Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Western Corridor NRL bid

smithie

Two Brisbanes?

The two teams/one city model works all round the world.

LA Lakers/Clippers (NBA)
NY Giants/Jets (NFL)
NY Yankees/Mets (MLB)
Manchester United/City (EPL)
A.C./Inter Milan (Serie A)
Glasgow Celtic/Rangers (SPL)
Hull FC/KR (Super League)

and now

Melbourne Victory/Heart (A-League)

Having two "Brisbane" teams means that anyone in the greater Brisbane area can be a Broncos fan, or a fan of the new franchise. This would create a fantastic inter-city rivalry and a true local derby. Apparently of league fans in Brisbane, less than 40% are Broncos fans.

In the (very) long term Perth might add value to the TV deal, but initially it probably adds nothing or even detracts if stations are forced to broadcast matches during Perth prime time that rate poorly (ala Swans in Sydney, Lions in Brisbane). And lets face it, few people on the east coast will have a great deal of interest in watching a Perth side go around. Everyone prefers to see their side playing their local rivals.

Didn;t they say the same thing about the Storm? Arelt theyone of the most watched sports teams in the country on Pay TV?

Live and with our own team we could be pulling 100-150K on FTA no problem.

I'm trying to understand this (most likely alcohol/drug induced) rant. Firstly, aside from your apparent desire to "punish" Queenslander's for not supporting RL:lol::crazy:, by your own admission Brisbane people only attend NRL matches at half the rate Sydney people do, so how could you entertain the idea that a third Brisbane team would get public support, crowds and membership to make it a success?
You lot are telling the story sunshine. As sure as Carl Webb will have a schooner this weekend, Cullen will respond with "We are struggling waaaa" and point to the Titans finances as an example.

Yet - it's RL heartland and Sydney clubs - who extract more from our market than you do from yours - will all have to up and die -the old Super League war cry from 1995.

I think SEQ can EASILY support another 2 clubs - one in Brisbane, on on the SC. I think one is needed urgently to capitalise on the existing potential there - and to pull the Broncos back to the pack - resource wise.

What do you think? Well, I dunno whether you CAN think, but the drivel you lot sprout says 2 things: 1)There are more fans, sponsors and juniors in Brisbane than anywhere else, and 2) Brisbane cannot possibly sustain another side.

Of course, you need advanced mental development (ie post Neanderthal/Tallis) to understand the concept of hypocrisy.

Brisbane is undoubtedly one of the best junior developers in the country. Look around at the NRL (and other codes) at players who have had Broncos scholarships. I think you may be confusing the bigger NSW junior player base with junior development success. Although that could actually be used to argue that Sydney clubs are under achievers at identifying and developing juniors given the extensive quantity of NSW juniors. But you already knew that.
Myth. Most of the development is done by the QRL clubs. Brisbane aren't interested until they are 16. Compare what they do tho what Penrith does for example. They fall horribly short.

There are a hell of a lot of juniors running around in Dragons, Eels, Panthers and Knights jumpers this weekend - the same week you made the biggest buy in NRL history.

Of course, since 1988 Brisbane has had 1.7 million fans, Rupert Murdoch's money and all of Brisbane's support. But once again, you know your deliberately underselling Brisbane Broncos success.
Ha! With hose resources, Souths under Piggins would have had the same success!!!

One of the big things the Ipswich Jets bid has in it's favour is that they are probably the club that will add most value to the broadcasting revenue in the near future, as they will get the attention of the Brisbane viewing public which is currently the only TV market that is being underserviced with RL..........Do the Central Coast Bears add anything? Probably something, but questionable how much given there are so many other Sydney and NSW teams already.
So, a new team in League hearttland in Brisbane will add heaps to TV revenue, yet a new team in League heartland in Gosford won't? Unless half of Queenslanders don't own a telly - that has to be a hypocritical statement.

