Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What if Jarryd Hayne doesn't make the 49ers cut? Will he return to the NRL?

MarkC

isnt he playing like 30 secs a game? how can he get injured?

It probably takes only one bad collision or awkward tackle to get injured.

I'm not an expert, but it seems to me he has done well to get to this stage.

I just think that he has a lot to learn in a short period of time, and needs everything to go right.

Being injured, will rob him of valuable time, possibly dent his confidence or mean he gets even fewer opportunities.

It terms of limited opportunity, he has had some game time in every game this season.
It is just that the Aust media seem to think he should be on the field all game.

Shorty

on one hand i can understand them limiting his opportunities, on the other hand, given the injuries they have and his supposed ability to be able to fill those injured roles i'm not sure why he isnt getting a bit more of a go
Well he's competing against guys that have played the game for 10-15+ years when they were kids, in highschool and college.

So basically he should know everything in terms of actual gridiron play, it's the playbook that players need to learn.
So he's got a disadvantage there.

Having a coach and quarterback in the hotseat doesn't really help his situation either.

JJ

Burgess thought he could match SBW and has fallen flat on his face, no ones attempted what Hayne has.

SBW played union for several years before he made the All Blacks (as did Thorn) - judge Burgess when he's had that time. Same goes for Hayne, staggering that he's made a team, but he has a huge amount to learn, if he stays let's see how he develops

I don't know why NRL fans are so negative about Hayne.

Personally, I would like to see him do well and if any NRL player is going to make it in the NFL Hayne is by far the mostly likely candidate.

I know there is some unrealistic hype about him in the Australian media, but to be honest he has matched or exceeded my expectations for far.

The limited game time SF are giving him us not unexpected, it is actually an achievement to be getting any game time.

As for his prospects of a long term NFL career it is too early to tell, but I think injury is the main risk.

If he keeps trying hard and maintains a positive attitude he has the ability to go 1-2 steps further and establishing himself as a regular NFL player.

I personally think he is on track, that is why I don't get the negativity.

I was not a particular fan of Hayne before this adventure, but I do admire him for having a go.

Clearly you didn't get what I was referring to , Anyway SF have shown a pretty big indication that Hayne is not someone they trust yet on passing or running plays. Even putting in another rookie RB before him.
Not being negative about Haynes prospects as he is clearly a talent running the ball however I don't think he will get much of a shot at SF.
Their QB runs a lot more than he throws and with Gore & Bush at running back along with Ellington at WR/KR/PR ( with Bush ) the opportunities to actually get any snaps is pretty limited.
I reckon he would be better off playing for a smaller market team that will give him playing time.
The missed block today could have big ramifications for him as protecting QB is a number one priority

u4er

Clearly you didn't get what I was referring to , Anyway SF have shown a pretty big indication that Hayne is not someone they trust yet on passing or running plays. Even putting in another rookie RB before him.
Not being negative about Haynes prospects as he is clearly a talent running the ball however I don't think he will get much of a shot at SF.
Their QB runs a lot more than he throws and with Gore & Bush at running back along with Ellington at WR/KR/PR ( with Bush ) the opportunities to actually get any snaps is pretty limited.
I reckon he would be better off playing for a smaller market team that will give him playing time.
The missed block today could have big ramifications for him as protecting QB is a number one priority

Umm, you know Gore doesn't play for the 9ers anymore?

MarkC

We may have to agree to disagree, for the time being.

My main points are:-
1) I never expected instant success.
2) Hayne is going to have good days and bad days.
3) We have no idea why the 49ers coach is going with particular plays or players at any one time.

I do expect a bit of a bumpy ride at some stage, but my take on it so far, is the coach has been trying to use Hayne where possible.

Where games are tight he may be going with payers with more NFL experience, but that does necessarily mean he has given up on Hayne.

We may have to agree to disagree, for the time being.

My main points are:-
1) I never expected instant success.
2) Hayne is going to have good days and bad days.
3) We have no idea why the 49ers coach is going with particular plays or players at any one time.

I do expect a bit of a bumpy ride at some stage, but my take on it so far, is the coach has been trying to use Hayne where possible.

Where games are tight he may be going with payers with more NFL experience, but that does necessarily mean he has given up on Hayne.[/QUOT

Agreed about the limited time due closeness of games , Just reckon he would better suited to a team that does not have a run happy QB
Honestly I think the fact he is on a squad is amazing , Just want to see him get more of a go

Everyone at SF 49ers admires Jarryd and they will give him a chance to learn. He won't be made to pay for his mistakes yesterday because the team did win.

One of the coaches said earlier that Jarryd was not that far away from a touchdown. One touchdown, or a 50 yard run from Jarryd, will cement his position in the team.

What the Americans admire about Jarryd is his humility and his willingness to learn. Moreover he has a solid block of support among SF fans, even if half of them are Aussies and Kiwis and Fijians. Expect him to improve as the season progresses.

--Storm--

His coming 12th when it comes to most fumbles with 3, most being 5; the worrying thing for him majority of the others on the table are QBs or players that get heaps of game time, his hardly done anything and has 3.

mave

I was with you until you started dribbling about Gore.

Stick to the Raiders champ.

JJ

Everyone at SF 49ers admires Jarryd and they will give him a chance to learn. He won't be made to pay for his mistakes yesterday because the team did win.

One of the coaches said earlier that Jarryd was not that far away from a touchdown. One touchdown, or a 50 yard run from Jarryd, will cement his position in the team.

What the Americans admire about Jarryd is his humility and his willingness to learn. Moreover he has a solid block of support among SF fans, even if half of them are Aussies and Kiwis and Fijians. Expect him to improve as the season progresses.

Lot of admiration for Hayne there - glad we have you to give us the inside word...:roll:

Alan Johnson

What is the nature of these fumbles? I was under the impression that NFL players were fumblier than league players - Hayne being a particularly steady-handed player - but it seems maybe they aren't. I guess there's just more pressure in NFL.

mave

What is the nature of these fumbles? I was under the impression that NFL players were fumblier than league players - Hayne being a particularly steady-handed player - but it seems maybe they aren't. I guess there's just more pressure in NFL.

nrlnrl

Well he's competing against guys that have played the game for 10-15+ years when they were kids, in highschool and college.

So basically he should know everything in terms of actual gridiron play, it's the playbook that players need to learn.
So he's got a disadvantage there.

Having a coach and quarterback in the hotseat doesn't really help his situation either.

It's basics that he's struggling with. There were 2 glaring errors yesterday - carrying the ball properly & how to block. It might look good stepping guys, but if you lose the ball that could be a game changer. ( lucky a team mate scrambled to regain the ball yesterday ). As for the blocking, it's an instinctive thing for those that have been playing for most of their lives, but Hayne looks lost & has to remember to do those things ( rather than just doing them naturally - like in rugby league he would instinctively know to follow play across field in defence as a fullback ) which again can be costly - QB sacked or QB sacked & loses possession etc.

Bovrick

He fumbled his first punt, it was a dodgy one that dipped sharply, he wasn't in the right position, went to catch it anyway and dropped it.

His second, I think he tried for a fair catch quite late, didn't let his blocker know, his blocker took him out and the ball bounced off him.

His third he got too cocky, beat a bunch of players and tried to go around the last, but ran into his own guys, slowing him enough for the ones behind him to knock the ball out of his (loose) carry.

--Storm--

His getting a hard time; he fell over at training and that's made the news :)

Apparently 49ers are looking to bring another experienced RB in, they really are afraid to give him a good shot.