Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

Stallion

I reckon Manly v Bears would also get close to 5000

Funnily and sadly enough you may be right. The neglect of the code in this area is abysmal! From local derbies with around 20000 in attendance to being zero is not a good look for this once proud and envied code.

Mister M

Now this is another reason why the AFL crowds are at the level they are— the AFL is trying to expand into new cities & states, while Sydney centric NRL supporters ( who I assume only love Sydney because they’ve never figured out which road actually gets them out of the city) thinks the best way to improve crowds is to add another club into an already over saturated city that doesn’t attend games already

Stallion

Now this is another reason why the AFL crowds are at the level they are— the AFL is trying to expand into new cities & states, while Sydney centric NRL supporters ( who I assume only love Sydney because they’ve never figured out which road actually gets them out of the city) thinks the best way to improve crowds is to add another club into an already over saturated city that doesn’t attend games already

Respecting established longstanding rivalries in an area of more than 1million people (northern Sydney) is not "Sydney centric" It's good business and common sense.

footy75

your correct about the expansion and the resources pumped into the growth of the AFL compared with the NRL. But how succesfulhas it been really?? haven't GWS and Gold Coast been absolute failures and the standard of games and gap between top and bottom teams is too much because there are too many teams creating too many boring contests.

Stallion

your correct about the expansion and the resources pumped into the growth of the AFL compared with the NRL. But how succesfulhas it been really?? haven't GWS and Gold Coast been absolute failures and the standard of games and gap between top and bottom teams is too much because there are too many teams creating too many boring contests.

Think you have missed a major point here . Diluting the presence of a code in Australias largest city is not good business for the code (participation and relevance wise)and it enjoying longterm progress. For a start the unsuspecting Public think the code is in decline when notable/media exposed longstanding clubs are put to the sword. A bitterness and questioning of the competition and its integrity occurs. It happened in bulk courtesy of the "superleague" carve up agreement.

Mister M

Respecting established longstanding rivalries in an area of more than 1million people (northern Sydney) is not "Sydney centric" It's good business and common sense.

Long standing rivalries? They haven’t been relevant in the 21st Century!

The North Sydney Bears haven’t played Top level NRL since 1999. Anyone under the age of 25 would barely have any memory of them...

I’ve got a question for you— how many of there former fans haven’t moved to another club, yet will return to the Bears as members and regular attendees?

If you think it’s ‘good business and common sense’, Its safe to assume that you are stuck in the Sydney bubble and don’t take into consideration there’s a whole country out there beyond your traffic congestion and lock out laws.

Stallion

Long standing rivalries? They haven’t been relevant in the 21st Century!

The North Sydney Bears haven’t played Top level NRL since 1999. Anyone under the age of 25 would barely have any memory of them...

I’ve got a question for you— how many of there former fans haven’t moved to another club, yet will return to the Bears as members and regular attendees?

If you think it’s ‘good business and common sense’, Its safe to assume that you are stuck in the Sydney bubble and don’t take into consideration there’s a whole country out there beyond your traffic congestion and lock out laws.

Way wrong ! I have no issues with additional clubs. I believe the dilution of the code in Sydney is not necessary for additional clubs joining the top flight. The ARL at 20 teams was on the right track but someone thought that the code was getting ahead way to quickly and a "convenient" cessation of this progress (via the superleague split /fiasco ) happened.

Mister M

Way wrong ! I have no issues with additional clubs. I believe the dilution of the code in Sydney is not necessary for additional clubs joining the top flight. The ARL at 20 teams was on the right track but someone thought that the code was getting ahead way to quickly and a "convenient" cessation of this progress (via the superleague split /fiasco ) happened.

There’s already 9 teams in the city that can’t draw a ‘large’ crowd, what’s adding a 10th team going to do?

Expansion should be into areas where NRL can be grown and gain new supporters like Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane 2, NZ 2, etc.

Not adding another team into an oversatured market because you can’t be bothered to travel within your own city to go to a game.

Suggesting the ARL at 20 teams was 'on the right track' is utter fantasy.

In 1995, NINE clubs averaged less than 10,000 per home game
Balmain 6254
Seagulls 6782
Souths 7709
Panthers 8022
Eels 8300
Magpies 8556
Saints 9074
Roosters 9188
Illawarra 9651

You'll note that eight of those clubs were in Sydney (or just outside in Illawarra's case). Just four Sydney clubs (Dogs, Norths, Sharks and Manly) averaged above that mark, the highest being Manly on 14,722.

If it continued in the same manner clubs would've folded, not merged, and plenty of history would have been lost.

t-ba

Yeah nothing untoward happened in 1995 that would have had an impact on crowds at all.

The trend from 1983 was up. In 1994 precisely two of those Sydney teams (Wests and Balmain) had averages under 10k. 1995 had far more going on than just new teams weighing averages down.

