Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trivia Night

Jodeci

MITS, I'll try and answer some questions you may have...

Firstly the Trivia was released via the www.parraeels.com.au website on the 6th August. You have 18 days to work around the schedule and you had to tell the club by the 14th if you wanted to attend.

That's more then enough notice.

Regarding sponsors, I can confirm that a representative from Dyldam and AMO were there last night. Dyldam rep was on my table and AMO the table next to me so people dont think I'm saying rubbish.

Was it not in the weekly newsletter??? I dont receive them so I wouldn't know.

As everyone has mentioned, there were both kids and adults there as Burt and Hindy's table were mostly kids.

You cant hold events like trivia for either kids or adults champ. It's a trivia night, not some XXX evening with the players so no kids are allowed.

As Nikki mentioned, I also had to make up some time at work to leave but I told them this well in advance.

A member on my table finished at 5pm, caught the express from the City, three stops later and he was at Parra Station and I picked him up at 5.55pm and we made it in time.

Regarding the Open Training Session, it was not known until the Captain Cayless just announced that the boys are training Monday night for come along for an open training session and we will sign things for ya.

It was more of an open event to everyone that they want us to come and see them train and wasn't actually planned mate.

Trivia Nights are not over in an hour especially when you have to cater for I reckon there was 20 tables if not more meaning easily there where 160 members so it would take time to feature all the questions, little breaks in between so kids could go around the tables and have a photo or chat to their favourite players.

There are going to be peope who can and can't make events the club puts on due to various reasons such as family commitments, travelling, kids junior sports, etc.

People are having a shot at ya because there was nothing negative about this trivia night but somehow a negative post has brought up.

For once, I can actually say that the club ran something like this very well and I hope it becomes an annual event for members.

If you want an adults only trivia or someone else, email the club.

Regarding the presentation that was submitted to the club a while ago, we know it fell on deaf ears and the new board/Mr Osborne have reviewed that presentation along with some new incentives/ideas that was also given to them a week ago.

New times coming along MITS, trust me

There was plenty of notice via the web site and plus on LU also.

Captain BF

Funniest thing i heard on the night was a little coming up to Matt Keating "Excuse me Mr Keating, where is Ben Smith?" he just froze and our table laughed. The little fella wasn't asking for an autograph from Keats.

Wow.. Maybe Im just easily pleased but I really, really enjoyed last night.

Not being in attendance I can't say, but I never doubted at any stage people would have enjoyed the night.

I was grateful that the club put it on, and that it was professionally run.

Again I can say as to how it was run, but I am Happy the club provided this event, never doubt that I am pleased that the club is putting on these events.

Sure I had to re-arrange my works hours, but that was my choice. I think this is what people are failing to see here. It comes down to choices.

But I do see it was a choice, however I don't see the reason why we as fans , supporters or Members of the club should have to make that choice, for some shift workers or people with other circumstances yes, I can understand they have made a choice to work those hours, and they would again have to make a choice about this event, but simply shifting it 1 hour so that you didn't have to make those choices is the point I am trying to make.

Now, there is a training session on Monday at 6pm. Heaps short notice has been given, if any. I know I cant make it due to prior arrangements, but I am not going to jump up and down about it. Im an adult and stopped chuckin tantys about missing Parra functions long ago.

If you think I am being that petulant, then again you don't know my mind on this subject, even though I have spoken about it for a long time to people like yourself. Thats your opinion, and in my opinion it is not only wrong but downright insulting.

I think the 6pm doors open for a 6.30 start was appropriate for a Monday night. Its better to try and fail (which I dont think they did) than to not have tried at all.

I don't think the night was a failure, and I challenge you to show me where I said it was, all I have been saying during this thread is that it could be done better, either on a bye weekend or at a later time.

From reading your posts MITS I am getting the impression that because they didnt abide by your times in the report you have your nose all out of joint.

Once again, I find that remark ignorant and insulting. If any one thinks I am out for personal gain from any of what I have done over the past 4 years then, in reality you don't know my intentions at all.

MITS I recall you pretty much came from the other side of the fence a year or 2 back when people complained about the early start of a STH training session being hard to get to if you worked in the city - you pretty much told em to suck it up and get off work early ..... yet now, the start time of this event is a big deal .... what changed?

