Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Pippen94

It’s a good sign that you don’t have a leg to stand on when you have to resort to such blatant cherry picking.

@perthred when pressed for names of Perth backers named those two guys first..but I'm sure there are many others who are just waiting for right moment

1 of 3 named, done to prove your lies re no named bidders. No surprise in trolling you'd jump on the least credible (though arguably richest) one.

No, I'm just recounting what u said. Minus the rape references, failed attempts at humour
no you're cherry picking a third of what I said, classic trolling and all can see it.

And yes I am purely trolling in the ipswich thread as you started it as a troll not for serious discussion, so you can have some of your own medicine back.

Centy Coast

Yeah let’s all pretend that the reality isn’t what it is because you don’t like it…

BTW, the WA government almost certainly aren’t dumb enough to overlook the local bids, so their won’t be any serious negotiations.
Wow are you sure you aren’t a Manly supporter, well if there is I am sure that the NRL will hear them out.
That's not backed up by any evidence I can find. That link is straight from a reputable source

It's not making any financial sense to play at a venue that small.
The womens State of Origin drew 10,515 in 2019, a Shute Shield GF in 2018 drew 15,550 and the highest crowd was a Friday night footy game in 1994 between the Bears and Manly which drew over 23,000.

Everywhere seems to have NS oval capacity at 16k. I get it from nostalgia point of view but if the game v Manly would be as big as people claim it seems poor business to lock 10k plus out of it.

The Great Dane

Wow are you sure you aren’t a Manly supporter, well if there is I am sure that the NRL will hear them out.
I'm definitely a Bears fan. Been a paid up member/ticketholder on and off for decades, which is more than most Bears fans can claim at this point.

I'm just not totally deluded about the Bears position and what's realistically achievable for them, unlike most of what's left of the rest of the fanbase. It's probably because I've actively supported another club and followed the NRL since before the merger and the Bears eventually got the arse completely, unlike most of the rest whom largely checked out of the NRL or the sport to varying degrees.

My circumstances leading me to become a Raiders fan (I'm from Canberra, and the Bears were my team before the Raiders existed) as well also means that I'm not married to the Bears, which allows me to view the situation more objectively.

For the first time since the Northern Eagles folded the Bears have a really genuine opportunity to regain entry into the NRL at least in some format, and they, and the fans to a degree, are screwing it up because of arrogance, entitlement, and delusions of grandeur.

It's also likely that this will be the clubs last genuine chance to regain entry into the NRL, as it's only that PVL values his personal legacy, popularity in Sydney's social circles, and the support of the local media, more than what's best for the NRL and RL more generally, that the Bears have this opportunity at all.

So maybe wake the f**k up to yourselves, come to understand that the Bears are the ones are being done a favour by being brought to the negotiation table at all, and stop making demands and 'non-negotiables', and start compromising and grovelling.

I can almost guarantee that PVL would personally hand the Bears the 18th license if they'd give up ridiculous delusions of playing games at NSO, making no changes to the branding, etc, and agreed to relocate to Perth, or maybe even one of the other major markets, full time. But they won't do it, so I guess it's irrelevant, just like the club is ever increasingly becoming...

Centy Coast

I'm definitely a Bears fan. Been a paid up member/ticketholder on and off for decades, which is more than most Bears fans can claim at this point.

I'm just not totally deluded about the Bears position and what's realistically achievable for them, unlike most of what's left of the rest of the fanbase. It's probably because I've actively supported another club and followed the NRL since before the merger and the Bears eventually got the arse completely, unlike most of the rest whom largely checked out of the NRL or the sport to varying degrees.

My circumstances leading me to become a Raiders fan (I'm from Canberra, and the Bears were my team before the Raiders existed) as well also means that I'm not married to the Bears, which allows me to view the situation more objectively.

For the first time since the Northern Eagles folded the Bears have a really genuine opportunity to regain entry into the NRL at least in some format, and they, and the fans to a degree, are screwing it up because of arrogance, entitlement, and delusions of grandeur.

It's also likely that this will be the clubs last genuine chance to regain entry into the NRL, as it's only that PVL values his personal legacy, popularity in Sydney's social circles, and the support of the local media, more than what's best for the NRL and RL more generally, that the Bears have this opportunity at all.

