Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trivia Night

I meant the Trivia Night was a one off - I can understand the need for a 6pm start, as it was a function with a set start and finish time. Much later then 8.30 and the kids would have started to get cranky/sleepy.

So the question then has to be why does it have to run 2 hours or 2 and a half. Can a night like this not be compressed into 1.5 hours? With after function socializing so the parents can take the kiddy winks home and the rest of us can continue on our night. I know I have been to several trivia nights around the traps and they don't run 2.5 hours.

You know that i agree with you for Training Sessions/Forums/etc as they are much more relaxed.

And im sorry, i can't find your logic with your second point. If it were emailed and posted at the same time - people with access to emails would STILL have taken all the player tables, and people who had to wait for the post would STILL have missed out??

Letters should go out first, a few months in advance with a date when booking would be accepted on and how they would be accepted, either via Phone or Letter, and then email reminders going out when bookings were being accepted, at least that way people without email have a chance. Who cares if the got a player table or not, as long as they got a table and could attended the event.

wittyz chick

To any important person reading this:

Please note the people who attended from here had fun!! Should be done again next year sometime.

MITS I understand people can't attend these things due to work or other commitments but at least they are putting this stuff on for us fans!!

If they didn't you'd be on here complaining they do nothing for us.

You can't please everyone in the world.

wittyz chick

Well answer me this..

Would you prefer they put on a trivia night for us fans EVEN THOUGH some are unable to attend due to work/other commitments?

OR

Would you prefer they do nothing like this for us?

pick, don't make up your own option.. pick from the 2

So I am sounding sooky, which would follow that I am upset that I personally missed out.

That I am personally aggrieved at the situation, and that I want it fixed for my own personal gain.

If that is your perception of my comments, then that is fine, but anyone that looks at my actions over a period of time and thinks I don't have the best interests of this club, and its fans at heart is sorely mistaken, and in my opinion, foolish.

I have raised here points, that I have raised over the past 4 years. Points that I have taken the time to write and to publish and deliver to this club, points that I have workshoped with others on this forum and in this thread and they are points that are in my opinion still valid.

We should as a club work to service our fans, we should see it as our goal to provide them with the best fan experience in the National Rugby League, and we should do so openly and without favour to any one person or group.

Yet I state that we should not favour people with only emails, I state we should push back to time to allow more people to attend a said function, and I am perceived as sooky.

I have no doubts the people that attended enjoyed themselves, and I also have no doubts that people in this club who have put this event on know my mind on this matter.

The comment looking a gift horse in the mouth, that we should consider for one second that if we ask for more or better from our club now that we have something, a faux pas, is mind boggling. Seriously, it is the most astounding thing ever, it is akin to accepting being over charged by 25%, or only getting 75% of your pay packet and not in either case questioning it.

We have been so sh*t at fan relations for so long, and it has been such a drawn out debate and discussion on this topic that as soon as you get anything, you dare not question it?

Last year when we got back our post match functions, or we got our stadium tours, they were not above criticisms, for their timing, their content or the way they were run, but now club events are above reproach, the Trivia night was perfect. Sorry but in talking with members of the club the acknowledge that the issues I raised are valid.

It would seem that some of you feel that offering any form of criticism, (and if anyone here thinks that I have done anything other than offer constructive criticism, then indeed they are completely f**king delusional) toward people that you voted for is wrong then all of a sudden you are against the club.

When this club was not doing so well, those of us with contacts within the club spoke about these problems at great length and pleaded to get them fixed. Now we have moved closer to what we want, I don't expect anyone who did criticize the club to back off, and hold this club to a high standard, we as its members and fans expect, and that is something it once was, the best operation in league in this state.

Yes I am happy we got a Trivia night, but there are ways to improve it, not having attended I can't speak of how to improve the experience of the event, but I am sure their are always areas we can improve in if we want to be the best in all fields.

But if you are happy getting what you are being dished up, which in my opinion isn't as good as this club could, should and has offered in the past, then simply enjoy it and let those of us who are trying to better this club do that.

mickdo

So the question then has to be why does it have to run 2 hours or 2 and a half. Can a night like this not be compressed into 1.5 hours? With after function socializing so the parents can take the kiddy winks home and the rest of us can continue on our night. I know I have been to several trivia nights around the traps and they don't run 2.5 hours.

Most I've been to usually go about that long or longer... and I've been to a lot of trivia nights

Well answer me this..

Would you prefer they put on a trivia night for us fans EVEN THOUGH some are unable to attend due to work/other commitments?

OR

Would you prefer they do nothing like this for us?

pick, don't make up your own option.. pick from the 2

Oh Option one, without doubt,

but this is real life, and we don't limit our options as you have stated, we have an option to make it better, to make is available to more people. To do better for our fans and accepting a level of service which excludes people is in my opinion setting for second best which it seems everyone here is now happy to do.