Sorry strides, but for game days, like Friday night football, (which BTW starts at 7:30 or 7:00pm for a Monday night) I spoke about being able to get to games, but for these events I agreed with most that it was not the best time and that I would have to take leave to get to them. In the end I took a half day of leave split over two days, to get to those events, and most of the people I spoke with, including Nikki and Jodeci both stated it would be good if these events started later.

3P won the election? :-k

You sir are an Idiot. Plain and simple. In case you didn't get it and judging by this comment you don't. I do not agree with any thoughts that the change of Board has anything Major to do with Events for fans. I spoke during the election at great length, when threads were started with my name in them questioning what I thought, that I believed this turn around in events culture coincided with the appointment of Andrew Hill as the Football Operations manager. That was the big move that I was happy about, I cheered it, because it meant a ramping up of our Fan relations stuff, which we have continued to see not only late last year, but into this year, and that is regardless of who was on the board.

Sorry strides, but for game days, like Friday night football, (which BTW starts at 7:30 or 7:00pm for a Monday night) I spoke about being able to get to games, but for these events I agreed with most that it was not the best time and that I would have to take leave to get to them. In the end I took a half day of leave split over two days, to get to those events, and most of the people I spoke with, including Nikki and Jodeci both stated it would be good if these events started later.

I'm not talking about game days .... you specifically argued with people in the past over a STH event that was put on at 5:30/6 and told people to take a half day to attend ... yet now you've done an about face on a similar event and are claiming the club has failed to put it on at a decent time .... I don't see the difference in the 2 events, yet you have completely flipped your stance on the time

MITS, I'll try and answer some questions you may have...

Jodeci, I don't see why it is up to you to answer my questions, I have already spoken with people at the club about my concerns regarding the timing of this event. The supporters club has raised the poor timing of the last written news letter which arrived after the STH forum and the Post Match function vs the Broncos, but advertised both events.

Firstly the Trivia was released via the www.parraeels.com.au website on the 6th August. You have 18 days to work around the schedule and you had to tell the club by the 14th if you wanted to attend.

That's more then enough notice.

I am not debating that notice was given in a timely fashion, I am saying that the method of notification could be improved for those without access to the Internet or indeed those that shouldn't have to go to our website to hear about every event, those who are our valued season ticket holders whom receive written newsletters from the club quarterly. As I have said all along events like this should be advised in that news letter first and reminders sent via email. I am a member of a club that holds regular events and I receive written advise of events and how I should book the receive e-mail reminders

Regarding sponsors, I can confirm that a representative from Dyldam and AMO were there last night. Dyldam rep was on my table and AMO the table next to me so people dont think I'm saying rubbish.

The last trivia night I went too there was a sponsor at every table.

Was it not in the weekly newsletter??? I dont receive them so I wouldn't know.

Weekly e-mails yes it was, but again I know STH's that didn't know this event was on because they don't use e-mail, either at all or not very often.

As everyone has mentioned, there were both kids and adults there as Burt and Hindy's table were mostly kids.
You cant hold events like trivia for either kids or adults champ. It's a trivia night, not some XXX evening with the players so no kids are allowed.

I have never said Kids should not be allowed but I agree with Suity, an event like a Trivia night should not have it's timing effected to cater for Kids. Surely the breaks in the evening would eventually get to much for them as well?

As Nikki mentioned, I also had to make up some time at work to leave but I told them this well in advance.

A member on my table finished at 5pm, caught the express from the City, three stops later and he was at Parra Station and I picked him up at 5.55pm and we made it in time.

Again, why should we have to do this for all events, in my opinion we should not have to.

Regarding the Open Training Session, it was not known until the Captain Cayless just announced that the boys are training Monday night for come along for an open training session and we will sign things for ya.

It was more of an open event to everyone that they want us to come and see them train and wasn't actually planned mate.

Great, I am happy to hear they are doing it, for events like this I still think they should be held more often and at a vriety of times during the year

Trivia Nights are not over in an hour especially when you have to cater for I reckon there was 20 tables if not more meaning easily there where 160 members so it would take time to feature all the questions, little breaks in between so kids could go around the tables and have a photo or chat to their favourite players.

There are going to be peope who can and can't make events the club puts on due to various reasons such as family commitments, travelling, kids junior sports, etc.

