Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2012 Junior Reps Harold Matthews & SG Ball

Scorcher

Cherrington played his first junior reps with the Chooks in Matt's and has been with Balmain since, Moses left Parra after Matts also. Parra didn't allow him to be the player he is at Balmain (restrictions), at the end of the day every SG Ball team would have out of district kids in their squads but Balmain is mostly local juniors with a few kids who have been with Balmain for a couple of years. Anyway who cares we are undefeated and have a great chance of winning this comp.

half_back

so in sg ball, balmain and manly are unbeaten but play each other this weekend, souths and penrith have both just lost one game, then canberra are 5th.

who have been the good players for each team?

The best for Manly have been trobejvic, gutherson, Goodall and Natoli.

All said and done though despite trobejvic not playing tigers were easily the better team. Mitchell Moses was the difference. Playing much more composed than when at Parra. Don't know about the "restrictions" at Parra he seems far more conservative now, picking his moments rather than try the audacious all or nothing play like he did every possession at Parra.

Tucantango

The best for Manly have been trobejvic, gutherson, Goodall and Natoli.

All said and done though despite trobejvic not playing tigers were easily the better team. Mitchell Moses was the difference. Playing much more composed than when at Parra. Don't know about the "restrictions" at Parra he seems far more conservative now, picking his moments rather than try the audacious all or nothing play like he did every possession at Parra.

Half_Back,

You grace us with your presence!

I agree with your sentiments about Moses, however I would add that Moses has really matured as a player since lasts year's ASSRL championship where he was instrumental in guiding NSWCCC to a long awaited title.

His selection in the Australian Schoolboys has seen him transcend to another level!

Regards,
Tuc

P.S: would love to hear your thoughts on the NSW U18's. You're usually on the money when it comes to selections!

ranga

Cherrington played his first junior reps with the Chooks in Matt's and has been with Balmain since, Moses left Parra after Matts also. Parra didn't allow him to be the player he is at Balmain (restrictions), at the end of the day every SG Ball team would have out of district kids in their squads but Balmain is mostly local juniors with a few kids who have been with Balmain for a couple of years. Anyway who cares we are undefeated and have a great chance of winning this comp.
no one cares, I was saying they are not locals or is Simona ,he played for StClair in Penrith ,good luck to them and your team ,I hopr they live up to your expectations

half_back

Half_Back,

You grace us with your presence!

I agree with your sentiments about Moses, however I would add that Moses has really matured as a player since lasts year's ASSRL championship where he was instrumental in guiding NSWCCC to a long awaited title.

His selection in the Australian Schoolboys has seen him transcend to another level!

Regards,
Tuc

P.S: would love to hear your thoughts on the NSW U18's. You're usually on the money when it comes to selections!

Hey Tuc,

Here is one I posted on th other thread about 4 weeks ago

Under 18s possible side

1. Clinton Gutherson - Manly
2. Brenko Lee - Canberra
3. Tyrone Phillips - Souths
4. Halauafu Lavaka - Penrith
5. Richard Kennar - Melbourne
6. Mitchell Moses - Balmain
7. Christian Hazard - Souths
8. Jake Trbojevic - Manly
9. Fabian Natoli - Manly
10. Frazer Masinamua - Parra
11. Jake Lawrence - Newcastle
12. Kelepi Tanginoa - Parra
13. Bryce Cartwright - Penrith

14. Euan Aitken -Illawarra
15. Pauli Pauli - Parra
16. Fabian Goodall - Manly
17. Mania Cherington - Balmain

With dogs strong finish, and you being a man in the know there maybe a suggestion or 2?? I didn't see much of them. Mammary I hear has been strong, probably a FR short in my team so possibly. From what I hear it's the dogs 17s who have carried them through the latter half

s1ng0709

As long as big guns like the panthers, dogs, knights or eels are still around both comps are still very wide open, Come semi final time these teams are known to step up! Good to see some underdogs leading the way but i would not be suprised if any of these 4 finish on top on Grand Final day.

half_back

As long as big guns like the panthers, dogs, knights or eels are still around both comps are still very wide open, Come semi final time these teams are known to step up! Good to see some underdogs leading the way but i would not be suprised if any of these 4 finish on top on Grand Final day.

Parra and Newcastle both out of SG ball semi finals.

