Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Billy Slater on field bullying. A low act

The Dodger

corey, you should have done everyone a favour and knocked the f**k out of the most grubbiest player in the NRL.

I'm sick to death of all you do gooders carrying on about this. i hated Billy Slater until this incident....now, I think he is a dead, set, legend. If more players got stuck into sledging then rugby league would be a better spectacle.

All you oh woe is the poor sooky boy, do gooders, go back and hug your trees and maybe they will cook you a nice quiche for din dins.

The only thing worse than those poor sooky boys, do gooders & treehuggers are people who use the term "din dins'

aqua_duck

There was no way he could have.....At the time Patterson was to busy crying like a little bitch and acting gay. Somebody should have passed him a tissue.
If Cory is a little bitch, and your so big, strong and tough, why is it that he's the one playing 1st grade football and your the one posting crap on a league forum?

The Dodger

well he has a stong arm at least...

flogger.jpg

BIKER_DRAGON

If Cory is a little bitch, and your so big, strong and tough, why is it that he's the one playing 1st grade football and your the one posting crap on a league forum?

Because like you duck f**ker i don't have the ability and at 50 years old i think my playing days are way behind me.:lol:

The day a player gets suspended for telling another bloke to have a cry is the day we pack up the NRL, put the players in tutus and point them towards the nearest ballet class. Deadset, this is the biggest non-event of all time, can't believe it's even been brought up. Billy wouldn't have even got in trouble if he'd said that on the playground when he was seven.

Spot on
if thats the extent of what Slater said im happy to call Paterson a huge f**king skirt and tell him to harden up. If slater had said that to anyone else it would have been a non issue, he's not made an issue of depression at all

he's told him to harden the f**k up, which would happen 1000x a game...

Usain Bolt

FMD there is a bunch of keyboard heroes on here.

What does Depression feel like? Ever had something really bad happen; a bad breakup, lost a great job, a friend betray you or a death in the family?

That's how you feel every morning when you wake up with clinical depression. It's not feeling down in the dumps or a bit blue. That's vanilla life, your baseline.

You can be having a good time with mates, laughing at sh*t, but it's still there. Eating away at you. And if you have been having a good time, the crash after the laughs go away is comparable to a comedown from coke.

Until I got off my arse and went to see a doctor, I just thought I was a sub standard human; I thought I wasn't worthy of any friendship, affection or basic human rights. I didn't realise something was f**ked up in my brain physically and chemically. People telling me to harden up or get over it, any of the offhand bullsh*t people say when they don't have a clue, made me want to either kill them, kill myself, or both.

The only thing that kept me getting up everyday was my children; if I wasn't a father with responsibilities, I'm not sure where I'd be today.

Sticks and Stones and all that? Depends who you are talking to. What Slater said wouldn't affect me personally, but I'd belt the turd (even if he'd kick my arse) for being a total wanker.

This is just my personal experience, and I fully expect morons to pay me out; good luck motherf**kers, I've taken back control of my life and the black dog is whimpering in the corner of my mind. I've learned to control a potentially fatal mental disease, through two divorces, the death of my best friend and only seeing my kids once a fortnight.

Could be worse though, I could be making excuses for an ex-jockey coward that stomps on a prone man's face and then hides behind his mates, or belts a guy being held by several other players.

CRY-1.jpg

why is everyone digging into paterson? he didn't want it to go any further than the footy field... but the media just wanted to run with it. he took offense to the remark from billy, he fronted up and offered some biffo, slater turned it down twice, like the cat he is.. and it should have been left at that, like the hundreds of other push'n'shoves we've seen over the years.

there's a difference between telling someone to go and have a cry... and telling someone that has had a well publicised battle with depression to go have a cry. it's not the words itself, but the connotations that go with it. the same as if billy told pato to go slash his wrists about it, etc. the words are practically meaningless and soft... but it's the fact that it was a blatent reference to a serious health issue in patersons life that aggrevated cory. i'm not surprised by some of the redneck, backward hick responses in this thread... or the politically correct nutjob responses either. the truth is the issue is neither one side of this argument or the other, and should have been left at what we saw during the match on TV and from the stands.

