Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch part II

73,000 for Sydney fc vs tottenham a few days before. And tottenham are a nothing club. 95k for liverpool at mcg two years ago. 83k at anz for Man Utd in the same year. juventus got 60-70k too last year.

In July Real madrid, man city, roma, liverpool will all draw massive crowds when they play here. Deal with it, its a big deal when the major clubs tour. NRL clubs could only dream of something similar.

If the major clubs had a mini tournament during their offseason here, they'd dwarf nrl/afl crowds.

As for the guy claiming Chelseas support is crap... they are the 4th-5th most liked sports team in world sport on facebook at over 40m. Their brand is bigger than arsenal, who you were clearly referring to.

Tv ratings were diabolical. No wonder the Chelsea game was put on 7 Mate.

Off course they would but it's a novelty thing, it's not in any way a reflection of the support levels that Soccer has in Australia at a local level.

It's meaningless in the context of NRL crowds.

I agree. Just like the 8,000 that turned up to Suncorp Stadium last night to watch some great Spanish soccer team play the Brisbane Rear.

Danish

Soo is once a year, I bet they weren't logging off premium tickets for $50 for the soccer game, and it was a meaningless friendly. It's a good example of how people will turn out and pay good money if it is an event not just a run of the mill weekly game. NRL super hyped Friday and Sunday game every week at Allianz and ANZ that is a must do weekend event in Sydney every week would help get the 30k plus crowds nrl games should be getting.

They had a bronze category "2 for $100" deal for origin. Not premium tickets you ponce. It was a $20 saving per ticket.

Cat 1 tickets for the Chelsea game were half the price of cat 1 for origin ($200 vs $380), and they only had 4 classes instead of the 5 SOO has (diamond, platinum, gold, silver, bronze)

Origin would have literally made twice as much money as the Chelsea game

SLRBRONCOS

They had a bronze category "2 for $100" deal for origin. Not premium tickets you ponce. It was a $20 saving per ticket.

Cat 1 tickets for the Chelsea game were half the price of cat 1 for origin ($200 vs $380), and they only had 4 classes instead of the 5 SOO has (diamond, platinum, gold, silver, bronze)

Origin would have literally made twice as much money as the Chelsea game

You are false here mate.

Several thousands of $50 tickets were sold in the PLATINUM ($220) GOLD ($180) AND SILVER bays.

I for one got silver. Many others got tix in 104, a bay NEXT to DIAMOND.

So some people had a saving of $180.

betcats

Soccer fills up a stadium and they are all "bandwagon" fans lol u realise how insecure that sounds.

UNION TROLL

So if your not the biggest supported in London (one of the biggest cities in the world) your not big?
Where did I say that? I said Chelsea aren't the biggest club in London.

Just to let you know, Chelsea has a slightly bigger brand recognition worldwide than the Wests Tigers or Sydney Roosters.
Could that be that Soccer is the #1 game on the planet?

All the bandwagon supporters that jumped on them in the last decade would be out in force.
Band Wagon supporters? When do they become just "supporters"?

betcats

Band Wagon supporters? When do they become just "supporters"?

It is so silly. A ticket sold is a ticket sold no matter if it is a day long fan or a lifelong fan.

Also bandwagon fans are exactly the type of fans you are targeting with an exhibition game like that, you are trying to sell the game to them to turn them from 'bandwagon fans' to just fans. If NRL crowds ever start increasing seriously it will be off the back of bandwagon fans.

Canard

It is so silly. A ticket sold is a ticket sold no matter if it is a day long fan or a lifelong fan.

Also bandwagon fans are exactly the type of fans you are targeting with an exhibition game like that, you are trying to sell the game to them to turn them from 'bandwagon fans' to just fans. If NRL crowds ever start increasing seriously it will be off the back of bandwagon fans.

Mate I'm not talking about the Fans that turned up to the game. I'm talking about Chelsea fans. You couldn't find a Chelsea top in Australia in the 90s.

Not to mention your dickhead mate above bagged Chelsea claiming they were small time.

When I pointed out that he is geniused to claim that, he suddenly changed his tune, and started defending them.

It's amazing that people think in 2015 that people don't know about the English soccer or American Football.

Do people think that every one who posts on here is from Mt Druitt and they are they educated upper middle class that need to educate us poor bogans.

betcats

Mate I'm not talking about the Fans that turned up to the game. I'm talking about Chelsea fans. You couldn't find a Chelsea top in Australia in the 90s.

Not to mention your dickhead mate above bagged Chelsea claiming they were small time.

When I pointed out that he is geniused to claim that, he suddenly changed his tune, and started defending them.

It's amazing that people think in 2015 that people don't know about the English soccer or American Football.

Do people think that every one who posts on here is from Mt Druitt and they are they educated upper middle class that need to educate us poor bogans.

I wasn't just referring to you, there are a couple of blokes talking about bandwagon fans like it means something in regards to the crowd numbers at an exhibition game :crazy:. They had 10k to watch them train and 83k to watch them play...I doubt Chelsea or the FFA give two shits about what type of fans they were/ it was a roaring success the FFA and state governments have shown they will continue to push for big clubs to come out here which will only have a positive impact on soccers overall support in the country.

