Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

West Coast Pirates Bid News

andrew057

Bit in today's tele about Sage claiming people are saying the WARL bid has been given the green light and he doesn't want to waste money on his bid if that's the case. Can't link because I'm on my phone. Good news if true.

Flapper

John Sackson was on the Grill Team this morning. Press conference at 11am WST, the boys were speculating*that this could be the official announcement of inclusion. Sackson was great though, comprehensively ruled out any alliance with Sage, spoke with great confidence about the future of RL in WA. I look forward to the press conference!

Goddo

Flapper, isn't it the club brand launch today?

They are anouncing the colours, jersey, logo and name today, maybe sponsors too.

EDIT: might I also add that it is excellent timing for such an anouncement, right when expansion is being discussed as part of the TV deal. I think we will see a similar launch from the Western Corridor and Central Queensland bids soon too.

Flapper

Well that's what Sackson said it was, it was just the Grill Team speculating about the rest.

Which really just shows that the RL community expect the teams entrance into the NRL as a fait accompli

docbrown

Bit in today's tele about Sage claiming people are saying the WARL bid has been given the green light and he doesn't want to waste money on his bid if that's the case. Can't link because I'm on my phone. Good news if true.

I see he was also claiming they'd cover the club for $100 million over 10 years.

Although I will note that it only refered to Tinkler's committment. Sage didn't actually confirm conclusively that they would offer exactly the same.

Smiley

jrp4c7yu1jls0h88wm4b.jpeg

http://westcoastpirates.com.au/

GAZF

Its a shame its not the Reds but there are a few things going for the Pirates. Its not a currently used identity for any major sport in the country. "Reds" is used by both Qld and Adelaide. "West Coast" is not the best name, would have preferred "WA" or "Western", although it works better than "Perth". Perth Pirates would have been a disaster. Logo is pretty clean and wont date too quickly and I like the red/gold. Plus there are fantastic opportunities for names such as the "crew" and whatnot. Overall it could be better but it could be far worse.

ParraEelsNRL

What a stupid name, fair dinkum just put the bloody Reds in and be done with it, I'll get used to his whinging when the team is losing each week :roll:

JW

WA or Perth Reds was the best choice I reckon.

However, they can do a fair bit with Pirates if the club and fans can get a bit creative.

Opposition fans also don't have to think too hard with regards to banter, with Butt Pirates clearly the default insult.

BrisVegas

I can hear journalists squealing with delight from here:

Pirates make "Team XYZ" walk the plank in a 30 point demolition.
Pirates sink "Team XYZ's" finals hopes.
Player XYZ joins the Pirate's Crew for the next 3 seasons.
Pirates set sail for Sydney for Sundays game against XYZ.
Pirates strike Buried Treasure with "player XYZ's" debut game.

The word play possibilities are numerous.

Noa

Like the name lover the logo & colours.

Should really appeal to the Somalian community as well.