So maybe wake the f**k up to yourselves, come to understand that the Bears are the ones are being done a favour by being brought to the negotiation table at all, and stop making demands and 'non-negotiables', and start compromising and grovelling.

I can almost guarantee that PVL would personally hand the Bears the 18th license if they'd give up ridiculous delusions of playing games at NSO, making no changes to the branding, etc, and agreed to relocate to Perth, or maybe even one of the other major markets, full time. But they won't do it, so I guess it's irrelevant, just like the club is ever increasingly becoming...
So you are a long time Bears fan from Canberra, have you ever met or even spoken to Bears CEO Daniel Dickson ?, do you attend NSW Cup games at North Sydney Oval ?, are you a member of the Den ?, yet you comment like you know what most Bears fans in general want and think you know how the board are planning/thinking ?.
Back in 2010/2011 I was heavily involved with the Central Coast Bears bid working closely with Greg Florimo, David Fairleigh and many other keen Bears’ volunteers, we signed over 8,000 members and got a lot of peoples hopes up for a Bears team located on the Central Coast.
David Gallop and the NRL then came out and stated that Central Coast rugby league fans need to vote with their feet if they want our own team in the NRL, we did, we held a march on Gosford’s foreshore, sold out Tigers v Sea Eagles (twice) and Souths v Sea Eagles with over 20,000 in attendance at each game.
Near the end of 2012 the NRL then came out and said expansion would not be considered until 2014 and all of it current teams were financially secure.
2014 came and went, it is now 2023, the Dolphins have been admitted even though a vast majority of NRL teams are still financially in the red.
When I was heavily involved with rugby league on the Central Coast back in 2011 former Roosters CEO and then the NRL’s strategic manager Brian Canavan rang me asking my thoughts on an NRL team based on the Central Coast, a year later Brian Canavan was the Roosters CEO again, Wyong became the Roosters NSW Cup side and the Roosters jumped in and took over the Central Coasts’ representative teams, even holding the information night at my clubhouse.
If only the NRL hadn’t kept moving the goal posts on the Bears.
It looks like V’Landys will not entertain the thought of an WA team unless the Bears are aligned with them.
If Perth manage NRL entry without the Bears involvement then good on them,
they have been working hard for re-entry for many years as well, though I would love to see them both form a joint venture.
I watched Daniel Dicksons video, it is only early days, if there are any old Bears fans against this then nothing really changes for them anyways as they will still have a team in the NSW Cup, but for those Bears fans who want a team in the top league, like myself and many others, we will be cheering on a WA based Bears team.
If it doesn’t happen, it doesn’t happen, if you don’t have hope what have you got ?.

MugaB

So you are a long time Bears fan from Canberra, have you ever met or even spoken to Bears CEO Daniel Dickson ?, do you attend NSW Cup games at North Sydney Oval ?, are you a member of the Den ?, yet you comment like you know what most Bears fans in general want and think you know how the board are planning/thinking ?.
Back in 2010/2011 I was heavily involved with the Central Coast Bears bid working closely with Greg Florimo, David Fairleigh and many other keen Bears’ volunteers, we signed over 8,000 members and got a lot of peoples hopes up for a Bears team located on the Central Coast.
David Gallop and the NRL then came out and stated that Central Coast rugby league fans need to vote with their feet if they want our own team in the NRL, we did, we held a march on Gosford’s foreshore, sold out Tigers v Sea Eagles (twice) and Souths v Sea Eagles with over 20,000 in attendance at each game.
Near the end of 2012 the NRL then came out and said expansion would not be considered until 2014 and all of it current teams were financially secure.
2014 came and went, it is now 2023, the Dolphins have been admitted even though a vast majority of NRL teams are still financially in the red.
When I was heavily involved with rugby league on the Central Coast back in 2011 former Roosters CEO and then the NRL’s strategic manager Brian Canavan rang me asking my thoughts on an NRL team based on the Central Coast, a year later Brian Canavan was the Roosters CEO again, Wyong became the Roosters NSW Cup side and the Roosters jumped in and took over the Central Coasts’ representative teams, even holding the information night at my clubhouse.
It looks like V’Landys will not entertain the thought of an WA team unless the Bears are aligned with them.
they have been working hard for re-entry for many years as well, though I would love to see them both form an joint venture.
I watched Daniel Dicksons video, it is only early days, if there are any old Bears fans against this then nothing really changes for them anyways as they will still have a team in the NSW Cup, but for those Bears fans who want a team in the top league, like myself and many others, we will be cheering on a WA based Bears team.
If it doesn’t happen, it doesn’t happen, if you don’t have hope what have you got ?.
20220601_033551.png95b927a47e7ed17f22d0d6b5b4f37afe.jpeg.jpg