SLRBRONCOS

Yeah well I scalped my Liverpool v Roar tickets. Was awesome. Got some mad oriental dollars from some pals at Sunnybank. Best. Liverpool. "Fans". Ever.

Canard

I wasn't just referring to you, there are a couple of blokes talking about bandwagon fans like it means something in regards to the crowd numbers at an exhibition game :crazy:. They had 10k to watch them train and 83k to watch them play...I doubt Chelsea or the FFA give two shits about what type of fans they were/ it was a roaring success the FFA and state governments have shown they will continue to push for big clubs to come out here which will only have a positive impact on soccers overall support in the country.

But is hardly like the NRL should cower in fear, and that the A-League is taking over.

If anything it shows that Australia has an appetite for sport.

The bignoting and bragging by some Soccer fans is embarrassing.

betcats

But is hardly like the NRL should cower in fear, and that the A-League is taking over.

IMO the opposite we see from footy fans is just as bad if not worse. The NRL shouldn't be cowering but they should definitely take notice, 150k is a few days is huge considering we still have clubs like Real Madrid to come. Chelsea's training just outdrew two top 8 sides playing each other and their game outdrew RLs biggest showpiece and 'pinnacle' in Sydney, if the NRL isn't paying attention they are pretty silly. ANd for those saying its a one off, EPL teams will play in Sydney more times than the blues this year.

Canard

IMO the opposite we see from footy fans is just as bad if not worse. The NRL shouldn't be cowering but they should definitely take notice, 150k is a few days is huge considering we still have clubs like Real Madrid to come. Chelsea's training just outdrew two top 8 sides playing each other and their game outdrew RLs biggest showpiece and 'pinnacle' in Sydney, if the NRL isn't paying attention they are pretty silly. ANd for those saying its a one off, EPL teams will play in Sydney more times than the blues this year.

So whats your point? They should play Origin in Sydney 6 times this year??To claim that they outdrew Origin when the difference in crowd numbers was insignificant is also being deliberately deceiving to make a point.

Your coming across like the NRL is the big bully and Soccer the little hard done by kid, when its totally the opposite scenario.

What sort of "notice" do you suggest the NRL take? Start playing soccer and recruit Jose Mourinho to coach the Blues??

The NRL is a minor sport on the world scale with limited funds and budget, yes more can be done with ticket pricing and fan engagement, but you can't benchmark yourself against a one off travelling circus.

betcats

So whats your point? They should play Origin in Sydney 6 times this year??To claim that they outdrew Origin when the difference in crowd numbers was insignificant is also being deliberately deceiving to make a point.

Your coming across like the NRL is the big bully and Soccer the little hard done by kid, when its totally the opposite scenario.

What sort of "notice" do you suggest the NRL take? Start playing soccer and recruit Jose Mourinho to coach the Blues??

The NRL is a minor sport on the world scale with limited funds and budget, yes more can be done with ticket pricing and fan engagement, but you can't benchmark yourself against a one off travelling circus.

They should take notice that A league crowds are not completely indicative of the overall support soccer has in this country. Soccer is growing and the NRL/clubs need to get it together and start to grow aswell because right now the NRL doesn't need to worry but in 20 years who knows? NRL continually shoots itself in the foot, meanwhile soccer is has had some big wins with the Asian champions league, Asian cup and some huge visits from euro clubs. The biggest NRL story has been the DCE drama. I am being a bit pessimistic but sometimes I worry RL is far to complacent.

cleary89

73,000 for Sydney fc vs tottenham a few days before. And tottenham are a nothing club. 95k for liverpool at mcg two years ago. 83k at anz for Man Utd in the same year. juventus got 60-70k too last year.

In July Real madrid, man city, roma, liverpool will all draw massive crowds when they play here. Deal with it, its a big deal when the major clubs tour. NRL clubs could only dream of something similar.

If the major clubs had a mini tournament during their offseason here, they'd dwarf nrl/afl crowds.

As for the guy claiming Chelseas support is crap... they are the 4th-5th most liked sports team in world sport on facebook at over 40m. Their brand is bigger than arsenal, who you were clearly referring to.

so all the a league has to do to get big is get the biggest european soccer teams to play in the a league? sounds like a plan.

undertaker

You couldn't find a Chelsea top in Australia in the 90s.

But you could find these awful ones:sick:

graham_arnold_1993_19jmnab-19jmnee.jpg

undertaker

A league is played in summer, so no matter how big it gets, its only competitor will be Australia's national sport.

This.

If the A-League were to revert back to it's winter structure (like the NSL was pre-1990) and go head-to-head with NRL/AFL/Super Rugby, the A-League's tv ratings would easily be last and crowds would be at least half of what they are now.

franklin2323

Spot on. A League draws 84k in a round the fans that went know about the competition yet don't care for it. Chelsea coming here doesn't change that