In the (very) long term Perth might add value to the TV deal, but initially it probably adds nothing or even detracts if stations are forced to broadcast matches during Perth prime time that rate poorly (ala Swans in Sydney, Lions in Brisbane). And lets face it, few people on the east coast will have a great deal of interest in watching a Perth side go around. Everyone prefers to see their side playing their local rivals.
Misunderstand. Bring in two clubs from ANYWHERE and that's an extra TV program per week. That is more $ there and then.

People will watch their clubs whoever they are playing. So, iof for example, Perth come into the comp with no fans, Raiders fans will all still tune in to see Raiders v Perth.

If the CC come in WITH fans, then the Raiders fans AND Bears fans will watch the Raiders v Bears.

Neither Raiders nor Bears fans will be over inclined to make a purpose of watching Warriors v Manly for example.

Therefore, but putting a team in a League heartland area - there's not only an extra game that will attract passive interest from fans of other clubs, but a guaranteed viewing audience of fans of both teams. That is why the Bears must come in.

And Perth will get there. I will not provide the same viewing audience that the Bears would at least in the initial 5 years at least.

Before the AFL move in?
Read the quote f*ckwit. It is more likely to become Union area if a S14 side goes there.

AFL wouldn't know the CC from Sheedy's dodgey prostate.

Bro Bear

Do the Central Coast Bears add anything? Probably something, but questionable how much given there are so many other Sydney and NSW teams already.
:?

Fair dinkum are you for real. I am not even going to state the many reasons why a Central Coast team should be in the NRL before another QLD team, WA or even SA.

If you are dead set against the NSW teams then stop following the NRL and stay with the QLD Cup.

ratsack2

I hate the Broncos more than anyone and it is a pain living up here in outer brisbane, you get nothing but the broncos and Lions, I am a die in the wool Sharks fan and the only thing I miss about Sydney is not being able to see them play each home game, I get to maybe 2 games a year now, I ould never go to a Broncos game evn if they were giving away free tickets to a corporate box.

BUT, I would go and support an Ipswich team, it would be great for he region and would bng a sh*t load of fans through the gate that don't go now.
I was talking to a good mate on friday night who is a huge Broncos fan and even h said if Ipswich got a team then he would change sides, so that would be an added bonus

Bro Bear

What if Sharks were moved to Perth. Perth get there club, SHarks stay in the comp and CC and Ipswich can come in.

The first comment that you have written that I strongly agree with.

Ideal - Perth Sharks with existing connections to the Cronulla/Sutherland shire. Have feeder club relationships with NT, SA and PNG as WA lacks a junior base compared to the Central Coast and QLD... CC Bears and CQLD or Ipswich Diggers/Jets (whoever has a stadium which both don't at the moment) 2013.

BDH

You lot are telling the story sunshine.

Who is "you lot", because from every Queensland based poster I read on here, come very different ideas about where the game is and heading....except one thought, which is that there is too many Sydney clubs, although to be fair, many Sydney based posters on here say the same thing.

Yet - it's RL heartland and Sydney clubs - who extract more from our market than you do from yours - will all have to up and die -the old Super League war cry from 1995.

9 Sydney teams.....if you can't see the problem you are lost to any argument.

I think SEQ can EASILY support another 2 clubs - one in Brisbane, on on the SC. I think one is needed urgently to capitalise on the existing potential there - and to pull the Broncos back to the pack - resource wise.

It shows you know nothing of QLD, if you think the Sunshine Coast can support an NRL team. Also like the concept of "pulling Brisbane back to the pack", guess that's why you post a heap on a RL message board instead of running a business, etc. Borderline communist. Instead of having a desire for greatness, instead let's pull a club back to the rest of the competition. Wow.

There are a hell of a lot of juniors running around in Dragons, Eels, Panthers and Knights jumpers this weekend - the same week you made the biggest buy in NRL history.

That will do me. Deadset you are an idiot of the highest order. The Broncos have fulltime junior development in half a dozen junior clubs around Brisbane alone, let alone the Elite player development program and partnership with QRL and QSSRL.

