Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

beave

It annoys me that Sydney teams are expected to be the ones to 'grow the game' by taking games to places like Cairns.

Correct me if I a wrong, but aren't the cowboys from North Queensland and a quick look at the map tells me that Cairns is in North Queensland. There is no reason why they can't be taking a game or 2 to Cairns a season.

Same for the Warriors, they are the ones who should be taking a game or 2 to the likes of Wellington/Christchurch every year as they are the 'New Zealand' warriors.

Sydney teams should be taking games to country NSW and/or non NSW venues where there is no local team.

Cowboys take trial games to Cairns and Mackay. The problem with us taking our regular season games to Cairns is that you then f**k over all the other people from the south of Townsville who travel to games. Say you’re from Mackay and are a NQ season ticket holder (i know a few) you now make their round trip go from 725kms to 1450kms to attend a game. Townsville works because its relatively geographically central for everyone up there.

The only reason sydney clubs take home games ‘away’ against NQ and NZ is to make money. Don’t blame us because you useless merkins cant draw a crowd against us at your own shit heaps.

Cowboys take trial games to Cairns and Mackay. The problem with us taking our regular season games to Cairns is that you then f**k over all the other people from the south of Townsville who travel to games. Say you’re from Mackay and are a NQ season ticket holder (i know a few) you now make their round trip go from 725kms to 1450kms to attend a game. Townsville works because its relatively geographically central for everyone up there.

The only reason sydney clubs take home games ‘away’ against NQ and NZ is to make money. Don’t blame us because you useless merkins cant draw a crowd against us at your own shit heaps.

I get that but I am only talking 1 or 2 games and I would be pretty confident saying that the average season ticket holder for any club misses at least 1 or 2 games for whatever reason.

Additionally, I am not blaming you guys. I a merely saying Sydney teams should concentrate on areas with no NRL exposure, not the backyard of existing NRL teams.

Pfft
25 dgs with 1mm of rain.

Try getting people to a game at night in torrential rain ( after days of torrential rain ) in a 40 Knott southerly with a wind chill of about 6 degrees.

That’s just a normal Saturday night for us.

Actually I was expecting closer to 30,000. If we are going to play games in Adelaide, than just like what happened in Perth this year we should expect a big crowd.
Perth was a double header for a start...

beave

I get that but I am only talking 1 or 2 games and I would be pretty confident saying that the average season ticket holder for any club misses at least 1 or 2 games for whatever reason.

Additionally, I am not blaming you guys. I a merely saying Sydney teams should concentrate on areas with no NRL exposure, not the backyard of existing NRL teams.

I don’t think the clubs care where they take these home/away games mate, as long as they make money from ticket sales and from whatever deals with the cities they’re playing in.

Side note for NQ, Sydney based fans get the opportunity to see their teams play live when they’re away games against other sydney based teams. Our fans dont unless they want to pony up for flights and everything else that comes with travel from NQ. This means we only get 12 games a year for our fans to reasonably attend. Like you said, you end up missing a game or 2 and then take a game or 2 on the road, all of a sudden season tickets and membership is not as attractive and you turn people away.

Throw in our new stadium that probably has stipulations that all NQ will be played there, I don’t think we can afford to take any of our games on the road.

seanoff

It’s amazing how sht sports facilities are in Australia. Cairns has a pop of 139k, that’s a shed load more than St. Helens, Wigan, Doncaster, widnes etc yet look at the quality of the venues these much smaller cities have.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/DW_Stadium
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keepmoat_Stadium
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Totally_Wicked_Stadium
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halton_Stadium

You are a moron.

Wigan, St Helens, Widnes are in the 50km of “space” between Manchester and Liverpool. Both metro areas with about 2.5M people EACH. Its basically a large conurbination with Liverpool on one side and Manchester on the other. For many people in both cities Wigan, the furtherest away, is closer than Suncorp is to Redcliff and way closer than Penrith to the SFS or almost anywhere to Campbelltown.

Wigan is basically Parramatta. You dont express surprise parra is getting nice digs.

Hoofhearted

My whole family are lifelong Tigers supporters all growing up watching games at Leichardt, I have been arguing for years with my brother that the ground is out of date and we need to move forward but he has always been the staunch traditionalist who loves the suburban grounds.
Nowadays he is married with 2 young kids, yesterday for the first time he took the whole family to the game. I got a text from him with 20 mins to go, they where in the car on the way home. Apart from the fact the Tigers were playing shit, he came to the realization that the suburban ground is great for a group of blokes wanting to watch the footy and have a couple of beers, but you add kids into the mix and its shit.
They had to sit in one of the corners as it was the only spot they could find, lineups for food and toilets were horrendous (and you spend a bit of time there with kids) and the usual issues with Leichardt in regard to getting in and out. I had a phone call from him last night saying that he saw where I was coming from and they wont be going to Leichardt with the entire family any time soon.
The young people of today dont have any nostalgic connection to these grounds and they are the future of the sport, we keep pandering to the people of yesteryear and the game wont move forward. Sellouts of 16k isnt good enough anymore and over time the next generation will stop going to suburban grounds all together.

