Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 contract situations

Noname36

Apparently DCE has been contacting some of our off contract players and telling them to join the Titans next year. One is obviously Gagai but Gidley said there were a few.

My guess Gagai told Gids and if that is the case it bodes well for us retaining him. He has nothing to gain by hiding it. I reckon the way to keep him is offer him the 6 jumper. The Titans are a disgrace and a nothing club. Utter debt riddled garbage. The fact they can spit in other clubs faces shows this. DCE seems like a little two faced arsehole. We should smoke them this weekend.

Burwood

I don't see any problem with it. I find it unusual that DCE is apparently doing it without the knowledge of the Titans, but Gagai is an off-contract player who can negotiate with whoever he pleases. If Gagai was contracted to 2016 and they were enticing him to break contract it would be an illegal tactic, but as it is there is nothing untoward happening.

Noname36

I don't have an issue with DCE having a chat with Gagai about joining the Titans. That sort of stuff happens all the time.

My issue is the reveal from Gidley that other players of ours have been approached. That takes it from a chat between mates to a recruitment effort from a guy still under contract to another club.

I actually agree that Gids knowing that Gags is being approached by DCE bodes pretty well for us. Gags must have told him, which means he's at least being very transparent with us.

I'll wish Gags well no matter what he chooses here, to be honest. Unlike some other high profile player movements thus far this year, he's keeping it to himself and acting pretty professionally as far as I can see. Hopefully he stays, we should have a very competitive offer, and I can't imagine why he'd leave with us playing a style of football he's not really going to get elsewhere. We've also got a few aces in the hole with Alex being closeby and Hages QLD connection. I don't think retaining him is as hopeless as some might think. I don't think we'll find out more on Gags until Origin to be honest - he'll be a fair crack of making the QLD team this year if he keeps his form up... and that will do wonders for his asking price.

League_God

I actually agree that Gids knowing that Gags is being approached by DCE bodes pretty well for us. Gags must have told him, which means he's at least being very transparent with us.

I'll wish Gags well no matter what he chooses here, to be honest. Unlike some other high profile player movements thus far this year, he's keeping it to himself and acting pretty professionally as far as I can see. Hopefully he stays, we should have a very competitive offer, and I can't imagine why he'd leave with us playing a style of football he's not really going to get elsewhere. We've also got a few aces in the hole with Alex being closeby and Hages QLD connection. I don't think retaining him is as hopeless as some might think. I don't think we'll find out more on Gags until Origin to be honest - he'll be a fair crack of making the QLD team this year if he keeps his form up... and that will do wonders for his asking price.

This.
Also, i've heard nothing but good things about him. Apparently, very down to earth guy who doesn't think of himself as better than others merely because he's good at playing footy.

I hope he stays simply because I truly believe he is comfortably one of the best centres in the world and should be playing for aus. Still only a kid too.

Jono078

Maybe it's just me, but I feel a lot here are overating Gagai A LOT.

It was only last year he was one of the worst defenders in the comp, worse than Carmont in his rookie years..

And we have a guy names Sione who will fill his spot for the next 15 years.

Jono that is why they have off seasons mate. Class players learn from their mistakes. Gags' defence this year and Aku's have been excellent. In actuality most tries we concede are in the middle At present. Last season means nothing. Dane is all talent. His 2013 was brilliant.

Noname36

I do rate Gagai but I don't think we'll miss him too much providing Sione is still capable of setting up Aku.

Swarzey

This.
Also, i've heard nothing but good things about him. Apparently, very down to earth guy who doesn't think of himself as better than others merely because he's good at playing footy.

I hope he stays simply because I truly believe he is comfortably one of the best centres in the world and should be playing for aus. Still only a kid too.

Yep, same here. Very respectful, feet on the ground. If It were anyone else, they would have signed by now but I get the feeling it isn't an easy option for him, regardless of where he goes. Leaving the club would suck, I believe, for everyone. The team, the fans and even himself if he finds consistent form under Stone.

I think we have a fair chance of retaining him. I believe he's fairly settled in Newcastle, right? Wanted to move his parents down but it seems they don't want to leave. He's still young, I don't blame him for having any feeling of home sickness especially after his brother went back. I do hope that the culture at the club and a well deserved boost in the contract is enough but I'm not exactly going to be too dirty. He's handled this like a champ and kept it away from the eyes of the public.

Last year is nothing but a stain that we all need to forget. His form, what he did wrong and what anyone did wrong means little to me. A year prior he was excellent and I have little doubt he's going to find it again. Roberts, defensively, had a shocker of the year, but he's been excellent thus far.

I agree we have to cap our offer to Dane and not get into a bidding war. I feel we have matured a little with recruitment and Hages is proving a lot better at it than I believed he would be. It seems he handled the Mata'utai's contract debacle well in the end. He will learn from it and to be fair he walked into it late. Midley was a little slack there.

Nuffy

Toohey suggested today in Tele that the knights have offered Dane a two year deal of 1.15M.

He suggested that the club believes there's nothing more they can do.

We will see, but 575k per year is pretty sweet for bloke who hasn't played origin...... YET.

Noname36

I think it's win/win.

Either we keep him or we force Brisbane (or maybe the Tits) to pay overs for him.

Well played Knights.