Tucantango

Hey Tuc,

Here is one I posted on th other thread about 4 weeks ago

Under 18s possible side

1. Clinton Gutherson - Manly
2. Brenko Lee - Canberra
3. Tyrone Phillips - Souths
4. Halauafu Lavaka - Penrith
5. Richard Kennar - Melbourne
6. Mitchell Moses - Balmain
7. Christian Hazard - Souths
8. Jake Trbojevic - Manly
9. Fabian Natoli - Manly
10. Frazer Masinamua - Parra
11. Jake Lawrence - Newcastle
12. Kelepi Tanginoa - Parra
13. Bryce Cartwright - Penrith

14. Euan Aitken -Illawarra
15. Pauli Pauli - Parra
16. Fabian Goodall - Manly
17. Mania Cherington - Balmain

With dogs strong finish, and you being a man in the know there maybe a suggestion or 2?? I didn't see much of them. Mammary I hear has been strong, probably a FR short in my team so possibly. From what I hear it's the dogs 17s who have carried them through the latter half

HB,

Mine appear below:

3. Halauafu Lavaka (Penrith SG Ball) ????????
4. Tyrone Philips (Souths SG Ball)
6. Guston Jasmine (Bulldogs SG Ball)???????
7. Mitchell Moses (Balmain SG Ball)
8. Pauli Pauli (Parra U/20's)
9. Fabian Natoli (Manly SG Ball)
10. Fabian Goodall (Manly SG Ball)
11. Kelepi Tanginoa (Parra U/20's)
12. Daniel Fualalo (Bulldogs U/20's)
13. Bryce Cartwright (Panthers SG Ball)

14. Frazier Masinamua (Parra U/20's)
15. Jake Trbojevic (Manly SG Ball)
16. Salesi Funaki (Balmain SG Ball)/Mitchell Mamary (Bulldogs SG Ball)
17. Utility Back/Forward (most probably a token CRL player, perhaps Aicken but he is still an U/17).

HB,

You're right about Mamary, he is a human cannonball. He really tore into Penrith today and has been in good form all year. He cam also off-load. However for me it's a toss up between him, Funaki and Trbojevic for the two bench spots. Gus Jasmine for me might be a smokey, so I have picked him as such.

Mate I am still undecided about the centres and wingers though. Like you my money was certainly on Lavaka at the beginning of the season. In fact his trial form indicated as much. However in the three games I have watched him play this year he has not impressed me very much. The Dogs shut both him, Cartwright and Zelezniak fairly well today!

With respect to the 17's carrying the Dogs this year, your not far off the truth. They have been going well under the leadership of Jasmine and I expect them to come into their element next year!

I agree with your selection on Brenko Lee however he played for the QLD U/16's last year so he might find his way into the QLD U/18's. It is my understanding that the Broncos passes this kid up, and it now seems that their loss might be the Raiders gain. He has really developed into something special over the last 12-18 months.

The same can be said for his team mate Milford (i.e. fellow cane toad). I am still trying to ascertain whether this kid shares the same blood-lines as the two Milford brothers that played for the Tigers in the mid-90's. They were both Samoan speedsters as well.

I will name the others after the finals!

Regards,
Tuc.

KAB

Well, what a season for the Central Coast boys. In the Matts, they finished the season with a win over Canberra. That gave them 5wins (Sharks, Norths, Dogs, Manly and Canberra) 4 Losses (Souths, Parra, Knights and Tigers). 7 of those teams had the bye and 4 of them are in the finals. Yes the what a tough draw. They can hold the head high.
Back to the games
They went to the break at 10 all but with some serious go forward and aggresive play.All the boys stood up today. It was great to see. standout performances Mitch Connor week in week out this kid plays above size. 2 or 3 damaging go runs a set. He is something special. The Canberra team ended up going to a 12 point lead, within 5mins inthe second half. But to the credit of the CC fought back to win 34 - 24.
It was good way to finish the season. Well done to all concerned.
If you would like to see how imports are the differences in sides you just have to look no further than Canberra's Ball team. They gave CC a touch up 70 zip.

Good luck to all the sides in the Semi's.

s1ng0709

Parra and Newcastle both out of SG ball semi finals.

Obviously mate! I was just talkin abt the 4 teams in general whether it be ball or matthews. If they're in the semi's whether they're 8th or 1st history shows they turn up when it counts most!

Scorcher

Some good match ups in the SG Ball Quarter Finals

Balmain 1 v Canberra 4
Souths 2 v Manly 3
Penrith 5 v Cronulla 8
Bulldogs 6 v Roosters 7

Balmain were very impressive against Manly and Canberra smashed the CCoast, Balmain have a couple of players returning and are on a high after knocking off Manly, haven't seen a lot of Canberra but I think the Tigers will get away with this one.
Souths V Manly will be a close one but am leaning towards the Rabbits here with no confidence. Manly played well against Balmain but lacked that killer punch when needed.
Penrith v Cronulla will be close, watched the Panthers v Dogs yesterday and the Panthers lacked enterprise in attack, Cronulla are a bit up and down form wise but if they play well could cause an upset here.
Dogs v Roosters again a close one here, the Dogs lifted when they needed to against the Panthers and the Roosters have been big improvers, chooks in a close one.