It annoys me that Sydney teams are expected to be the ones to 'grow the game' by taking games to places like Cairns.

Correct me if I a wrong, but aren't the cowboys from North Queensland and a quick look at the map tells me that Cairns is in North Queensland. There is no reason why they can't be taking a game or 2 to Cairns a season.

Same for the Warriors, they are the ones who should be taking a game or 2 to the likes of Wellington/Christchurch every year as they are the 'New Zealand' warriors.

Sydney teams should be taking games to country NSW and/or non NSW venues where there is no local team.
Just to enlighten you a little Cairns is in Far North Queensland (FNQ) and Townsville is in North Queensland (NQ) it is easy to spot someone from FNQ they are a lot slower, it takes them an hour and a half to watch sixty minutes.

You are a moron.

Wigan, St Helens, Widnes are in the 50km of “space” between Manchester and Liverpool. Both metro areas with about 2.5M people EACH. Its basically a large conurbination with Liverpool on one side and Manchester on the other. For many people in both cities Wigan, the furtherest away, is closer than Suncorp is to Redcliff and way closer than Penrith to the SFS or almost anywhere to Campbelltown.

Wigan is basically Parramatta. You dont express surprise parra is getting nice digs.

You think the people of Liverpool or Manchester are driving 25 miles to these places to watch RL? you have no idea! Manchester people wont go to Salford to watch RL and that's 4 miles away!

That's why the idea of NRL controling 32 fixtures has merit. The NRL could dangle a guaranteed X amount of games to Cairns council/Qlnd Govt if they built a decent 12-15k stadium for the northern Pride and NRL games. Who knows, this could lead to supporting the cairns/png NRL introduction down the track.
As is there is no motivation for such an investment when you dont know if you're even getting a game.

beave

Just to enlighten you a little Cairns is in Far North Queensland (FNQ) and Townsville is in North Queensland (NQ) it is easy to spot someone from FNQ they are a lot slower, it takes them an hour and a half to watch sixty minutes.

To be fair though, at least they own their TV’s up there to watch ‘90minutes’. The good people of Cessnock and Kurri are more inclined to have stolen theirs from someone else..... :p

Perth was a double header for a start...

plus buzz of a new stadium (like Adelaide last year) and perfect time of year weather wise plus 4 well supported teams, decent priced tickets and Rd1 buzz. We couldn't have got more perfect combination of factors for a record crowd in Perth.

Adelaides 17.7k in the rain was excellent and on the back of last years great crowd shows the under exposed potential support for the game in SA. No good having one game and waiting 12months till the next one.

seanoff

You think the people of Liverpool or Manchester are driving 25 miles to these places to watch RL? you have no idea! Manchester people wont go to Salford to watch RL and that's 4 miles away!

Yet you want a region bigger than the entire UK with a population of 280k to have some ultra modern stadium and have 20k turn up. With many people having to drive hundreds of kms to get there.

People in Manchester or Liverpool wont drive to Salford to watch super league because they have no interest in it. They have interest in united, liverpool, Everton and city or any number of smaller and local clubs in the EFL.

Yet you want a region bigger than the entire UK with a population of 280k to have some ultra modern stadium and have 20k turn up. With many people having to drive hundreds of kms to get there.

People in Manchester or Liverpool wont drive to Salford to watch super league because they have no interest in it. They have interest in united, liverpool, Everton and city or any number of smaller and local clubs in the EFL.

Exactly, so the proximity of Widnes or St Helens to these big cities has zero relevance give the people of these large conurbations have no interest in travelling any distance to watch RL in Wigan or Leigh or Salford or St Helens or any other small town with excellent stadium facilities.
No reasons Cairns with its 139k population couldn't have a decent small sports stadium IF it had content that justified it.

Look at Leigh, second division club with 43k population yet have this facility, in comparison that park that NRL played at in Cairns was amateur.

300169instad.jpg

To be fair though, at least they own their TV’s up there to watch ‘90minutes’. The good people of Cessnock and Kurri are more inclined to have stolen theirs from someone else..... :p
Lol. Well they do say the best things in life are free.

Summary of last week, predictions this week?

Dragons v eels 6,933
Nz v sharks 14,195
Roosters v storm (adelaide) 17,728
Panthers v manly 12,755
Knights v dogs 17,755
Broncos v raiders 30,495
Wests v titans 16,984
Souths v NQ (Cairns) 7,651

Total 124,496
Avg 15,562

Rd 17
Thurs storm v dragons 11,600