Get on it PVL
To me Perth has to be aligned with the bears, too many coincidences... basically same colors, both need each others strengths... and it would boost their credibility as a heritage club, and that most RL fans know the brand already... its a winning partnership, as for NSO, hold 2 pre season trials there, and play manly at SFS, the remaining 11 at HBF park in Perth, that should be the NRLs non negotiable... yes celebration of the old home is fine but don't draw it out like the tigers do with campbelltown and leichardt.. its not made for NRL no more, plus SFS is just over the bridge, it would pack out for a bears V eagles,

...also sell a norths 10 game membership (for away games based in sydney), it would be a pretty unqiue membership, seeing that you could travel and visit the other 9 clubs in sydney and then have a home game at SFS.. it would pretty unique... and if it goes well other clubs could adopt that membership style too
I know its a matter of which club gets the bums on seats cash value, but it increases the games crowds as a whole

Wb1234

Everywhere seems to have NS oval capacity at 16k. I get it from nostalgia point of view but if the game v Manly would be as big as people claim it seems poor business to lock 10k plus out of it.
Holding it at allianz will make way more money

I’d still hold it on Sunday arvo at nso

it’s an easy trek for manly fans

the bears will get games at allianz as the away team vs the chooks and maybe others will move there too like saints and south’s

Wb1234

they have been working hard for re-entry for many years as well, though I would love to see them both form a joint venture.
That’s an excellent post

tgg is jaded

he’s literally wrong every single post he makes

The Great Dane

So you are a long time Bears fan from Canberra,
Look at you and your purity tests lol.
have you ever met or even spoken to Bears CEO Daniel Dickson ?
Not personally, but he wouldn't tell randoms like us anything important anyway.
, do you attend NSW Cup games at North Sydney Oval ?
Not as much as I'd like to in recent times because of Covid and other happenings, but normally I get out to see them at least a few times a year when I'm in Sydney and they're in Canberra. More than most people whom claim to be Bears fans for sure.
, are you a member of the Den ?
Yes, but I don't really use Facebook anymore and didn't really participate that much even when I did. Mainly just ghosted.

I found it pretty boring frankly. It's a little echo chamber largely made up of a relative handful of diehards whom reminisce about the long past glory days. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but to present it as particularly representative of the average NS Bears fan wouldn't be very accurate.
, yet you comment like you know what most Bears fans in general want and think you know how the board are planning/thinking ?.
I do know what most Bears fans want broadly speaking. It's not as if it's hard to find out, all you've got to do is have discussions with them and actually listen to what they have to say about the subject, which isn't hard when you're a Bears fan whom moves in those circles and personally knows a bunch of them.

On some level each individual wants different things in their ideal scenario, but very broadly speaking there're three major groups; the "I don't care I just want the Bears back" sorts, the "the Bears belong in NSW" sorts, and the "NS or it isn't the Bears" sorts. All of them have their issues and are unrealistic in their own ways, and generally speaking all of them are delusional about what's actually achievable.
Back in 2010/2011 I was heavily involved with the Central Coast Bears bid
Well more fool you if you'd waste your time on an endeavour that was so obviously doomed to fail from the beginning.

It was plain to see that there was no future on the CC, yet the Bears wasted a decade there at the expense of exploring better options, such as Perth. Yeah I was one of those weirdos saying that the club should look into Perth over a decade ago, and was laughed at, now Perth is in the hot seat and it's too late for the Bears to capitalise on it.

We're at the point that the Bears best bet would be to seriously start investing in a bid for Adelaide. But Adelaide doesn't need them anymore than Perth does, they wouldn't accept the stupid demands either, and it's probably too little too late anyway considering the rate at which the NRL expands.
See this right here is problem with a lot of Bears fans!

They didn't move the goal posts on the Bears, they decided that they weren't ready to expand. Whether or not that was the right decision is debatable, but to act as if it was some personal affront to the Bears is insane.

