Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

Drew-Sta

Erics Blend 2001 going to get opened tonight.

Also, work gave me a Brands Laira 171 '10 as a going away. We also drank the '13 Syrah and '12 Cab Sauv at my farewell lunch from the new Appellation series.

Tbh, can you blame me?

I think Drew should have actually given us pallets. He's a square

Its restricted stock these says. We weren't allowed to touch it for our house account as staff.

And now he is with Woolies. What's he going to send, Bailey + Bailey Dolcetto...

:lol: McW still sells them the bulk for that.

Gossips Merlot!

The Accomplice Sweet White

Do you realise we have like 700+ posts in here between us? I think....maybe...we might have a problem

Only if you admit you have a problem do you have kne :sarcasm:

Same goes for you Drew-Sta!

Yeah Drew! I'll probably be there! With wine!

I'll see if I can get a leave pass from the Mrs. Will bring something nice if so :)

Apologies for the absence lads. Have been ridiculously busy at work of late. Coming into winter no doubt I'll be enjoying more reds. I'll make an effort to pop in more frequently.

On a side not, we went to Spice Den @ Kingscliff, anyone up this way Tweed Coast/Gold Coast, do yourself a favour and make the effort to get down there (20 min south of the border). Absolutely brilliant food.

Thai Fusion, my mouths watering as I type this.
http://www.spiceden.com.au/

The meals are served banquet style in the middle of the table. 7 adults & we ordered two of the following;
Crispy barramundi & caramel pork with green apple, mint, kaffir lime & lemongrass salad
Dry red curry of wagyu beef with young ginger, chilli, green beans
Massaman curry of organic chicken with pink fir potatoes, pineapple, peanuts
Fried half duck with greens, mandarin & yellow bean caramel

I have since heard the Szechaun salted soft shell crab with som tam salad & green nam jim is to die for, needless to say Twizz, me & the beautiful bride are heading back soon for a night & we'll stay @ Casuarina (the resort the Spice Den is in).

Should give it a try, I'm only 10 mins from there

Without a doubt mate.

See if you know anyone that has one of those entertainment books that have discounts in them. According to a mate you can save 25% up to $100 of your bill.

Santa Margherita Chianti Classico (get to know it Drew, it will probably come through Cellarmasters at some point ;-) ). Classic Sangiovese, sour cherry with a leather + dark chocolate finish. Tasty, much tasty.

Drew-Sta

Santa Margherita Chianti Classico (get to know it Drew, it will probably come through Cellarmasters at some point ;-) ). Classic Sangiovese, sour cherry with a leather + dark chocolate finish. Tasty, much tasty.

I will look out for it! :D

Just finished off the Penfolds Bin 28. Had it decanting since last night - smooth as silk.

Had Bin 407 yesterday too. Was gorgeous, but very big.

Some Young Punks A Catch in Time Chardonnay. Exclusive to the evil empire. Interesting wine because it's made backwards, sort of. Picked as whole bunches, thrown in to oak to ferment with no intervention for 9 months, THEN crushed. Complexity is off the charts for a wine of sub $25, it's insane, but still light on it's feet and quite minerally and acidic. A ridiculous wine in my humble opinion

I dunno tbh. It's only just been opened up to us after being VC only, and only because I basically forced them to give it to me.

I will look out for it! :D

Just finished off the Penfolds Bin 28. Had it decanting since last night - smooth as silk.

Had Bin 407 yesterday too. Was gorgeous, but very big.

Just out of curiosity Drew-sta how long do you decant a red for.

I use an aerator into a decanter. I intend on leaving it for an hour, but once it's in I really struggle to show any self control.

Enjoyed one of my "standards" last weekend black chook shiraz, uncomplicated & always enjoy it.

The Mrs purchased a mixed red carton last week on "special" via email, TBH I'm not expecting much.

Mcarthur Park Cabernet Sauvignon 2013
Tolley Cellar Reserve Merlot 2013
Deakin Estate Artisan's Blend Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2012
Stefano De Pieri White Label Due Viti 2013
Pelican Point Shiraz 2013
Dorrien Estate Bin 10 Shiraz 2013

Drew-Sta

Just out of curiosity Drew-sta how long do you decant a red for.

I use an aerator into a decanter. I intend on leaving it for an hour, but once it's in I really struggle to show any self control.

Enjoyed one of my "standards" last weekend black chook shiraz, uncomplicated & always enjoy it.

The Mrs purchased a mixed red carton last week on "special" via email, TBH I'm not expecting much.

Mcarthur Park Cabernet Sauvignon 2013
Tolley Cellar Reserve Merlot 2013
Deakin Estate Artisan's Blend Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2012
Stefano De Pieri White Label Due Viti 2013
Pelican Point Shiraz 2013
Dorrien Estate Bin 10 Shiraz 2013

Depends on its age. If its a young red, I pop it in the morning and leave it all day. If its old but screwcap, usually for two or three hours. If its cork, and quite old, I only decant for about half an hour to let the sediment settle. SGL / Baz?

Also, your wife a Cellarmasters member eh? ;-)