Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Western Corridor NRL bid

Spud

Now we all know John Ribot isn't the most popular person in rugby league, but I think he is a good choice to help spearhead Ipswich. He has the experience with Broncos and the Storm, so he could be a huge help in their hopeful admission to the NRL.

Out of interest what do Broncos fans think of the bid? Would you welcome a city rival for a proper derby game twice a year or do you think it is just diluting the pool?

What if Sharks were moved to Perth. Perth get there club, SHarks stay in the comp and CC and Ipswich can come in.

frick off we don't want the losers! If they can;t make a success of it in a RL heartland then they certainly won't in a tough expansion market.

Expansion has to include Perth to show the game is growing beyond its traditional areas. It will be Reds and Bears unless this bid team really get their act together and the Broncos don't wield their power to stop it.

Red Bear

Now we all know John Ribot isn't the most popular person in rugby league, but I think he is a good choice to help spearhead Ipswich. He has the experience with Broncos and the Storm, so he could be a huge help in their hopeful admission to the NRL.
He's also a total f**king merkin who tore the game apart.

AuDragon

Out of interest what do Broncos fans think of the bid? Would you welcome a city rival for a proper derby game twice a year or do you think it is just diluting the pool?
We have enough corporate support in SEQ for both teams, and I'm sure they would put enough bums on seats also with a broad base in the Western corridor of Logan, Ipswich and even as far as Toowoomba and Warwick.
Besides, having RL played at Suncorp every week would be fantastic, I for sure would definitely go and watch a few of their games!

A team based in Ipswich would last 10 minutes. Despite it's large population, there aint any $ out there. Brisbane's Campbelltown. The Broncos would schmooch all their corporate palm greasers and bleed it dry. It would be a worse case than the South Queensland Crushers because it has John Ribot involved. Everything he ever did turned to sh*t - even the last time he helped a player (Cameron Smith) it ended up stripping Melbourne of 2 premierships!

A second Brisbane team HAS to have a chunk of corporate support - meaning CBD. The Crushers had that link with the QRL.

Ipswich? Their biggest corporate apart from the local maccas would be Centrelink.

The Bears will still sh*t this in.

DC_fan

Nothing against the Ipswich, Central Qld and Central Coast bids but the NRL has to get serious with what expansion teams they want coming in to the competition.

I am not sure what long term benefits any of those three teams would bring the NRL. Time has come for the NRL to think outside the square and do some serious thinking about how they want the competition to look in 10 years from now. The planning for 2020 has to start now.

The game would not be expanding its boundaries if any of those teams were included in the competition. I don't see them making the competition stronger.

All the NRL would be doing including these team is fighting a rear guard action. The game would be just protecting its own territory. That might be fine in the short term. But with other sports slowly moving in our territory the long term for the game could be a real struggle.

Yeah, because you do. Calling me a saints fan and all... :crazy:
My team has always made the semis in the past oh... 19 years. And btw, we've won the premiership 6 times in that time.
If you need more hints, look at my avatar and my banner and you might get there, although judging by your dribble, it's doubtfull... :sarcasm:

Please crawl back in your sewer and stay there, there's a pestilence in the air when you show up. :arrow:

Is that the mob that cannot survive if there was another side in their town? :lol:

EA - this knob is too thick even to be a Dragons supporter. His comments about Wests being tiny make Gaba look like a f*cking Rhodes Scholar.

Campbelltown's bigger than Ipswich innit?

PaulyTom

2013-
Central Coast Bears
WA Reds

2017-
Central Queensland
Ipswich Jets

Other potential bids in the coming years-
Christchurch
Wellington
Adelaide
PNG
Darwin

Not a fan of the idea that they play at Suncorp until their new stadium would be build. They will definitely find their fan in South Brisbane/Ipswich/Toowomba region. A 20 000 seater stadium would be suffice for this region. Realistically I think the bid will not be as strong as the Reds or Central Coast bid. In another 5 years this bid will be raring to go.

2013-
Central Coast Bears
WA Reds

2017-
Central Queensland
Ipswich Jets

Other potential bids in the coming years-
Christchurch
Wellington
Adelaide
PNG
Darwin

Not a fan of the idea that they play at Suncorp until their new stadium would be build. They will definitely find their fan in South Brisbane/Ipswich/Toowomba region. A 20 000 seater stadium would be suffice for this region. Realistically I think the bid will not be as strong as the Reds or Central Coast bid. In another 5 years this bid will be raring to go.

Well if a 20,000 seat stadium would suffice for the region then forget about the bid.

Has to be Suncorp.

BDH

Well if a 20,000 seat stadium would suffice for the region then forget about the bid.

Has to be Suncorp.

Lucky Titans got accepted into the comp then isn't it? At 27500 capacity, Skilled Park is the perfect sized venue for a team like GC and it would also be the perfect sized team for any new team. Much better then a huge vacant eyesore.....oh hai Sydney!

AuDragon

Is that the mob that cannot survive if there was another side in their town? :lol:

EA - this knob is too thick even to be a Dragons supporter. His comments about Wests being tiny make Gaba look like a f*cking Rhodes Scholar.

Campbelltown's bigger than Ipswich innit?
The Broncos are the biggest sporting brand in Australia and are well established and entrenched in Brisbane. Bring on another Qld team!

Re the Tigers, I was talking about corporate support and facilities besides the amount of supporters, and the fact that they have to share the lot with mainly the Dogs, but also the Eels.

As for the rest, the opinion about me of someone that should also have his own thread at LU, is really something I'm concerned about. :crazy: :lol:

Nothing against the Ipswich, Central Qld and Central Coast bids but the NRL has to get serious with what expansion teams they want coming in to the competition.

I am not sure what long term benefits any of those three teams would bring the NRL. Time has come for the NRL to think outside the square and do some serious thinking about how they want the competition to look in 10 years from now. The planning for 2020 has to start now.

The game would not be expanding its boundaries if any of those teams were included in the competition. I don't see them making the competition stronger.

All the NRL would be doing including these team is fighting a rear guard action. The game would be just protecting its own territory. That might be fine in the short term. But with other sports slowly moving in our territory the long term for the game could be a real struggle.
Seriously, in the 30 odd years since expansion, the benefits to League have outweighed the losses by about 1000 to one. To me it's not abouyt shoring up our defences against other codes, but rather extracting the best value for our market. Currently there are holes in big population areas that would be an instant market for a new NRL side - and the biggest are now covered by two bids - CC and SEQ. We know that a side in Wellington and the Sunshine coast on top of these are very feasible. That is before we look at expansion - and certainly not discounting Perth.

No other code has that luxury. The next instalment of any code faces an uphill battle to win enough support from the population and corporates to survive. IMHO the best chances for the other football codes are:
1) A Western Sydney A League side
2) Daylight
3) Gosford based Super 14 side (in the absence of the Bears)
4) Gold Coast based AFL side
5) Daylight
6) Western Sydney based Super 14 side
7) Tasmanian A League side
8) Tasmanian AFL side
216) Wilcannia based NFL side
217) GWS Plonkers.

AFL a desperate. To a lesser extent, so are Union - although they are the most likely to tap into the Pacific market.

However, AFL (Western Sydney) and Union (Perth) have shown that if League leaves holes in it's population base, they will close in. Therefore, it is vital to claim the CC for League with the Bears in 2013 - and claim northern Sydney back for our code. Likewise SEQ.

Much better then a huge vacant eyesore.....

Reminds me of your arse.

Lucky Titans got accepted into the comp then isn't it? At 27500 capacity, Skilled Park is the perfect sized venue for a team like GC and it would also be the perfect sized team for any new team. Much better then a huge vacant eyesore.....oh hai Sydney!

Just play at Suncorp. The joint is crying out for RL every week.

The Titans are a friggin regional team. We are talking a 2nd Brisbane team here. Brisbane=Suncorp

applesauce

I would love a 2nd Brisbane team. Maybe "South Brisbane Brothers" and played out of a redeveloped QEII (formerly ANZ) stadium.

We have seen the Titans price themselves out of the market this year and with the inclusion of the "cheap" GC Suns why would we want to jeopardise the Titans fanbase anymore?

Many people hate the Broncos in Brisbane and would love a 2nd team but why weaken the NRL's biggest asset while risking affecting the Titans reach into a broader SEQ?

The Titans need to be get a long term foothold before another team is added in the SE corner. Many Titans fans are youngsters (outside of the GC) as the older generation already have teams and you could almost see a generational gap in the fans if you throw in an Ipswich team so soon after the Titans as kids might jump ship and/or new kids to the game get onboard with the Jets as they are the flavour of the week.