Spot on
if thats the extent of what Slater said im happy to call Paterson a huge f**king skirt and tell him to harden up. If slater had said that to anyone else it would have been a non issue, he's not made an issue of depression at all

he's told him to harden the f**k up, which would happen 1000x a game...
lol, you can be quite the muppet from time to time. in this, and most other situations in life, context is everything. in the same way i can tell a mate to go f**k himself, i couldn't tell a complete stranger the same thing unless i was keen to punch on. context, context, context.

i wouldn't tell someone who had tried to commit suicide to go slash their wrists if they were whinging about something... but i'd have no problem saying it to a mate that was having a similar whinge. can you not see the difference context makes in these situations?

cory had every right to have a go at slater because of the sledge. he didn't want it to go any further than that, because he was obviously aware that it didn't warrent it.

why is everyone digging into paterson? he didn't want it to go any further than the footy field... but the media just wanted to run with it. he took offense to the remark from billy, he fronted up and offered some biffo, slater turned it down twice, like the cat he is.. and it should have been left at that, like the hundreds of other push'n'shoves we've seen over the years.

there's a difference between telling someone to go and have a cry... and telling someone that has had a well publicised battle with depression to go have a cry. it's not the words itself, but the connotations that go with it. the same as if billy told pato to go slash his wrists about it, etc. the words are practically meaningless and soft... but it's the fact that it was a blatent reference to a serious health issue in patersons life that aggrevated cory. i'm not surprised by some of the redneck, backward hick responses in this thread... or the politically correct nutjob responses either. the truth is the issue is neither one side of this argument or the other, and should have been left at what we saw during the match on TV and from the stands.

So anyone who has depression is off limits from sledging, incase they are offended by it? What about injuries, if a bloke is playing hurt are we going to stop players running at him, incase they do more damage?

This is RL mate, if his depression is still as much as an issue that when he's told to have a cry he reacts like that, he probably should get out of the game for a little longer and conquer his demons for good
Its exactly the same as telling anyone else to go and have a cry, the difference is Cory is not able to brush it off as easily, thats his burden to bare. As correctly stated, Slater wouldnt have got in trouble in grade 4 for saying that in the school yard, he might be told not to be a bully, but hey we're in the real world and cory's playing a man's game

if that kind of jibe (and lets get real here, it was f**king piss weak, if Slater is in any strife surely its because for a man his age he came out with something my 5 year old nephew might spit out!), then he's clearly not ready to return to the football field.

Cant have one rule for Cory and one for the rest. Either outlaw sledging (Perish the thought!!! I love a good sledge) or Cory has to learn to deal with the fact he might get sledged in a manner that could be perceived as having a dig at depression

And there is a huge difference between saying "Harden the f**k up" or "go and have a cry", as opposed to "go and kill yourself you depressed merkin"
I realise Cory didnt want this whole public thing and that was the media, but his reaction at the time was his reaction. Clearly the remark got to him, if he's going to be put off that easily, frankly he's a liability. Sledgers will target him now thanks to that reaction. And who knows, they might earn themselves a penalty, hell, they might even get to play against 12 men for the remainder of the game
Cory needs to learn not to react. Sledging happens. That was in no way a shot at his depression, you hear that exact stuff 100x a game, just so happen this time it was said to someone who suffers depression, he can either deal with that, or he cant, and if he cant, perhaps he needs to take more time to address his issues.

Coaster

why is everyone digging into paterson? he didn't want it to go any further than the footy field... but the media just wanted to run with it.

Agreed.

Media wins again, they do seem to know there target market. Seems people here get off on all this social BS, and womans day garbage.

Expect more Scandals as the year goes on, even if they do not exist, if i ran a newspaper i sure as hell would be rewarding any reporter for coming up with such a high selling non story.

Johns Magic

Its exactly the same as telling anyone else to go and have a cry, the difference is Cory is not able to brush it off as easily, thats his burden to bare.