Look I have absolutely no doubt that not every one can make every event, but even with the note about your friend, yourself and Nikki you can surely see that if it were held later it might well have removed some impediments from people like fisheel attending and indeed the extra efforts that you had to go to. A simple change in time, 1 hour, 1 little hour, is that to much to ask?

People are having a shot at ya because there was nothing negative about this trivia night but somehow a negative post has brought up.

For once, I can actually say that the club ran something like this very well and I hope it becomes an annual event for members.

Sure from those that attended, but I have been approached and have been in discussions with other members that as I said, either didn't go, or couldn't go due to the way the event was notified or indeed the timing, and I am raising those points in a discussion, as well as I have put those concerns to the club.

If you want an adults only trivia or someone else, email the club.

Never said I did, maybe you should go back and read what I said, and maybe you should read what Suity said as well.

Regarding the presentation that was submitted to the club a while ago, we know it fell on deaf ears and the new board/Mr Osborne have reviewed that presentation along with some new incentives/ideas that was also given to them a week ago.

Really, deaf ears? You know that for a fact or are you just guessing? As I was the one that submitted that report, and knowing the contents of the report, and its 20 recommendations, I can say that since the report was muted, and finalised, half of what we wanted has become a reality. I know that it was received and acted on. So please show me how it fell on deaf ears.

New times coming along MITS, trust me

There was plenty of notice via the web site and plus on LU also.

Again, I agree for those that are online, but I would hate to think that anyone believes that our Website and LU are the main sources of information for every Eels fan. Indeed I know that they are not.

Advanced notification doesn't make up for poor timing.

I'm not talking about game days .... you specifically argued with people in the past over a STH event that was put on at 5:30/6 and told people to take a half day to attend ... yet now you've done an about face on a similar event and are claiming the club has failed to put it on at a decent time .... I don't see the difference in the 2 events, yet you have completely flipped your stance on the time

I am sorry but I think you are wrong strider. But I would be happy to be proved wrong.

I said I was taking that time, indeed I felt compelled to take that time, due to the amount of work I had put in over the years, culminating in the report, that I should attend and show my support. But I still agreed it could be done at a better time and I still heed those concerns from those that did attend and took that time, and those that could not.

As I have said before, we have raised these concerns before, as the clubs form is to put on events at 6:00pm.

fish eel

MITS said:
Look I have absolutely no doubt that not every one can make every event, but even with the note about your friend, yourself and Nikki you can surely see that if it were held later it might well have removed some impediments from people like fisheel attending and indeed the extra efforts that you had to go to.

If it was kicking off at 7, I would have gone. Definately. Plenty of time to get home, quickly get changed and walk down.

Having said that, if I was motivated enough, I could have left the office half an hour early or so to get there, so I'd be disengenous saying the time was a real impediment to me.

For all MITS' long winded posts in this thread and the whinging calls directed at him, it's pretty clear all he is saying is 'it's great they did the event, and perhaps if they tinkered around the edges it could have been even more of a success'.

I really don't see how anyone can have a problem with that - and you can say that about pretty much ANY event - because no event is perfect.

Bigfella

Let's face it, it would be much better if all future events are given prior approval by MITS, held at MITS place, with Daniel Anderson to pick him up from work and drive him home, and all the players and obscure officials there to call him by name, preferably with no common folk or blow-in season ticket holders who have purchased their tickets in the last 20 years allowed to sully the event. He can interview himself about how much he has put into the club, and everyone will give him a standing ovation. At the end of the night Ovo can tuck him into bed and he can write an online article about it the next day. Then when he wakes up, he will discover the last election was a dream, and the entire old board is back in power, the birds are singinging and the sun is high in the sky.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Im so f**king bored of this - plain and simple, the new board has been in power for how many weeks/months?? and we are already seeing Fan Relations improve in leaps and bounds.
The old board were in power for how many YEARS, and they were there when we fell into the slump that caused use to donate our time and effort and write a report.
Hell, i stopped complaining about what time things were being run, and started complaining that NOTHING WAS BEING RUN.

You want to know the reason people are calling this trivia night perfect? BECAUSE IT HAPPENED. What would we have got if the elections and come and passed and nothing had changed. Nada, Zip, El Zilcho.