Besides, even if the NRL had expanded in 2014 it would have been to either Brisbane, Perth, or both (NZ was a smoky as well, but they didn't have an active bid at the time). So the Bears were never really in the running, and the fact that you think they were, or even that it was a fait accompli, shows that your judgment is completely blinded by emotion.
Good luck with that theory.

PVL only has so much influence, and it won't be like Brisbane where there were multiple options of similar levels of viability. He'll have to choose from the best options, and there's at least one Perth bid (maybe even two) whom would present a significantly better bid than the Bears with or without the support of the WA government.
Which video, the Bears have made a couple now. Oh you didn't know, I'm not surprised...

As far as information that's publicly available, none of the interested consortiums in Perth have been approached by the Bears about the possibility of a joint venture, and the only group the Bears have had discussions with are representatives of the WA government.

In other words there is no joint venture, nor would any of the serious consortiums in Perth agree to a joint venture with the Bears given their demands. So why are we discussing something that hasn't happened, and is exceedingly unlikely to happen?! It's the CC all over again, you're chasing the implausible because you like that outcome better than the realistic options available to the club.
Having hope is great, until you allow that hope delude you into believing the unlikely or impossible is likely or possible at the expense of possibilities that are truly possible and likely.

It's not even allowing the perfect to become the enemy of the good. It's allowing the increasingly imperfect to become the enemy of the increasingly less good.

Frankly, I think a lot of other Bears supporters, and even quite a few people within the club, need their hopes and dreams crushed so they can move on and start working towards achievable goals.

Centy Coast

View attachment 70635View attachment 70634

Get on it PVL
To me Perth has to be aligned with the bears, too many coincidences... basically same colors, both need each others strengths... and it would boost their credibility as a heritage club, and that most RL fans know the brand already... its a winning partnership, as for NSO, hold 2 pre season trials there, and play manly at SFS, the remaining 11 at HBF park in Perth, that should be the NRLs non negotiable... yes celebration of the old home is fine but don't draw it out like the tigers do with campbelltown and leichardt.. its not made for NRL no more, plus SFS is just over the bridge, it would pack out for a bears V eagles,

...also sell a norths 10 game membership (for away games based in sydney), it would be a pretty unqiue membership, seeing that you could travel and visit the other 9 clubs in sydney and then have a home game at SFS.. it would pretty unique... and if it goes well other clubs could adopt that membership style too
I know its a matter of which club gets the bums on seats cash value, but it increases the games crowds as a whole
I like that Bears logo, the W (Western Australia) on the left ear and the N (North Sydney) on the right ear.
As for trials at North Sydney oval, I’d stick with Perth for trials, this is a Perth side, there are going to be a heap of games in NSW e.g. Penrith, St George, Parramatta, the Bulldogs, Wests Tigers, the Roosters, the Sharks, the Rabbitohs, Manly, Newcastle and not that far away to travel Canberra.
If you look at Perths 1997 Super League Jersey, I’ve always thought that’s close to what the Bears would have looked like had they joined Super League, they would have been the opposite though with black on red so the two sides didn’t clash with each other.

The Great Dane

That’s an excellent post

tgg is jaded

he’s literally wrong every single post he makes
No I'm informed on the subject, realistic about the possibilities, and haven't allowed my age to completely disconnect me from reality.

We aren't living in 70s anymore, the world doesn't revolve around Sydney and the Sydney clubs anymore. The Bears, and the NRL for that matter, will continue to fail to achieve their goals if they continue to acting as if it does.

Wb1234

Nrl not going with cc bears when singo was involved was a massive mistake

gallop made it sound like it would happen then he wet his pants

Centy Coast

Look at you and your purity tests lol.

Not personally, but he wouldn't tell randoms like us anything important anyway.

Not as much as I'd like to in recent times because of Covid and other happenings, but normally I get out to see them at least a few times a year when I'm in Sydney and they're in Canberra. More than most people whom claim to be Bears fans for sure.

Yes, but I don't really use Facebook anymore and didn't really participate that much even when I did. Mainly just ghosted.

I found it pretty boring frankly. It's a little echo chamber largely made up of a relative handful of diehards whom reminisce about the long past glory days. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but to present it as particularly representative of the average NS Bears fan wouldn't be very accurate.

I do know what most Bears fans want broadly speaking. It's not as if it's hard to find out, all you've got to do is have discussions with them and actually listen to what they have to say about the subject, which isn't hard when you're a Bears fan whom moves in those circles and personally knows a bunch of them.

On some level each individual wants different things in their ideal scenario, but very broadly speaking there're three major groups; the "I don't care I just want the Bears back" sorts, the "the Bears belong in NSW" sorts, and the "NS or it isn't the Bears" sorts. All of them have their issues and are unrealistic in their own ways, and generally speaking all of them are delusional about what's actually achievable.

Well more fool you if you'd waste your time on an endeavour that was so obviously doomed to fail from the beginning.

It was plain to see that there was no future on the CC, yet the Bears wasted a decade there at the expense of exploring better options, such as Perth. Yeah I was one of those weirdos saying that the club should look into Perth over a decade ago, and was laughed at, now Perth is in the hot seat and it's too late for the Bears to capitalise on it.

We're at the point that the Bears best bet would be to seriously start investing in a bid for Adelaide. But Adelaide doesn't need them anymore than Perth does, they wouldn't accept the stupid demands either, and it's probably too little too late anyway considering the rate at which the NRL expands.

See this right here is problem with a lot of Bears fans!

They didn't move the goal posts on the Bears, they decided that they weren't ready to expand. Whether or not that was the right decision is debatable, but to act as if it was some personal affront to the Bears is insane.

Besides, even if the NRL had expanded in 2014 it would have been to either Brisbane, Perth, or both (NZ was a smoky as well, but they didn't have an active bid at the time). So the Bears were never really in the running, and the fact that you think they were, or even that it was a fait accompli, shows that your judgment is completely blinded by emotion.

Good luck with that theory.

PVL only has so much influence, and it won't be like Brisbane where there were multiple options of similar levels of viability. He'll have to choose from the best options, and there's at least one Perth bid (maybe even two) whom would present a significantly better bid than the Bears with or without the support of the WA government.

Which video, the Bears have made a couple now. Oh you didn't know, I'm not surprised...

As far as information that's publicly available, none of the interested consortiums in Perth have been approached by the Bears about the possibility of a joint venture, and the only group the Bears have had discussions with are representatives of the WA government.

In other words there is no joint venture, nor would any of the serious consortiums in Perth agree to a joint venture with the Bears given their demands. So why are we discussing something that hasn't happened, and is exceedingly unlikely to happen?! It's the CC all over again, you're chasing the implausible because you like that outcome better than the realistic options available to the club.

Having hope is great, until you allow that hope delude you into believing the unlikely or impossible is likely or possible at the expense of possibilities that are truly possible and likely.

It's not even allowing the perfect to become the enemy of the good. It's allowing the increasingly imperfect to become the enemy of the increasingly less good.

Frankly, I think a lot of other Bears supporters, and even quite a few people within the club, need their hopes and dreams crushed so they can move on and start working towards achievable goals.
No I'm informed on the subject, realistic about the possibilities, and haven't allowed my age to completely disconnect me from reality.

We aren't living in 70s anymore, the world doesn't revolve around Sydney and the Sydney clubs anymore. The Bears, and the NRL for that matter, will continue to fail to achieve their goals if they continue to acting as if it does.
How are you informed, all you are saying are personal view points and that’s fine, we all have those, but you tend to feel yours are more concrete than mine or others with a personal point of view.
Facts are, whatever both Daniel Dickson or Billy Moore tell Bears fans atm will be sugar coated, nothing concrete will be revealed until talks are well into the final stages.

IF we had a Sydney swans scenario where the club moved lock stock and barrel to WA and was run by WA for WA, happy days. But that is so far from what NSLC want that its hard to see a compromise in the offing.
As such, and when a reserve grade comes in for the NRL, the Bears will be left a withering grape on the vine as Roosters increasingly take over the region.

The Penguin #6.

IF we had a Sydney swans scenario where the club moved lock stock and barrel to WA and was run by WA for WA, happy days. But that is so far from what NSLC want that its hard to see a compromise in the offing.
As such, and when a reserve grade comes in for the NRL, the Bears will be left a withering grape on the vine as Roosters increasingly take over the region.
Let`s face it, the Roosters aren`t a bad fit for North Sydney and surrounds. Especially given the demographic of the region and the image of the Roosters as the NRL`s most aspirational club.