Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What are we doing?

Misanthrope

The feeding frenzy has apparently already begun with Aiden Tolman linked to the Raiders and Jeff Lima linked with the Bulldogs.

Where are we in all of this? For a club with cap space following the 'releases' of Wicks and Houston who had been planning to re-sign everybody, apparently, shouldn't we be the first on the line to the Storm players likely to hit the market?

If we miss the boat on this one, the admin should be well and truly ashamed of themselves. We're perfectly positioned to benefit from a sordid scandal.

RABK

The feeding frenzy has apparently already begun with Aiden Tolman linked to the Raiders and Jeff Lima linked with the Bulldogs.

Where are we in all of this? For a club with cap space following the 'releases' of Wicks and Houston who had been planning to re-sign everybody, apparently, shouldn't we be the first on the line to the Storm players likely to hit the market?

If we miss the boat on this one, the admin should be well and truly ashamed of themselves. We're perfectly positioned to benefit from a sordid scandal.

You got the clubs they're linked to mixed around.

Those two signing elsewhere isn't a sign of a feeding frenzy beginning, they were on the market long before the sh*t hit the fan yesterday.

But if there is to be an upcoming exodus from the Storm you would hope we'd look at a quality recruit from there.

I think Tolman is lost but i hope we had an offer for him at the very least, if we had nothing on the table for the kid then we just have NFI.

Misanthrope

Those two signing elsewhere isn't a sign of a feeding frenzy beginning, they were on the market long before the sh*t hit the fan yesterday.

And we weren't bidding. Why?

Melbourne need to shed something like $700,000 in player wages this year. We should be kicking down doors.

RABK

I can't speculate whether we bid for those two or not, but it's hrd to give the club the benefit of the doubt given their recruitment history.

Going by their logic you could give your wife an orgasm (or poogasm) once every 8 years and expect for her to be bragging about her great sex life.

Weels

We should forget FINCH, I always get the feeling he can bring trouble with his attitude, we also don't need another 5/8.
We should be chasing CRONK a genuine halfback. I'm reasonably sure he was trained by the John's brothers.

whistler

We should forget FINCH, I always get the feeling he can bring trouble with his attitude, we also don't need another 5/8.
We should be chasing CRONK a genuine halfback. I'm reasonably sure he was trained by the John's brothers.

What is this attitude of Finchs' you speak of. Going by everything i've ever read about him,he is always very popular amongst other players and when was the last time he was in the headlines for the wrong reasons(apart from the club change mid season). Also you can never doubt the guys competitiveness,he seems as though he hates losing and trys his absolute guts out every week. I agree though that we should atleast be sounding out Cronk,would be huge if we could jag him.

roopy

Is this a geeup? No way they'd be wasting cap on Finch, would be their marquee players.
yeah - Finch walked out on a good contract for pin money.
I wasn't believable at the time, and it definately isn't believable now.

And Newton didn't walk away from us for far less money either. That's simply not what sane people do - you might.

Misanthrope

And Newton didn't walk away from us for far less money either. That's simply not what sane people do - you might.

Didn't Newton walk away because he wasn't happy with how big, bad Smith was turning the club into a professional sports team rather than a clubhouse?

roopy

Didn't Newton walk away because he wasn't happy with how big, bad Smith was turning the club into a professional sports team rather than a clubhouse?
So the story went, and if you believe he lost a few hundred K because he didn't want to talk to Smith, I have a harbour bridge to sell you.

Misanthrope

I doubt he took much to play half a season for Melbourne. The real money was in a move to the UK.

Alex28

We are talking 18 hours after the biggest scandal to rock the game. We have no idea which players will be cut or want to leave the club.

You are basing your bagging of the club on some gossip on the Footy Show that you couldn't even get right.

How about we let some dust settle before panic sets in...

Misanthrope

You are basing your bagging of the club on some gossip on the Footy Show that you couldn't even get right.

How about we let some dust settle before panic sets in...

Seriously, read the post. At no point do I criticize the club or make demands that we have announced a signature by 6pm tonight. I've said that the rumors have already begun and given our cap situation, we should be amongst the first in line to capitalize. I then say that if we don't, then something is wrong with the club.

we could at least give the club ample opportunity to f**k this up before having a whinge :)

finch would have to be bloody short odds to come here now... possibly sooner than we anticipated.

Yosh

Throw 600k at Inglis if you ask me. And hopefully get rid of everyone who is off contract and sign Tolman and Cronk. DONE!

League_God

to be 100% honest

i would be absolutely over the moon!! if we signed cronk, cross, vuna and dureau.

1.Kurt Gidley
2.Aku Uate
3.Adam Macdougall/Pete Matautai
4.Junior Sau
5.Cooper Vuna
6.Jarred Mullen
7.Cooper Cronk
8.Ben Cross
9.Isaac De Gois
10.Steve Simpson
11.Zeb Taia
12.Corey Patterson
13.Mark Taufua

14.Evarn Tuimavave
15.Richie Faaso

with the other two bench spots up for grabs

is a great side...a premiership threat

And again. What part of my post is having a whinge?
the rhetoric/impossible to answer questions in your post came across really whingy. just calling it as i see's it.

i just think the club should be given a good shot at f**king it up before we assume we're doing nothing on the issue. as i said, i reckon finch will end up here sooner rather than later. just because the media isn't spruiking our name from the mountaintops doesn't mean chins arn't wagging behind closed doors.

my tip would be the storm will be forced to release finch immediately, and he'll be headed our way. it makes a lot of sense for both parties at the moment. if nothing eventuates from this, then we can all get out our torches and pitchforks and storm knights hq. i'll be up for it!

Misanthrope

Well, I can't control the tone you attribute to my forum post. In future, I'll more adequately narrate my thought process.

macavity

if nothing eventuates from this, then we can all get out our torches and pitchforks and storm knights hq. i'll be up for it!

The place is double brick - old squash courts.

Stuff the pitchfork, you will need a RPG.

And I agree - lets give them a chance to stuff up (i.e. sign Finch) before we jump up and down.

antonius

I don't believe we would be in a position to sign any of their big names. I don't think we spend all our cap because we don't have that amount to spend. If you look at the team we assembled this season and compare it to other teams we are nowhere near the others the Sharks excepted. All the other sides have two,or three, top quality players in their ranks, apart from Gids who do we have that compares? That leaves me to conclude we either have a very inept recruitment team, or we don't spend the cap because we can't afford to. I think we may get someone like Finch, but I cannot see the likes of Inglis, Cronk, Slater, and co coming here, Hope I'm wrong, but past experience tells me we will miss the boat again.