Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

SouthsCountry

I take it you're from Sydney?

What makes you think Western Australians and South Australians want to be represented by Sydney clubs that haven't been in the top flight for decades?

What do the Bears and Jets bring to the table?

Perth has numerous businessmen willing to fund a team of its own. Its population are notoriously parochial and have a distrust of "east coasters". The Bears have a list of crazy "non-negotiablea" that make them a Sydney club that will play a few games in Perth. That arrangement will not entice Western Australians to support the team.

The North Sydney Bears aren't flush with money, either.

The Jets have no money.

A race-based team playing out of numerous countries would struggle to attract players. The extra travel it would perform would put it on the back foot.
No I'm not from Sydney and I never said anything about a "race based team"

SouthsCountry

The Cowboys are the outlier here as the revenue they generate from sponsorship has been among the highest in the competition since they were formed.

The problem is we have a few so-called "heartland" teams in Sydney generating f**k-all revenue from sponsorship. There's not enough active rugby league fans in the market to support nine clubs.

AwFuL has more than enough active supporters in Melbourne to prop up most of its teams. The only one that's really struggling right now is North Melbourne, yet it is probably not much weaker than the strongest NRL clubs in Sydney.
Souths, Parramatta, Penrith, Easts and Cronulla are all far stronger than North Melbourne.
Wests Tigers have a dormant supporter base, perhaps the biggest in Australian sport.
Canterbury are getting back on their feet and are a powerhouse.
St Merge have Wollongong.
And Manly has...well, Manly has the Union wasteland that is the North Shore and Northern Beaches.

RL is stronger than what we think.

Compare each Melb AFLol team to a Sydney NRL team:

Melbourne - Roosters
Carlton - Wests Tigers
Richmond - Penrith
Essendon - Parramatta
Collingwood - Souths
Hawthorn - Canterbury
Western Bulldogs - Cronulla
St Kilda - St George Illawarra
North Melbourne - Manly
Geelong - Newcastle

They have weaker clubs just like us...Western Bulldogs, St Kilda and North Melbourne are all in decline. On the other hand, our weaker clubs are growing.

titoelcolombiano

It’s 28 years since that time and afl grows bigger than us every year In terms of revenue (Biggest revenue gap last year in a decade and that’s before the next tv deals widen it even more).

How long realistically till we close that gap and overtake them? Probably 20 years plus at least, and that’s if every goes our way and they somehow screw some of their business up.

getting a succesful perth club in next is the next step But then we’ll probably still be ten years plus away from game ten becoming a reality.
Well put it this way, Tassie, Canberra or Perth 3 aren't going to rake in the big money from TV so they've peaked. We've got Perth, Brisbane 3, Adelaide and NZ2 as options, all will be very valuable to TV and sponsors.

titoelcolombiano

the perception is they have every major metro area covered by 2 or more teams - Melb, Syd, SEQLD, Perth, Adelaide... Us having teams in NQLD, Newcastle, Canberra and Auckland is wonderful but sadly broadcasters and sponsors don't see as much value in these areas.
As I mentioned, broadcasting is quickly moving to streaming (free or paid) and at that point, subscriptions are subscriptions no matter if they come from a capital city or a regional centre and we have the geographical advantage. Not only that, we've also got Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane 3 and NZ 2 as options so it's only up from here for broadcast and sponsorship dollars.

Tassie, Canberra and Perth 3 aren't pulling in anywhere near what previous expansion has for the AFL.

Oh and just a side point, they have got nothing like Sydney or SEQ covered - lol. Just plonking teams that no-one wants or watches doesn't mean they are covered.

Souths, Parramatta, Penrith, Easts and Cronulla are all far stronger than North Melbourne.
Wests Tigers have a dormant supporter base, perhaps the biggest in Australian sport.
And Manly has...well, Manly has the Union wasteland that is the North Shore and Northern Beaches.

Melbourne - Roosters
Carlton - Wests Tigers
Richmond - Penrith
Essendon - Parramatta
Collingwood - Souths
Hawthorn - Canterbury
North Melbourne - Manly
Geelong - Newcastle

They have weaker clubs just like us...Western Bulldogs, St Kilda and North Melbourne are all in decline. On the other hand, our weaker clubs are growing.

North Melbourne generated more revenue from football operations than all Sydney NRL clubs in 2021 and 2020.

