Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1st Test: New Zealand v India at Auckland Feb 6-10, 2014

JJ

No probs mate :lol:

But my opinion still stands I don't see much in him. Why is the big lefty who plays one dayers not considered??

I agree, but at the moment deserves to keep Bracewell out. Shouldn't be too long before either Milne or Henry has that spot...

If we can find an opening bat or two, we're looking really good.. at home I reckon we're in for a good period - that is you you tier 1 elistist folk see enough monetary value in playing us - tbh I would not be surprised to see little of Australia and India in the coming years, neither have ever been supportive of NZ cricket, unfortunately...

The good thing is, for those whio watch - the likes of Williamson, Taylor, McCullum, Anderson, Ryder, Boult, and Southee are all becoming world class, and will bring interest...

Meth

I definitely agree that Wagner is a big step down from Boult/Southee

vvvrulz

When is someone going to charge Kohli with dissent? That was a bit of a nothing incident, sure, just a jerk whinging...but he does it every single time and has been worse than that plenty of times.

He gets away with much worse, those who understand Hindi can work out just how foul mouthed he is and often directly at opponents.

Very good player but can't stand his attitude.

vvvrulz

I definitely agree that Wagner is a big step down from Boult/Southee

I'm one of the few Wagner fans, but I agree that once someone like Milne gets his chance then Wagner needs to step down.

But in the meanwhile I'm comfortable with him as the third seamer over McLenaghan and definitely over Bracewell.

There was a time we'd struggle to field even one world class seamer, at least we have a bowler capable of taking wickets at first change instead of someone like Franklin.

Timbo

I'm a big fan of Wagner, it's just that he never seems to get wickets. He always bowls good lines and beats the bat, just never seems to draw the edge.

If he gets a bit of luck he'll be a very good third seamer IMO.

African Monkey

No probs mate :lol:

But my opinion still stands I don't see much in him. Why is the big lefty who plays one dayers not considered??

Yeah mate you're right. He's a wannabe Mitchell Johnson tbh but nowhere near quick enough to be as intimidating as him, plus he sprays the ball everywhere. He got given a reputation by our stupid know-nothing media as some out and out quick yet he bowls at about Corey Anderson's pace.

McClenaghan would be the same as Wagner. They're whole-hearted tryers but don't bowl consistent enough lines for test match 3rd seamers imo. Matt Henry is definitely the man for the role if he could stay on the field for more than 2 minutes.

JJ

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11198206

I hd hoped Ryder had grown up - disappointing, but as with the English and Pieterson, perhaps it's time to "flush the dunny and move on"

Also the second time Bracewell has hurt himself on the eve of a game with alcohol involved...

What would have happened if Taylor's wife had gone into labour, and one of the quicks had hurt himself in warmu-ups? Ridiculous stuff, with Milne and Henry we have better prospects anyone, and Ryder is just a lost cause I think...

The most disturbing part of that artical was the

Do you know more about what Jesse Ryder and Doug Bracewell got up to on Thursday night?

Honestly would anyone really be that lame to dob them in???

JJ

Yeah, it's all pretty lame - but they're dicks, and I don't think they're worth the trouble any more

2 down already - God I hope Boult and Southee can stay on the park for years - aside from Steyn and Philander, I wouldn't swap them for any pair, and they're younger than the Effrikans

JJ

Kind of agreeing with Smith here, we certainly are playing well, but pretty gutless display from the Indians - guess we won't see them in a while, so be good to smash them :)

Iafeta

This approach from India reminds me of the 1980/81 West Indian tour. World class sides who don't want to be here, Kohlis petulence not as bad but reminiscent of Holding kicking over the stumps, Croft elbowing Fred Goodall, and Clive Lloyd refusing to come out after tea and then feeding Richard Hadlee a century. India aren't in this series

Iafeta

Zaheer simply didn't care. What a bunch of IPL flat track bully sooks. Tier one seems premature. Maybe they're tanking to get Zimbabwe and Bangladesh so they can boost their fickle batsmens averages.

Told you blokes how good Wagner was :sarcasm:

Great viewing this morning, but a gutless bunch of pea hearts these Indian merkins are.

Not enforcing the follow on good make these merkins suffer.

Yeah, it's all pretty lame - but they're dicks, and I don't think they're worth the trouble any more

2 down already - God I hope Boult and Southee can stay on the park for years - aside from Steyn and Philander, I wouldn't swap them for any pair, and they're younger than the Effrikans
I agree i don't blame the selectors if they flick the pair of them, absolutely idiotic but getting people to dob them in is something like the Telecrap would do.