Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

Really? I must admit I am surprised...I went to their cellar door in the Hunter and thought everything was very average. Might have to give that a second shot

Howard Park 2011 Riesling, I love WA riesling and this one is no exception!

Alba

Wine did me very wrong last night, and mostly, this morning. I am about to throw up! I hate being hungover at work ahhh!

Really? I must admit I am surprised...I went to their cellar door in the Hunter and thought everything was very average. Might have to give that a second shot

It's just such an approachable style, with plenty of Grenache at the front and a good dollop of Mataro at the end (2010 Vintage). A lot I've had recently have been Shiraz bombs.

Seppeltsfield Cellar No. 6 Tokay (Topaque for the rest). Pretty traditional Tokay, though has a bit too much alcohol burn on the finish for my liking. It's pleasant enough as a drink, but there are better drinks in the same price point (Bailey's of Glenrowan comes immediately to mind).

Walked into a bottlo on the GC, Some Young Punks wines for $19, don't mind if I do! Polishing off the 2010 Naked on Rollerskates shiraz mataro...so very good, huge and rich and plummy and spicy.

Onto the Squids Fist sangiovese shiraz...I just think SYP are the bomb. Delicious, savoury, earthy sangiovese, fruity shiraz. A winner

Danish

So I just spent my friday night cleaning out under my stairs and converting the area into a basic 72 bottle wine cellar.... Now I have to fill it.

Have about $300 to start stocking it, expecting to get around 12 bottles out of that. Any suggestions on websites I can get a nice mixed dozen from? I prefer the lighter reds like Pinot to drink while the wife likes a pinot grigio, although honestly only just started drinking wine in the last couple years so goinng to try it all.

Dont drink much really (around a bottle a week between us probably) so want to get stuff that will age well

As a starting point or just for your own research, try and find James Halliday's Wine Companion. It will give you a lot of info on Australian wine, and may be able to help you regarding aging potential of wines you see around.

Danish

thanks mate that site looks bloody good and have been reading through it for the last hour or so.

Their virtual cellar sounds pretty interesting. It says it includes pricing, wondering if that means it estimates current value of your wines or simply just allows you to keep track of what you paid for your wines and estimated values manually?

Funnily enough my dad saw the cellar today and is now bringing over a dozen or so bottles of grange he's collected over the years as corporate gifts from our suppliers etc that he wants to store in it. Currently keeps them in his underground garage but its a common garage and he reckons they'll be safer with me. Might end up having to expand it by the end of the year at this rate :lol:

So I have been moving, and all the good wine is in boxes all over the place still...tonight I had a happy accident though. A few years ago I won a 12 month membership to a wine club. It was pretty ratshit in general but it was free, and most of the remaining bottles ended up in my pantry to use in cooking. Making pasta sauce, I needed red wine, so I grabbed one. A Stirling Rocks Margaret River Cab Merlot, 2006 I think (which it turns out is made by Ferngrove). I usually have a glass while I cook, sometimes I have to choke it down or I just pour it out, but this stuff was actually delicious. Nothing complicated, mind, but plenty of black fruit and very juicy. Nice not to pour the unused wine out, anyway

Getting my wine wank on tonight. Domaine Alary La Gerbaude Cotes du Rhone. Probably my favourite Old World wine region, more so than Burgundy and Bordeaux. Deliciously juicy wine, with a nose full of tobacco and black fruits. Wonderful drink.

I reckon you'll be into it...big wines, it's warmer than Chateuneuf-du-Pape and the wines must be a high percentage grenache (70? 80? something). I liken them to more powerful Chateauneufs, a bit riper as well for obvious reasons