Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Y.N.W.A. Thread (Liverpool fans thread)

pantherz9103

It was a great day for us. We certainly took our chances today no matter how bad a day Manure might have had. Still a spectacular result to thrash Manure 4-1 in their own backyard. Probably their worst home defeat in some 8 years. I remember them losing 3-0 to Chelsea back in 2001 I think it was.

Torres was top class in the 1st half with a goal and constantly threatening. Gerrard and Torres seem to have a telepathic understanding at times. I've also eased up on Rafa. We don't know how the season may have panned out with Torres fully fit. Its a shame we aren't top of the league when we beat all the best teams but draw with a handful of pretty poor teams.

Atleast this extends the title race if nothing else. If Man U drop more points and we continue to win, we give ourselves a chance, albeit a slim one.

Red Bear

wow! That was f**kin awesome, we played very well, despite the sh*tness of united i think our agressive nature forced them into such mistake.

Torres and Gerrard supurb as ever, thought most were pretty damn good, riera a tad quiet maybe.

Ridders

I was wondering whether Riera was injured, cause he looked really out of it, never got in the game. Kuyt was also real quite, can't remember him doing anything noteworthy. I thought Aurelio had a great game, in the first half he gave Ronaldo nothing and that superb free-kick really topped it off.

I have to admit going into the game i was nervous when i saw that Mascherano and Lucas were paired in midfield, those two together in holding midfield always scares me.

shiznit

gotta cop it today... well done boys...

you blokes would be contenders if you could play like this against the likes of Boro etc...

i had a bloody feeling this would happen though.... ive been giving it to you blokes so much over the last couple of months ive been waiting for Karma...

an important thing about this win though... while i still think we will win the PL with ease... if we draw you guys in Europe you guys now know you can beat us home and away

Knightmare

That's the crazy thing. Walking through town last night before the game last night I said to my mate "I'm feeling confident about tonight, I reckon we can do it." which is exactly how I felt in the earlier fixture at Anfield. Even when Ronaldive scored that penalty I had a feeling we'd score soon. The only time in the game I really felt vaguely anxious was at the start of the second half, up 2-1 and ManUre were putting together some good attack.

Yet the other week playing Borough I was anxious right from the start, I felt the same against West Ham, Stoke, Fulham and Wigan. We really are the St George of the EPL right now. If we'd been singing "Can we play you every week?" after the match last night, I would have been dead serious!

HevyDevy

gotta cop it today... well done boys...

you blokes would be contenders if you could play like this against the likes of Boro etc...

i had a bloody feeling this would happen though.... ive been giving it to you blokes so much over the last couple of months ive been waiting for Karma...

an important thing about this win though... while i still think we will win the PL with ease... if we draw you guys in Europe you guys now know you can beat us home and away

Yes but I'm concerned that while we can always produce a display like that, we don't do it often enough.

We seem to lift when we play yourselves, Chelsea and Arsenal as well as in Europe but then we'll produce complete rubbish against Stoke.

That's why you will still win the title.

I was surprised though by just how often your defence allowed Torres to be in a one-on-one situation.

DirtyHarry

Bang. Couldn't have said it better myself. Am trying to recall when was the last time ManUre were so soundly defeated at OT? One ManUre fan I was talking to last night was trying to remember the last time ManUre conceded a penalty shot at OT, for that matter! :lol:

F**king great match it was. Worth getting kicked out just after Dossena put the final nail in the coffin for being too rowdy for the Star City security, along with half a dozen other Reds (P.S Dirty Harry, one of them was a Scouser with his strong accent remaining. Also happens to be a season ticket holder at Anfield, turns out his uncle used to play for that mob from Goodison, can't remember his name right now). Can only imagine how much Cheers on George St must have gone off! Walking back into town with my mate, we kept wondering if it was all some wonderful dream and we'd wake up this morning, switch on FoxSports and realise that Ronaldive had actually scored a quariple to flog us 4-0!

Ah, 'tis a great day to be a Red, no matter where you are in the world. I would have given my first-born to be one of the Liverpool contingent at OT last night though! If this is the game that ultimately turns our season back around, it will be a great memory!

Hey Nightmare I would be interested to know your mate’s uncle’s name.

My mum’s cousin was an apprentice at Anfield & probably would have made it into the first team had he not ended up doing some time at her Majesty’s pleasure. Which I guess for him was preferable as he is an Everton fanatic, he he he.

Good win for you guys, hope we can do the same in the cup.

Ridders

Yes but I'm concerned that while we can always produce a display like that, we don't do it often enough.

We seem to lift when we play yourselves, Chelsea and Arsenal as well as in Europe but then we'll produce complete rubbish against Stoke.

That's why you will still win the title.

I was surprised though by just how often your defence allowed Torres to be in a one-on-one situation.

Given how great Vidic has been this season, i can see why they would have banked on him being able to contain Torres, and lets face it, that first half was the best half of football he has had this season. Not just the goal, but his movement indicated that he's close to full fitness, which hasn't always been the case this season even when he's been scoring goals.

It's a shame that this great win may eventually have minimal effect in the overall title race.

Foz

We only played Torres up front with Gerrard in behind him though on Saturday.
Thinks back to last year when Mascherano got sent and Torres looked like he would give Ferdinand and someone(Vidic or Brown)trouble so they kicked him out of the game.I think it was a tactical error on their behalf on Saturday and if we meet again in the Champions League I'll be stunned if they dont change that.
Brings up an interesting point though Saturday was only the 9th time Gerrard and Torres have started an EPL game this season.Maybe I am harsh on Rafa.
Shots on Saturday were 17-9 to Manure.Only the 3rd time in EPL this year the opposition had more shots at goal than us.Interestingly Chelsea had more shots at their home game which we won 1-0.Arsenal was equal in shots.Sort of reflects the table in some way?
In other news Lucas may be on the lookout for another club as he wants to get more gametime in readiness for the next world cup.The week just keeps getting better.

Foz

Good win this morning against Villa.
Rafa did send out the A team and they delivered again.
Hat trick to Gerrard from 2 penalties and a free kick(21 for the year-pretty good considering he always gets subbed too).
Ended up 5-0.
Game was all over at half time where we led 3-0.
Torres didnt have his greatest game either so it made it even more impressive.
Riera and Kuyt got the other goals.

Ridders

Reina gets another assist!!!

Good performance, was worried we would slack of after huge wins over Madrid and Man U, as we have a tendency to do. Sets us up beautifully for the run home. Going to be a very interesting end to the season.

Knightmare

And also hoping that Lucas is given the job of counting people in the crowd, en-route to being shipped off to Everton or ManUre :lol: