Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread part II

Providing the price is right which is your preferred FTA broadcast option?

• All games on Seven

Votes: 11 4.2%
  • All games on Nine

Votes: 17 6.5%
  • All games on Ten

Votes: 59 22.6%
  • Seven/Nine split

Votes: 10 3.8%
  • Seven/Ten split

Votes: 109 41.8%
  • Nine/Ten split

Votes: 55 21.1%

Without having to wade through this whole thread, when are the final TV rights going to be announced? Cheers
Well the 3 month exclusive bargaing period (with the current rights holders) began on FEB1.After that 3 months it is open to other interested parties.
If they trump the bid by 9 by more than 20% then the 1st & last rights clause is negated & the rights can be broken up ..
Which means we could have RL on 2-3 networks & also on Pay...

Keep coming here mate there is a lot of speculation but if you follow what Docbrown says you will be very reliably informed..
He is close to 100% right with his info...
& it is very much appreciated..

VictoryFC

Well the 3 month exclusive bargaing period (with the current rights holders) began on FEB1.After that 3 months it is open to other interested parties.
If they trump the bid by 9 by more than 20% then the 1st & last rights clause is negated & the rights can be broken up ..

Keep coming here mate there is a lot of speculation but if you follow what Docbrown says you will be very reliably informed..

Wisdom of crowds. The poll doesn't lie. C7/Ten/Fox make it happen.

Quidgybo

The big advantage of all the networks getting a share is that they all have an incentive not to do hatchet jobs on the game. They all have an investment they need to protect (yes I know, I know... Nein treating the game like shit etc etc).

Leigh.

VictoryFC

The big advantage of all the networks getting a share is that they all have an incentive not to do hatchet jobs on the game. They all have an investment they need to protect (yes I know, I know... Nein treating the game like shit etc etc).

Leigh.

That could be an advantage if you had 16 games a week to share among 4 networks. But with 8 you can spread too thin. Having a network have 1 game a week doesn't really mean they're going to treat the game any better. If you saddle a network with 2-3 games, at least you know you'll get commitment.

carlosthedwarf

Well no comment on premier league but I've spoken elsewhere about how cutting across 7 & 9's 6pm news would be to 10's advantage...

So news at 5pm, 6pm kickoff for Sunday Night Football, Seven and Nine's news gets hacked to death by marquee league game.

Neither Seven or Nine will move their 6pm news, and the 6pm kickoff is needed due to people not wanting their kids out late on a school night.

T to the T

Thanks for the reply. Try and follow what's happening in Oz when I can but I'm normally left disheartened by the code shooting itself in the foot and the age good things take to happen:lol: The ARLC though looks like a gamechanger, just hope the NRL can trump the AFL's rights then put teams in Perth, Central Coast and Brisbane 2 ASAP

BuffaloRules

Some comments here from Matthew Johns...

He is saying that ten will probably end up with " a game or two"...

Channel Ten reportedly are after the rights to broadcast every NRL game, every weekend this footy season, and they're not alone.
"To have it all, it's going to cost you a billion dollars. Are Channel Ten in the financial position to do that? I would suggest probably not," Triple M's Matty Johns said.
"However, they have the option of buying it all and on-selling it. The only risk with that is if you risk a billion dollars, they can drive you to bankruptcy.
"I think they'll end up with a game or two. I think it's healthy to open up the rights," he said.
They're not the only network to be in the market to broadcast the NRL.
"What I hear at Channel Seven is that they dearly want State Of Origin. To get a billion dollars, the NRL will have to package up their product separately," Johns said. "Everyone will have a slice of the pie."
"It's no secret Channel Ten are interested. In the past, it's been Monday nights, which last year was a ratings success for Fox Sports," News Limited journalist Andrew Webster told the Grill Team this morning.
"Then, they progressed to include Friday nights as well. Lachlan Murdoch, the new Chairman, and James Warburton the new Chief Executive has indicated to David Gallop that they want it all.
"Ten don't have any massive huge rating shows on their network. If they could get 30 weeks of regular footy... it's a no-brainer for them. Whether they can get it all, I don't know," he added.
"What is certain is that the way we watch footy on TV is going to dramatically change from next year."

I really dont expect all the games to be on FTA...

What I really hope happens is that there are FTA games on Friday, Sat, Sun, Mon...

Fox can spread the other games around Sat Night, Sun Arvo ( say at 2pm) and Sun night at say 6pm...

