Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tingha - news from Hull

Godz Illa

lyon is a saint said:
Are so Blacklock is a hero on these boards then?

Tell me how many Aussie caps did he win?
I think that when I assumed you had a pea-sized brain, I may have been overestimating you.

tingha_greengold010713.jpg

Believe me the Hull supporters think Blacklocks outstanding. He's so strong in attack, the only defensive problems we have had is a decent centre along side him.
Thought id update you on how he's doing. He's really enjoying his time at Hull and has stated that winning the challenge cup was the best moment of his life. He has been a good replacement for colin best, watch this space because next year he's gonna be even better. Lets hope he scores a few tries at bradford in the playoffs.

Hutty1986

HullFc_SuperLeague said:
Believe me the Hull supporters think Blacklocks outstanding. He's so strong in attack, the only defensive problems we have had is a decent centre along side him.
Thought id update you on how he's doing. He's really enjoying his time at Hull and has stated that winning the challenge cup was the best moment of his life. He has been a good replacement for colin best, watch this space because next year he's gonna be even better. Lets hope he scores a few tries at bradford in the playoffs.

:D Cheers very much for the update

Does Tingha do his back-flip anymore these days?

Only twice this season. Once in a pre season friendly and the second time was to the fans after the victory in the challenge cup. I cant believe a saints supported would criticise a hull player who's is also a legend back in aus.

if your interested he was on SLTV which you can view over the internet talking about the final victory. Just after paul cooke, you can tell he enjoyed it.

http://www.superleague.co.uk/news/1815

HullFc_SuperLeague said:
Thanks a million HullFC_SuperLeague.

The whole Blacklock defence thing goes back a long way. Over his career he has been no better or worse than any winger defensively.

He is after all a specialist winger who sometimes plays full back. His job is to score tries.. and he does that beautifully.

But throughout Tingha's career, the knockers were always looking for faults. Even commentators were looking for defensive lapses while ignoring marker defence or activities closer to the ruck. As a defender, Blacklock saved many tries, but for some reason, he was held accountable when confronted with an overlap.

Basically, there were claims that he wasn't tough enough.

To answer his critics, Blacklock started to get more involved in the middle of the ruck. And he started scoring tries under the posts... sometimes with a second rower on his back.

I make no apologies for being a Tingha fan and I'm bias. But the fact is, his record speaks for itself:

He scored 20 or more tries for 4 years running (the only player in Australian first grade history to do so).

He was the top try scorer for the NRL for three years running... and just one try short of making it 4 years running.

Plus he was the top try scorer for the Dragons for 5 years. I would need to check it but don't believe any other player has those stats in the 85 year history of the St George club.

At the very least, this puts Nathan Blacklock in the same class as Eddie Lumsden and Johhny King, players who are lauded as legends in the club's history and wingers who played alongside a champion pack in the 1950s and 1960s.

At Blacklock's last match at Kogarah in 2004, he speaheaded a comeback which saw Saints score 26 points in about as many minutes to beat Manly just before full time. Saints were 34-10 down ater 52 minutes in the wet. They ended up winning 36-34. Team effort sure, but Tingha was the match winner that day. Not just with scoring a couple of tries, he was also instrumental in setting up a couple of others as Saints chased Manly down. I've never seen anything quite like it.

He'll keep on scoring tries for a couple of years yet.

Hutty1986

:p

How amazing was that Manly game!

Blacklock is my favourite player of all time, he was just phenomenal

Such a natural and wonderfully instinctive footy player and a try scoring machine

Nugby

I can't believe this wanker would bring Australian caps into it. I think it would be clear to anyone that players like Blacklock, Mundine and Preston Campbell were robbed in this regard and the selectors, not the players should be judged. Good to see the best attacking winger in my lifetime is still scoring tries and doing backflips. I don't know how I'm going to see the game on Friday but I'll try my best. Thanks Willow.

HullFC_Tingha

Hi all...

What Nathan did the other night was nothing but exceptional, he's been a great star in our team this season although his defence has been a bit weak his attack has been awesome.

You may find a reason why Nathan's side has been a bit weak this season for us, i mainly think this is because we haven't had a good enough right center, and this is why we've signed Sid Domic from Trinity Wildcat's

Nathan has recieved quite a bit of stick from many fans not only Hull but most of the superleaue, this is something i haven't done, i've supported tingha and stuck up for him because i knew what he did for you and the other club's he's played for, his work as been somewhat sensational, and when i heard we'd signed him i was over the mooon.

For the St's fan: Once again you havent a clue, mostly 99.9% of the Hull fans love tingha he's been a quality player and we hope to see plenty more of him next season, the other thing is he's been that sh2t this year he managed to catch a kick from sean long and run 90meter's to score a try against you at the KC which i believe we nailed you by some 40 points :) please just GET A LIFE.

Nugby said:
I can't believe this wanker would bring Australian caps into it.
Quite frankly I don't know what that has to do with anything or why he brought it up.

In any case, Tingha has played for Australia, against the Lions as well as PNG. And he has scored tries for Australia as well.

He missed out on a NSW spot when it was a gimme in 2001. But we know the old boys network was in full swing that year. The selectors stuffed it up with Wayne Pearce, the coach, having the final say... the less said the better but NSW were beaten in that series.

He did eventually get a NSW jersey but in the wrong football code. He had little trouble getting a spot with the Waratahs in 2003. In a Super 12 match, Tingha scored a runaway try that turned the match in NSW's favour.

There was a lot of drama when Tingha said he wanted to return to League and the NSWRU initially blocked the move. The Waratahs coach Bob Dwyer carried like a pork chop, saying all sorts of crap in the press.

Anyway, here are some hard stats:

Representative Honours:
Sydney Under 19’s,
Junior Kangaroo 1995
Country Origin 2001, 2003, 2004
NSW Waratahs (Union) 2003
Australia: Kangaroo Tour 2001 (2 tests, PNG, UK).

Records:
Most tries in a premiership season, 1999, 2000 and 2001
Equaled record for top try scorer for three consecutive premiership seasons.
Only player to ever score twenty or more tries in four consecutive seasons.
St George Club record: 27 tries in one season (2001) surpassing Tom Ryan's record of 26 tries set in 1957
Most tries in first grade for the Dragons: 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003

HullFC_Tingha, by any chance, do you know his stats for Hull?

HullFC_Tingha said:
Hull FC Club Record: 22 tries in total
Challenge cup tries: 2
Super League tries: 20
Great stuff. How many games? Thanks Hull :D

pmarrow

Nathan has probably being our best signing this year closely followed by Mr Stephen Kearney, the fact he has scored 22 tries in 29 games probably shows it.

He had a tough start to his career at Hull, weather and the new surroundings probably took him a while to find his feet. However he scored his first hat trick for the club against Huddersfield with two of them being interceptions from our own line and he also bombed another 3 tries that day. Since then he has gone on to score another two hat tricks for the club and also had many two try braces.

The reason why many of the Super League fans have not rated him is probably because he has spells were he will go quite for a few games but then he'll come up with hat trick a game later. Consistency has probably being his big downfall this season. Although had he being a couple of years younger he would have porbably scored 35+ tries with the amount of interception chances he has had.

The biggest problem we had when we had Best playing for us was he could score plenty of tries but he would also concede too many, very dodgy under the high ball in particular (hows he done this year? ) With Nathan its being different and his defence has always being spot on apart from the times he has being caught out of position. You can hardly fault the guy for that though, he is a proven try scorer (the fact he topped the NRL try scorers table for three seasons proves this) and we seem to create chances for everyone but him. He has had to come infield looking for the ball and sometimes it has got us 6 points and other times it has left us exposed and cost us 6 points, however he is only human.

He must also be congratulated on the way he stepped in to play full back in the biggest game of his carrer just hours before kick off in the final, yes he had a great game. :cool:

As for the St helens fan questioning his defence, well thats just bizarre considering the team he supports. Remember this ? Sean Long puts up a high swirling bomb up into the corner, its looking like a certain 4 points as no Hull player is around. All of a sudden up pops blacklock catches the ball outpaces Darren Albert (the apparent fastest man in super league) and he outpaces him so much he WALKS the last twenty metres to the try line. Remember ? :D

He has had his bad moments granted, but he has continued to do what he is known to do and thats putting an oval shaped piece of leather over the white wash.

Thats all I have to say on the matter, hows our mate Besty doing ?

Great post pmarrow. Thanks for the update.

We saw the Cup Final on TV where he was put into full back.

Colin Best has had a very good year for St George playing outside of Mark Gasnier. He has also gone inside looking for the ball on a few occasions.

He's our top try scorer this year, 20 tries in 26 matches, and one of the top try scorers in the NRL. He's played every game this year.
Started off poorly but then again, the whole team was playing like sh*te. By round 5 he was proving his worth.

Like most wingers, his defence has come under scrutiny. But you can usually look further infield to find out where the real defensive lapses are.

Colin Best replaced Tingha, some big shoes to fill. But he has outdone his namesake, playing with the aplomb and style of a Ringo Starr.

pmarrow

Forgot to add, some useful links here.

www.blackandwhites.co.uk - My wonderful creation :D although I have just had to pass this on to a new owner. Has match reports and photos on the website of Hull FC , also has the number one message forum for Hull too. So if you want to keep upto date with Tinghu visit this place on a Sunday / Monday.

www.hullfc.com - The opfficial website, updated less then the current Great Britain squad but includes profiles and news eventually which again could keep you upto date on his progress.

http://slstats.rlfans.com/modules.php?name=Stats&function=viewteam&team_id=9&year=2005&view=players - a Super League stat site, just incase you wanted to compare his stats with other players in super league. Although these stats only apply for regular league games, it doesnt include Challenge cup or play off matches.

Hope it helps you all.

Pete

pmarrow

Willow said:
Great post pmarrow. Thanks for the update.

We saw the Cup Final on TV where he was put into full back.

Colin Best has had a very good year for St George playing outside of Mark Gasnier. He has also gone inside looking for the ball on a few occasions.

He's our top try scorer this year, 20 tries in 26 matches, and one of the top try scorers in the NRL. He's played every game this year.
Started off poorly but then again, the whole team was playing like sh*te. By round 5 he was proving his worth.

Like most wingers, his defence has come under scrutiny. But you can usually look further infield to find out where the real defensive lapses are.

Colin Best replaced Tingha, some big shoes to fill. But he has outdone his namesake, playing with the aplomb and style of a Ringo Starr.

Thanks for the update and its great to see him doing well, I was a bit gutted when he left but I think in Tinghu both sides managed to get a decent winger.

Although going a bit off topic, not really being a big follower of the NRL, however I watched your match last weekend and thought you were knocked out(commiserations) so I am a bit confused as to why you have another game this weekend.

Back on topic I should have net access over the weekend so will give you all an update on Blacklocks performance this weekend!

There's a Nathan Blacklock site here - started around the time of the turmoil and hasn't been updated since his departure to the UK:

http://www.showroom.com.au/dragons/blacklock.htm

Some interesting links to articles as well as a few pics.

Thanks again pmarrow and to HullFC_Tingha.

Keep in touch guys.

Cheers. :)

pmarrow

Not the kit you would prefer him to be in but however, heres one of the great pictures of Nathan.

blacklock_000.jpg

gregstar

i miss blacklock.

regularly i flick on the '99 breathing fire dvd & watch he & mundine tear sides new arrseholes. the disc always jams after his grand final try however.

Godz Illa

gregstar said:
regularly i flick on the '99 breathing fire dvd & watch he & mundine tear sides new arrseholes. the disc always jams after his grand final try however.
My video has the same defect. Curious.

Imo, give Tingha his own tribute on the Legends walk at Jubilee! He would fit right in.