Scorcher

HB,

Mine appear below:

17. Utility Back/Forward (most probably a token CRL player, perhaps Aicken but he is still an U/17).

Tuc, Not seeing all teams play it is a bit hard to pick kids with the "unknown" but I haven't really seen a good solid winger running around in the Ball. Both of the Fullback's played well in the Manly Balmain games so have added these 2 to the squad. Gutherson played well and Mason Farrel was very good for the Tigers positioning himself well, taking some good high balls and impressive kick returns. If their form keeps up in the Semi's then I think they should both be there.

1/2. Mason Farrell (Balmain SG Ball)
1/2. Clinton Gutherson (Manly SG Ball)

magpie4ever

Harold Matts QFs

1. Souths v 4. Parramatta
2. Penrith v 3. Balmain
5. Newcastle v 8. Canterbury
6. Wests v 7. Saints

Some great match ups. Selections, anyone.

Regards,

mal12

Tuc, Not seeing all teams play it is a bit hard to pick kids with the "unknown" but I haven't really seen a good solid winger running around in the Ball. Both of the Fullback's played well in the Manly Balmain games so have added these 2 to the squad. Gutherson played well and Mason Farrel was very good for the Tigers positioning himself well, taking some good high balls and impressive kick returns. If their form keeps up in the Semi's then I think they should both be there.

1/2. Mason Farrell (Balmain SG Ball)
1/2. Clinton Gutherson (Manly SG Ball)

mal12

Jake Trbojevic has been standout prop, Fabian Goodall is a second rower only saw him play a few times a bit lazy defensivley but a steam roller when he wants too. Trbojevic is a 70 min prop who didnt play against balmain and was missed big time

magpie4ever

Can anyone tell me whether Fabian Natoli is the result of a
illegitimate coupling of Johnny Gibbs and Geoff Toovey? :lol:

Tucantango

C'mon people help me out here with the NSW 'Centres' and 'Wingers! To help the selection along I have named those who have been selected in the 'Team of the Week' that have been released so far. This is the first number after their name and team. Their names appear in ranking (and then) alphabetical order. The next number indicates the tries scored by this individual.

I know that ‘Team of the Week’ is not the best indicator in the world but it helps! If you feel I have left someone out please put them forward, and please support why you are doing so (e.g., the tries they have scored etc).

Full Backs
Clinton Gutherson Manly 3 4
Jono Kent Canberra 2 2
D Watene Zelezniak Penrith 2 9
Mason Farrell Balmain 1 4
Alex Johnson Souths 1 5
Steve Widders Newcastle 1 7

Centres
Taane Milne Roosters 4 2
Michael Morgan Bulldogs 2 4
Bryce O’sullivan Canberra 2 2
Isaah Yeo Penrith 2 2
Brent Anderson St George 1 2
Rhys Armstrong Balmain 1
Dwayne Booth St George 1 6
Aaron Gray Souths 1
Leva Li Balmain 1 2
Jake Mamo Newcastle 1 5
Nathan Milone Balmain 1 1
Anthony Moriatis Cronulla 1 2
Allan Nuilesa Bulldogs 1 1
Nick Paul Manly 1 8
Tyrone Phillips Souths 1 4
Luke Turner WA 1 2

Wingers
Tim Marsh Newcastle 4 1
Finlay Dibley Cronulla 3 7
Maile Li Balmain 2
James Ballengarry CC 1 1
Jack Beadman St George 1
Corey Drew CC 1 1
Luke Gosling Manly 1 4
Paul Marowsky WSAS 1
Taniela Siale St George 1 2
Paul Simona Balmain 1 2
Suliasi Suli Parramatta 1 4

I will note that a speedy finisher for Balmain, Max Dimarco, has not been mentioned in a ‘Team of the Week’ however he has scored 9 tries so I naturally must assume that he is a great finisher and should be included in the mix!

I might add that I would also throw Shannon Crook in for the 5/8 position with Jasmine.

I have not added this week’s tries; and please correct any mistakes I may have made. And before anyone offers criticism please remember the above is a guide.

Regards,
Tuc

magpie4ever

Hi Tuc,

To pick the U18s and U16s NSW sides in any realistic terms you would need to watch every video of every game to get an overview of the games and lets' face it the videos are pretty average . At least that what's I see on the NSWRL site (try highlights).

I have no idea how the selectors do it, maybe an official at every game taking notes on all players.

So really, most people on this site will be pushing their own barrow for their son or team.

That said, from what I have heard or seen Gutherson (Manly) and Zelezniak (Penrith) would be in the mix for the U18s - fullback or winger.

The 'Team of the Week" leave me out of that - how in the hell they put that together is beyond me.

Regards,