Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Double standard bro

maybe just delete that post about how well the afl do expansion it’s not helping you
If you dont think AFL has played a blinder in the outcomes of bringing in the 19th club then I cant help you.
New stadium
New CofE
$144mill funding for the club

we could only dream......

Wb1234

There money is in the bank.
Ratings SHOULD drive our PTV deal massively, but it hasnt yet. Like I keep saying next deal outcome will come down to competition, not content or ratings.
Unlike you I’m not overly fussed about the current situation

as long as we get enough money to keep expanding then the tv deals down the track could be double afl

their expansion has turned out poorly ours should add a lot of viewers

AlwaysGreen

This is how you do expansion to ensure the clubs successful on and off the field! Tassie AFL club 19 will get:

$700mill New stadium - Fed, State and Sport funded
$60mill CofE - State and sport funded
$12mill a year from state for 12 years
$33million to establish elite pathways sport funded
$93million to grow grassroots participation sport funded

We could only dream of having enough money and influence to be able to expand the NRl in that way!
That how you piss money up the kazoo.

At least they're expanding overseas.

MugaB

only an idiot would ignore the fact they are in the same time period

oh
But they aren't on the same level, one has 18 teams, nrl just started on 17 teams this season.. the content gap is wider, im sure the nrl will catch up, but your constant comparing these codes, is what is dysfunctional in all your arguments

MugaB

NRL has a golden opportunity, maybe a once only one, to get the WA Govt to offer some significant supports for a new club and the game more generally in WA. We can only hope they are going to play it right and realise that opportunity in the same way AFL has done so well in Tassie.
Hahahaha, turns the narritive into "promote perf"
Isn't there a nrl bid for a pacific team based in cairns that is pushing for ACTUAL govt funding for the whole team? Not some hope that the WA state govt might chip in for a new stand or local chook raffle

Wb1234

If abdo think giving a png nrl team the same finding he gave to tasmania is going to cut it he’s got another thing coming

albanese wants a png team for his own reasons I’m sure the arlc would rather that 250 million was invested in a Perth or nz2 nrl team

on top of funding png he needs to put in significant funds into new stadia in Penrith and Canberra

literally 250 million into a stadium which only gets 7 games is ridiculous and a major fop to afl

Canberra could have 3 tenants and at least Penrith will play all their home games there

im worried that yet again afl are getting another major leg up

can anyone imagine if leichardt oval was getting 250 million for 7 home games

Colk

If abdo think giving a png nrl team the same finding he gave to tasmania is going to cut it he’s got another thing coming

albanese wants a png team for his own reasons I’m sure the arlc would rather that 250 million was invested in a Perth or nz2 nrl team

on top of funding png he needs to put in significant funds into new stadia in Penrith and Canberra

literally 250 million into a stadium which only gets 7 games is ridiculous and a major fop to afl

Canberra could have 3 tenants and at least Penrith will play all their home games there

im worried that yet again afl are getting another major leg up

can anyone imagine if leichardt oval was getting 250 million for 7 home games

Canberra isn’t going to get a stadium mate.

Wb1234

So there you go, there’s your reason why there won’t be a ‘new’ stadium in Canberra and perhaps no NRL team there in the future.
I have faith in vlandys

nrl would never want to lose camberra the afl incursion into nsw would only get stronger and the gong would be facing pressure

Canberra is the front line in repelling them and they’ve done an excellent job

Vee

This is how you do expansion to ensure the clubs successful on and off the field! Tassie AFL club 19 will get:

$700mill New stadium - Fed, State and Sport funded
$60mill CofE - State and sport funded
$12mill a year from state for 12 years
$33million to establish elite pathways sport funded
$93million to grow grassroots participation sport funded

We could only dream of having enough money and influence to be able to expand the NRl in that way!
You forgot the $130M to upgrade Launceston.

Pneuma

You forgot the $130M to upgrade Launceston.
He is also utterly oblivious to the fact the fumblers have absolutely screwed over this State courtesy of a fumbling obsessed idiot who is premier. All opinion polls show we don’t want this deal even if we want a team. But this moron sitting in Perth knows everything apparently. The location of this ground is going to completely disrupt our pissy little cbd for years affecting access to our primary health centre. The ground will blow out in costs and take an eternity to complete. As for Albo supporting this. There must be something else going on as this proposal is exorbitant and unpopular.

taipan

deserve? strange word to use.
More like would they be viable without a certain level of Govt support, and if the answer is no, then no they shouldn't place a club here. Or anywhere else where a club isnt going to viable long term.

NRL has a golden opportunity, maybe a once only one, to get the WA Govt to offer some significant supports for a new club and the game more generally in WA. We can only hope they are going to play it right and realise that opportunity in the same way AFL has done so well in Tassie.
The only difference is whether we like it or not. Tasmania is AFL inclined despite it being a fumbling sport, WA is not rugby league inclined.That's the reason AFL has more push there than NRL does with Gov in WA.

But they aren't on the same level, one has 18 teams, nrl just started on 17 teams this season.. the content gap is wider, im sure the nrl will catch up, but your constant comparing these codes, is what is dysfunctional in all your arguments
The content gap is smaller this year, the tv revenue gap is larger. Go figure

The only difference is whether we like it or not. Tasmania is AFL inclined despite it being a fumbling sport, WA is not rugby league inclined.That's the reason AFL has more push there than NRL does with Gov in WA.
True which is why it is unrealistic to expect the same for a nrl club in perth as an afl club got in tassie. But that’s doesn’t mean the nrl shouldn’t be going as hard as possible to get as much as possible and be communicating what min would be to guarantee perth as next club in.