Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Bukowski

and if you go on their website.

They are listed ( well Holman Barnes ) as a sponsor. So I expect the Bears to have sponsors fund things such as lower grades not the WA government
And even including their sposoprship Wests Tigers run at a loss and get a grant from Wests Ashfiled to cover it. They dont run at a profit and I doubt they arnt the only ones.
On top of that west ashfield fund balmains juniors and wests campbelltown fund wests juniors. Wests Tigers dont fund their juniors.

But back to your point, not all clubs run at a profit.

Wb1234

So how do you explain the penrith decision and costing? They are spending $310mill on two seemingly pretty basic stands and costed a new stadium at $900mill..
Part of that 900 million cost was land acquisition at the paceway site

But the build is budget

They are doing what they can on a shoestring budget

MugaB

Its Vlads leadership MO. In fact I am totally staggered the club license agreement has happened without a massive fight and leaked bias media coverage. Very unlike him!

Lets be honest its been a mess and avoidable with better management and media control. Its left a bad taste in the West and dampened the excitement that was building. Not a great way to give birth to a new club. Even if it happens it looks like we have been lumped with an East coast brand owned and run by east coast people. In a place as parochial as WA that will be a big perception issue to overcome for the club.
Which you had zero problem with, when cumins was running the bid, now he is not, you've reverted back to everything is f**kt regarding the WA Bears, and the bad taste left in your mouth, is your own bias and Facebook propaganda, peddling the parochial narrative, last month before the GF, you were more than happy regarding the Western Bears being perths18th team.. what a croc of shìt, you're worse thank donks on the flip flopping

MugaB

Couple of things in that,
1. Its an AFL state desperate for a AFL club. WA isnt, pubic perception matters in a election year. Labor should be safe here for another term but pollies are naturally risk averse.
2. In Tassie levering an additional $120mill in Jnr funding from AFL and $750mill in stadium funding from Feds. From that point of view the state investment looks much more palatable.

At the moment all we've heard, true or not, is that the NRL wants the WA govt to give the club $120mill to help its operational costs plus fund significant infrastructure for the club, with the NRL putting nothing back into WA. A much harder sell to voters in an AFL state Id suggest.
Afl= good
NRL=bad
Same ol PR antics,
Tasmania being and "AFL state' don't mean shìt
Stop trying to justify their pork barrelling, while we try to do the same with WA

Part of that 900 million cost was land acquisition at the paceway site

But the build is budget

They are doing what they can on a shoestring budget
$100 mill of it wasnt it? So $800 mill for a new stadium, certainly not the$300mill you are claiming it could be built for!

Well yeh doh, if you build a sub standard place cutting corners you can build it cheaper, but then will it be fit for purpose for the next 30 years?
I think I'll take the Govt's estimates given they know what they want to build and have had it costed lol.

Wb1234

$100 mill of it wasnt it? So $800 mill for a new stadium, certainly not the$300mill you are claiming it could be built for!

Well yeh doh, if you build a sub standard place cutting corners you can build it cheaper, but then will it be fit for purpose for the next 30 years?
I think I'll take the Govt's estimates given they know what they want to build and have had it costed lol.
I never said panthers could build their paceway stadium for 300 million

And im actually agreeing with you lol

I’ve been saying Perth should do an expensive build with all the bells and whistles

Afl= good
NRL=bad
Same ol PR antics,
Tasmania being and "AFL state' don't mean shìt
Stop trying to justify their pork barrelling, while we try to do the same with WA
your ability to contextualize is sadly lacking.

of course it does, a large spend on NRL in an AFL state is much harder sell to the the public than an AFL spend in AFL state. Even then theres plenty in Tassie who are not happy about the Govt spend on the project, imagine if it was an NRL club they were trying to convince joe public they were going to spend big on lol

Im more than happy our Govt is going to spend $450mill providing the club the infrastructure it needs to be a success. They are assets for the State and have benefits in many ways. I also think public psending on kids sports is a good use of our money.

I wouldnt be very happy if they were giving a large chunk of money to the NRL to give to other clubs, or were using our money to prop up a prof sports club (and I dont care which code that was for), that shouldn't be what public money is used for.

MugaB

WA govt has already said it will build the WA team a CofE. Thats not why that particular bid was unsuccessful.
In writing like your mate PVL, all these promises from the wa govt, you need a fkn licence first pal, otherwise, it's just political jargon

I’ve been saying Perth should do an expensive build with all the bells and whistles
my bad, I thought you were agreeing with the builder bear guy. Its nonsense to say you can build a 27,500 stadium for $300mill when we have panthers only able to build two stands for more than that!

Wb1234

my bad, I thought you were agreeing with the builder bear guy. Its nonsense to say you can build a 27,500 stadium for $300mill when we have panthers only able to build two stands for more than that!
You both could be right in a way

Nobody has seen the plans for what’s proposed

Getting a stadium like that is a huge win for Perth way better than the waca

They can start off the right way and cashed up too

In writing like your mate PVL, all these promises from the wa govt, you need a fkn licence first pal, otherwise, it's just political jargon
eh? do you want them to build a CofE before there is WA club? Maybe let homeless people sleep in it till the NRL decides if Perth is getting a club? WA govt has made a commitment. Not sure there's much more they can do until the license is decided.

If we can get it to 30k ish that will be awesome and give us a venue for rectangular games that are too small for Optus but too big for current HBF Park. And it will certainly help the NRL's club revenue streams.

Red&BlackBear

Queensland country bank Stadium is fantastic. No corners cut it’s a great ground that sits 25k.

If the Perth team needs to hold bigger games then play the odd game at Optus oval which surely will be free either on the Thursday Friday Saturday or Sunday that the AFL isn’t playing on it once a week.

Yes government estimates are never wrong are they…

Wb1234

If we can get it to 30k ish that will be awesome and give us a venue for rectangular games that are too small for Optus but too big for current HBF Park. And it will certainly help the NRL's club revenue streams.
Season opener should be at Optus against whoever is your biggest rival

Or against broncos or storm

Queensland country bank Stadium is fantastic. No corners cut it’s a great ground that sits 25k.

If the Perth team needs to hold bigger games then play the odd game at Optus oval which surely will be free either on the Thursday Friday Saturday or Sunday that the AFL isn’t playing on it once a week.

Yes government estimates are never wrong are they…
and the contracts for that were signed 7 years ago. Being a builder I'd thought you'd know what's happened with material and trade costs in that period? Isn't it around a 40% increase in last 4 years?

MugaB

Dolphins vs crusher is good comparison. Most recent expansion took entirely different, more grassroots approach.
Correct, I'm just pointing out the same areas getting involved again... I'm sure if the continue with this route, Adelaide and a 2nd Vic side would be the next few, or Fiji (if again govt funded)

Red&BlackBear

and the contracts for that were signed 7 years ago. Being a builder I'd thought you'd know what's happened with material and trade costs in that period? Isn't it around a 40% increase in last 4 years?

The overall inflation is 18% between 2020 and 2024. Meaning a $250m stadium is built now for $295m. I said $350m for new build. None of this changes the fact that the additional works at HBF can be done for $200m.