The new guys are doing something that the old ones neglected. They are working hard with the football club staff and with the fans to keep everyone happy. I really believe that we should give them a decent amount of time before we stop praising them and start giving them working criticism.

I am so cranky i have overused the BOLD and UNDERLINE buttons, and i don't even care! :lol:

Let's face it, it would be much better if all future events are given prior approval by MITS, held at MITS place, with Daniel Anderson to pick him up from work and drive him home, and all the players and obscure officials there to call him by name, preferably with no common folk or blow-in season ticket holders who have purchased their tickets in the last 20 years allowed to sully the event. He can interview himself about how much he has put into the club, and everyone will give him a standing ovation. At the end of the night Ovo can tuck him into bed and he can write an online article about it the next day. Then when he wakes up, he will discover the last election was a dream, and the entire old board is back in power, the birds are singinging and the sun is high in the sky.

Do you mean election, or erection?

Thanks to the penut gallery. Any thing helpful to contribute?

Do you both agree that the Trivia night was held at a perfect time?

Im so f**king bored of this - plain and simple, the new board has been in power for how many weeks/months?? and we are already seeing Fan Relations improve in leaps and bounds.
The old board were in power for how many YEARS, and they were there when we fell into the slump that caused use to donate our time and effort and write a report.
Hell, i stopped complaining about what time things were being run, and started complaining that NOTHING WAS BEING RUN.

You want to know the reason people are calling this trivia night perfect? BECAUSE IT HAPPENED. What would we have got if the elections and come and passed and nothing had changed. Nada, Zip, El Zilcho.

The new guys are doing something that the old ones neglected. They are working hard with the football club staff and with the fans to keep everyone happy. I really believe that we should give them a decent amount of time before we stop praising them and start giving them working criticism.

I am so cranky i have overused the BOLD and UNDERLINE buttons, and i don't even care! :lol:

Jess, you work at a RL organization, did you not have a debrief after your events? Do you not think the club will have a debrief? do you not think they will try to find a way to make things better? I do and I am offering as I have done directly, some feedback from people whom I have spoken to.

That it happened bring Joy to my heart, but their is room for improvement.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
I still think that we should give them some breathing space before we start telling them what they are doing wrong..

Jodeci

Jodeci, I don't see why it is up to you to answer my questions, I have already spoken with people at the club about my concerns regarding the timing of this event. The supporters club has raised the poor timing of the last written news letter which arrived after the STH forum and the Post Match function vs the Broncos, but advertised both events.

I am not debating that notice was given in a timely fashion, I am saying that the method of notification could be improved for those without access to the Internet or indeed those that shouldn't have to go to our website to hear about every event, those who are our valued season ticket holders whom receive written newsletters from the club quarterly. As I have said all along events like this should be advised in that news letter first and reminders sent via email. I am a member of a club that holds regular events and I receive written advise of events and how I should book the receive e-mail reminders

The last trivia night I went too there was a sponsor at every table.

Weekly e-mails yes it was, but again I know STH's that didn't know this event was on because they don't use e-mail, either at all or not very often.

I have never said Kids should not be allowed but I agree with Suity, an event like a Trivia night should not have it's timing effected to cater for Kids. Surely the breaks in the evening would eventually get to much for them as well?

Again, why should we have to do this for all events, in my opinion we should not have to.

Great, I am happy to hear they are doing it, for events like this I still think they should be held more often and at a vriety of times during the year

Look I have absolutely no doubt that not every one can make every event, but even with the note about your friend, yourself and Nikki you can surely see that if it were held later it might well have removed some impediments from people like fisheel attending and indeed the extra efforts that you had to go to. A simple change in time, 1 hour, 1 little hour, is that to much to ask?

Sure from those that attended, but I have been approached and have been in discussions with other members that as I said, either didn't go, or couldn't go due to the way the event was notified or indeed the timing, and I am raising those points in a discussion, as well as I have put those concerns to the club.

Never said I did, maybe you should go back and read what I said, and maybe you should read what Suity said as well.

Really, deaf ears? You know that for a fact or are you just guessing? As I was the one that submitted that report, and knowing the contents of the report, and its 20 recommendations, I can say that since the report was muted, and finalised, half of what we wanted has become a reality. I know that it was received and acted on. So please show me how it fell on deaf ears.