Let me give you another example. We had this sort of a night, oh a while ago, back when Stu Kelly and others were with the club. Not only did the fans turn up, but the sponsors turned up. There was a charity auction and money was raised at the night, sponsor got to talk with players and with fans and make it feel like a real club. Now when those sponsors sign the cheque each year to pay for their sponsorships, what do they think back in. I can tell you it is little things like these that bring sponsors back and help them to ante up for the next year. I don't think a single serious sponsor would have been able to attend that event, unlike the last one we had, oh so long ago.

Maybe this event was purely for the fans, but again only a certain subset could go. Obviously their are some issues with people getting to events, and be it this or any other event like the upcoming Open Training, or Stadium tour. Now if someone came up to me, and asked me about the benefits of membership, I would as I have done to many hear on this board speak positively about the club but I would also be honest and say, we have these events, and from all reports they are great, and could be greater if they were run at decent times. I am sorry but in marketing land that is not a ringing endorsement of the product.

My point is the club can do better, and even though it ran an event, it is not above constructive criticism.

fish eel

Just like to add that I didn't go because of the time.

Would also like to add I got the first message about it sometime ago (atleast a month maybe more), plenty of time of time to arrange to skip out on work an hour early if I was really wanted to get there....

Most I've been to usually go about that long or longer... and I've been to a lot of trivia nights

How many have what appears to be from Jess's email, under 10's turning up?

Personally I don't see Trivia nights as an event that members who would be getting sleepy at 8:30pm would enjoy or be attending against say a signing session.

Maybe a junior trivia night focusing on questions for those that need to be asleep early could be a goer, maybe starting at 4:30 or 5:00pm.

I mean I have a normal bed time of 9:00 - 9:30 on a weeknight, so it would have been inconvenient for me as well but hey that is why we can also talk about having it on a bye weekend next time.

How many have what appears to be from Jess's email, under 10's turning up?

Personally I don't see Trivia nights as an event that members who would be getting sleepy at 8:30pm would enjoy or be attending against say a signing session.

Maybe a junior trivia night focusing on questions for those that need to be asleep early could be a goer, maybe starting at 4:30 or 5:00pm.

I mean I have a normal bed time of 9:00 - 9:30 on a weeknight, so it would have been inconvenient for me as well but hey that is why we can also talk about having it on a bye weekend next time.

The one thing I seriously agree with you on this issue MITS is that I don't think this should be a "kids included" function, and that is coming from someone with kids.
The excuse of "a time suitable for children" is unacceptable for this type of event.

mickdo

The one thing I seriously agree with you on this issue MITS is that I don't think this should be a "kids included" function, and that is coming from someone with kids.
The excuse of "a time suitable for children" is unacceptable for this type of event.

Then you'd have people complaining that it ran too late :crazy:

Several. If you are given enough notice, why can't you arrange to get there early? They cannot cater for EVERYONE. Seriously Mark, this just sounds like a whinge.

No they can't cater for everyone, but they can cater for more. They can cater for those that don't want to or indeed in my opinion, shouldn't have to make arrangements with their employer to attend a Rugby League club event. Again I am meanly offering some constructive criticism on how they can get more people involved, it is your perception that I am having an whinge, which I am not, as I am not unhappy I couldn't attend, personally I was more of a chance of going to the Monday night football at ANZ last night any rate, but having suffered some minor health issues, decided to go home and treat them which would have meant I would have missed this event any rate, even if it was held at 7:00 pm.

Nikki

Wow.. Maybe Im just easily pleased but I really, really enjoyed last night. I was grateful that the club put it on, and that it was professionally run. Sure I had to re-arrange my works hours, but that was my choice. I think this is what people are failing to see here. It comes down to choices. Now, there is a training session on Monday at 6pm. Heaps short notice has been given, if any. I know I cant make it due to prior arrangements, but I am not going to jump up and down about it. Im an adult and stopped chuckin tantys about missing Parra functions long ago. I think the 6pm doors open for a 6.30 start was appropriate for a Monday night. Its better to try and fail (which I dont think they did) than to not have tried at all. From reading your posts MITS I am getting the impression that because they didnt abide by your times in the report you have your nose all out of joint.

MITS I recall you pretty much came from the other side of the fence a year or 2 back when people complained about the early start of a STH training session being hard to get to if you worked in the city - you pretty much told em to suck it up and get off work early ..... yet now, the start time of this event is a big deal .... what changed?

mickdo

MITS I recall you pretty much came from the other side of the fence a year or 2 back when people complained about the early start of a STH training session being hard to get to if you worked in the city - you pretty much told em to suck it up and get off work early ..... yet now, the start time of this event is a big deal .... what changed?

3P won the election? :-k

Nikki

Nikki & the group, I was going to come back out of Sterlos and say g'day but was chatting to my dad and then the thing started. I was about to introduce myself after the night but photos were happening at your table.

Shoulda just crashed the photo mate!!! :lol: