Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

There's something rotten in the camp somewhere

Cazbah Steeler

Why put him on the bench?
If he's out of form just drop him.
We don't need a specialist FB on the bench
Mary bangs on about "Team first" yet Nightingale starts over Dufty and there is NO way that was our best starting 13 available. And ALL Fox commentators questioning why this more from mary just 2 games out from finals, yet no one jurno asked him the question asfter the game

18to87

Or maybe the simpler explanation is the best one. The team is just rooted in typical Mary fashion. Same as in previous years. It's well known that JDB sets the line speed when he is on, but he hasn't been himself in a long time and played through Origin with injury and now he has nothing left. Graham is playing on passion and fumes. Of course, Vaughn is gone. McInness is an iron man when he shouldn't be. Hunt is being asked to carry the team and struggling without a coach with a clue. Dufty is having growing pains as expected and Mann as usual is being used in ten different positions. The outside backs are not very good to start with and Mary hasn't given any young players a chance.

So, I say there probably isn't something rotten, but just they have an awful coach that got on a hot streak early in the year and thought he could ride it all the way to the top four but is now staring at 8th and getting smacked out of the finals unless Widdop comes back and plays like a man possessed.

dannyt

Or maybe the simpler explanation is the best one. The team is just rooted in typical Mary fashion. Same as in previous years. It's well known that JDB sets the line speed when he is on, but he hasn't been himself in a long time and played through Origin with injury and now he has nothing left. Graham is playing on passion and fumes. Of course, Vaughn is gone. McInness is an iron man when he shouldn't be. Hunt is being asked to carry the team and struggling without a coach with a clue. Dufty is having growing pains as expected and Mann as usual is being used in ten different positions. The outside backs are not very good to start with and Mary hasn't given any young players a chance.

So, I say there probably isn't something rotten, but just they have an awful coach that got on a hot streak early in the year and thought he could ride it all the way to the top four but is now staring at 8th and getting smacked out of the finals unless Widdop comes back and plays like a man possessed.
Nice summary.

Given your analysis, I think you need to conclude there is something rotten- the coach.

If we're waiting for Widdop to be our saviour against genuine semi-finalists, then I think we should we should plan holidays for mid-September on wards.

I feel for Mann and his continued shifting of position and place in the team, he has never known what his role is.

There was a moment for me in the second half where Mann drifted across feild, then back again, all it would have taken is for a winger of fullback to run the opposite line, get the pass on an angle and slice through.
But it didn't happen, there was no one there, there's never anyone there.

JDHD

Look, there needs to be a complete overhaul in workload management and coaching philosophy. All the players are physically busted, and when we had a chance to rest them, we didn’t. I keep saying the ISP isn’t giving us the depth, but then they go and finish 2nd so clearly I was wrong about that. Security in position can be a wonderful thing but in this case it’s bred complacency. Aitken, Lafai, Dufty, all have switched off because they know there’s no chance they’ll get dumped. You look at Pereira, one of the few showing effort, and it’s coz he knows his position is under threat every single week.

Point is, fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Fool me five god damn years in a row, take me out back and give me the Ol’ Yeller treatment.

LINESPEED

Look, there needs to be a complete overhaul in workload management and coaching philosophy. All the players are physically busted, and when we had a chance to rest them, we didn’t. I keep saying the ISP isn’t giving us the depth, but then they go and finish 2nd so clearly I was wrong about that. Security in position can be a wonderful thing but in this case it’s bred complacency. Aitken, Lafai, Dufty, all have switched off because they know there’s no chance they’ll get dumped. You look at Pereira, one of the few showing effort, and it’s coz he knows his position is under threat every single week.

Point is, fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Fool me five god damn years in a row, take me out back and give me the Ol’ Yeller treatment.
I still reckon Jai can be the spark needed for the attack next week. He's been running straight & to the line & you could see his extra confidence this week in ISP after only a short exposure to NRL
Mc WTF can't use injury as an excuse because he refused to heed Forum warnings about potential injuries and blood /rotate/rest players etc

Contingency was too abstract a concept for him to grasp

j0nesy

There were a number of non performers yesterday, with the exception of Friz, Periera and McInness. However, I though Aitken, MacDonald, Dufty and Lafai were all poor and didnt show any signs of effort. Mac Donald in particular should be dropped, however he is likely to survive given injuries to Aitken and Nightingale.

The forwards are just cooked. I’d give them all a week off in a desperate bid to have them fit for the first final. Concede the game to Newcastle we can’t finish top 4 now anyway.

My team:
Dufty
Herbert (f**k MacDonald off regardless of injuries)
Lomax
Lafai
Pereira
Mann
Hunt
LAM
Robson
Latts
Leilua
Sele
Host

Field
Lawrie
Kerr
Allgood

Blood Shot Eyes

Yes mate, many were leaving with even 20 to go. I left with 6 to go and it was emptying out. Tough to see them dish that up given the stakes. If they get a home final(somehow), im not even sure how many will turn up. People are disgusted, myself included.
Thanks mate......thought myself about a home semi etc then thought what the bloody hell will that do.....our form is that piss poor we couldnt win anywhere at the moment......sad but true

RedVee

The players aren’t tanking, they’re not betting on games, Hunt isn’t destabilising the team and Dufty isn’t a shit player. The players are low on confidence, they’re all busted and overworked, Hunt is headf**ked after Origin and the relentless pressure, and Dufty is an undeniably talented player who is playing like a kid who read his own press and bought in. Mary needs to drop Duff, put Hunt at hooker, rest a couple of big boppers and for f**k sake, attack in numbers around the ball.

