Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Timana Tahu out, Joel Monaghan in for State of Origin II

Springs

nah, for this game i just see it as not supporting a racist regime. johns has gone a long way toward spoiling origin, just because he's a redneck bogan. i'll be cheering inglis to stick it up racist joey.

if tahu comes back in for game 3, without johns in the camp - the way it should have been last week, straight away the minute tahu raised his concern - then i'll feel ok about cheering on the blues again then.

You really are a lowlife fool. Racist regime? NSW isn't the nazi party or KKK you idiot. I'm sure what Johns meant when he said Inglis was a black c*** was 'black people are completely inferior to us in every way and we should kill them...' You really just need to shut up. NSW is more than Andrew Johns saying an idiot remark. NSW is an entire state, 6 million+ people, that is what we are cheering for, so we can beat those foolish Queenslanders. And cheering Inglis? Is Johns suddenly playing now? How is that going to 'stick it up him'? And calling someone a racist when he is not, on the basis of one remark when you do not even know the person, is very, very low. I'm sure you have never said anything remotely bad or discriminatory in your entire life, Mr. Sinless. Maybe you are Jesus himself...

And Tahu did not do this to send a message about racism. Rothfield (yeah, I know) in the 'Inside the Andrew Johns race scandal' story has said that Tahu proposed they use injury as the excuse, Andrew Johns also offered to quit the camp as soon as he found out, and even though the players wanted him to stay, he stood down anyway, like he should.

Also, a hypothetical, as this is a race issue, what if the same situation occured but based on sexuality, I mean if someone called someone 'a gay c***, and someone in their team was homosexual and walked out, what would the reaction be? Since gay, like black, is a term used often in many contexts, and homosexual people have been discriminated against since time began, I wonder how the players actions would be received.

i'd also imagine attempts to cover stuff up would have been at least partly in an effort to try and not upset the team going into a very big game - not just to try and hide john's stupidity ... ie not some big racist cover-up conspiracy - just an attempt at damage control

its all good to sit back at home on the keyboard and throw sh*t at anyone and everyone over what happened and call everyone names, but no one really knows what went on except the few who were there .... i would imagine it would have been a very difficult situation to deal with there and then when the people involved were scattered all over the place and its someone you know and have alot of time for who's done the stupid thing

bildo

And the fact that aboriginal people were generally treated (by white people and the white government) as sub-humans. They were only allowed to vote in the mid-sixties, for f**k sake. Before that they were not even considered to be worthy of having a say in this country. That`s not very long ago. And they had their children taken away from them (or they were taken away from their parents) or their parents suffered this. Once again, very recent history. And they have all the scars from that.
My father was a school headmaster. His father was a manager in the coal-mining industry. What the hell do I care if someone calls me a white merkin? I`ve got all that safe, secure heritage to fall back on. But you go back two generations of aboriginal people and what have they got? Unemployed, disenfranchised, unempowered. Great-grandfathers murdered by whites; maybe grandfathers and grandmothers. Making up only 1 or 2% of the population. Really in the minority. No power. No voice in society. Fathers and mothers and grandparents not teachers or doctors or postal workers or even clerks or factory workers; but more likely unemployed, no confidence, no power, ashamed of their station in life. Call someone like that a 'black merkin' and it means a whole lot more than anything they could call a white man.

Could i lend you a tissue, mate. I don't mean to infer that you are a wanker or anythink.

Joey is a legend of this game and this shouldnt not affect that status.

My view of Johns hasn't changed and I'd say I'm in the majority.

I still see Johns as a dopey bogan who is lucky he was good at footy or he'd be pushing wheelbarrows for a living.

But I also think Johns is a good bloke, and is only guilty of ignorance. He'll learn from this but that doesn't mean he deserves to keep any of his jobs that involve him representing any sports or media organisations.

And I think he's the best player ever to play the game.

Johns erred in what he said. He apologised and quit. Nothing more should be done. However I cannot help but think that Tahu overreacted. I'm just being honest and I have copped my own share of racism over the years.

Maroubra Eel

I`m not saying I think they are. I wouldn`t have a clue. I`m just saying that, as incredible and unbelievable as it might sound, that sort of sh*t still happens a lot in today`s society. Black people are still discriminated against a lot, and it`s at least possible that what Mundine says has an element of truth to it. It obviously wouldn`t be as overt as the selectors sitting around a table and saying "Okay, we won`t pick Nathan Merritt, because he`s black; we`ll pick Steve Turner instead". Or, no, we won`t pick Nathan Blacklock because he`s black (even though he`s the game`s top try-scorer, and we really need a try-scorer), we`ll pick a white boy instead." It would be far more subtle. There would be justification and rationalisation for their selections, and the words 'black' would never come into it. I`m just saying it`s possible that`s all. What, you think that 200 odd years of discrimination and prejudice just suddenly stops one day because we all woke up or something? Why do you think Nathan Blacklock went over to Rugby Union? Because his continual overlooking by the NSW selectors became like a bad joke. It probably made him wonder why. It made Mundine think that a black boy has to play ten times better than a white boy to get selected for NSW. I`m just saying there could be some truth in it.

Blacklock was a bit unlucky not to be chosen. But I don't reckon it's race related. There has been players of all races who have been unlucky not to be chosen. They don't all play the race card.

Oh the irony of Queenslanders accusing NSW of being racist

we..we..we...we..we..we..we..we. are not racist!!!...don't don't you worry about that!!!!!

joh_bjelke_peterson_wideweb__430x426.jpg

Casper The Ghost

Somewhere in deep space a conversation ensues.........
080923-galaxy-cluster-02.jpg

Those stupid human beings from planet earth.........

aliens-3.jpg

What a bunch of decrepit losers they are commander. While the rest of intelligence advances in the universe these pathetic morons wank on about racism and homos. I totally agree with you commander... it's time we invade them again, eat all the men and seed babies with all the women. That planet needs our intelligence.

We have arrived commander............
ufonightskyarc_450x350.jpg

You may go ahead and seed the women squadron leader.
Make sure you bring back some of their stupid men for supper.
6a00e554e798488833010535f83389970c-800wi

The end of stupid dumbed-down man is near....
V-Season-1-TV-Series---20-001.jpg

2150_souLJA

Joey is a f**king idiot.

Its this sort of sh*t in our game that makes me ashamed to be a league supporter. We really have some of the lowest form of human beings in our game.