Let the Titans grow like the Broncos have and grow a foundation, once they are strong enough (we know the Broncos are) then introduce a 3rd team in SEQ.

On the Broncos, love them or hate them the Broncos are the pinnacle of the Australia football codes. If we weaken that we lose another feather in our cap. The Broncos are leaders in corporate support, junior development, fan engagement etc. other clubs should be reaching the same level and learn how to and the Broncos should help Sydney clubs do that. Sydney clubs have for too long looked to pokies and are now finding other revenue streams, streams the Broncos have utilised for since inception.

The Broncos might get amazing crowds but they have a 50k+ stadium, if the Jets play out of it they will either will draw jack all or halve the Broncos attendances. I don't want to see a half empty Suncorp every week, ANZ is bad enough.

I find it funny the NRL leave everything up to the clubs and don't embrace unity as a code, and when a club succeeds and leaves everyone in it's dust suddenly everyone is up in arms wanting to bring them back down to the pack... The Broncos might be a 1 city team but many Sydney teams have had 40+ years on them, their problem is not adjusting with the market or the times. Until they get their head out of the asses and stop making this another QLD v NSW thing the sooner the game can move forward as one.

I just have a feeling Gallop will try to make this Jets bid happen.

100% Agree with Brutus. Broncos supporters suddenly get paranoid about their turf when there is a sniff of competition about them. Besides, once upon a time they hated Lang Park and couldn't wait to shaft the old girl.

If sworn enemies like Parra and Canterbury can share home grounds (at both addresses) the the f*cking Broncos can share Suncorp.

The Broncos might get amazing crowds but they have a 50k+ stadium, if the Jets play out of it they will either will draw jack all or halve the Broncos attendances. I don't want to see a half empty Suncorp every week, ANZ is bad enough.
If that is the case, then SEQ doesn't deserve a NYC team let alone an NRL team. Brisbane people attend NRL matches at half the rate Sydney people do, so they need double the games to equal Sydney. If they are the heartland like everyone says they are then they can support another side easily.

Brisbane are not leaders in junior development.

Nor are they any corporate miracle in how to run a club. In fact, I'm sure even Markieboy could run a successful club with 1.7 million league fans, the third biggest CBD in Australia and a blank cheque with Rupert Murdoch's signature on it.

Give Cullen the resources at Cronulla and see how he gets along.

PaulyTom

The Ipswich / Toowoomba area is ripe for Rugby League. Not sure the people of Brisbane would get behind a second Brisbane team. I would say that would be lucky to get 15 000 a game. They need to be based out of Ipswich and draw on that area including Toowoomba and the other outlying country towns.

It would be interesting to see how the numbers stack up against other contenders-
WA Reds
CC Bears
Wellington
Christchurch
Adelaide
Central QLD

BDH

If that is the case, then SEQ doesn't deserve a NYC team let alone an NRL team. Brisbane people attend NRL matches at half the rate Sydney people do, so they need double the games to equal Sydney. If they are the heartland like everyone says they are then they can support another side easily.

I'm trying to understand this (most likely alcohol/drug induced) rant. Firstly, aside from your apparent desire to "punish" Queenslander's for not supporting RL:lol::crazy:, by your own admission Brisbane people only attend NRL matches at half the rate Sydney people do, so how could you entertain the idea that a third Brisbane team would get public support, crowds and membership to make it a success?

Brisbane are not leaders in junior development.
Brisbane is undoubtedly one of the best junior developers in the country. Look around at the NRL (and other codes) at players who have had Broncos scholarships. I think you may be confusing the bigger NSW junior player base with junior development success. Although that could actually be used to argue that Sydney clubs are under achievers at identifying and developing juniors given the extensive quantity of NSW juniors. But you already knew that.

Nor are they any corporate miracle in how to run a club. In fact, I'm sure even Markieboy could run a successful club with 1.7 million league fans, the third biggest CBD in Australia and a blank cheque with Rupert Murdoch's signature on it.
Of course, since 1988 Brisbane has had 1.7 million fans, Rupert Murdoch's money and all of Brisbane's support. But once again, you know your deliberately underselling Brisbane Broncos success.