Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2010+11 Jerseys, Logos & Sponsors

100%green

I think he's he's referring to the having the numbers the same league-wide rather than the actual design of the numbers.

The company that does the numbers for the AFL tried with the NRL but some clubs in their own stupidity knocked it back. Had a logo on them and all.

have souths ever changed ttheir jerseys?
Multiple times, most recently in 2007 they added black and white side panels respectively for home and away jerseys. There was of course the Minties strip amongst others in 1980s and 1990's...

Nuke

What difference does it make whether all NRL teams have the same style of jersey numbers or not? Personally, I don't really care either way, but lean towards liking the individuality and relative freedom they currently have. I liked it a few years ago when Newcastle had their numbers in the Serpentine font.

It becomes a problem when two or three years ago the Tigers with x-Blades decided to add a little Tiger swipe in the corner of every number. It meant that 8's and 6's from memory looked almost identical, to the point where the NRL intervened IIRC. I like the big boldness of the 'Dogs and Broncos numbers, I believe a Nike styling? I do kinda wish they were standard across the board but it's probably just a bit too controlling.

macavity

582066.jpg

Knights 2010 away strip.

http://www.theherald.com.au/news/lo...f-trim-new-style-for-next-season/1626716.aspx

meh. looks like a training shirt.

Alex28

That away jersey is boring, however the good sign from that article is that we might adopt the original 1988 design as our home jersey from 2011...

Tunguska

That's probably one of the best looking jerseys I've ever seen. Jennings had one on the other week on the footy show (i think). I thought it looked fantastic.

Are you kidding? The new Panthers jersey pretty much sums up the swathe of average jerseys in the last 10 years. Its over-complicated and lacks tradition.

The advent of digital printing means average designers (who don't understand that in almost every case less is more) can whip together all the crap they want in Illustrator. Take the new heritage Titans jersey as case-in-point.

This is how the jerseys should be I reckon:

Brisbane
HOME: Plain maroon (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/86/Brisbane_Broncos_home_jersey_2002.svg)
AWAY: Original stripes with yellow (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a0/Brisbane_Broncos_home_jersey_1988.svg)

Canterbury
HOME: Blue and white V (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c7/Canterbury_home_jersey_1966.svg)
AWAY: Blue and white bands (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Canterbury_home_jersey_1969.svg)
HERITAGE: Butcher stripes

Canberra
HOME: Original green and white (no blue) (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fe/Canberra_Raiders_home_jersey_1982.svg)
AWAY: Inverse, but with no blue (this is close http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/07/Canberra_Raiders_away_jersey_2006.svg)

Cronulla
HOME: Current, near perfect
AWAY: Original V (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Cronulla_home_jersey_1970.svg)

Gold Coast
HOME: Similar to now, but not with those stupid printed swords theyre having next year
AWAY: Same as now, no swords

Manly
HOME: Original maroon with white midsection
AWAY: White with a few thin maroon bands and maroon shorts

Melbourne
HOME: Original gold, purple and blue WITH NO LIGHTNING BOLTS
AWAY: I'd like to see an Essendon-style single-band to stick it up AFL

Actually, stuff it, cant be bothered doin the rest

BrisVegas

I definitely agree with the "less is more" adage, although I'm not opposed to clubs being more experimental with their alternate strips.

I find integration of sponsorship into the jersey design a greater concern. Some clubs have it spot on (Gold Coast, Parramatta, NQLD, NZ) while others are shocking (Brisbane, Melbourne).

I'm a fan of the designs done by the Jersey enthusiast over at Gazzzaf Design ( www.gazzzaf.com ).

I'd be thrilled if the Broncos moved to something similar to this mocked up design:

broncosalternate.jpg

Lockyer4President!

I definitely agree with the "less is more" adage, although I'm not opposed to clubs being more experimental with their alternate strips.

I find integration of sponsorship into the jersey design a greater concern. Some clubs have it spot on (Gold Coast, Parramatta, NQLD, NZ) while others are shocking (Brisbane, Melbourne).

I'm a fan of the designs done by the Jersey enthusiast over at Gazzzaf Design ( www.gazzzaf.com ).

I'd be thrilled if the Broncos moved to something similar to this mocked up design:

broncosalternate.jpg

Agreed. I'd love it if they changed their primary sponsor to NRMA and integrated it into the main jersey like they do on the shorts

lg_broncos09%20players%20shorts%20-%20home.jpg

Nuke

That article macavity posted said:
Manufactured by KooGa, the predominantly white jumpers will feature blue and red panels on the shoulders and a prominent Knights watermark motif on the front.
Hmm, a 'prominent Knights watermark motif on the front' concerns me. It's unneccessary. Simple is best (as seems to be the theme from posters in this thread). The new Gold Coast jerseys from next year have a watermarked pattern on the front of their jerseys, and personally speaking, I think it looks kinda silly. That being said, theirs is of the swords in the Titans logo, done so that it looks like a peacock's tail, so maybe it's just the way they designed it and not the fact that it's there.

I do like the Knights training shirt from 2004 (?) which had was a mostly blue t-shirt but had a big Knights helmet emblem kinda watermarked on the front and back. That looked good, however it was only a training shirt. I'm not so keen on it being on the playing jersey.

I am also actually a fan of the silver being the main alternative colour. It's unique in the NRL (especially now given the NZ Warriors have ditched silver from their colours), and is not a random colour for a club from the 'steel city' (or with players formerly known as 'men of steel' ... I haven't heard that nickname for a few years).

Those shorts in that pic macavity posted don't do a lot for me though. Through the years, I don't think there has been one alternative kit's shorts I have liked though. Again, the silver ones from the past couple of years would be my favourite of all the alternative shorts we've had.