I don't claim to be a great knowledge on Broncos junior development as some other Broncos fans, so I will only list the junior clubs that I know of who have a decent amount of Broncos development through coaching clinics and sponsorship (any other Broncos fans please feel free if I miss some); Norths juniors, Aspley Devils, Brighton Roosters, Pine Rivers, Pine Rivers High School, Samford Stags, Valleys juniors, Brothers juniors, St Josephs juniors, Wests Mitchie juniors, Pine Centrals Holy Spirit, Dalby devils, Childers devils, Easts (Bundaberg), Wavell Heights High School, Mitchie High School.

I really hope you not that stupid to think that just because a club doesn't have "Broncos" in it's name, it doesn't receive some form of development help or sponsorship.

Ha! With hose resources, Souths under Piggins would have had the same success!!!

In a nutshell; yes BDH, Broncos did still have to earn the place as the premiers porting franchise in Australia. No worries, thanks for acknowledging that fact.

We are talking about a team that was competing directly with a 80 year old COMPETITION. Play that down all you want idiot, but anyone in Brisbane in the early years remembers the hate, from all directions, that the Broncos had to endure.

I laugh at Sydney based idiots who think that their team has some god-given right to be in the top tier of RL in Australia, simply because they are from Sydney. RL has a great and proud history THROUGHOUT the entire country, not just Sydney. Teams and whole competitions have fallen by the wayside throughout that history, it's the evolution of the sport. We are on the cusp of seeing that happen yet again and just have to overcome the hurdle of opening people's eyes to reality.

AuDragon

I admire your patience BDH. It's a pity your words will fall into a bottomless pit of stupidity...:roll:

Re the Tigers, I was talking about corporate support and facilities besides the amount of supporters, and the fact that they have to share the lot with mainly the Dogs, but also the Eels.

Honestly, do you even follow Rugby League?

What facilities do the Tigers, Dog and Eels share?

Get a map of Sydney and look up the following places;

Campbelltown Stadium
Stadium Australia
Parramatta Stadium
Leichhardt Oval (or Lilyfield rectangle)
Concord Oval
Belmore Oval

Then tell me which two teams from the Tigers, Dogs and Eels play their home games or train at any one of those venues..

I admire your patience BDH. It's a pity your words will fall into a bottomless pit of stupidity...:roll:

ironingCompact6.jpg

Who is "you lot", because from every Queensland based poster I read on here, come very different ideas about where the game is and heading....except one thought, which is that there is too many Sydney clubs, although to be fair, many Sydney based posters on here say the same thing.

9 Sydney teams.....if you can't see the problem you are lost to any argument.
You can only count to 8 on one hand?

Funny, I thought a clubs viability had to do with stuff like finances. I can count 8 Sydney clubs that are doing OK. More non Sydney clubs are struggling. Do you get any news with your head in the sand?

It shows you know nothing of QLD, if you think the Sunshine Coast can support an NRL team. Also like the concept of "pulling Brisbane back to the pack", guess that's why you post a heap on a RL message board instead of running a business, etc. Borderline communist. Instead of having a desire for greatness, instead let's pull a club back to the rest of the competition. Wow.
Just do a little exercise. Pretend you are the CEO of either Newcastle, Canberra, North Queensland, The Titans or The Warriors.

Your task is to get an average 35k to home games, and 2 million people to live near your team.

Tell us how you will go.

That will do me. Deadset you are an idiot of the highest order. The Broncos have fulltime junior development in half a dozen junior clubs around Brisbane alone, let alone the Elite player development program and partnership with QRL and QSSRL.

I don't claim to be a great knowledge on Broncos junior development as some other Broncos fans, so I will only list the junior clubs that I know of who have a decent amount of Broncos development through coaching clinics and sponsorship (any other Broncos fans please feel free if I miss some); Norths juniors, Aspley Devils, Brighton Roosters, Pine Rivers, Pine Rivers High School, Samford Stags, Valleys juniors, Brothers juniors, St Josephs juniors, Wests Mitchie juniors, Pine Centrals Holy Spirit, Dalby devils, Childers devils, Easts (Bundaberg), Wavell Heights High School, Mitchie High School.