Weeks ago

There were a number of non performers yesterday, with the exception of Friz, Periera and McInness. However, I though Aitken, MacDonald, Dufty and Lafai were all poor and didnt show any signs of effort. Mac Donald in particular should be dropped, however he is likely to survive given injuries to Aitken and Nightingale.

The forwards are just cooked. I’d give them all a week off in a desperate bid to have them fit for the first final. Concede the game to Newcastle we can’t finish top 4 now anyway.

My team:
Dufty
MacDonald
Lomax
Lafai
Pereira
Mann
Hunt
LAM
Robson
Latts
Leilua
Sele
Host

Field
Lawrie
Kerr
Allgood
Dufty is a big concern. His confidence looks shot.
He only played 60 minutes yesterday and was a revolving door in defence and very predictable in attack.
SDB and Graham are the ones that need a spell.
Pick the team that can do a job against Newcastle.
Play payers in their specialist positions.
Herbert
Lomax
McDonald
Mann
Pereira
Field
Hunt (c)
Friz
McInnes
LAM
Sims
Leilua
Host

Latimore
Lawrie
Robson
Sele

denis preston

Love it !!! O the tribulations of a Dragons supporter !

Blood Shot Eyes

Very well put mate......I agree with everthing youve stated above..... when I started this thread with the word rotten I didnt exactely mean theres someone rotten amongst the bunch so to speak but theres something rotten about our whole setup behind the scenes.......yes I agree McGregor just doesnt cut it as a coach and the buck should stop with him and like most on here look forward to the day he doesnt coach my footy team....but as I keep repeating in the last few weeks when I see our famous club getting flogged 40 to 4 by the wooden spooners and 38 to nil at home by The Dogs then imo its not just tired , mentally worn out footballers with a shithouse coach there has to be a division or diversion of some sorts in this team

The Damo

It's boring repetitive one out forward plays.
There's no off loads because there's no one to offload too, as has been pointed out for weeks, the players are already setting up the next play instead of worrying about the play that's currently unfolding.
The next play is inevitably a one out forward hit up.

Dufty is not a bad player. His defensive deficiencies are far out weighed by his attacking abilities, but the team are not coached to take advantage of them, they are not trained to try to put him into gaps, he's not trained to follow the ball carrier.

McGregors game plan is always mistake free football first, he's told us this with his famous 16 points in defence game plans.
If you are just trying to restrict you opponents to 16 you do not expect to score more than 18.

Aitken, Nene, Lafai, Peierra are not bad players, just badly coached, never given the opportunity to run or ball play because the game plans are always "mistake free" first.

JDB, Sims, Ah Mau, Tyson have all gone off because they don't believe in the game plan they are forced to play under.
This nails it I think. There’s no progression through the year, there’s plenty of good players to work with. Mary comes up with one plan that works, and can’t/won’t add to it or change things.
It looks the same as at the end of Price’s tenure, the players have lost faith in the plan, the mental edge is gone and they stop supporting the ball player and the forwards all run one out without options to make the defence question. And they keep just going through the motions of setting up the next play in sequence. And once they are behind there’s no confidence they can catch up. Earlier in some games when the form slumped the team still had some mental edge and when behind actually turned on some creative eyes up footy and were able to catch up and win. That looks completely gone now.

mw10371

The players aren’t tanking, they’re not betting on games, Hunt isn’t destabilising the team and Dufty isn’t a shit player. The players are low on confidence, they’re all busted and overworked, Hunt is headf**ked after Origin and the relentless pressure, and Dufty is an undeniably talented player who is playing like a kid who read his own press and bought in. Mary needs to drop Duff, put Hunt at hooker, rest a couple of big boppers and for f**k sake, attack in numbers around the ball.

The most intelligent post in this thread so far.....

To suggest tanking is ridiculous!
Just sack Hunt??....he would need to be paid out...its a good chuck of our cap for the next 5 years. And replace with who?
Dufty became an arrogant little prick just weeks after becoming a regular first grader....he needs to improve a lot in a number of facets of his game.

Maxwell

McGregors lack of coaching ability and skills aside there seems to be something rotten in our camp at present......allowing for the fact our skipper is missing and arguably our best forward Im not convinced thats all the reasons....to lose our last 6 out of 8 games after being the front runners up untill round 17 and to be flogged 40 to 4 by the wooden spooners in round 22 and today losing 38 nil to the Dogs at home.......besides doing it for Thommo and Nightie we had everything again to play for but yet again we were miserable to say the least....whilst not wanting to single out players its obvious Hunt has completely lost it....I know some will say your halves can only operate effectively when your forwards are moving forward and I agree but for mine he looks totally unhappy and uninterested......I just cant agree that we are just tired and burnt out...today some players looked defeated and unenthusiastic for most of the match.....as I say theres a deep seated problem in our ranks at present that we arnt privvy to
we need to borrow Gus Gould for a week???????

giboz71

The dip in performance is just alarming.

When we lost our first game against the Warriors, we were in the game for the full 80 and the effort was outstanding. Then we beat the Roosters and Storm in consecutive weeks. We were by far the best team in the comp, Bellamy even labelling us the benchmark. More importantly, the team looked unified and committed.

I’ve argued teams go through flat spots and most top 8 teams have this year, but what’s happening to us is unacceptable.

I’ve long suspected something wasn’t right for a while. None of the Origin guys have recovered, Widdop decided to change his appearance and has not led from the front at all. Hunt is just a broken player after Orgin. Dufty has lost all confidence. And most importantly, Mary has been unable to fix what is wrong. If he’s lost the dressing room, it’s not a surprising as there was no heart or effort out there yesterday.