Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

HowHigh

Out of curiosity, how much do you guys spend on a bottle of wine to have with dinner?
Let's say the average price for a regular dinner and average price for a nicer Saturday night dinner or something?

I understand, Wolf Blass Eaglehawk is cheap. Their Red Label has improved though so that Chard is an option.

Look out for Angove Long Row Chard too. About $12, but you would be happy paying up to $15 for it.

Eaglehawk is garbage. De Bortoli Windy Peak chardy, a ripper and $10 at First Choice at the moment, will be $15 max elsewhere...

HowHigh

I see. Wouldn't mind trying a wine one night with dinner but I eat pretty plain foods....grilled steaks and sausages with a salad so not sure if wine goes with that lol.

BDR

At the local bottlo I was recently employed at, average basket price is $60, so I am among a range of pretty decent wines. More than anything looking to get a taste of the difference between varieties, then I expect I will refine my palate a little more.

Out of curiosity, how much do you guys spend on a bottle of wine to have with dinner?
Let's say the average price for a regular dinner and average price for a nicer Saturday night dinner or something?

Depends how I feel, honestly. I've been known to but $60 bottles to have at home, and I've been known to take a good quality cheapie to nice dinners...

HowHigh

Grilled steak and a cracking Cab Sauv, get in son!
Is that a brand or type of wine? lol
Might give one a go tomorrow night!
And 1 last question..does a bottle of wine last another day or 2 after being opened or its best to finish it in 1 go?
I know absolutely nothing wine sorry

Depends how I feel, honestly. I've been known to but $60 bottles to have at home, and I've been known to take a good quality cheapie to nice dinners...
Damn 60 bux, I'd rather spend that on 15 beers at the pub lol
Must be quite the wine lover

I see. Wouldn't mind trying a wine one night with dinner but I eat pretty plain foods....grilled steaks and sausages with a salad so not sure if wine goes with that lol.

Grilled steak/ You, sir, need to get into a malbec...

And 1 last question..does a bottle of wine last another day or 2 after being opened or its best to finish it in 1 go?

Normally best to finish it off in one crack. If you can't, just chuck it in the fridge and it should last for a week at least.

And as for the $60, if you really start getting into wine it becomes an expensive hobby. Tasty, but expensive.

I am, but sometimes you just feel like a really good wine too...and yeah, sometimes I'm more than happy spending $100 on schooners of Reschs :p

HowHigh

Sounds good, talked me into trying one within the next few days!
So I'm looking out for a malbec or a cab sauv.. lol

I wont drink anything under $15, learnt my lesson there (I'm talking reds, I dont do whites)

I normally spend around $20 or just over, that way I know I will enjoy it, I'd rather go without than drink a $12 bottle of wine as its normally rubbish

Having said that I once bought a $70 bottle of Shiraz after a win on the pokies and it was like washing up water.

If Baz or SGL say try this, its for a good reason.

BDR

Eaglehawk is garbage. De Bortoli Windy Peak chardy, a ripper and $10 at First Choice at the moment, will be $15 max elsewhere...

Had a glass with dinner, not a bad drop to be honest. Looking at sav blancs for tomorrow or tuesday night, what do you recommend lads? Not fussed on price.

The Windy Peak? It's an awesome little thing for the money, minerally and lean but still a lot of fruit. One of my favourite summer cheapies :p As for sav blanc...

Stefano Lubiana (Tasmania)
2012 Brown Brothers (Tasmania)
Geoff Weaver (Adelaide Hills)
Nepenthe (Adelaide Hills)
Logan (Orange)

Australian stuff over NZ for me every time. More complexity and interest to it.