So if a Raiders player's mum died tomorrow and it was all over the media you'd be fine with opposition players using "I f**ked your mum" jokes to him this weekend? Also a common sledge in sport, by your logic it would be fair game.

Coaster

So if a Raiders player's mum died tomorrow and it was all over the media you'd be fine with opposition players using "I f**ked your mum" jokes to him this weekend? Also a common sledge in sport, by your logic it would be fair game.

Popped in for a coldie

lol, you can be quite the muppet from time to time. in this, and most other situations in life, context is everything. in the same way i can tell a mate to go f**k himself, i couldn't tell a complete stranger the same thing unless i was keen to punch on. context, context, context.

i wouldn't tell someone who had tried to commit suicide to go slash their wrists if they were whinging about something... but i'd have no problem saying it to a mate that was having a similar whinge. can you not see the difference context makes in these situations?

cory had every right to have a go at slater because of the sledge. he didn't want it to go any further than that, because he was obviously aware that it didn't warrent it.

fine you want to talk context
in the context of a footy field, physical situations, i could very well tell someone to go and f**k himself, and i have and would... and i wouldnt expect a reaction, because i expect that the person im telling to get f**ked or have a cry knows that a reaction is what im after and if he over reacts, he might end up getting sent off, sin binned and probably at the very least penalised, which is exactly what i want

thats context mate. They werent out on the street, they were on a footy field and slater told him the same thing he would have told 100 others this year

So anyone who has depression is off limits from sledging, incase they are offended by it? What about injuries, if a bloke is playing hurt are we going to stop players running at him, incase they do more damage?

This is RL mate, if his depression is still as much as an issue that when he's told to have a cry he reacts like that, he probably should get out of the game for a little longer and conquer his demons for good
Its exactly the same as telling anyone else to go and have a cry, the difference is Cory is not able to brush it off as easily, thats his burden to bare. As correctly stated, Slater wouldnt have got in trouble in grade 4 for saying that in the school yard, he might be told not to be a bully, but hey we're in the real world and cory's playing a man's game

if that kind of jibe (and lets get real here, it was f**king piss weak, if Slater is in any strife surely its because for a man his age he came out with something my 5 year old nephew might spit out!), then he's clearly not ready to return to the football field.

Cant have one rule for Cory and one for the rest. Either outlaw sledging (Perish the thought!!! I love a good sledge) or Cory has to learn to deal with the fact he might get sledged in a manner that could be perceived as having a dig at depression

And there is a huge difference between saying "Harden the f**k up" or "go and have a cry", as opposed to "go and kill yourself you depressed merkin"
uhhh what? nowhere have i said anything regarding punishing slater, or any of the other garbage you've babbled through in this post. what i am saying is that if this is such a hard merkin sport that we watch/play, then cory should have been well within his rights to arc up at a comment that was obviously designed to get under his skin.

i've got no problem with sledging whatsoever. i really, really enjoy it. what i do have a problem with is people calling cory soft for arcing up at it. if your mum had just died a month ago, and i told you to go tell mummy about it (a completely innocuous comment), then i would expect you to arc up at me too, as that is what the comment was designed to do in the first place. i don't know why you felt the need to yammer on about punishments, outlawing sledging, injured players, and all the other red herring crap in your post. the fact is slater wanted to get under cory's skin, he managed to do it with elegance and aplomb, and then he backed off like a skirt when he was confronted for it.

and as for there being a huge difference between one thing or another "kill yourself" or "go and have a cry" - there really isn't, when it comes down to it. the fact that you make that distinction at all is a testiment to you not understanding the issue of context in this matter. it doesn't make a sh*t of difference what was said - it was a sneaky comment directly about corys depression... and it wouldn't have mattered what he said or how he said it, he would have got the same response... because it is the subject that is the problem, not the words in which it is brought up.

as i said before, cory was well within his rights to arc up imo. if someone sledged me about a sensitive subject i would arc up too, and have done in the past. the media circus that has followed this issue is a joke.