I really hope you not that stupid to think that just because a club doesn't have "Broncos" in it's name, it doesn't receive some form of development help or sponsorship.
So the infrastructure in place to fund the junior development of clubs that was set up and run by Redcliffe, Valleys, Wynnum etc has all been taken over and finded by Brisbane? Coachoing clinincs? Sponsorship? Wow. Impressive.

Try funding an entire junior region with 1000 registered teams like Penrith does.

In a nutshell; yes BDH, Broncos did still have to earn the place as the premiers porting franchise in Australia. No worries, thanks for acknowledging that fact.

We are talking about a team that was competing directly with a 80 year old COMPETITION. Play that down all you want idiot, but anyone in Brisbane in the early years remembers the hate, from all directions, that the Broncos had to endure.
Sniff.

I laugh at Sydney based idiots who think that their team has some god-given right to be in the top tier of RL in Australia, simply because they are from Sydney. RL has a great and proud history THROUGHOUT the entire country, not just Sydney. Teams and whole competitions have fallen by the wayside throughout that history, it's the evolution of the sport. We are on the cusp of seeing that happen yet again and just have to overcome the hurdle of opening people's eyes to reality.
Well I laugh at tosspots from interstate demanding that Sydney clubs die even though they are competing quite well with your fat overesourced club - eg the ones that are ahead on the competition table or the ones that beat you on Friday.

Yet you make no mention of regional clubs struggling.

lockyrulz

Well bad luck Loudtard.

Have a look at the latest salary cap changes, they help the broncos, not bring them back to the pack. That isn't about to go backwards, nor should it if you give a toss about the game competing with AFL and union.

So either grab a tissue and accept the fact the broncos will always entertain an advantage, or deal with the fact there are too many teams in Sydney.

Or go do more crack at the shelter you live in, whatever.

Will a second SEQ team help Brisbane?

And you do realise that there are OTHER teams in the comp apart from Brisbane and Sydney. Something you aimless twats forget about.

lockyrulz

Will a second SEQ team help Brisbane
?

Yep.

And you do realise that there are OTHER teams in the comp apart from Brisbane and Sydney. Something you aimless twats forget about.
I do realise it, and we don't ignore it, we don't mention it because it is irrelevant to the issue you intellectual dwarf.

What are you going to do, reduce the amount of teams in Canberra? f**king idiot.

Those areas have to come up with other solutions. Sydney has it easy, it has all the support both corporate and otherwise to make it a successful league area capable of competing with the broncos. Only problem is it's brain dead supporters, ie you, who can't work out there are too many of them at the NRL level. Get it? the NRL. Having heaps of teams is great for NSWRL always has been. That is where they have always played, and should always play.

Nice baseless drivel.

You do realise there are 4 million people in Sydney?

You also realise that's about 450 k per club on average?

You do realise that's more than many non Sydney clubs - which you don't want culled?

You do realise that makes you look like a complete f*cking brainless twat?????

lockyrulz

Nice baseless drivel.

You do realise that's more than many non Sydney clubs - which you don't want culled?

Fine, then quit bitching that they can't compete with the broncos or that the broncos need to be restrained. Tell your Sydney tards to tap into the 4 million and reach the bar the broncos have set.

Idiot.

KnightsMan90

Nice baseless drivel.

You do realise there are 4.5 million people in Sydney?

Considering there's 10 clubs, still average 450k per club.

However

Newcastle - ~540k greater city, 630k+ whole of hunter
Brisbane - ~2 million
Gold Coast - ~ 580k including Tweed
North Queensland - ~450k from 3 main pop centers, 600k+ Total NQLD
Canberra - 400k+ including Queanbeyan
Melbourne - ~4 million
New Zealand - ~1.3million Auckland, ~4.4 million NZ

So one club averages less then a syndey club, and just.

You do realise one club being slightly smaller isnt many?

Something to think about.