Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Travel Thread

Springs

I love Thailand. What's your issue with it?

Mainly the fact that it's the number one country associated with child sex trafficking. It's a major place for illegal sex tourism in this case, including child sex tourism.
Not to mention the drug trafficking and prostitution culture (children make up 40%), and that's without mentioning the drunk idiot tourists the place commonly attracts that Baz was talking about.

I've heard there are some great places away from the cities and tourist areas, but any country that has the kind of record with child prostitution that Thailand does is a f**ked up place.

afinalsin666

f**k sake Kungl. You're just drawing attention to people drawing attention in a thread about drawing attention to a different matter of attention! You bastard!

soc123_au

Mainly the fact that it's the number one country associated with child sex trafficking. It's a major place for illegal sex tourism in this case, including child sex tourism.
Not to mention the drug trafficking and prostitution culture (children make up 40%), and that's without mentioning the drunk idiot tourists the place commonly attracts that Baz was talking about.

I've heard there are some great places away from the cities and tourist areas, but any country that has the kind of record with child prostitution that Thailand does is a f**ked up place.

You should check Africa out. It makes Thailand look prudish.

Misanthrope

Just need one person back here to put in our dole forms and we'll live like kings!

Good plan. $400 a fortnight ought to cover the basics.

See, you're going to find a problem with virtually any country you visit. I choose to judge countries based on the people I meet there and the experiences I have. Since I'm not out funding child sex tourism, I see no reason to deprive the Thai economy of my money or myself of Thai hospitality just to make a political point.

butchmcdick

Nice. Sounds like Bangkok is in for a torrid week. Hall Pass?

To be honest the thought of whopping one up a thai bar girl doesn't do it for me

i was reading a blog about a bar where you go in and the girls that line up on the left take it up the jacksie and the girls that line up on the right only take it in the other two holes.

I reckon it is going to be pretty epic

My mate is recently single so I reckon he might try and pick up the odd back packer or two. If he scores I will hide out in the walk in robe/wank tank. Everybody gets off

soc123_au

Having a flog half cut in the wank tank is probably the safer option. Best not to take home any unwanted souvenirs.

Springs

You should check Africa out. It makes Thailand look prudish.

Yeah well Africa isn't really a big tourist hotspot.

See, you're going to find a problem with virtually any country you visit. I choose to judge countries based on the people I meet there and the experiences I have. Since I'm not out funding child sex tourism, I see no reason to deprive the Thai economy of my money or myself of Thai hospitality just to make a political point

I'm not making a political point, I just refuse to go to a country where I would be near the filth that goes on. Now I know Australia or Europe or America isn't perfect, but it's damn sure more clean than that.
And that Thai economy is the same economy that benefits from all the child sex tourism that goes on, and it's the same country that isn't doing very much to combat it all.

butchmcdick

Having a flog half cut in the wank tank is probably the safer option. Best not to take home any unwanted souvenirs.

Yeah

When I was a student I did prac in a sexual health clinic

Not good

Still when people are DTF they don't give a shit

Now I have a child I don't think I could look him in the eye if I knew I had been out banging random strange

butchmcdick

Yeah well Africa isn't really a big tourist hotspot.

I'm not making a political point, I just refuse to go to a country where I would be near the filth that goes on. Now I know Australia or Europe or America isn't perfect, but it's damn sure more clean than that.
And that Thai economy is the same economy that benefits from all the child sex tourism that goes on, and it's the same country that isn't doing very much to combat it all.

So you have never been to thailand ?

I have only been their once previously and went to Bangkok and Phuket

I never once saw any evidence of child prostitution

Where in SE Asia is free of child prostitution ?

Misanthrope

I see where the 'too PC' thing comes from now.

If you want to stick to first world countries, power to you. I just don't consider that seeing much of the world.

afinalsin666

It's an underground criminal element. Everywhere has an underground criminal element. Everywhere. It's not like the government is handing kids out to everyone that steps off a plane.

Springs

I see where the 'too PC' thing comes from now.

If you want to stick to first world countries, power to you. I just don't consider that seeing much of the world.

lol alright, not liking child prostitution is 'too PC' :roll: yeah, strong argument Coby has huh. I criticise a country for having a huge child sex tourism market and human trafficking offences and I'm 'too PC'.

Never said I'd stick to first world countries, just that visiting places known for child sex tourism isn't exactly on my bucket list. It doesn't interest me. It's the same reason I would rather not go to Brazil for the World Cup next year, it doesn't interest me and I doubt I'd enjoy it. Don't see how that's 'too PC'

Where in SE Asia is free of child prostitution ?

Never said that either, I said Thailand is the WORST place for it, not the only one. And you never saw child prostitutes in Thailand? So what? Do you seriously think nothing disgusting goes on in Thailand?

I stated my opinion that Thailand is disgusting and you guys take offence to it for some reason. It may well be a beautiful country, but it is a f**ked nation.

TBH your single minded fixation on an admittedly awful but incredibly small and completely illegal activity is f**ked...you're tarring an entire nation as child rapists and whatnot because of a few, do you not see how dumb that is?

TooheysNew

lol alright, not liking child prostitution is 'too PC' :roll: yeah, strong argument Coby has huh. I criticise a country for having a huge child sex tourism market and human trafficking offences and I'm 'too PC'.
Love you too, Mr Vanilla.

butchmcdick

No look I am sure many disgusting things happen in Thailand

I am sure many disgusting things happen in most third world countries too

I don't think anyone here is standing up for child sex trafficking

I guess i am just trying to point out that thailand is full of so many other great things. It isn't just a nation made up of sex tourists

soc123_au

Springs, sadly child prostitution happens everywhere, even here. There are sick f**ks the world over. I have never seen evidence of it anywhere I have been, but I know it exists.