Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

Stallion

Shouldn’t you be teaching mate?

Not that I have to answer to you. But as a relief teacher the first week or so of a term is reasonably quiet. Seeing as you a care so much, I'm teaching a year five class this Thursday and Friday. I may be called up for Wednesday. Not sure. I play it by ear. And should you be working?

I’m not the only who doesn’t believe the crowd figures
I’m not the only one who is completely turned off watching games there.

It looks atrocious on TV and at the ground.

Give me a full suburban ground any day.
I bet I know what the players prefer too.

Well you won't get that at Cronulla

Clifferd

Not that I have to answer to you. But as a relief teacher the first week or so of a term is reasonably quiet. Seeing as you a care so much, I'm teaching a year five class this Thursday and Friday. I may be called up for Wednesday. Not sure. I play it by ear. And should you be working?

f**k me it pays to be a teacher lol. 12 weeks annual holiday, 9-3 mon-fri doing bugger all really yet probably get paid more than most of the work force

Finished night shift at 6, thanks for your concern though ;)

Lol. NRL Facebook does not attract other/extra new fans. The neutrals have no idea of what is going on! The AFL have the added advantage of universal acceptance in all schooling (Public and private -elite included ) This gives that code relevance to all demographics moreso than rugby league which is confined to mostly a lower socioeconomic demographic. Granted there are people whom are attracted to the game from different demographics but not as much as compared to Aust rules. Another factor peculiar to Sydney is that it is not an easy city to travel around. I note most of the stadiums on Melbourne have a train line servicing them. This is not so for most Sydney football venues.
"Most of the stadiums on Melbourne" f**k me that's some awful attempts at English. I feel for your students.

For reference, there are only two stadiums used for top-grade AFL in Melbourne, one on the western edge of the CBD, the other a very short downhill walk to the south-east of the CBD. Both are serviced by major transport interchange stations and trams close enough to the door.

By contrast, the two major stadia in Sydney are some 12-15km apart, the one near the CBD is an uphill walk away from major transport (hopefully the new tram will fix that if it ever opens?). The other is a 15-20 minute train ride across town. It's not easy to get to. That hampers attendance culture.

As for the rest of your demographics rubbish - it's rubbish. You're talking out of your arse.

Pommy

Just to nip it in the bud. I have been a respondent to people whom have looked up.my profile. You will find that others have referred to my occupation and I merely have responded appropriately. Definitely not talking myself up but still very cognisant of where I'm at. And touch footy should bring back the play the ball! At least offer it in some formal "original"competition. That's my say. Goodnight.

Not really true, you had already stated you were a teacher before you posted your personal information allowing me to check that it is astonishingly true.

supercharger

I said you babbling twit
if you live in the city where your team plays , in some cases near where they play
& choose the TV over attending
you are a lazy pretend supporter

too many of these in Sydney
got it

good
Pretend supporter? Seriously? That's stupid! Those fans are just as valid as those at the stadium.

titoelcolombiano

A disturbing amount of untruths in your summary. Perhaps you might use fact wheb you try discredit the existence of a club. Firstly, it was a flawed criteria and purpose that exited the Bears. Secondly they were as good as any other club. Thirdly, their support is way more than you perceive. Fourthly, the damage to the code as a result of this clubs demise is more than you perceive. And their is more but you won't get these so why bother!?

Can I please have numbers to back up your claims?

titoelcolombiano

I've spoken to.plenty that would support the Central Coast Bears if they were given a chance! But that sort of fact doesn't cut it in this error ridden discourse I'm witnessing. Shame on you!

This is what I don't get about your argument. You bang on about not abandoning North Sydney but the second the bears are in the NRL you want them shifted off the the Central Coast.

Secondly, you claim that we are losing ground in North Sydney to RU and AFL. So, how can they do it with no top flight presence and we can't? Sounds like a simple adjustment in tactics from the NRL will fix our problem in North Sydney. Sounds like top flight presence is not essential to the people following the game. If the other two codes can do it, so can we.

Manly to Central Coast to help them grow and solve the Brooky issue and NRL to employ better tactics in North Sydney that sees us aparrently losing ground to our biggest two rivals.

Simple - job done!

I've spoken to plenty and they say you're a nut! A fruit loop! I don't despise the bears but they are gone! They won't return! Only an imploding peanut would believe they will! There is no rivalry! No hope! Shame on you for thinking otherwise defeatist marketing type person!!
I too have spoken to many and they have no idea who the bears were, does this fact reverse Stallion's fact, making it a void fact? That is the real conundrum we face.

Would you like me to go over the bulldogs atrocious crowd figures for their games at home?

They haven’t even cracked 12k yet.
Wait...

So at first you want to talk about how these clubs have "been getting shit crowds for years" but when it's pointed out that they traditionally average the best of Sydney clubs over an extended period it's suddenly only this year?

:joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy: Pick a stat

Wait...

So at first you want to talk about how these clubs have "been getting shit crowds for years" but when it's pointed out that they traditionally average the best of Sydney clubs over an extended period it's suddenly only this year?

:joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy: Pick a stat

So I’ll take that as a “no”?

And I call crowds of 13-15 k shit for a stadium that holds 30k or more.
It’s a waste .... and those figures are not exactly increasing .

If the NRL made teams all play out of one stadium it would be the end of any form of crowds at the footy.
I wouldn’t go there.

supercharger

So I’ll take that as a “no”?

And I call crowds of 13-15 k shit for a stadium that holds 30k or more.
It’s a waste .... and those figures are not exactly increasing .

If the NRL made teams all play out of one stadium it would be the end of any form of crowds at the footy.
I wouldn’t go there.
Haven't seen where the league have said that they want all teams playing out of one stadium. You wouldn't want to go to a refurbished sfs? Is it a distance thing?

Just dopey pricks in here reckon it’s the way forward because it works in other places.

Doesn’t work in Sydney
The teams who already use them have shit crowds.
Pretty sure rabbits had the worst crowd average last year with the most members.

Stallion

f**k me it pays to be a teacher lol. 12 weeks annual holiday, 9-3 mon-fri doing bugger all really yet probably get paid more than most of the work force

Finished night shift at 6, thanks for your concern though ;)

Now now that language isn't necessary nor appropriate! Enjoy your shiftwork! Everyone has got to earn a crust and you will note I haven't bagged out whatever you do at all!

Stallion

"Most of the stadiums on Melbourne" f**k me that's some awful attempts at English. I feel for your students.

For reference, there are only two stadiums used for top-grade AFL in Melbourne, one on the western edge of the CBD, the other a very short downhill walk to the south-east of the CBD. Both are serviced by major transport interchange stations and trams close enough to the door.

By contrast, the two major stadia in Sydney are some 12-15km apart, the one near the CBD is an uphill walk away from major transport (hopefully the new tram will fix that if it ever opens?). The other is a 15-20 minute train ride across town. It's not easy to get to. That hampers attendance culture.

As for the rest of your demographics rubbish - it's rubbish. You're talking out of your arse.

Well Timmah you effectively noted one relevant reason (transport/geography issues ) and incorrectly refuted the other. (cultural significance/relevance ) 50 percent pass mark.