The 20 team thing would have been interesting. Arko and Quayle had definitely delivered up to that point and judging by how weak clubs like Manly and the Gold Coast keep chugging along who knows it would have shaken out.

But that is history. Play the card dealt. Norths are history, and I say this as a NS Brother Junior born in the RNS hospital, raised in Willlughby who pretty much lived in the Moreton bay fig as a kid.

Mister M

Mister Victorian failed MCG crowd expert alert

I guess you don’t actually read posts, instead you just read my name and repeat your lame insult??

But if you want me to address my comments from Origin 1 that I did get wrong, go back and read it again.. I said for the reasons I mentioned that it didn’t feel like a crowd of that size.

The reasons I mentioned were accurate, the empty seats were on level 1 and not level 4, particularly around the MCC area where there was still bays that were 80% empty. It was still possible to buy seats on Level 1 the day of the game because the NRL didn’t direct general supporters into the ‘supporter zones’ meaning Great seats with good views on Level one near the 40m line in the Great Southern Stand were still available until only a few hours before (there was still a row of spare seats near me that night)

I said I hoped I was wrong & I was... but it doesn’t mean that the way the MCG was ‘sold’ was strange, especially in regards to those MCC bays that were mostly empty and didn’t look great on TV (in the replay) while people were sitting up in the nosebleeds.

Stallion

Suggesting the ARL at 20 teams was 'on the right track' is utter fantasy.

In 1995, NINE clubs averaged less than 10,000 per home game
Balmain 6254
Seagulls 6782
Souths 7709
Panthers 8022
Eels 8300
Magpies 8556
Saints 9074
Roosters 9188
Illawarra 9651

You'll note that eight of those clubs were in Sydney (or just outside in Illawarra's case). Just four Sydney clubs (Dogs, Norths, Sharks and Manly) averaged above that mark, the highest being Manly on 14,722.

If it continued in the same manner clubs would've folded, not merged, and plenty of history would have been lost.

This is not isolated to a "crowd " based relevance. The biggest crowds will mostly be from local derbies that are tradditionally and historically relevant. These derbies are being lost. The tv reach of these clubs and their universal.notoriety are undervalued in your derision of such clubs. Like I've stated additional clubs are welcomed but not at the cost of the culturally significant and historical foundations and relevance of the top flight comp. Anyway I'm going on holidays. I'll leave it to you to dismember this great code. Rupert loves you all and so does big ugly brother union!

Now this is another reason why the AFL crowds are at the level they are— the AFL is trying to expand into new cities & states,

I think you'll find it has a LOT more to do than this reason alone.
AFL is an obsessive culture in a city with an obsessive self belief of it's own importance on the national and International world stage. It's called an inferiority complex, or little brother syndrome.
Victorians have always felt the need to talk themselves up - be it the "World's most Livable City" tag, (of which there are many surveys done which they don't win - they just happen to quote the relevant one) to the 'We will be Australia's most populated city within 10 years" claim (which is true), or the "We are the Sporting Capital of Australia" and on and on it goes.
Melbourne is actually a great city. It's a shame it's full of f**king Victorians.

t-ba

AFL is an obsessive culture in a city with an obsessive self belief of it's own importance on the national and International world stage. It's called an inferiority complex, or little brother syndrome.
Victorians have always felt the need to talk themselves up - be it the "World's most Livable City" tag, (of which there are many surveys done which they don't win - they just happen to quote the relevant one) to the 'We will be Australia's most populated city within 10 years" claim (which is true), or the "We are the Sporting Capital of Australia" and on and on it goes.
Melbourne is actually a great city. It's a shame it's full of f**king Victorians.

Congratulations on not having habitable satellite cities like the 'Gong and Newcastle?

Mister M

How does that explain the regular 30,000+ crowds in Adelaide & Perth??

Stallion

And obsessive culture is stereotypically nurtured/propagated by a comprehensive education system. You will find that AFL has presence in both elite private and general public schools throughout Victoria (now happening in NSW &QLD ) and rugby league does not have such a universal presence in general. These are the seeds of a dominant and pervasive culture. The same can be said when looking at the lack.of presence of rugby league in other countries around the world. And it's not because these places are unaware of the code as some will put forward.New Zealand and France are good examples of either little or no rugby league presence in schools.

Mister M

And obsessive culture is stereotypically nurtured/propagated by a comprehensive education system. You will find that AFL has presence in both elite private and general.public school throughout Victoria (now happening in NSW &QLD ) and rugby lea guest does not have such a universal presence in general. These are the seeds of a dominant and pervasive culture. The same can be said when looking at the lack.of presence of rugby league in other countries around the world. And it's not because these places are unaware of the code as some will put forward.New Zealand and France are good examples of either little or no rugby league presence in schools.

Take off your tin foil hat mate—- this conspiracy theory that school teachers are trying to convert people into supporting AFL isn’t real.

Let me guess you think man never walked on the moon and that Adolf Hitler lived for decades in South America following World War II??