Fox would still have 4 games increasing to 5 when the game expands to 18 teams...

http://www.triplem.com.au/sydney/sp...even-wants-state-of-origin/20120216-fmi0.html

smithie

TV Is a load of shit these days

Also I can see merit in what Roy Masters said a couple of weeks ago in that if Internet enabled TVs or hooking computers up to you TV improves then the NRL could bypass the networks and Pay TV providers all together and offer streaming services.

I think it has legs. Another example is I can watch the IPL on YouTube. Not just live streams but also full match replays where you can watch at your own convieniance

I agree with you and it concerns me the sporting codes are basically ignoring the new media market. The way we watch television is about to change and it will change very quickly. By the end of this year:
- Netflix (and possibly Hulu) will have launched in Oz.
- Samsung, LG and other manufacturers will have their Google(Android) TVs on the shelves.
- By Christmas or early 2013 Apple will release their first television with Siri (voice recognition).

The NRL need to create a NRL League Pass product sooner rather than later, the same way many of the American sports have. I signed up to the NBA League Pass recently and love it.
- NBA League Pass https://ilp.nba.com/
- NFL Game Pass http://gamepass.nfl.com/
- MLB.TV http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/subscriptions/index.jsp
- NHL Gamecenter Live https://gamecenter.nhl.com/nhlgc/secure/gclsignup

The cable companies in the US are freaking out because they know the writing is on the wall and they have to change or die. We are entering the era of "watch what you want, when you want, how you want".

IanG

I agree with you and it concerns me the sporting codes are basically ignoring the new media market. The way we watch television is about to change and it will change very quickly. By the end of this year:
- Samsung, LG and other manufacturers will have their Google(Android) TVs on the shelves.
- By Christmas or early 2013 Apple will release their first television with Siri (voice recognition).

The NRL need to create a NRL League Pass product sooner rather than later, the same way many of the American sports have. I signed up to the NBA League Pass recently and love it.

The cable companies in the US are freaking out because they know the writing is on the wall and they have to change or die. We are entering the era of "watch what you want, when you want, how you want".

Yeah plus the NRL already put full replays of matches on it's web site. So you can watch those when you want. The picture quality isn't great but more than acceptable. But there's no reason they can't do it. Justb wish I could watch Cricket from overseasn the same way

I wonder though if Channel 10 get it and have all 8 games who will they get as their commentary team. Can see Foxtel subscriptions plummenting.

VictoryFC

Sorry, but I think you're a bit off.

NBA League pass is available to international users, not domestic ones. Domestic rights are too valuable for something like that. Any NRL TV that looks like that would not be available to us. It is still far more profitable to use networks then go it alone. Until that changes, you won't see anything of the sort.

The cable companies in the US are freaking out? What? Utter nonsense. ESPN is still kicking ass. Fox Sports is the only other major sports cable player, and that does just fine. The other major sports cable channels are league owned (NFL Network, MLB TV etc) Then there is the rest of the sports rights are spread across FTA. Then you have regional networks like YES Sports for instance (owned by the Yankees).

To sum up, cable companies are not freaking out. The non-sport cable companies are also doing better business than ever before (HBO, Showtime, AMC etc). Don't know what you're basing your assessment on. The ubiquitous internet-only fan is still a long way off.

Edit: There is also some weird assumption that cable tv isnt going to adapt. Dunno why everyone is so convinced. They've been adapting all along.

carlosthedwarf

Agreed with one exception.

NBA League pass is available to international users, not domestic ones.

There is a domestic one, but it has local blackouts so it doesn't cannibalise local cable companies.

The biggest difference here is that our pay tv provider is a monopoly.

this shouldn't come as a surprise as the DT reported in 2010

Channel Ten tackles Channel Nine for NRL television rights

and then last year there was this http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/seven-foxtel-to-share-afl-rights/story-e6frf9jf-1226043830115

The Sunday Herald Sun has learned that Channel 10 has pulled out of the race not only because of acrimony over the defection of executive James Warburton from Seven to Ten, but to be in a better position to bid for part of the next NRL rights.

VictoryFC

Agreed with one exception.

There is a domestic one, but it has local blackouts so it doesn't cannibalise local cable companies.

The biggest difference here is that our pay tv provider is a monopoly.

Actually I think you're right, as I have heard something similar. At the same time, on their website FAQ there is the following:

Where is NBA.TV available?
NBA.TV is available globally except in the United States, Mainland China, Bermuda, Cuba, Guam, Iran, North Korea, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands.

Can I access NBA.TV from the United States?
NBA.TV is not currently accessible within the United States.

Tap Twist Snap

You can get NBA League pass in the US but not directly from the NBA. You have to purchase it through your cable/broadband/mobile provider.