Again, I agree for those that are online, but I would hate to think that anyone believes that our Website and LU are the main sources of information for every Eels fan. Indeed I know that they are not.

Advanced notification doesn't make up for poor timing.

Mate I'm not arguing with ya.

Yes we have talked about the starting time of the event but that's something we need to cater for everyone.

Yes 7pm would of been ideal but it's a long process as I stated with trivia nights to make sure everyone had a great time.

It started around 6:30 so that's plenty of time. There are kids and it's also on a school night for them so we really cant go past 9pm.

How about we put an ad in the Newspaper next time regarding events that the club decide to do.

Yes it's perfect timing for the trivia, the team have won 6 straight and we need to cash in on the run and great hype that is happening at the moment with a sell out this Friday Night happening, why wouldn't the club run such as event?

Did you want it after the season when rugby league is virtually a ghost town regarding it's publicity and summer sports take over for Nov, Dec and Jan.

Regarding Mr Hill's appointment as you mentioned, please mate he has nothing to do with any events the club has put on nor has he contributed to any of this as well. He is the Football Manager, not the CEO or Events Management etc.

I know it fell on deaf ears for a fact MITS and dont need to show you where I got that from as you are fully aware I dont need to.

There wouldn't be much people these days who dont have access to email or internet and surely these people would of had word of mouth regarding the event.

Parra Guru

C'mon MITS, you are sounding like a spoilt brat IMO.

Open training sessions are not usually convenient for me, but if I want to attend, I'd just have to make up an hour or so at work. I certainly wouldn't expect the club to delay them by an hour or so just so it would be convenient for me.

Mate I'm not arguing with ya.

Yes we have talked about the starting time of the event but that's something we need to cater for everyone.

Yes 7pm would of been ideal but it's a long process as I stated with trivia nights to make sure everyone had a great time.

It started around 6:30 so that's plenty of time. There are kids and it's also on a school night for them so we really cant go past 9pm.

So once again it could be improved, and 7pm may have been ideal not just for other fans but it would also work in with those that had kids.

How about we put an ad in the Newspaper next time regarding events that the club decide to do.

Yes it's perfect timing for the trivia, the team have won 6 straight and we need to cash in on the run and great hype that is happening at the moment with a sell out this Friday Night happening, why wouldn't the club run such as event?

How about we put it in the clubs written newsletter first. then we can work on the Paper if need be but given this was a members events, and members were the only ones invited, I don't think there is a need.

Did you want it after the season when rugby league is virtually a ghost town regarding it's publicity and summer sports take over for Nov, Dec and Jan.

No, as I said simply change it to 7. We are talking about an event here and not an Open training session. Surely that one hour is not to much to ask or plan for, with the feedback from previous events, indeed it was bought up during the election.

Next year, plan ahead and put it on during the bye weekend, surely this is not much to suggest or ask for.

Regarding Mr Hill's appointment as you mentioned, please mate he has nothing to do with any events the club has put on nor has he contributed to any of this as well. He is the Football Manager, not the CEO or Events Management etc.

I know it fell on deaf ears for a fact MITS and dont need to show you where I got that from as you are fully aware I dont need to.

Then we will have to agree to disagree. The events started to happen as soon as Mr Hill was appointed and Mr Mitchell left to head up Western Sydney Academy, before the report hit his desk. Plain and simple facts.

There wouldn't be much people these days who dont have access to email or internet and surely these people would of had word of mouth regarding the event.

Turn up in 3 Tuesdays time I will introduce you to a few. Indeed I will introduce you to a few on Friday night if you want. There are plenty, and I think it is folly to suggest otherwise.

Bigfella

Thanks to the penut gallery. Any thing helpful to contribute?

Do you both agree that the Trivia night was held at a perfect time?

I don't know about Suity but I am old enough and ugly enough to know that when you are catering for a diverse group of people there is no such thing as a perfect time for everyone.

And when someone shows the initiative and effort to put on a function that is broadly supported and enjoyed, and fosters the emerging spirit of the new face of our club like this, it would be petty, mean-spirited, and immature to put on a hissy fit about how it didn't suit one particular individual.

That would tend to come across as self-indulgent, or possibly even agenda-driven.

I want to make a complaint on behalf of all nightshift and evening workers out there who also couldn't make this event.

in future I expect an 8am start...