/IC doesnt care about what the people want. This just showed they have no forward thinking and truly dont give a f**k about anything but money.
They wont discount tickets, they wont discount memberships.
Nothings going to change.

Haha, your kidding right?

Contra alone will provide the code with a lot better exposure, the 2 hours every day of NRL on TV somewhere is a big boost to the code.

Memberships are a big deal for NRL clubs, and I am sure ARLC has a good understanding that the visual presence on TV, not to mention how it can assist clubs financially, is the way forward. You can see how ARLC has announced that all clubs must have basic minimum staffing levels is pushing clubs to be more professional, understanding that by having these, it will help address those issues as well.

Hopefully the new CEO is someone who understands how to implement these parts into the setup of the game itself.

SuperiorEasts

its a great deal
anyone who says it isn't has Sh.it for brains

yeah
lets take 700 million so we get one extra live game on FTA
& the picture is clearer :o:sarcasm::crazy:

god some posters in here have NFI :lol:

AFL currently has 4 live games into NSW and QLD and all simulcast on Fox.
NRL for the next 5 years will have 1 live game into NSW and QLD and not all simulcast on Fox?

It's a great deal? The money is good but everything else is crap. We are being held ransom.

hrundi99

In my experience, people obsessed with their beautiful LED/3d and its picture quality watch shit movies.

Ok then mate.

HD is important as its about showcasing the specacle and given that the games are filmed in HD its a scam that they're not broadcast that way.

Those of you complaining about Nine's delayed games just don't understand how TV works. They buy the rights to the sport so they can use the ratings to justify charging a premium for advertising during the game. If the game's live they can't run as many ads and they won't make as much money.

Johns Magic

People saying HD isn't important must be living in the 90s

As long as I get a clear view of the game I'm happy.

Money, scheduling, delays, Saturday and Sunday morning footy programs, etc etc are far more of a priority to me than how shiny the telecast is. It's not like we're watching black-and-white.

I'm not a technology geek though so obviously it might be more important to others...I just can't understand their priorities if it ranks above any of the ones I mentioned above.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

So a better than doubled contract for 5 years instead of 6 is inflation? They have milked the cow on the cash extremely well imo.

Flapper

FMD some people could whinge for Australia. Of course its about money. Its a business, and now we have money. IT'S GOOD FOR THE GAME!

Card Shark

In my experience, people obsessed with their beautiful LED/3d and its picture quality watch shit movies.

I started watching Rugby League on a shitty NEC CRT, if it means more money for the game I can deal with channel 9 broadcasting SD for the time being.

Don't watch many movies but love the HD sport. Have a 63" & it is hazy on SD & clear as crystal on HD.

Overall, a good result for the game, especially if the first 20 rounds give a fairer spread of FTA games.

Money Talks, & now we have heaps.

well that was kind of out of the blue given we were expecting no outcome for months.

My take on it:

1. Disappointed in lack of change and new ideas
2. Frustrated we have to put up with Ch9 and its disrespect of the game for another 5 years
3. Annoyed that Fox are not getting every game live (though bodes well for next deal as that is a future value add to the next deal)
4. Very pleased with the $ value, well done ARLC
5. At least got a part fixed schedule which is better

The real crux of this deal will now be how the ARLC spends its new found wealth. The game has the potential to reach out to new areas, secure the heartlands and grow the grass roots. lets hope we have innovative thinkers who have good ideas about where the money will go for max benefit.

Re expansion I am disappointed there was no announcement as part of this but with the money the NRL now has there is absolutely no reason we can not expand in 2015. I think Ch9 getting the rights almost secures a Brisbane2 team and the desire to show a Sunday night game pretty much secures a Perth team after comments recently about that time slot for Perth.

Would be great to see the ARLC announce expansion plans in the next few weeks to keep the buzz going and show that it is going to use the money to grow the game.

M2D2

Well aren't you the ultimate optimist.

Theres not much to be optimistic here.
A fixed schedule which is useless anyways cause they have came out and said a Queensland team will always play on friday night. So it entirely defeats the purpose.
We still get stuck with horrible commentators.
We now get a sunday night game, more thursday games and monday night footy is still there. Which means once again money over fans.
Nothing that could come out of this could be considered good for the NRL fan.
Its the same shit with a new more expensive pricetag.

Everything that could have been done to make these rights which would have been good for the fans, good for the game, has been ignored and whored out so channel 9 can have its way with the game once again.
Its a f**king travesty and to say this is a good deal because of the $$$ is obviously a cash above all else kind of person.

The truth remains that we, the fans, just got f**ked over for alot of cash.

undertaker

Docbrown, did you just say a night-time Grand Final (7.15pm kick-off)? So, will that mean that Week 2 and Week 3 finals will revert back to Sat night/Sunday arvo?

gronkathon

Oh and on the HD element it really isn't that big a deal right now.

I have a HD TV, alot of people here have a HD TV but what is the percentage of households that have a HD TV. This is something to me that makes more sense to negotiate in as a requirement in the next deal.

The deal does not exclude games being in HD, it just does not mandate them. We are in a volatile marketplace and such a demand would drastically de-value the rights because of the outlay required by the network to run the higher grade coverage.

It is about sustainable growth across the board.

The single most important factor is the stranglehold of News and 9 ends in 5 years. We finally have our destiny in our hands