North Melbourne Kangaroos20212020
Sales and Sponsorship
$10,802,529​
$7,554,494​
Membership
$5,488,318​
$5,829,169​
Gate Receipts
$1,411,947​
$160,000​
Merchandise
$456,014​
$498,070​
TOTAL
$18,158,808​
$14,041,733​

North Melbourne Kangaroos 2021 Annual Report PDF

LimeRick

Not only that, we've also got Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane 3 and NZ 2 as options so it's only up from here for broadcast and sponsorship dollars.

Tassie, Canberra and Perth 3 aren't pulling in anywhere near what previous expansion has for the AFL.

How is Brisbane 3 good for us, but Perth 3 bad for the AFL?

They're pretty much parallels. Almost the same city size (and growing closer), and both the second biggest markets for their respective sports.

Wb1234

They can deliver sweet deals that generates sht load of revenue, exactly what we should be doing! Vlandys can’t even get stadiums built let alone get good deals for the nrl.
Blah blah blah

did last weekend footy cause you a lot of grief?

I know a lot of afl fans would’ve seen that and realised their favourite sport is in trouble now

titoelcolombiano

How is Brisbane 3 good for us, but Perth 3 bad for the AFL?

They're pretty much parallels. Almost the same city size (and growing closer), and both the second biggest markets for their respective sports.
Agreed, they are pretty much the same thing. But Tassie and Canberra do not equal Perth, Adelaide and NZ2

The only realistic contenders for the 18th licence are the West Coast Pirates and Brisbane Firehawks. Ipswich Jets and North Sydney Bears are no chance. Jets don't have the money or widespread appeal across metropolitan Brisbane. Bears are not a wealthy club and have priced themselves out of the market.

Melbourne - Roosters
Carlton - Wests Tigers
Richmond - Penrith
Essendon - Parramatta
Collingwood - Souths
Hawthorn - Canterbury
North Melbourne - Manly
Geelong - Newcastle

By what metric?

north melbourne, one of their weakest clubs has (2022)
50k members
$50.5mill revenue ($23.2mill football operations revenue)
20k ish crowd avg (the biggest area of struggle for them compared to other melbourne afl clubs)

The reality is those figures would put them second biggest club in nrl only behind the broncos If they were in our comp.

Agreed, they are pretty much the same thing. But Tassie and Canberra do not equal Perth, Adelaide and NZ2
Perth, brisbane3 and to a lessor degree Adelaide are all big value ads to our tv rights from a location perspective, Nz2 much less so and akin to tassie for afl imo.

IF tassie get in afl then it’ll probably be canberra as club 20 I reckon. Perth could host a third club but I suspect dockers wouldn’t allow it, they’ve still got capacity to grow and won’t want another competitor stifling that.

as for tv value increasing, they just upped it from $416mill to $550mill plus without adding any extra teams.
Competition is what drives prices up big, not extra content which will be relatively minor, in region of $50mill a year I reckon.
skynz just upped their pay out by 55%, not due to extra content in nz but purely due to competition from spark.

AlwaysGreen

Cracking deal if you can get it! Point stands though, whilst we buy a $20mill asset they are buying a $500mill one, all be it for $200mill. Maybe if we had more revenue we could have offered to buy commbank for $200mill in a similar deal?
Sounds like idiocy to me. I can think of 3 stadiums built by state governments in the last 5 years, plus another 1 in the works for rectangular sport, specifically with rugby league as the major tenant in mind. Throw in lang park and Melbourne's stadium over the last 20 years . There are times when its better to rent than buy.

Who the hell is going to buy this so called asset of your beloved AFL?

Sounds like idiocy to me. I can think of 3 stadiums built by state governments in the last 5 years, plus another 1 in the works for rectangular sport, specifically with rugby league as the major tenant in mind. Throw in lang park and Melbourne's stadium over the last 20 years . There are times when its better to rent than buy.

I’m not surprised by that lol.
What Vic govt did with marvel is worth looking at for rectangular stadiums In Sydney and perth.
They didnt have to use tax payers money to build it and eventually it became a great asset for their main sport in the city to flourish off.
If Vlandys was doing his job working with nsw govt instead of publicly insulting them, and if the nrl had revenue that was close to afl, we could have seen nrl owning major stadiums and reaping the financial windfall that comes with it. Afl are purchasing an asset worth far more than the $200mill they paid for it and that will reap them heaps of profit from club rental and event usage. Massive win for them.

whose going to buy a major piece of land in prime city centre real estate area if afl ever decided to cash out? Really are you asking that question lol! You’re so dumb.

Wb1234

It’s already almost a quarter of a century old so probably more then half way through its life

when it needs a billion dollars for a rebuild the afl will have ruined its balance sheet … if gws or the gcs already haven’t done that