Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2008 Footy Show Chat Thread

NK Arsenal

FMD

Fitzsimons - I'm a unionite and don't give a sh*t about RL

Gallop - I always have to repeat myself. The SANFL and WAFL were doing great before the AFL put teams over there.

But Dave did say a few things that got me excited - no more news ltd and independent commission! :D

Geohood

Lol Fitz let it rip early on... Voss wanted to knock him out.

Jennings looking every but Lady Luck's breasts was pretty funny. Everyone watching the vid would have been doing the opposite but I guess being interviewed by her made it a bit hard.

i didnt think it was too bad.

sterling is right. the game is boring. have you seen the sharks play! f**k me dead. the only reason i watch is because im a life long fan.
make the game a better one by tweaking the rules to promote passing the ball and appeal to more people by advertising through new media such as youtube..my space what ever.

the game and product could be marketed alot better and there for more money raised.

as for Fitzsimons.

he reckons that the salary cap is illegal...
but his agenda was clear. kill teh cap...12 of the 16 teams die..4 teams left with no league and there ya go.

union takes over.

interesting the whitlams being on. blow up the pokies. thatd kill about 5 clubs on the spot right now!

Shorty

Last night was good except one thing Voss said I didn't agree with.
He was trying to argue with Gallop about the plan the ban Sonny from RL...thinking that we shouldn't..
Like wtf,why not Voss?

I think the NRL needs to tell players that want to switch codes to f**k off and be done with it.
Make the choice a very serious one and don't make NRL a back up.

Sterlo had some good points,and the clowns usually silly idiots on the show were actually quite articulate last night and appear(like all us fans) sick of the game being underdone.

Freak2

I thought the show was quite good and I wish they would have this structure a lot more often.

The best comments come from Sterling in reference to the quality of the product and believe it or not Beavis who I thought made an extremely good point about restructuring the game to create more revenue. I'm not sure his suggestion was entirely correct but the mentality was spot on.

Personally I would love to see some immediate changes to ensure the speed of the game is improved and we must (as Sterlo suggested) promote ball movement.

In a Rugby League World Cup year has our product deteriated??
Let's learn by Rugby Unions mistake and make our WC exciting and hopefully generate the much needed additional revenue into our game!!

Best episode of the Footy Show in years. Good to see even Harragon and Johns saying something slightly controversial. Sterling was terrific and very honest. Fitzsimmons on the forum obviously didn't know what he was talking about, however he at least provoked discussion and varying arguments from the others.

Voss's interview with Gallop was very solid, anyone who thinks Gould would have gotten better answers or put more heat on are kidding themselves. He would have just done his usual agenda push. Voss asked tough questions, and didn't hold back at times which was needed.

People can subjectively bleat about certain panel members and their usefulness last night but it was certainly the right mix. Even if Fitz is a union wanker, having him there in some ways "kept the bastards honest", although he did blather a bit.

Russell Crowe's Band above has the right idea in terms of marketing and rule changes - new media is definitely the way to go, and they're still stuck in 2000's "new media" of email newsletters. Youtube/Myspace/Facebook (facebook they have done actually) is the way to get to some of the younger crowd... and even some of the older.

Finally, as Eels Dude said - Voss was the perfect fit to interview Gallop. Wasn't afraid to get him off side, but at the same time didn't go ape like Gould on Monday.

Crazy stuff but I think with more open forums like that one last night, not only can the Footy Show rate better, we might start getting some results on the field, in the stands on in the chequebooks of both the governing body and the clubs. And it's about time.

Sterling looked like he was going to cry.

We needed someone there that would give that idiot Fitzsimons a going over for his bullsh*t and all we got was "oooohhhhh, I don't like it now" from Sterlo.

Legend, my arse. Gibbo would have kicked you up the clacker for that effort you pissweak little gerbil Sterling.

Shorty

Voss's interview with Gallop was very solid, anyone who thinks Gould would have gotten better answers or put more heat on are kidding themselves. He would have just done his usual agenda push. Voss asked tough questions, and didn't hold back at times which was needed.
You're exactly right,Voss didn't sugar coat or even try to soften questions at all.
He was straight to the point and stopped Gallop trying to side step questions.
Gallop's good at that isn't he,side stepping answers...I don't think I've ever heard him say something straight out ever.

Tom Shines

Funnily enough TFS won its timeslot for the first time in about a hundred years last night.

Maybe if the content was more serious every week, people would tune in?

Message to Channel 9

ANDREW VOSS SHOULD HOST THE FOOTY SHOW!!!!

GET RID OF DALEY AND HARROGAN!!!!!

KiWi_BoI_15

Just watched a replay of the Footy Show, just when I was getting over this whole $BW saga, it shows the day he spent with those kids the day before he left. I couldnt stop thinking how heartbroken those kids were the next day they found out what he had done.

All i could think was, during that day $BW probably had his mind on what he has not yet packed in his suit case for his escape. Those kids must be guttered. Along with many others.